Underwater OnePlus 7 Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 14, 2019
  • My review and water test of the OnePlus 7 Pro. This is the fastest android phone on the market - has no notch, no hole but is somehow VERY water resistant.
    OP7 Pro - amzn.to/2WIlJ1J
    The pop-up camera on the OnePlus 7 allows this camera to have a completely clean front with no protrusions or visual obstructions. The curved edges look awesome but it's a change to the oneplus design that can hinder usability.

    Questions? Discord server is up! - discord.gg/Dave2D
    Background Music Fili - Closure
    Follow me:
    twitter.com/Dave2D
    instagram.com/Dave2D
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 892

  • Dave Lee
    Dave Lee  2 months ago +3178

    The distortion and shimmering water in the jug made the phone look like it was turning off constantly. I was so distracted. Thanks for watching!
    Is the OnePlus 7 what you hoped for? Is it too expensive for what it is?

  • Максим Власов

    Телефон жив, но через месяцок будет деградация железа, т.к внутрь все таки попала вода и кстати говоря попала она туда с помощью встроенной камеры

  • Teacher's Bobby
    Teacher's Bobby Day ago

    i loe your review though

  • Atty Mizer
    Atty Mizer Day ago

    that's one way to water cool your phone.

  • oudai kokash
    oudai kokash Day ago +1

    04:07 does any one know this app name ? xD :

  • Ricardo Vaz
    Ricardo Vaz Day ago

    Be careful, Oneplus doesn't take responsibility for any water damage, they even claim that the phone is not water resistant, but water splashing resistent.
    My new oneplus 7 pro 12gb got on 5 cm of water for less than 1 minute and the screen stopped working. Oneplus doesn’t assume manufacturing defect.
    Never had any problem with my Samsung S8.
    I don't recommend buying oneplus phone for this price tag, especially when you can buy an S10 plus for the same price or even cheaper.

  • Allen Lu
    Allen Lu Day ago +3

    From spinning laptops in his fingers to throwing his phone... Dave never failed to give me a false heart attack.

  • Chris
    Chris 2 days ago +1

    completely agree about the curved edges. I dont like them. Hopefully moving forward oneplus decide to stop copying samsung and lose the crappy curved front edged sides. Great video Dave. The anxiety was real :D I own a oneplus 6t but im going to wait to see what the one plus 8 brings to the table

  • Joel Casas
    Joel Casas 2 days ago +1

    Dave what would you prefer to purchase? the one plus 7 pro or galaxy s10+ (besides the price)

  • William Davenport
    William Davenport 2 days ago

    what if they just took out the camera we all don't want a fucking camera

  • Vinorth V
    Vinorth V 2 days ago +1

    Chinese intelligence using PERISCOPE at another level.

  • iitbftw
    iitbftw 2 days ago +9

    The main problem with the oneplus brand is the lack of support. I legit cannot find a store that sells cases and other accessories for this phone. Everything has to be shipped in on Amazon.

    • A.I
      A.I Day ago

      Dbrand has cases..

  • THE DUCK OF GAMING
    THE DUCK OF GAMING 2 days ago

    H2O or normal house water ??/

  • Melvin Freeman
    Melvin Freeman 3 days ago +1

    I couldn’t submerge my phone in water, record a video of it, and not check it every minute. Amazing David👍🏾👏!!

  • nomadben
    nomadben 3 days ago

    I thought Dave was going to film the entire review underwater, like in a pool or some shit. I got clickbaited!

  • cristi csenteri
    cristi csenteri 3 days ago

    higly recommend this phone and no the curved edge is dammmn awsome fk off

  • A person
    A person 3 days ago +4

    The choice between oneplus and samsung is very hard i would take the oneplus because of the cleaner software, that is the main reason

  • Frederick Green
    Frederick Green 4 days ago

    So what's worse him looking at his experiment are you counting how many times he looks at his experiment how many times did they use the word it can you tell me that

  • Frederick Green
    Frederick Green 4 days ago

    I have the phone the nicest phone I've ever had I really have no other phones to compare it to other than low budget sounds like the Motorola but I like it got some cool features big screen and I like the fact that the selfie camera is where it is and not on the screen

  • Mathew Joseph
    Mathew Joseph 5 days ago

    My Oneplus 7 upon small splashes in the rain the display got lines on them and the audio became muffled from the ear piece and upon enquiry they say I won't get any sort of service other than to pay for the whole unit.

  • Secure Bag
    Secure Bag 5 days ago

    Very nice 😁

  • Hemi Powered
    Hemi Powered 5 days ago

    From an s8 plus to this awesomeness. the pop up camera is great mainly cuz I don't even use a front camera. I got it cuz it's cheaper and pretty much on the same level as samsung...

  • SLEVIN SHAFEL
    SLEVIN SHAFEL 6 days ago

    8:27 Like samsung make in the past start like killer bla bla. and when they have gain the trust of users and make the name as brand start overprice it.
    So if you want tostart company mobile just buy last Qwalcom procesor and sell it with ZERO benefits. And after you gain the trust of user and free ads from "KILER...bla bla" you can have gains. Easy just go to China to manufacture it. You can START crowfunding it or do like Xiaomi sell product before they are maked so you dont have to risk your won money.
    Why i dont make it? because i like propulsion sistem not gadgets.

  • Curseseal_1 On Blitz

    So can I use this in the shower?

  • Fahad Mukadam
    Fahad Mukadam 6 days ago +1

    Very nice introduce about one ➕ pro ✌👍👍👍

  • John B
    John B 6 days ago

    12gb ram or the 8gb? I just think that 12 is overkill.

  • Wick Aurora
    Wick Aurora 6 days ago

    The time indicated at the 1+ is not proprotional to the duration of this video. But still I get the point. It can survive under water. Thanks D2D!

  • Neil Arjen Diolazo
    Neil Arjen Diolazo 6 days ago

    One plus 7 pro or iphone X?

  • Ag3nt0fCha0s
    Ag3nt0fCha0s 7 days ago

    GET OVER HERE!!!

  • Nayoko
    Nayoko 7 days ago +1

    I really enjoyed this style of video.

  • Bulut Tazegul
    Bulut Tazegul 7 days ago

    I think it s will get ip68 sertifica

  • silly helden
    silly helden 8 days ago

    I purchased this phone last week and iam absolutley in love with it i love the big screen when i connect it whith bluetooth to my car radio and other devices they dont even detect it as a phone but as a tablet

  • Ramza
    Ramza 8 days ago +6

    I always thought curved edges look ugly in picture and in real life.

  • Jaya Krishna Nandyala
    Jaya Krishna Nandyala 8 days ago +2

    Brilliant review bro.
    Love from Indo-Canadian.

  • manifest 73
    manifest 73 8 days ago

    Worth every $700.

  • shrishak shrestha
    shrishak shrestha 9 days ago +1

    even the motion blur looks smoother 90hz 24fps

  • Cataca_91
    Cataca_91 9 days ago

    11:18 uh what ?

  • Joseph Shteinman
    Joseph Shteinman 9 days ago

    Apple: releases $1500 phone with 3 year old specs
    Dave: good job apple!
    One plus 7 pro: best specs in the game, no bezels and a high refresh rate for $700
    Dave: I’m disappointed 😔

  • Neerupan Ganeshaan
    Neerupan Ganeshaan 9 days ago +5

    Any updates?? Did the test have prolonged effects or any expected surprises ??

  • Arshak Martirosyan
    Arshak Martirosyan 9 days ago +1

    This phone is for those who don't like new S10 series...

  • BlackN0va
    BlackN0va 9 days ago

    It has a chin

  • nerdwithjordans
    nerdwithjordans 10 days ago

    Out of character for the price

  • nerdwithjordans
    nerdwithjordans 10 days ago

    Impressive phone

  • Paul Oppermann
    Paul Oppermann 10 days ago

    One plus has never been Budget .... One plus 6 .. Budget ? ... Realy ?

    • Noah_anderz
      Noah_anderz 9 days ago

      @Paul Oppermann I never said anything about the OnePlus 7 pro being budget, it's obviously not doesn't take a genius to work that one out but in the past OnePlus has focused on packing a big punch in performance for a much reduced price. Budget has always been a part of the OnePlus brand, hence why even now with the OP7 Pro they still have the standard OP7 for the people who are on a tighter budget.

    • Paul Oppermann
      Paul Oppermann 9 days ago

      @Noah_anderz 700€ or 800$ is Budget .... ? Sorry but a Samsung Galaxy S10 is available around the Same price

    • Noah_anderz
      Noah_anderz 9 days ago

      I hope you're joking, OnePlus' trick that they brought to they table is that they pack such a punch on a budget compared to other flagships, budget has ALWAYS been a part of the OnePlus brand.

  • Ethan Rossman
    Ethan Rossman 10 days ago +3

    4:49 - If you look closely, you can see all the camera lenses on the rear facing camera wiggle slightly as the OIS/Focusing motor kicks in.

  • Krshna Kaka
    Krshna Kaka 11 days ago

    Should i go with the OP6T or the OP7??

  • Kit Kat Draws
    Kit Kat Draws 11 days ago

    Ml

  • d q
    d q 12 days ago

    I like that time or you have on your display the large timer how did you get that I don't find it on my phone

  • Daniel Bolanos
    Daniel Bolanos 12 days ago +5

    4:52 "stay THICC" is on Dave's one plus phone

    • oPlains
      oPlains 12 days ago

      Words to live by

  • Adam arkin arkin's
    Adam arkin arkin's 12 days ago

    Oppo reno test on water please

  • usachatnow
    usachatnow 12 days ago

    I bought this mainly for gaming

  • usachatnow
    usachatnow 12 days ago +2

    Am I the only one that loves the pop up camera

  • Kyle Smith
    Kyle Smith 12 days ago

    Man what is that downhill game :)

  • Tisi _
    Tisi _ 13 days ago

    Hi, Jesus has die on the cross for our sins and rose back from the death on the 3rd day to justify us. Believe in Jesus like your LORD and SAVIOR and you are saved.

  • HaNooo
    HaNooo 14 days ago

    It's a phone and not a lover. Get over it. Money is money. This video is "offensive". No, that's not the word, "Annoying". This is what humans and humanity has become.

  • Frack
    Frack 15 days ago +6

    What people don't understand is that One Plus uses all the same techniques to waterproof their phones. The seals and rubber gaskets are used throughout the industry. They just don't pay the 3rd party company to test it for them so they technically can't claim an IP rating although they take the same precautions and strive for the same if not better build integrity than the bigger brands.

  • michael s
    michael s 17 days ago

    I have this phone..I had some of the best Samsungs,like my Note,and I LOVE the 7Pro..I dont like no headphone jack,yet that's all i miss.Now as for the face unlock and other things mentioned;if we want to FIND something to call an issue,we will,if we're that petty.NO phone has everything,and even the Note 9,which is what i really wanted,is just too damn expensive.Plus,where other phones had some lag,the 7Pro is the exact opposite,so if you breathe near this phone,about 5 pages open up.I never had an emergency enough that I could not wait a couple of seconds to unlock my phone.That's like me saying I wanted my new Mustang to go 250 mph like the last one,and this new one only goes 240,like it really matters..

  • Taiki
    Taiki 17 days ago

    Oneplus usually puts simple water resistant rubber in their phones but choose not to advertise it

  • Peter N.L
    Peter N.L 18 days ago

    If you wanna do such videos at least be rich enough to not worry about spoiling the gadget and give your viewers a full indepth review... That is what attracts viewers... You give it as it is... I would have preferred it immersed in water with the camera out for some minutes and see

  • Gek Gamerdk
    Gek Gamerdk 18 days ago

    It's the kind of moment where I as an op 7 pro owner hates that I have a 240 Hz monitor because I don't notice the difference since I'm used to way higher Hz...

  • Kiran Sudhir
    Kiran Sudhir 18 days ago

    *phew*

  • Lars Bahner
    Lars Bahner 19 days ago

    Thanks for doing the water test!

  • Mohd Ahmed Shareef
    Mohd Ahmed Shareef 20 days ago

    Because of you I have lost my phone :'( I took it in a pool and used it for pictures

  • yoelqve
    yoelqve 20 days ago

    What game is he playing at 12:09?

  • Mickey Mania
    Mickey Mania 20 days ago

    What is that third party edge app?

  • OseK
    OseK 20 days ago

    Could you really expect them to make one of the best phones on the market and sell it at 500-600 price range? Its impossible

  • ahmed diab
    ahmed diab 21 day ago

    How can i get that edge panel that appeared in 4:10?

  • Bligblog889
    Bligblog889 21 day ago

    What is the third party edge interface called?

  • DanTheDanator 27
    DanTheDanator 27 21 day ago

    Time works different in water

  • Wack!
    Wack! 21 day ago

    Honestly nobody uses face unlock anyway it's stupid

  • ryan garner
    ryan garner 21 day ago

    should have had two 7 pro phones

  • Hirak Choudhary
    Hirak Choudhary 22 days ago

    video starts from 00:48

  • Joshua Lancelot Tamayo

    Ok

  • Cameron Bosch
    Cameron Bosch 22 days ago

    4:08 What app is that?

  • Skooma_
    Skooma_ 22 days ago +2

    THANK YOU. I was waiting for someone to do this!

  • Tharun Amirineni
    Tharun Amirineni 23 days ago

    THis is what they do always shit... !
    If iphone releases a waste phone for budget prize they will be like oh yea finally a iphone for 700 , 800
    But see what one plus has done for 699 the best smart phone ever

  • peter cloud
    peter cloud 23 days ago

    A shitty review

  • Francis Obiano
    Francis Obiano 23 days ago

    Please what is the name of the third party app used for the edge display

  • Rishang Prashnani
    Rishang Prashnani 23 days ago

    So anxious about the phone in water that he keeps on looking every 2 seconds. LOL

  • Crow Migration
    Crow Migration 23 days ago +1

    I'm curious if that phone still works. Even if it survived getting wet there's water sitting inside and who knows what that did. It at the very least voided the warranty.

  • Phillip Walz
    Phillip Walz 23 days ago +1

    151 times


    he looked at that jar 151 times in 13 minutes and 38 seconds

  • Brandon
    Brandon 25 days ago

    This guy

  • Ferry Assink
    Ferry Assink 25 days ago +1

    What is the background used at 1:16? The wallpaper is amazing.

  • Anthony Kellman
    Anthony Kellman 25 days ago

    how fake is this video? rate from 1 to 10.. its a 10 ,real fake

  • Rakesh Parmar
    Rakesh Parmar 25 days ago +8

    What is that 3rd Party Edge App at 4:07?

  • gray pierre
    gray pierre 26 days ago

    The reason why I am scared to buy this phone is because once you break it. You’ve lost $700 down the drain.

    • Savage_Fps-Gamer
      Savage_Fps-Gamer 26 days ago

      gray pierre isn’t this every new phone made from 2019?!?

  • Mike L.
    Mike L. 26 days ago

    imagine if he found out 10 sec in they were false advertising... close to 1K gone to test something you heard about but couldnt fully believe.

  • BrokamaGay
    BrokamaGay 27 days ago

    I have the pro but the about phone says it is 8gb RAM. Also how can I check the RAM usage?

    • TheCrimsonStarX
      TheCrimsonStarX 25 days ago

      It comes in 8, 10 and 12GB RAM. You must have the 8GB, same as I do.

  • MyGoldenFro
    MyGoldenFro 27 days ago +1

    This video gave me sooo much secondhand anxiety for some reason lmao.

  • snes23 snes23
    snes23 snes23 27 days ago +7

    Would love to know if the water damage indicator shows it got inside or not. Love your videos by the way.

    • Daniel Gonzalez
      Daniel Gonzalez 11 days ago +1

      Probably did. If I recall correctly, these things get pink even from air humidity, so there's that

  • Samuel Svärdmark
    Samuel Svärdmark 27 days ago

    this is the first video I see of Dave Lee and I actually liked it so they one get information meanwhile one can see if the phone survived the test or not

  • Hu H
    Hu H 28 days ago

    What's the name of the app used at 4:07

  • ABO 7AMANI
    ABO 7AMANI 28 days ago

    You good man thenk you

  • Todayz Tech
    Todayz Tech 29 days ago

    Which color is the best

  • Abisha Zaki Ar-Rafi
    Abisha Zaki Ar-Rafi 29 days ago

    You can always use rice.

  • RighyTighty
    RighyTighty 29 days ago

    What is the Apple Watch situation like on this phone

  • Joemari Bano
    Joemari Bano 29 days ago +2

    Hi Dave, great review, im choosing the op7pro, whats the name of the skateboard game?
    thank you

  • Hammerhead Monkey
    Hammerhead Monkey Month ago +1

    Don't you think that this channel should have more subscribers? 🤔

    • Hammerhead Monkey
      Hammerhead Monkey 27 days ago

      @Zombie Compare to Marques Brownlee, Unbox Therapy and other similar tech-review channel. Considering his contents I think he deserves more.

    • Zombie
      Zombie 27 days ago

      2.2 million not enough? lol

  • Fabi An
    Fabi An Month ago

    Now that I've been using this phone for a couple days I have noticed that it is not always 100% fluent for me, especially when swiping from an app to the home screen and sometimes it even lags a little when scrolling through my USclip feed. The stutters I'm experiencing are rather minor but they are really noticeable due to the rest of the animations being so fluent (90hz display).

  • Aseity Deity
    Aseity Deity Month ago

    Bruh why does it seem like he tends to hang onto every negative thing that a phone has