Captain Marvel REVIEW - Essential for Endgame? #Debrief

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 9, 2019
  • Thanks to Philo for sponsoring today's episode. The first 50 NR fans to sign up here bit.ly/2VJnpXX will get their first month free. Start your free trial in seconds today!
    Captain Marvel, starring Brie Larson as Captain Marvel and Samuel L. Jackson as a de-aged Nick Fury in the 90s, came out this weekend and we're here to give you our review and analysis! How connected is it to the rest of the MCU? Can you skip it and go straight to Avengers: Endgame? We'll also cover the Avengers: Endgame and Star Wars: Episode IX footage that was shown at the annual Disney shareholders meeting and the future of Deadpool in the MCU! Join our hosts Erik Voss, Sam Bashor, Maude Garrett and special guest Aaron Couch from the Hollywood Reporter as we all dive in!
    CONNECT WITH US!
    Facebook: facebook.com/newmediarockstars
    Twitter: twitter.com/newrockstars
    CONNECT WITH ERIK:
    twitter.com/eavoss
    SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR PATREON SUPPORTERS (www.patreon.com/newrockstars), including these beautiful people:
    Kelly Hopper
    Kenny Smith
    Wilhemina Ebbesen
    Matthew Salvas
    Pony Stark
    CaroleBDCDiva
    Matthew Ahrens
    Dory Zein
    Executive Creative Director: Filup Molina twitter.com/fimo
    Post Production Supervisor: Devin Cleary
    Editors: Joshua Hurd, Devin Cleary, Aaron Carrión
    Music: "Sci Fi" from Bensound.com

Comments • 1 270

  • New Rockstars
    New Rockstars  3 months ago +414

    Segment Timestamps:
    1:18 - Captain Marvel Review
    22:04 - Trivia Question
    24:16 - Deadpool Joins MCU
    27:52 - Idris Elba Deadshot
    30:15 - Disney Shareholder Meeting
    36:52 - In Other News
    40:28 - Lightning Round
    46:57 - Shout Outs
    49:03 - Trivia Answer, Gif of Shame & Goodbyes

    • Psycho Meerkat
      Psycho Meerkat 2 months ago

      Avengers Endgame (Stark & Peter) - When/If Tony comes back to Earth, I hope Aunt May is still alive. Seeing Tony and May comfort each other with Peter's death would be a great scene. (Is it right for me to Hope for this?)

    • JtallG
      JtallG 3 months ago

      @Rizky kree blood, you would know that if you saw CM.......Lay....z

    • ALBA Bradford
      ALBA Bradford 3 months ago

      I love Brie as Captain Marvel!!!

    • Dr. Diaz
      Dr. Diaz 3 months ago +1

      hay I'm getting kindle unlimited and would like to start reading comics but I don't know where to start can you help

    • Dr. Diaz
      Dr. Diaz 3 months ago

      hay I'm getting kindle unlimited and would like to start reading comics but I don't know where to start can you help

  • GreenBoyEddie
    GreenBoyEddie 2 days ago

    I just see white people

  • Conrad Mcalum
    Conrad Mcalum Month ago

    Hehe 16:15

  • Conrad Mcalum
    Conrad Mcalum Month ago

    Hehe

  • clickonmike
    clickonmike Month ago

    Stuck up movie snobs. Can't write, can't act, can't direct but can tell other people how they can. Kevin smith is the only cedible critic on youtube, the rest are a waste of time. Only watching him from now on.

  • Xavier Sotelo
    Xavier Sotelo Month ago

    What's the podcast called?

  • Josh Winslow
    Josh Winslow Month ago

    Is Evelyn shred hard to Pump Up the movie but you could tell they weren't into it

  • Chandler Lynch
    Chandler Lynch 2 months ago

    I want to be just like you guys.

  • Kiersten Milburn
    Kiersten Milburn 2 months ago

    Captain marvel was better than black panther

  • coopdejoure
    coopdejoure 2 months ago

    Dam people really like this movie wow. So we're saying Adam warlock was just a wasted character?

  • Ofentse Leb
    Ofentse Leb 2 months ago

    I ship Captain Marvel and Thor

  • Devan Hawkins
    Devan Hawkins 2 months ago

    Watching captain marvel is optional.... Unless you're a millennial who doesn't have a life. Then you MUST watch it.

  • Exxon Nino
    Exxon Nino 2 months ago

    when you're talking about MCU but youre wearing a DC character shirt lol & quit saying bad news bears

  • K Brit
    K Brit 2 months ago

    If Skrulls can copy DNA, wouldn't they also copy 'super' abilities?

  • Tony Crash
    Tony Crash 2 months ago +1

    Watched Captain Marvel this weekend. Not a great movie, the Flerken was stupid, Brie Larson makes Keanu Reeves seem like a good actor, first major casting that doesn't work, predictable, effects were meh...not worth a second watch. Fail.

  • Allen Bolina
    Allen Bolina 2 months ago

    We will always remember what Stan Lee contributed to the world...

  • Breakfast Hydra
    Breakfast Hydra 2 months ago

    Civil war 2

  • Steve Bahn
    Steve Bahn 2 months ago

    I think Nick Fury has his origin in Captain Marvel because honestly who would want to have a Nick Fury movie?
    And plus we already saw where agents of shield went🤢🤮😬

  • Heather Lynn Rigaud
    Heather Lynn Rigaud 2 months ago

    100% buying into Maude's Captain/Captain Ship.

  • MICHAEL RUSSELL
    MICHAEL RUSSELL 2 months ago

    we need a sequel to what happened to goose

  • CjDub09
    CjDub09 2 months ago

    Woah I legit remembered the answer to the trivia question :)

  • Ben Chrisoit
    Ben Chrisoit 2 months ago +1

    Eric voss needs to kill himself

  • James M. Leggat, Jr.
    James M. Leggat, Jr. 2 months ago

    Possibly Tony is working on a modified Photon Cannon

  • Yung Chicken Fillet
    Yung Chicken Fillet 3 months ago

    Stan Lee was reading the script in “ mall rats “ when captain marvel saw him

  • Yung Chicken Fillet
    Yung Chicken Fillet 3 months ago

    Dark Phoenix is the swan song for marvel fox, and it looks horrible

  • Famid Bro
    Famid Bro 3 months ago

    If you want a crazy group of people go watch umbrella academy

  • Matthew Smith
    Matthew Smith 3 months ago

    I’m from Roanoke Virginia, but I also got the question right...

  • Wooosh Deceiver
    Wooosh Deceiver 3 months ago

    Ok, I'll watcho

  • The9Hat
    The9Hat 3 months ago +1

    Okay so groot got dusted but the handle of stormbreaker didn't? So like technically he didn't get dusted?.?.?

    • Edwarku
      Edwarku 2 months ago

      The handle is no longer Groot do you even know how trees work? It was dead when he made the handle

  • Platform Studio
    Platform Studio 3 months ago

    i did not enjoy the movie,expected more baddassary

  • Patrick Stringer
    Patrick Stringer 3 months ago +1

    Am I crazy or does this review comes off super forced? They look like they are in agony biting their lips on what they really want to say. lol

    • EpoxyMuffin
      EpoxyMuffin 3 months ago +1

      yeah... they're trying to be as nice as they can....
      This movie is mediocre and unnecessary. Everyone wants to get social credit for saying that this movie is great, but as an actual movie...it's not very good.

  • Huegtoad2011
    Huegtoad2011 3 months ago

    I want carol danvers to meet Peter Quill

  • iousdeeva
    iousdeeva 3 months ago

    'Equilibrium' is that Christian Bale movie you're thinking about - an underrated movie that I really enjoyed :)

  • Shawn Turner
    Shawn Turner 3 months ago

    Trivia Question: Huntsville, Alabama 👍

  • BryanKeithCunningham
    BryanKeithCunningham 3 months ago

    Stop saying like. Holy crap guys.

  • Andrew Buback
    Andrew Buback 3 months ago

    First off: I loved the random shout out to Roanoke (“Ro-a-nokee”), VA. That is my hometown and I’ve lived most my life there. Went to the same high school as the NFL Barber twins (they’re older) and NBA’s J.J. Redick (he’s younger), though don’t know them personally.

  • Kian Moe
    Kian Moe 3 months ago +12

    The scene on the bus when Captain Marvel walks by Stan and smiles made me feel something in my empty heart

  • Kian Moe
    Kian Moe 3 months ago +1

    Anyone else see "Captain Marvel" last weekend???
    I did! (._.)

  • Davey Crockett
    Davey Crockett 3 months ago

    “Black albino, straight from Alabama, way down south so you know that I’m a!”

  • TIME
    TIME 3 months ago +1

    14:27 you can't speak bad about the movie ..........sad

    • EpoxyMuffin
      EpoxyMuffin 3 months ago

      yeah...there's a lot of cowardice going on here. I refuse to believe that these people don't see how mediocre this movie was. It's just not good.

  • John JohnRN86
    John JohnRN86 3 months ago +1

    People keep saying they wanted captain marvel to smile but none of the women in marvel movies smile. Maybe shuri from black panther had more personality if you compare the females.

  • John JohnRN86
    John JohnRN86 3 months ago

    The only names I remember from the movie was nick fury, goose, captain marvel and poulson. Lol great point

  • John JohnRN86
    John JohnRN86 3 months ago

    Age of ultron was the worst movie for me. Absolute worst!

  • John JohnRN86
    John JohnRN86 3 months ago

    You can skip this. I didn’t feel thrown off by seeing the pager at the end of infinity war. And now seeing the movie - I could’ve skipped it. We needed this after captain America - the first one. This was nick fury’s movie.

  • Monica Or Moni
    Monica Or Moni 3 months ago

    Captain Marvel was pretty decent. Some moments where definitely better than others. 3.5 out of 5 ratings for me.

  • Harrison•H •XxXxXxX

    ppl who prefer captain America or ironman or any other non-power hero over captain marvel and doctor strange DONT TALK TO ME cuz u weird

  • Joe Hillman
    Joe Hillman 3 months ago

    The runner in the bottom left is red and yellow with a lightning bolt with the words "Captain Marvel". Did someone google captain marvel tropes without realizing these are iconic of the DC Captain Marvel?

  • Ro-Mitch
    Ro-Mitch 3 months ago

    12:52 almost but remember, we were familiar with Bucky from the 1st Cap film. He didn't require as much development

  • Ann
    Ann 3 months ago

    Alabama

  • Sethrain
    Sethrain 3 months ago

    I'd have a Flerkin and I'd name it Gherkin.

  • Patrick Casey
    Patrick Casey 3 months ago

    I wonder how the avengers found the pager and knew that it was furys in the first place. This may be an insignificant detail, but maybe there is like remnant dna in the air of the dustees so they were able to track it and find the pager. I'd like to hear your thoughts on how they found the pager

  • Makchu Cook
    Makchu Cook 3 months ago

    I wanted to stand and salute when Stan Lee appeared on screen and almost cried.

  • RoyalFlashCraft
    RoyalFlashCraft 3 months ago +1

    43:47 HOLY CRAP DATS ME

  • RoyalFlashCraft
    RoyalFlashCraft 3 months ago +2

    Nebula greets Rocket*

    Where's the tree?" Is he...?
    Yeah, where are the rest?
    Gone
    All of the?
    Yep
    Quill?
    Gone
    Drax?
    Gone
    Gamora?
    Gone
    Mantis?
    Gone
    Nebula?
    I'm right here
    I was hoping you were a skrull

  • RoyalFlashCraft
    RoyalFlashCraft 3 months ago +4

    I always found myself smiling at certaun nods towards other MCU moves,

  • RoyalFlashCraft
    RoyalFlashCraft 3 months ago +1

    "Last Time I trusted someone, I lost an eye"

    THAT is why I don't like cats no offence to cat people but I'm a dog person

  • socerplayer23
    socerplayer23 3 months ago

    So technically Sam should have lost since Oregon is the name of a city in Missouri and Mississippi, everyone picked a city besides Sam

  • don hamilton
    don hamilton 3 months ago

    what???!!!! batman would be a way better friend.. powers aside superman was always away saving people. if batman was your friend you could go to parties and go on yachts and stuff. plus play with his gadgets'

  • BECAUSE I'M SPIDERMAN
    BECAUSE I'M SPIDERMAN 3 months ago

    The real question is, is goose still alive in present day? Goose has never been seen in any present day movie

  • Mark Sherman
    Mark Sherman 3 months ago +1

    Not a terrible movie.....but disappointing for sure...probably the worst Marvel movie since Spiderman 3

  • diesel828
    diesel828 3 months ago +1

    Hugely disappointing movie.

  • Peter Burbery
    Peter Burbery 3 months ago

    Captain Marvel is a really good movie.

  • Sebastian Perani
    Sebastian Perani 3 months ago

    As far as I know, Magneto lifter Thor's hammer by manipulating the magnetic field arround him.

  • Greg Vernon
    Greg Vernon 3 months ago

    Sam's shake and shimmy dance gives me life

  • Harriscandoit
    Harriscandoit 3 months ago

    Superman level hero...... Ya that would be Thor. Not Captain Marvel. Go to Marvel. Com. Check the stats lol.

  • Nick Ingles
    Nick Ingles 3 months ago

    After seeing it, I don't think it's essential to see the Captain Marvel movie before viewing Endgame, but it was enjoyable. If you have the means, see it. If not, it's hard to imagine how you'd be in the dark by not watching this movie

  • Carliee Witzig
    Carliee Witzig 3 months ago

    Again your opinion is unnecessary when these are based on an existing universe not what you personally want in a movie.

  • Boneless Memes
    Boneless Memes 3 months ago

    Imagine Silver Surfer crashes on earth at the end of endgame and then he something like.... “Something huge is coming.”

  • Stephanie Williams
    Stephanie Williams 3 months ago +1

    I honestly think this is the best Marvel movie that I’ve seen a long time. I think Brie Lawson did a kick ass job, I felt empowered when I left the theatre.

  • Hayden Rodriguez
    Hayden Rodriguez 3 months ago

    2:33 ...

  • A. Ts
    A. Ts 3 months ago

    Funny how things go. DC rushed so hard to try and keep up with marvel that they forced justice league without telling a good story. Now they realize it and have started to turn the ship. On the other hand, Marvel spent a decade setting up story lines with rich in-depth characters, only to torpedo it all by forcing a rushed story line around one character.

  • Richie Bee
    Richie Bee 3 months ago

    so, idk if it's just me... but all of the body language here let's me know that these folks, or at least 3/4, aren't giving their honest opinion on the movie.

  • David Hodge
    David Hodge 3 months ago

    "All words are made up"- Thor lol

  • EyLindi
    EyLindi 3 months ago

    Where are the other briefing and easter egg videos? That's not enough

  • BECAUSE I'M SPIDERMAN
    BECAUSE I'M SPIDERMAN 3 months ago

    Ok, now I'm thinking, can magneto crush the infinity gauntlet?

  • Christina Rosell
    Christina Rosell 3 months ago +7

    Just saw Captain Marvel this weekend and rewatched Infinity War and have a theory. Fury specifically realizes that Keller is a Skrull because he calls him Nick and EVERYBODY calls him Fury... flash forward to Infinity War post credit scene... Maria Hill calls him Nick... THREE TIMES! Any thoughts?

    • Jacob Saunders
      Jacob Saunders 3 months ago +1

      Christina Rosell Maria Hill is his best friend and second-in-command, so a, she’s been a Skrull this entire time storyline would be pretty cool.

  • Patrick Mühlbeyer
    Patrick Mühlbeyer 3 months ago

    Why does everyone say "phase one movie" as if it is an insult. Those movies were awesome. They are the reason why marvel is so big now.

  • Panos Ch.
    Panos Ch. 3 months ago

    You know these people are professionals when they let aside the whole controversy with Brie Larson and focus on the movie as a movie! This is what people who love their stuff seems like.

  • AgeofAeon
    AgeofAeon 3 months ago

    Can you skip this movie going in to End Game and not miss anything the answer is 100% yes.
    It's always sad to see people forced to shill for any movie especially a bad movie.

  • Ŧàß MĦĐ
    Ŧàß MĦĐ 3 months ago

    Where is 4th skrull that landed in captain marvel movie
    Will the 4th skrull be responsible for secret invasion storyline...

  • SKULLFACE
    SKULLFACE 3 months ago

    2:33 you say you dont want to talk about it but you take a side .... was it worth losing subscribers for a mediocre movie?

  • pattywreck
    pattywreck 3 months ago

    is Nick Fury really a skrull in the current timeline?!?!!

  • Lori Elliott
    Lori Elliott 3 months ago

    Christian Bale movie with children thought police was Equilibrium.

  • Christian Sena
    Christian Sena 3 months ago

    Very cool. Very cool.

  • emgonzale
    emgonzale 3 months ago

    I remember everyone thought Dr. Strange wouldn’t be too important to Infinity War and that turned out to not be true.

  • SuperPanda
    SuperPanda 3 months ago +1

    Why is everyone saying it was ok? It actually was the most satisfying movie for me!

  • Gamer Idronplayz
    Gamer Idronplayz 3 months ago +5

    The Stan Lee intro to the movie was great, and emotional

  • Troy Macfarlane
    Troy Macfarlane 3 months ago

    HUNTSVILLE ALABAMA! I read a local news article about it, I was screaming for joy. I love you rocket city!

  • Misael Gavia
    Misael Gavia 3 months ago

    Where's you Easter eggs video of Captain Marvel???

  • lee archer
    lee archer 3 months ago

    I feel there are still a couple unanswered questions. such why and how did Ronan become involved with thanos?. And what did happend between Howard stark finding the Tesaract at the end of Captain America and Captian Marvel.

  • Franklin Garcia
    Franklin Garcia 3 months ago

    Great review, I just want to point out that it's a little distracting every time you put your hands on the table, may be it's time for a microphone suspender or any anti vibration for the mics ;)

  • Hypnotron
    Hypnotron 3 months ago

    Small criticism, what is the point of having a guest if you hardly let them speak or interrupt when they are trying to speak?

  • Hellsing7747
    Hellsing7747 3 months ago +4

    Captain marvel was a solid and fun movie. 7/10

  • Brian Forrest
    Brian Forrest 3 months ago

    Eric, you were thinking of Equilibrium. I think.

  • Robert Bowden
    Robert Bowden 3 months ago

    If I watch Endgame and feel like they made it necessary to watch Captain Marvel then I might just take it as a sign it's the perfect stepping off point from the MCU

  • Brian Forrest
    Brian Forrest 3 months ago

    Anyone else think Aaron could be Eric's brother?

  • Marvel & DC
    Marvel & DC 3 months ago +1

    People are saying that this movie is bad! I saw it, it was really good, and then the End Credits! Even Better

  • ryan r
    ryan r 3 months ago

    I think Secret Invasion can still happen, because it can make us sympathetic to some Skrulls who are just trying to survive, while there's still those extremists that just want to take over Earth.

  • Josh Blanchard
    Josh Blanchard 3 months ago

    Deadpool + AntMan = Slappin Da Bass!!!!!
    Put Thor or spiderman in there to match deadpools power-level while antman matches his sarcasm!!

  • Max.Mead_04
    Max.Mead_04 3 months ago

    Tony isn't there because he has to check on Pepper and tell Aunt May about Peter