Ob/Gyn Reviews IUD Horror Story | Molly Burke

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 9, 2019
  • Ob/Gyn physician Mama Doctor Jones reviews Molly Burke's account of a bad experience with an IUD. In this video we answer questions about IUDs and cover some basic info about this form of birth control. Contraception is important, periods should NOT be taboo. BRAVO Molly, for sharing your story!
    Molly's Video: usclip.net/video/jbwWz0cwxd8/video.html
    You have no idea how happy it makes me that you're here to learn. Thank you. Thank you for being here. For being entertained. For supporting me. For being INFORMED. You rock. ILY.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    SCIENCE, SOURCES, & STUFF
    LONG-ACTING REVERSIBLE CONTRACEPTIVE ACOG PUBLICATION: www.acog.org/-/media/Practice-Bulletins/Committee-on-Practice-Bulletins----Gynecology/Public/pb186.pdf
    IUD RISKS/SIDE EFFECTS:
    www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S001078241200827X
    IRREGULAR BLEEDING: www.fertstert.org/article/S0015-0282(11)02855-X/fulltext
    TREATMENT OF IRREGULAR BLEEDING WITH IUD www.ajog.org/article/S0002-9378(11)01208-7/fulltext
    Guttmacher Abortion Data: www.guttmacher.org/article/2017/10/population-group-abortion-rates-and-lifetime-incidence-abortion-united-states-2008
    Clinical Challenges of LARC (ACOG PUB): www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27548557
    PREGNANT W IUD, SYTEMATIC REVIEW: www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22067777

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    MAIL TIME
    MamaDoctorJones
    3515-B Longmire Dr. - #329
    College Station, TX 77845
    (Send me a picture your kid drew about how babies are born or a letter about something you learned on my channel...I don't know guys, you just asked for this and I'm giving it to you.)

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Links may be affiliates...
    If you choose to purchase with an affiliate link you are supporting this crazy journey I'm on to spread good information and have a little fun. If you choose not to use my links...well, then I hate you. Not really, I'll never even know...you can easily find any of this stuff by searching on google. Go forth and do your thang.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Comments • 5 606

  • Molly Burke
    Molly Burke Month ago +1602

    Hey! I appreciate you doing this video, I learned a lot! As I mentioned in my video, I'm not a professional and was simply sharing my experience, which is exactly what my channel is all about - honestly sharing my life experiences. It was not my intension to scare anyone away from getting an IUD or away from female doctors. I will personally never get another IUD and feel more comfortable with male Gyno's, but as I said in the video, that's because we all have different life experiences that change our perspective/perception. I in no way meant to put female doctors down, but in my case I had 2 female doctors working with me at the time who both showed no compassion or support to me and then a male doctor did - this shaped how I feel because it deeply affected me emotionally. I'm happy that since posting my video many have shared their positive experiences, which I know is statistically the majority of those who get IUD's, otherwise they wouldn't keep inserting them. Many have also privately reached out sharing stories similar to mine, some much worse, and have found support through me sharing my experience, which I'm so happy about. I didn't look up horror stories or negative side-affects going into getting my IUD because I didn't want to convince myself I would experience those issues - it wasn't until I was searching for answers to my issues that I found those forums and realized I wasn't crazy, this was real, and I wasn't alone. Some may be put off by things I said but I'm human and I shared my authentic story, which was extremely vulnerable and scary to share, so I appreciate people being respectful of that and not being negative towards me or that fact atet I may not have known all the right terms or things to say. Again, thanks for making this video and being so kind and open, I hope others in the comments can do the same.

    • Coco The Spooky Librarian
      Coco The Spooky Librarian 2 days ago

      I don't think anyone is criticising your authentic experience. I think there was a lot of misinformation that cn be very harmful to women's health in your video and the Doctor is correcting some of it. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    • Birdie Wolf
      Birdie Wolf 3 days ago

      @sierra mist Obviously not, but then she said that now I believe male gynos are better than female gynos. And that was extremely ignorant. And just continues to perpetuate negative stereotypes as I can imagine people don't take female doctors or even gynos seriously because of their gender. And might be one of the reasons why her doctor was a cold bitch.
      Great she found a doctor that treats her like a person and her personal experience is hers and I am not questioning. However I am gonna question her using this experience propagate negative stereotypes about female doctors especially when you consider the long history of women being invalidated in these professional fields. And when people call her out on that she essentially doubled down instead of realizing that was a messed up thing to say. I mean it is akin to being like "Based on my personal experience and belief all gays should burn in hell. I am not saying you can't be gay, or even try to tell you not be gay, but this is just my personal experience/belief." Like you would still be a homophobe for that.
      I hope that Molly understand that what she said was ignorant and wrong, and I hope y'all understand that too. We are all human living in this fucked up society. We are gonna say the wrong things a lot. And is gonna happen more often than not, unfortunately. So the best thing to do is to recognize your ignorance when you are called out and own it.

    • Jacquie Hoffman
      Jacquie Hoffman 3 days ago

      I had Mirena for four years and when I wanted it removed, my female doctor "refused." I told her she didn't get to infringe on my bodily autonomy that way and that if she wouldn't remove it, I would find someone who would.
      Now, after having a kid, I can safely say that having Mirena in felt like being three months pregnant for four straight years... only I didn't know it at the time because I'd never been pregnant.

    • keely clevenger
      keely clevenger 4 days ago

      I think it's wonderful you made your video to tell people about your experience. We are not professionals and we don't know the correct terms. You told it like it was and I love it! My favorite part was when you said that she cranked you open! So funny because as the patient that is what it feels like!💕

    • Alex Noa
      Alex Noa 8 days ago +2

      Tori Maguire
      There are studies showing that people with disabilities do get worse treatment than those without disabilities.

  • alex smith
    alex smith 2 hours ago

    In Australia you can opt to be put in hospital to be knocked out to have an iud inserted....personally I didn't as I work too much and couldn't have a full day off

  • Tamar Wilson
    Tamar Wilson 8 hours ago

    In the UK, an IUD has copper. IUS has progestogen.

  • Danielle Morrissey
    Danielle Morrissey 9 hours ago

    I have an IUD(Mirena) and I didn't get a period the first year I had it. It immediately stopped. Exactly one year after I got it inserted I started getting a regular period again. I'm moving onto my 3rd or 4 year now and I'm having it removed. (Having it inserted was awful)

  • nighthawknina86
    nighthawknina86 14 hours ago

    i hope she sued that doctor, that is 100% not okay!

  • BamitzSam
    BamitzSam 15 hours ago

    As someone who has the Nexplanon Implant, I can confirm that I do not get periods often... maybe every 2-3 months and when I do get it, it's so light that I don't even need to use a tampon... like a small pantyliner will do. I went from having EXTREMELY heavy periods that would exhaust me to the point I couldn't get out of bed due to blood loss and anemia that i already suffered from, to not having a period essentially. Getting the Nexplanon was the best choice I have made medically. EVER.

  • 7babydre
    7babydre 17 hours ago

    I remember as a child when I got my period (around 13) it was normal for the first few months and then they became super irregular, I wouldn’t get them for a few months (which I enjoyed) but then I would bleed for a month straight, I even had to stay home from school a few times during these periods because I would bleed through a super plus in 30-45 mins. They were horrible, and I begged my mom to let me see a doctor but for some reason I didn’t get to see one until I was 16. She would keep telling me it was normal to be irregular when I first start, and she claimed to have talked to her doctor when I was 15 about me and the doctor said I should wait until I was done with my first year of periods and then seek options, so my mom told this to me and I was like???? I’ve been dealing with this for 2???? Please take me to a freaking doctor instead of asking yours about me when I’m not there??? So finally I got on the pill, and it was such a relieving feeling to have an actual period. Like this is how normal women live? It was amazing. Now I’m on the iud, I got it as soon as I started being sexually active. I bleed for a good 2 months after insertion, it wasn’t fantastic but now that I’ve almost stopped bleeding completely, I’m really happy with it. But I’m not going to lie I’m always nervous about ectopic pregnancies, but I just feel for my strings and remind myself that I’m fine and that if I experience pain to go my clinic.

  • tattered butterfly
    tattered butterfly 19 hours ago

    When I got my IUD I went to my local Planned Parenthood with my friend. She had been going to them for other reasons before and had asked about it then. She told me that they told her there would be a consultation before hand. I had never had any birth control or anything like that previously so I didn't know how correct this was. So needless to say I went in with the idea that I wasn't going to get it put in that day. When they told me that they were going to go ahead and do it right then I was completely unprepared for the pain and the cramping that was to come afterwards. It hurts so bad that I had a mini panic attack well it was getting done. And then after a little bit I went home. For me the cramping lasted two and a half to three months. I got it in June of this year and my. Went away fully in August. Even though most of the anxiety was because I wasn't prepared I think that I am very thankful for getting it. And I think anybody who thinks that an IUD is right for them should get one. Just make sure you do your research before going in

  • Jodie Platz
    Jodie Platz 19 hours ago

    i saw a photo of a baby born with the IUD stuck in his head. and the first thing i did was showed that to my brother, who believes that if the girl has an IUD she’s “safe”, well, brother: two forms of contraceptives ALWAYS

  • Maria Medellin
    Maria Medellin Day ago

    Would you do a whole dedicated video to copper IUDs?

  • Andrea Schneider

    I had a horrible issue with my IUD, my ob was great about explaining it. She told me because I had never had a child it may be more difficult to put in, and earned me of the pain. They made me lay for five minutes after placement because she said that some patients had collapsed. I had horrible issues. I had a lot of issues with my mood, it was like PMS non stop. I was willing to try and wait that out, but my doc hadn’t prepared me for a side effect I didn’t want to deal with. During sex with my fiancé there was a sharp pain and suddenly he said a curse word and then told me not to panic. There was blood everywhere, it was a scary amount of blood. Mind you, I’m aware now that a little blood can look like a lot of when you’re not a doc. I bled half the day. After that I went to the ob and cried to have it removed. She didn’t make me feel bad about it or anything, she was very understanding. I was happy to have it removed.

  • lovethebattle livethedream

    I had a terrible IUD experience. It gave me horrible nausea, cramps, I bled a lot, and then when I would finally not bleed and have sex I would be gushing blood after. I decided I wanted that ish out. I met with my obgyn (female) 4 months after and she told me I had to keep it in for a year and THEN I could make a choice. In short she refused to take it out. 3 months go by and I am miserable. Sex hurts, I’m still cramping. I go to the ER because I was bleeding a ton after sex and the ER doc said I needed it removed ASAP, because it was placed wrong and she was afraid it would stab my uterus. I make an appointment and go to my obgyn. I give her the paper from the Er doc and beg her to remove it. She tells me no because it’s only been 7 months and I need to just “suck it up and wait it out”. I told her she was going to remove it, or else I would do it myself at home. She rolled her eyes and said fine. They have me get all ready, she takes the metal speculum and the nurse goes to hand her the lube and she goes “no. She doesn’t deserve a wet prep” and tosses the lube packet. Then jams the speculum in me dry. I said ow and she goes “remember, you wanted this” and then without warning just rips my IUD out. I never went to that dr again. My experience with females have all been negative.

  • Mary B C
    Mary B C Day ago

    Thank you for your vid.

  • Drustan Astrophel
    Drustan Astrophel 2 days ago

    I had the Mirena IUD placed a few years ago. It took two attempts. I've never been pregnant, and apparently my cervix wasn't cooperating. It hurt like hell the first attempt, and the second attempt also hurt like hell but they managed to get it in after giving me medication to soften/open my cervix. I can't remember the name of it but is the same thing that's used to induce medication abortion (so now I joke about never being pregnant but having an abortion anyway because I am THAT pro choice).

    I still get periods, I guess they're lighter? But they still suck and I was hoping to have no periods at all like I'd experienced with continuous use of NuvaRing, which I eventually had to stop using because I was having constant brown spotting/breakthrough bleeding. By constant I mean for like... weeks or months. I'm pretty salty about all that, but at least I'm not experiencing suicidal downspirals with my periods like I had been before, which made it feel like my antidepressants were only working for 3 weeks of every month.

  • alexiane250
    alexiane250 2 days ago

    i lived in switzerland and me and my of my friends got IUDs. I can not speak about how common they are in other European countries, but they are so particle I would hope they use them too

  • Emily Cancilla
    Emily Cancilla 2 days ago

    My experience with having a Cooper IUD is not nearly as bad as Molly's, but I can level with her to some point. I had mine put in by Planned Parenthood since I was 16 and in my first relationship, obvi. no kids here... I wanted the best I could for myself with no worry. First, they wouldn't accept my insurance since it was "too good" so I had to pay $400 in cash, which was difficult since I didn't want to talk to my parents about it, thankfully I had my own checking account. Then, there was no discussion about side effects or anything, I did do research but all I found on the internet were horror stories, so now I'm freaked out! I also mentioned I have Syncope (where I pass out about 3-4 times per year and also due to severe pain). They did handle that well, because who wants a 16 year old passing out at this time? But, I went through with it and had bad cramps and some common side effects etc... Later that night I had come to the realization that they did not put it in all the way! I told them about it, and surprise! They didn't care... All they said was that if you've never had a baby it is common for it to not be able to stay in the uterus. Which was never talked about, and didn't seem too relevant anyway since I said it was already came out in the last few hours. Not super clear if they didn't insert it right or my body didn't like it. However, they had no advice for me and it was too bad, so sad. Really unfortunate that some healthcare professionals don't seem to connect with patients the way a doctor should be able to...

  • Ashley ASHLEYM
    Ashley ASHLEYM 2 days ago

    The statistics have shown that you're better off seeing a male OBGYN as it is more likely that they'll have more respect for you as a patient, of course this doesn't mean that there is no such thing as a nice female OBGYN doctor and no such thing as horrible male OBGYN doctors, I think DoctorMamaJones is a great example of a female OBGYN who is actually nice OBGYN doctor and has a lot of respect for her patients. I've seen only male physicians from GP to cardio to OBGYN and they all have awesome bed side manners, never met a male physician who had bad bedside manners. I've also had expiernce with two female locums, one of them was young and had really great bedside manners and the other one had horrible bed side manners but she was also older. I think for your best bet of having a nice female physician, you want the young ones. But as far as male physicians go I've notice no difference in their bedside manner in regards to their age.

    • Mama Doctor Jones
      Mama Doctor Jones  2 days ago

      Please feel free to share that data and quote your source rather than saying “statistics.” Because this isn’t true and if it is, I’d love to review the way that data was collected.

  • EmilySydes
    EmilySydes 2 days ago

    the woman who fitted my copper IUD was wonderful (the assistant was too) but when i went to get it checked during a pregnancy scare (my period came super late) the doctor i had was not great and she was kinda patronising

  • Hayley Williamson
    Hayley Williamson 2 days ago +3

    This reminded me to check my IUD strings, lol.

    Also, thank you for using gender neutral language like people with periods! It makes me happy to hear someone not just using women, as trans men and nb people can have periods too!

  • Coco The Spooky Librarian

    As someone with endometriosis the IUD is a god send.

  • Donna Burke
    Donna Burke 3 days ago

    I have terrible period pains and one time working as a server I was going to ask my FEMALE manager for an early break and as soon as I started going into feeling really bad because of my period. She stopped me, made a gross face and told me not to tell her if I'm on my period because that stuff disgusts her. It was a huge wakeup call for me that theres even tons of women out there that think it's a taboo topic to speak about to other people.

  • Rosanna's Family
    Rosanna's Family 3 days ago

    You should do a video on pregnancy while using IUD

  • XDiLaughAtYou1
    XDiLaughAtYou1 3 days ago

    I was sedated with versed the second time I had an IUD placed and it was the best decision ever. Thankfully there's a doctor in my area that does sedation gynecology. I wasn't sedated the first time I had an IUD inserted and I literally passed out, it was bad.

  • Dragon Crackers
    Dragon Crackers 3 days ago

    I think its also important to educate males on topics like this. I didnt even know how a period worked or what a normal cycle was until I was 20. I remember my younger sister was super uncomfortable talking to my mom about birth control but she would come to me with it. I was trying to be supportive of the fact that she wanted to use birth control but I didnt have any good advice. I took her to the a clinic with her bf and we all learned quite a bit that day. I was just kinda shook about how little I knew about how the female body worked and why nobody ever told me.

  • Michelle Butterfly
    Michelle Butterfly 3 days ago

    There is a class action lawsuit against mirena

  • Michelle Butterfly
    Michelle Butterfly 3 days ago

    I had a mirena IUD horrifying experience. Never again. Lost 9 pounds from throwing up in one weekend

  • shar1611
    shar1611 3 days ago

    Canadian here 👋🏾
    I’ve had 3 I.U.D’s placed and removed, not once was I offered Nitrous Oxide or any kind of General anesthesia when the procedures were done. I’d also like to know where these procedures are treated as surgery.

  • JoeysRattata
    JoeysRattata 3 days ago

    hi dr. jones i've been watching a few of your videos and i have a question about something. what would happen if a pregnant trans man kept taking testosterone? what would it do to him, the baby, etc. i'm asking hypothetically, i have no intention of getting pregnant, and if i did i would follow proper instructions and quit testosterone temporarily to ensure a safe pregnancy. i guess i'm just wondering what effects testosterone would have on a pregnant person.

  • xWinterWolfx7
    xWinterWolfx7 3 days ago

    The sad thing is I relate with Molly on the female to male doctor bedside manner in regards to my lady parts. The women doctors were rougher while the men were kinder. I usually don't like to have male doctors down there just since it's embarrassing but when it's something like an exam where they are inserting stuff I prefer male doctors just since I want it to be as painless as possible. It's just my experiences. The female doctors I've had were not really good..I was having my first pap smear since my doctor told me in order to get birth control I had to get one done (I had never been with anyone so I just wanted to get protection since I was going to be sexually active in the near future) They didn't believe I hadn't been sexually active before (I was 18 at the time fresh out of school and had been working for only 4 months) and so they went in into rough and I was trying really hard not to cry but I did cry and afterward the woman wouldn't look me in the eye and just said I would have some bleeding.

  • April Fools Jesus
    April Fools Jesus 3 days ago

    It doesn't matter the gender for how great a gynecologist can be. I've heard just as many horror stories about male ones. Most of those seem to be them just not knowing exactly how much something can hurt. The lady I went to for my implant was extremely caring, because it ended up being relatively painful for me. I know a lot of lidocaine sprayed out of my arm, I think that had to do with it. Not their fault, even. She checked back in with me a couple days later. Like this implant was HELL for a while, but now that it's healed, I would do it again. I know what I might expect now, and I think she did a great job either way. She told me all the side effects beforehand, the only complaint I MIGHT have is that she severely downplayed how painful it would be, saying that most women felt a vaccine was more painful. I personally have to heavily disagree, unless it's gardasil which feels like they are injecting you with rubbing alcohol. Again though, I think maybe there wasn't enough lidocaine. They can't help that much if I'm already freaking out and my arm rejects 80% of it.

  • Jennifer Simpson
    Jennifer Simpson 3 days ago +1

    I live in the UK and got my IUD last year. I've never had a child, or even had a pap smear yet (we get our first at 25 in the UK). I was told to take paracetamol before the procedure but I never even thought about any kind of anaesthesia, muscle relaxants or anything of the sort.
    My appointment was over in around 10 minutes and I experienced some pretty bad cramping for around three days afterwards but not bad enough to be a problem (I guess I was lucky).
    Here we really don't use any kind of pain relief unless it's desperate and really necessary, or also any kind of medication like a muscle relaxants.
    I love my IUD, I had Nexplanon and it was awful for me so the IUD really is great

  • Jackie Jensen
    Jackie Jensen 4 days ago

    Saw this title, getting an IUD on Wednesday, time freak myself out before even watching the video.

  • Jack Mortier
    Jack Mortier 4 days ago

    I'm from germany and first you can have only a iud when you have a baby most of the time and you bekomme a midly sliping medikatation when you like

  • Miriam Esparza
    Miriam Esparza 4 days ago

    I had the copper iud Inserted and later removed (side effects weren’t worth it for me)and both times the pain wasn’t as horrifying as everyone had made me think.The cramps associated and length of my period along with weakness and dizziness are what made me remove it.Thinking about mirena in a couple months

  • Karen Hollander
    Karen Hollander 4 days ago +2

    Is conscious sedation an option? I believe in South Africa we do the procedure with conscious sedation

  • lexi joiner
    lexi joiner 4 days ago +1

    Female health really does need to be taught to guys too.
    Funny story:
    Me and my boyfriend was talking about my period (because it’s off and on during its time) and I had to stop the convo to pee. When I came back he asked if I was still bleeding. I said “I don’t know... I didn’t take my tampon out” and he no joke said “YOU PEE WITH THAT THING IN?”
    I dunno. I just think it was funny

  • alexis hudson
    alexis hudson 4 days ago

    When I had my IUD inserted, the pain was absolutely unreal. It was the worst pain in my entire life, and it was so bad my gyno was extremely concerned. The process alone for me was painful enough to never want to do it again. However, that being said, now that it is in and I’ve had it over a year (coming up 2) I love it. Other than the cramping I occasionally get, I have no issues. I have no periods, although I did have a consistent period for 30 days after insertion. It did go away with time. I highly recommend the IUD, and even did to a friend. The pain that I felt was uncommon even for those who have never had a child, and my friend said the pain was nearly nothing. So don’t let that scare you away.

  • Abi Sweigart
    Abi Sweigart 4 days ago

    I had a similar experience, except I found out that my uteran cavity and cervix were to small to actually hold the IUD. I had to have it removed prematurely bc of it

  • Linsa
    Linsa 4 days ago

    Thank you for this informative video Mama Doctor Jones! Kind of a dumb question, but I want to know what happens to your eggs after your period stops due to birth control. I've always been under the impression that women are born with a certain number of eggs. As we release our eggs every month (and get our periods), we decease in the number of eggs we have until we reach menopause. If my period stops, do eggs get released? What happens to the eggs and egg count? Will I reach menopause later in life?

  • Tara Rose
    Tara Rose 4 days ago

    This was a great video! I think it's important to understand the science and statistics behind these methods so that people aren't scared off by anecdotal evidence. And I say this as someone who's had several horrible birth control experiences, including a first (copper) IUD which expelled and a second one which imbedded in my uterus. At the same time, it's also important to advocate for yourself, even if it's uncomfortable. The doctor who didn't believe my IUD was expelling only did an examination after I insisted--and it's not fun to have someone poking around your vagina who is sighing heavily and acting like you're a hypochondriac right up until the second she saw the IUD was indeed coming out. But I've also had wonderful, compassionate doctors. The OBGYN who removed the embedded IUD was nothing but supportive and kind. People are people, including doctors. I'm not saying that means they shouldn't work on their bedside manner--they should!--just that these are human beings who are fallible and have bad days like anyone else.

  • Emily E Morris
    Emily E Morris 4 days ago

    When I was in college and very VERY poor I had to go to a government clinic that only had one ob/gyn who was AWFUL. After I had gotten my first Pap smear she told me that I needed to wear more makeup if I ever wanted to have a husband to care for me. When I told her I was going to graduate and get a job to care for myself she told me “well no one will hire you ugly either”. I had to keep going there because it was the only place I could afford ($15 per visit and even that I had to scrape together) and I’m so glad I have a job now with health insurance and I can go wherever I please. Moral of the story, make health care accessible and give poor people options where they go to get accessible health care.

  • keely clevenger
    keely clevenger 4 days ago

    I love it when she says she cranks me open...

  • muttly20082
    muttly20082 4 days ago

    I just started to watch your channel and have to say you make me miss my dr. She was amazing and you remind me so much of her before she moved and I had to get a new one. She was just as kind as you and open about things and told you straight forward what things will be going on.

  • Katie Jenkins
    Katie Jenkins 5 days ago

    I wanted to change my mirena to a copper iud years ago. They couldn't find it. Turned out, the horrific pain at insertion 3 years prior was the Dr ramming the iud through the other side of my uterus and into my pelvis area. He swore blind "it obviously fell out and you didn't realise" and refused to send me for a scan. Got a 2nd opinion and it was located. Had to have surgery to remove it from my external bowel wall and got my tubes clamped at the same time.

  • Kay
    Kay 5 days ago +1

    Is it true that the best time to get the iud is during your period?

    • Gwen le Fay
      Gwen le Fay 3 days ago

      I've personally found it makes a difference (had two IUDs inserted at different times), and the practice I went to advised you to get it done while you're bleeding. Your cervix will soften at that time and y'know... extra slipperiness I guess.

  • Amanda S
    Amanda S 5 days ago

    I was put under for my insertion and I'm incredibly grateful for it (I live near Molly in Canada). The original reason was because of my hypotension but my pap smear was sooooo painful that there's no way I'd do it without anesthesia

  • NicCanDance
    NicCanDance 5 days ago

    Two issues I have with Molly’s video... 1. Is it fair to say no one mentioned the side effects when she also intentionally did zero research? I read everything I could get my hands on, and was also given the opportunity to ask questions, so it sounds like she made a choice not to know the potential issues. I understand being anxious, but how can you make decisions that are appropriate if you don’t want any info about your options?
    2. She gave out incorrect information. You can talk about what you experienced without adding details that are not factual.
    That said, yes, there are risks and possible issues with any birth control. My first Mirena insertion and removal were perfect. A little cramping that subsided in a day, in and out in 15 minutes.
    My second placement was horrific. I don’t know what was different the second time, but I started having contractions. After an hour they weren’t letting up, and I made them remove it. It was an immediate relief!
    I still want to get a Mirena placed again. Just working up the courage! 5 years with no pills, no periods, and not having to think about B.C. was amazing!

  • Heaven Green
    Heaven Green 5 days ago

    You don’t go under for an iud?!?

  • Kirsten Ornelas
    Kirsten Ornelas 5 days ago +2

    I do personally know a woman who had her son a few months after my first. We were neighbors and friends, the kids were friends. She had the IUD that was not copper. When the kids were 8 months we noticed that while I was looking not pregnant any longer, she was looking very much more pregnant. I wouldn't let it go and she takes a test, she was in fact pregnant, baby was 5 months along and thank everything ever healthy. The birth however became a nightmare that almost killed them both as the IUD was lodged through part of the uterus and partially blocked the cervix causing hemorrhaging for mom and emergency c section for her and baby. Baby ended up with infection due to mom having infection from the IUD that they initially didn't realize she had infection at all. I myself would never use IUD but if it works for u go for it.

  • k2756
    k2756 5 days ago

    Having an IUD inserted was extremely painful!! I got really hot and felt like I was going to pass out. I hated everything about having an IUD and had it removed within 3 months. Definitely not worth it in my experience.

    • Karolin Fluffy
      Karolin Fluffy 2 days ago

      Within 3 months it wouldn't have had time to stabilize, so you probably just got all the bad expirences without the benefits. If it only caused you trouble, removing it was the right choice, but it could probably have gotten better if you let it stabilize a bit more. When I got it insterted I felt like I was gonna pass out, I bled almost constantly for a month afterwards with worse cramps than I've ever had before (I got it to get rid of cramps), but after about 2,5 months it stabilzed and I no longer get periods. Some spotting sometimes, and some sparse cramps, but no full on periods. I've had it in for 1,5 year now and it's the most wortwhile thing I've ever done regarding my health and body. Everybody is different and everyone's experience is different

  • BeingLolaStar
    BeingLolaStar 5 days ago

    I've seen fantastic female doctors and male doctors.... and I've seen HORRIFIC doctors that were male and female. I'm Canadian too. My friend got a male doctor when she had a stuck Diva cup and went to the ER. She's been assaulted and was REFUSED a female doctor or nurse and the male doctor mocked her for not shaving her legs. Later at the same ER for a different accident we were told "that's what you get for free health care" like, um NO we both work full time and pay taxes to cover the Ontario Health Insurance Plan so we are, in fact, paying for our health care. Please step to the side KAREN.

  • everydayexpressions
    everydayexpressions 5 days ago

    I had a Mirena, it gave me 10cm cyst and actinomyces isralli and europae which nearly killed me.

  • Stephanie S.
    Stephanie S. 5 days ago

    It really comes down to the doctor themselves, gender doesn't say who is better make or female. I had a bad bleeding experience in June 2014, went to a female doctor who gave me pills to take for 10 days and never did a follow up with me. Then 2 years later it started again and my primary doctor referred me to my Ob/Gyn that I have now. She's very understanding and has awesome bedside manner.

  • halllyssa
    halllyssa 5 days ago

    I wish I would get my period each month off birth control 😂 pcos sucks
    Legit had my period naturally once in my life 😂

  • Lowri Bound
    Lowri Bound 5 days ago

    The best gynaecologist I’ve ever had is a female and I’ve had some awful male gynaecologists and also some awful female gynaecologists! It all depends on the person and their bedside manner, sometimes being a good dr doesn’t mean you’re a good person so they could be brilliant at being a dr but have awful bedside manner it’s nothing to do with gender.

  • Milena van Wijk
    Milena van Wijk 6 days ago

    This video was really interesting. I would love to see a video like this that is about contraception/pregnancy and thyroid issues. I have Hashimoto’s and I really feel like I don’t know enough about what that means when I want to become a mom.

  • Grace Bentz
    Grace Bentz 6 days ago

    I had the skyla iud for a year from July 2016-july 2017. My removal was extremely painful. The iud had flipped (I failed to check for my strings often like you're supposed to) and they had to clamp my uterus open while digging around to locate the iud. I have a tilted uterus so I'm sure that made it more difficult to find. They dug around for quite some time before finally locating it. My ob said we were close to having to get an ultrasound to see if they can see it which could have lead to surgery to remove it. I have not been on any birth control since and will never get an iud again. Honestly, the removal was the most painful thing I've ever felt. Also this was after I had a baby already. I'd take my labor contractions over an iud removal any day. 😬

    • Grace Bentz
      Grace Bentz 6 days ago

      Also wanted to add... I cannot say these are associated because that's a leap without evidence but when we removed my iud in 2017 it was so we could begin ttc again. It's been over two years of ttc now and I've never even had a positive. No chemical pregnancy. No early losses. Nada. I can't help but side eye my past iud. I had no issue getting pregnant prior. We've had my ovulation tested at my obs and I'm ovulating so I'm so suspicious as to why only a yr after giving birth I've all of a sudden had fertility issues. The only significant change was the iud.

  • Shannai Tarasoff
    Shannai Tarasoff 6 days ago

    I bled for 6 months 🤣🤣

  • jrc150
    jrc150 6 days ago

    My former female OBGYN was very against me getting an IUD. She felt I was better off sticking with oral (didn’t give a reason, just basically told me that an IUD was a worse option).

  • LemonScissors
    LemonScissors 6 days ago

    Helloooo! I'm in Spain and got my Mirena IUD inserted while on general anesthesia, thats how they generally do it here, particularly to women who've never given birth. I'm starting my 4th month. Till now my periods have been super light, like almost just spotting, BUT for a range from 15 to 22 days in a row... Its not a lot of bleeding at all, but its annoying to have to wear panty liners and being smelly for so long. I really hope the bleeding days shorten up from here on!