Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 11, 2018
  • What does a real psychologist think of how mental illness is portrayed in movies? Dr. Ali Mattu, clinical psychologist at the Columbia University Medical Center, takes a look at how mental illness is depicted in pop culture and tells us how accurate they really are.
    Credits: www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/68415
    Special thanks to Dr. Ali Mattu!
    usclip.net/user/thepsychshow
    Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo!
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet
    GET MORE BUZZFEED:
    www.buzzfeed.com
    www.buzzfeed.com/videos
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedvideo
    usclip.net/user/asis
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedblue
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedviolet
    usclip.net/user/perolike
    usclip.net/user/ladylike
    BuzzFeedVideo
    BuzzFeed’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily!
    To see behind-the-scenes & more, follow us on Instagram @buzzfeedvideo bit.ly/2JRRkKU
    Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: goo.gl/gQKF8m

Comments • 7 019

  • manoj sahu
    manoj sahu 23 hours ago +2

    8:28 this what you came here for.

    You can thank me in comments 😂

  • Jesha
    Jesha 2 days ago +1

    I hadn't watched a beautiful mind and that bathtub scene made me gasp so loudly

  • aNiMeAddiCtZ26
    aNiMeAddiCtZ26 2 days ago +1

    Aww I would have loved it if you included Charlie's breakdown scene from The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  • Asaiiku
    Asaiiku 2 days ago

    « iron man 3 is my favorite »
    Bye

  • Diego Burnham
    Diego Burnham 2 days ago

    He really likes to blink

  • Leznotactliketrash
    Leznotactliketrash 2 days ago +1

    As he spoke about antisocial personal disorders, it strongly reminded me of an ex. The ex faked a bond for me since they were in need of a caretaker. Well I shouldn't say faked since my ex was reliant upon care. I myself have mental illness. I am curious on Dr. Mattu's take about how movies represent BPD.

  • RAYA LUNA
    RAYA LUNA 3 days ago +2

    *his hands are pretty*

  • RAYA LUNA
    RAYA LUNA 3 days ago +1

    *he blinks too often*

  • RAYA LUNA
    RAYA LUNA 3 days ago +2

    *he has good skin*

  • Zebun Nahar
    Zebun Nahar 3 days ago

    Iron Man 3 is your favourite marvel movie😲😲😲 Seriously!!!!
    Not disgreeing the fact that it did represent mental illness really well

  • WillMauz
    WillMauz 4 days ago +1

    ... I'm glad I got help for my bipolar and PTSD and dysthymia.... and anxiety and depression. ....... but a lot of movies make folks likeme out to be nucking futs, and we aren't.

  • Kris Silver
    Kris Silver 4 days ago

    If you want some good examples on mental illness, just check the USclip comment sections

  • Kyle Olson
    Kyle Olson 4 days ago +2

    Goal Directed Activity - way too much of my life.

  • nida ul
    nida ul 5 days ago

    Wow I've watched all of those movies and I really love all of them especially A Beautiful Mind and Sherlock!
    I love his reviews, definitely giving me new insights about my favorite topic (psychology and mental illness)! He sounds so intelligent I wish I could talk like that haha

  • Aman Walia
    Aman Walia 5 days ago

    Damn so i had my English exam and the was this novel(the invisible man)of mad scientist and the was this question in the exam that explain how this scientist failed as human and son
    I criticised him but i also wrote a paragraph on how it wasn't just his fault but of the ones around him

  • Brandon Lucus
    Brandon Lucus 5 days ago

    A beautiful mind was based on a true story so....

    • J Mason
      J Mason 3 days ago

      Brandon Lucus apparently he didn't suffer from visual hallucinations only audio.

  • Sherlock Holmes
    Sherlock Holmes 5 days ago +3

    *Sees Sherlock*
    *Taps on video about a thousand times*

  • Dominic Wade Mccain
    Dominic Wade Mccain 6 days ago

    Did you just say ironman 3 is one of your favorite marvel movies? Hold this L

  • Love진드기
    Love진드기 6 days ago

    I think I have seen u in CSI NY ?

  • Ayala The Black Lynx
    Ayala The Black Lynx 6 days ago +7

    Who else read "Real Psychopath Reviews Mental Illness In Movies? Don't lie, I know you read that. *I know you did.*

  • PaintedBleu
    PaintedBleu 6 days ago

    He blinks aaa loooot

  • Layla Alsayed
    Layla Alsayed 6 days ago

    The only reason i clicked is to see what he has to say about sherlock 😊😊

  • Irridessa Amore
    Irridessa Amore 6 days ago

    movies like gone girl scare me more than horror movies because there’s people irl that are the characters

  • Aidanator300
    Aidanator300 6 days ago

    Better than the Good Doctor

  • Chicago Chicken
    Chicago Chicken 6 days ago

    I’ll give you a 🤗 hug

  • Gg Gg
    Gg Gg 6 days ago +1

    i dont now but his face is like just fit right to medical field

  • Naylte
    Naylte 6 days ago

    What's the distinction between Dissociative Identity Disorder and Multiple Personality Disorder?

    • Julia Hennessy
      Julia Hennessy 6 days ago

      They're the same thing. DID became the new term for it instead though some refer to it still as MPD.

  • NotDeadJustYet
    NotDeadJustYet 6 days ago +7

    I really wish he'd commented on the fact that people with DID having an evil alter is really rare, if even existing at all. that's the part of Split that hurts most people with DID.

  • sai eshwar
    sai eshwar 6 days ago

    I thought the mentalist would come... :/

  • HidingZebraTube
    HidingZebraTube 6 days ago +16

    Yea this guy needs his own channel. and go real in depth with some of these characters, especially gone girl.

    • HidingZebraTube
      HidingZebraTube 6 days ago

      +Mae Campbell Dude! That has made my day, thank you

    • Mae Campbell
      Mae Campbell 6 days ago +1

      HidingZebraTube he actually does!! Its called the psych show

  • Commander Waddles
    Commander Waddles 6 days ago +1

    Oh I thought it was gonna be real sociopath reviews sociopaths in movies lmao

  • Steve Yun
    Steve Yun 7 days ago

    This doctor just pretends too much to be someone who he is not. I am gussing but I feel his family does not agree that they are happy with who he really is.. he is posing a danger inside which is possible to burst any time in the future. Even if in rare possibility, his being remains uninterrupted, he is never going to become an elder peacefully. He does not know his fate now but let him believe what he wants to believe. Oh. anyway, I am a fortune teller and am the good one. If he is a good person, it is okay that I get killed in 2 years time by anything horrible. I swear this guy isn't.

  • Shadow kitty
    Shadow kitty 7 days ago +2

    My mom is manic bipolar and she never realizes it when it's happening or after it happened you can't blame her though cuz she doesn't understand

  • Taylor Gamble
    Taylor Gamble 7 days ago

    Good choice putting Sherlock in the thumbnail.

  • Inspa rite
    Inspa rite 7 days ago

    I see Benedict Cumberbatch i click

  • Livefromsuperthespian
    Livefromsuperthespian 7 days ago +1

    He kinda looked like my old psychiatrist

  • TurkeyRaider
    TurkeyRaider 7 days ago

    Benwdoxt chknpatch is autistic lmao

  • Leyna Debono
    Leyna Debono 7 days ago

    This guy sounds like Nate from The Office.

  • Michael Sheridan
    Michael Sheridan 7 days ago +4

    Why did they use gone girl and not silence of the lambs as a psychopath Hannibal is like the icon psychopath

    • Maëva Dubois
      Maëva Dubois 5 days ago +1

      Michael Sheridan he said in the video he wasn’t a good depiction of a psychopath ( he put the picture in the vid while saying it )

  • Leo Dalion
    Leo Dalion 7 days ago

    This man was my teacher at one point.
    Great to see him represented. Man knows his stuff, 🤔👌

  • Sebastian Johns
    Sebastian Johns 7 days ago

    What’s the difference between psychologist and psychiatrist?

  • Sugas Bae
    Sugas Bae 7 days ago

    What about the movie “I am Sam” that made ball my eyes out

  • Aliyah Amir
    Aliyah Amir 7 days ago

    A "real psychologist" wouldn't just go and make assumptions. Unless it was a patient of theirs.

  • Karin Randmaa
    Karin Randmaa 7 days ago

    Haha the ending 😂 Same

  • Ashley Nyal
    Ashley Nyal 7 days ago +1

    So here’s what I’ve been wondering then. Keeping in mind that social media has pretty much ruined people’s abilities to communicate like we used to without messaging and whatnot... would a perpetual “ghoster” be considered a psychopath?

  • Guyver Mutronics
    Guyver Mutronics 7 days ago +16

    I almost read the title as "Real Psychopath reviews Psychopaths from Films".

  • namjoon's onion
    namjoon's onion 7 days ago +1

    Umm…I perform better when I'm closed off with people in general…I don't know what to think now. If anyone's reading this and has an opinion/suggestion do tell me.

  • mitchanne mojica
    mitchanne mojica 7 days ago

    *Yandere are you there*

  • Ariel M.
    Ariel M. 8 days ago

    I'm on the ASD and I always felt like Sherlock was too.

  • A M
    A M 8 days ago +3

    I wanted to see “we need to talk about Kevin” in this

  • tjnaples
    tjnaples 8 days ago +1

    PTSD sucks.

  • Slee L
    Slee L 8 days ago

    Good doctor should have been on here

  • Krista Johnson
    Krista Johnson 8 days ago +1

    I feel like they edited some important stuff out, i know that dude didn't say that the controversy around DID is that laypeople confuse it with schizophrenia, because the controversy around DID is whether it actually even exists. However that topic is long and involved and maybe cut for time? There was a sudden surge in prevalence of the disorder once it hit pop culture, and the cases before 1970 number less than 200. Likely there are better explanations for people who experience what they believe is DID.

    • namjoon's onion
      namjoon's onion 7 days ago

      I could never understand the difference betweed DID and MPD. I mean, is identity completely different from personality?

  • StrayHyena
    StrayHyena 8 days ago

    I have a biiig problem with social interactions
    Thats why I'm on the internet 24/7
    When the woman cleaning my dads home is there I just stay in my room and lock it till I'm sure shes gone
    When my mum leaves and says I have to go buy something the only thing I can do is panic and cry then I try to go but get back home 🤷‍♀️
    In school I always have bad grades becouse i never say a thing and even if a teacher calls out to me I have a hard time speaking
    I would talk to our help in the school she could probably talk to teachers etc but I just can't get myself together and just talk to her.
    I have a ton of internet friends but only one rl friend
    And if I text/say something wrong or at least if I think it was wrong I get sweaty and it gets harder to breath just thinking about it and I get nightmares

    And also I can't show empathy or feel it whatsoever unless it is an animal 🤷‍♀️ idk whats wrong with this thing > 🧠

    • StrayHyena
      StrayHyena 7 days ago

      +namjoon's onion

    • namjoon's onion
      namjoon's onion 7 days ago +1

      +StrayHyena uwu💜
      Do go to a therapist. It'll help😊

    • StrayHyena
      StrayHyena 7 days ago +1

      +namjoon's onion thanks for answering means a lot

    • namjoon's onion
      namjoon's onion 7 days ago

      Whatever happens don't keep it in. Have someone to talk to so that you don't feel too low.
      Have you gone to a therapist?

  • Dark Bloom
    Dark Bloom 8 days ago +1

    0:40 oh yeah. I always fear that someone is manipulating me. I had a relationship with a psychopath and I, unfortunately, developed Stockholm syndrome. I won’t go into detail on what he did to me. Nothing was physical, but trust me psychological is worse. WAY worse. Now, I have trust issues. I have a constant fear that someone is manipulating me. It’s overwhelming, really.

    • LenaDesu
      LenaDesu 7 days ago

      I'm sorry for what you went through and I hope you get over this, if possible :D

  • Grace R
    Grace R 8 days ago +1

    I agree with what he said about people with mental illnesses often being the victims of violence, more than being the violent ones. The tough thing is, it's a cycle. I went through this, and I am afraid that I will hurt other people too because of how bad some of my mental stuff has gotten. It's never been diagnosed, but I don't need to be diagnosed to know that these things work in patterns, sadly. That's why I isolate myself, even though I know that's not the answer. A lot of people don't get that. I'm still working on this, trying to get better.

    • Grace R
      Grace R 6 days ago

      +maxine chan I used to see one. She was extremely rude and insensitive. So I went to another, who acted inappropriately to someone I knew and took sides with someone who I didn't even want in my life anymore. I was around seven years old then, and after that I went to one more, which I quit of my own free will since I was fed up with this system and tired of getting pushed aside for the person who was the reason for my therapy to begin with. I haven't been to one since.

    • maxine chan
      maxine chan 6 days ago

      Grace R are you seeing a therapist ?

  • Bombird10
    Bombird10 8 days ago

    Jeff Kaplan?

  • Lexx303
    Lexx303 8 days ago

    2:23 LOL THE TIMING THOUGH

  • JakoborRazor
    JakoborRazor 8 days ago +1

    So, I have OCD/Generalized Anxiety Disorder, do you think Sociopathy might be Mis-diagnosed as those?

  • Hollie
    Hollie 8 days ago +18

    This guy seems like a really lovely dude, he seems like the kind of person who would give good hugs

  • Black Rose
    Black Rose 8 days ago

    Ian Gallagher

  • Ichiki Momori
    Ichiki Momori 8 days ago

    God! I want Benedict to play Jaxon Hall from Bone Season!!!

  • Zenas Montana
    Zenas Montana 9 days ago

    No Lars and the real girl ???

  • Herta Schneider
    Herta Schneider 9 days ago +2

    The title is cut off in the search so it says “Real psycho...”

  • alcy sousa fortes
    alcy sousa fortes 9 days ago

    Lol, i read real psycopath 💀

  • Soul Mechanics
    Soul Mechanics 9 days ago

    Is it not the whole story?

  • Dat bio kellock
    Dat bio kellock 9 days ago

    TRIGGERED

  • the lonely panda
    the lonely panda 9 days ago +1

    I had a better help add before this video...

  • sunarto wow
    sunarto wow 9 days ago +2

    He blinking too much is causing my mental illness rising

  • GMT
    GMT 10 days ago +5

    I've always wondered how schizophrenia would affect a shapeshifter.

  • nepalnt2121
    nepalnt2121 10 days ago

    he said "disassociative" id disorder

  • Hazel Schofield
    Hazel Schofield 10 days ago

    I HAVE DID and yes, we CAN talk, think, feel and picture think to each other. 🖕

  • An Ception
    An Ception 10 days ago

    I would like to see you react to joker the dark night

  • AKXU
    AKXU 11 days ago +18

    Here before the edgy teens claiming to be psycopaths

  • aviral .
    aviral . 11 days ago +2

    *of course the maple syrup has to be placed before the pancakes*

  • Adrien Hyral
    Adrien Hyral 11 days ago +5

    sherlock isn't impulsive? don't you see how he randomly leaves crime scenes and gets in random taxis with serial killers and shoot magnussen in the face and od on drugs multiple times just to find out stuff for cases and dig up the grave of someone who died like 100 years ago and need I say more?

    • John Bash-on-ger
      John Bash-on-ger 15 hours ago

      That's the autistic dedication to an autistic person's special interest.

  • Adrien Hyral
    Adrien Hyral 11 days ago +4

    I am a simple man, I see sherlock in a thumbnail and psychology in a title, I click

  • Hacher Unfriended
    Hacher Unfriended 11 days ago +4

    I thought all psychological opinions are supposed to be confidential

    • namjoon's onion
      namjoon's onion 5 days ago

      +Hacher Unfriended No self diagnosis is when a person diagnoses themselves with a disease/disorder/syndrome.
      For eg: Person A has anxiety and googles it and the first result they see is OCD. So A reads further and decides that A has OCD, whereas it can be something else like Pure O.

      The psychiatrists's diagnosis will stay between the psychaitrist and the patient (and the patient's family and loved ones). That is patient-doctor confidentiality😊

    • Hacher Unfriended
      Hacher Unfriended 5 days ago

      Won't that lead to wrong self diagnosis?

    • namjoon's onion
      namjoon's onion 7 days ago

      if it's between the psychologist and the patient

  • Max Heller
    Max Heller 11 days ago

    This man blinks too much

  • Sal H
    Sal H 11 days ago

    clicked because of Benedict 🥰

  • saurabh raj
    saurabh raj 11 days ago +3

    *Iron man 3 would become a cult classic in a decade.. It did everything no superhero movie has ever done before.*

    • John Bash-on-ger
      John Bash-on-ger 15 hours ago

      Making an accurate, well-thought out presentation of the characters PTSD?

  • loving makeup
    loving makeup 11 days ago

    His face is what we try to achieve with makeup and contour..I couldn't stop watching it

  • JuizzyAllstars
    JuizzyAllstars 11 days ago

    I find it extremely unnerving by your constant blinking, sorry.

  • Seth Nitzel
    Seth Nitzel 12 days ago +1

    Dissociate identity disorder isn’t scientifically proven real. It’s just a myth

  • iPodsMakeGraves
    iPodsMakeGraves 12 days ago +1

    So what's a normal person defined as? Is normal even a thing?

    • namjoon's onion
      namjoon's onion 7 days ago

      An emotionally and mentally well balanced person is normal.

    • DuckyBea
      DuckyBea 9 days ago

      Nope. I personally don’t believe in normal. But that’s just me.

  • mocaw xd
    mocaw xd 12 days ago

    I wonder if someone has sociopath and psychopath in a same person

  • Inzam Haque
    Inzam Haque 12 days ago +2

    First I read “A real psychopath....”

  • zoë Carson
    zoë Carson 12 days ago +1

    I've seen it happen that fast before. Bipolar disorder is so different for everyone, you really can't assess it that way

  • Ben Brooker
    Ben Brooker 13 days ago

    He blinks a lot and that concerns me...

  • TM one-man productions TM yaga

    Real black person reviews slavery movies

  • Rose Yang
    Rose Yang 13 days ago

    Am I imagining that he looks a little like hill Harper from csi

  • cordie zito
    cordie zito 13 days ago

    you should have him look at the show atypical

  • CharC 33
    CharC 33 13 days ago

    From the thumbnail of this video I was expecting him to rip into Sherlock

  • katie s.
    katie s. 13 days ago

    sherlock yayyy

  • Vanice Icarus
    Vanice Icarus 13 days ago

    I want this guy to be my therapist

  • The Red Sterling Mc'Bae
    The Red Sterling Mc'Bae 13 days ago +1

    In the thumbnail, he looks like a real psychopath. X'D

  • kawaii clouds
    kawaii clouds 14 days ago

    Why is everyone saying benadryl cucumberpatch instead of his real name?? I didn't get the memo

    • kawaii clouds
      kawaii clouds 13 days ago

      +Hope Catherine omg thank you so much

    • Hope Catherine
      Hope Catherine 13 days ago

      It's just a meme where people say random words that vaguely sound like his name as his name

  • t s ó l a r i a
    t s ó l a r i a 14 days ago

    Aw, wholesome ending line

  • Tomás Koltan
    Tomás Koltan 14 days ago +3

    This is the only person who like iron man 3

  • jesse edwards
    jesse edwards 14 days ago

    Just saying split was not good example since it's a anti-hero villain / superhero movie so not a good example