Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 11, 2018
  • What does a real psychologist think of how mental illness is portrayed in movies? Dr. Ali Mattu, clinical psychologist at the Columbia University Medical Center, takes a look at how mental illness is depicted in pop culture and tells us how accurate they really are.
    Credits: www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/68415
    Special thanks to Dr. Ali Mattu!
    usclip.net/user/thepsychshow
    Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo!
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet
    GET MORE BUZZFEED:
    www.buzzfeed.com
    www.buzzfeed.com/videos
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedvideo
    usclip.net/user/asis
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedblue
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedviolet
    usclip.net/user/perolike
    usclip.net/user/ladylike
    BuzzFeedVideo
    BuzzFeed’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily!
    To see behind-the-scenes & more, follow us on Instagram @buzzfeedvideo bit.ly/2JRRkKU
    Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: goo.gl/gQKF8m

Comments • 6 819

  • Se S
    Se S 3 hours ago

    He's so hot I'm having some issues focusing on what he's saying

  • Melissa Jackson
    Melissa Jackson 22 hours ago

    I‘d love to know his opinion about atypical!

  • LiteralMultiFandomTrash

    can I just say as someone with anxiety and ocd and adhd i really like this dude. He breaks down the symptoms and whats happening and tbh his voice is calming.

  • Michelle Bien
    Michelle Bien Day ago

    I told my ex best friend about my ptsd at home and her words just trigger me. I realize she didn’t care. I reach out to therapist and help me a lot to get over my ptsd.

  • This White Bitch

    My mother’s best friend’s boyfriend has schizophrenia and for the most part he comes across as very normal and he’s one of the nicest guys i’ve met.

  • Infinity Ruler
    Infinity Ruler Day ago

    Now I gotta see sherlock again

  • Lazy Bread
    Lazy Bread Day ago

    Let him watch Hannibal

  • sienan
    sienan 2 days ago

    my mom is a psychologist so i basically live in this video every day of my life every time we watch a movie/show/etc

  • dohomeybiskitb
    dohomeybiskitb 2 days ago

    Wow! Very insightful!

  • Paola Muir
    Paola Muir 2 days ago

    "I really like Iron Man 3"
    an intellectual. the tasteeee

  • Nollaig Ocio
    Nollaig Ocio 2 days ago

    He looks like my ophthalmologist

  • Lorita Mannorita
    Lorita Mannorita 2 days ago

    Wow. First statement and he's wrong. Those are layman's terms for antisocial personality disorder. They are the same thing.

  • Harsh Pandey
    Harsh Pandey 2 days ago

    where is BuzzFeed bringing all these "real"... people

  • xenia tottie fioretos

    he👏should👏react👏to👏killing eve👏

  • Rachel W
    Rachel W 2 days ago

    I believe it was mentioned in one episode that Sherlock actually has Aspergers

  • Hannah Nicole Goeman

    Wow he blinks a lot

  • Yo Jzl
    Yo Jzl 3 days ago

    shouldve been psychiatrists

  • Cosmic • Alien
    Cosmic • Alien 3 days ago

    I was actually hoping for him to review Norman Bates' Mental illness

  • moon
    moon 3 days ago

    Came for Sherlock

  • Jessie Carlson
    Jessie Carlson 3 days ago

    Okay... so DID, can you know about your other personalities? Or how do they discover their other identities. I’m just confused because sometimes people I guess have described it as feeling as though they have zoned out and their not aware of what’s going on.

  • Kai Taylor
    Kai Taylor 3 days ago

    I was hoping to see bpd ( borderline personality disorder)

  • Rly Ok
    Rly Ok 3 days ago

    why didn’t he do bpd

  • Molly moo
    Molly moo 3 days ago

    Plsss tell me they do Hannibal

  • arv
    arv 3 days ago

    gone girl is the best

  • Rose Miller
    Rose Miller 3 days ago

    I wish these had been reviewed by people who have these mental illnesses, some of these are considered terrible and offensive by the communities they’re actually representing and he barely critiques anything

  • Geekgirl Graham
    Geekgirl Graham 3 days ago

    -and I love marvel movies

    and I love you

  • btstae 102616
    btstae 102616 3 days ago +1

    Gone girl yasss

  • btstae 102616
    btstae 102616 3 days ago +2

    I saw sherlock. I clicked.

  • Leese Pat
    Leese Pat 3 days ago +2

    This man is so sexy and that beard intensifies it ...i didnt hear a word he said. Going to click replay now !

  • dmaster365
    dmaster365 3 days ago

    Sherlock acts nothing like a socio, they act like normal people or atleast try to

  • Ivy Saechin
    Ivy Saechin 3 days ago

    Sherlock mentions his “Aspergers” and his brother brought it up too. Interesting that you thought he was a little autistic!

  • Shady 90
    Shady 90 3 days ago +2

    In Split, they are not talking to each other, as he said. They different characters n are just recording themselves in a video.

  • Sheo of Isles
    Sheo of Isles 3 days ago

    Too bad its on this ass cancer channel.

  • Camille
    Camille 4 days ago +1

    10:52 “ I would be very nervous being around someone like that” but aren’t you a psychologist?

    • Camille
      Camille 2 days ago

      Jay jackson so true

    • Jay jackson
      Jay jackson 2 days ago

      @SickBoy Me. People who are educated and have empathy. :)

    • SickBoy
      SickBoy 2 days ago

      @Jay jackson Who, though?

    • Jay jackson
      Jay jackson 2 days ago +1

      @SickBoy someone who's supposed to be a helper and carer to mentally ill/neuroatupical people. If you're scared of a group of people you shouldnt put yourself in a position where it's your job to help them

    • SickBoy
      SickBoy 2 days ago

      Yeah, but he's still human. Who wouldn't be a little scared of someone like that?

  • Ari Lourdes
    Ari Lourdes 4 days ago

    This was really insightful. Thank you 😊

  • Imaginary_me123
    Imaginary_me123 4 days ago

    He kinda looks like the psychologist in Grey's anatomy

  • Emily Royer
    Emily Royer 4 days ago

    Ok but where’s shutter island

  • Blue Kirkpatrick
    Blue Kirkpatrick 4 days ago

    Does he blink a lot or is it just me

  • whatakuriosgirl
    whatakuriosgirl 4 days ago

    I saw a post about figuring out whether something is a hallucination; one of the tips was that if you wear glasses, take them off to see if the thing you're seeing is still in focus. I think for auditory hallucinations it involves headphones.

  • Akai Kage Akame
    Akai Kage Akame 4 days ago

    I'm better off alone and isolated than together with people who don't understand me. That's why I always ask if I can do things by myself.
    Being alone doesn't make me feely lonely. Being surrounded by people makes me feel lonely.
    I never get caught doing something wrong at school because teachers and most students think of me as a goody-two-shoes. Only few people know what I am really like.

  • Hermione Granger
    Hermione Granger 4 days ago +1

    I see Sherlock, I click

  • Bea Elinoff
    Bea Elinoff 4 days ago +2

    *i saw sherlock and i clicked *

  • morgan destiny
    morgan destiny 4 days ago

    for schizophrenia my biological father was actually very abusive but more in the emotional sense. he tore my mom down accused her of cheating out of nowhere and was crazy due to the alcohol and drugs he was taking rather than taking medications. he would hear things under the house or hear things around the house thinking people were in the house and mentioned seeing "demons" my family was very religious so my grandparents shoving that onto him caused him to hallucinate these things and i was so young he scared me to the point i thought i was seeing demons.

  • Citty Catkin
    Citty Catkin 4 days ago

    Are there any movies that have good examples of BPD?

  • Jude Cieffe
    Jude Cieffe 4 days ago

    i wish we'd been able to see him give his opinion of the whole films, like he did with beautiful mind. for other films it seems that he only reacted to short clips. but the film as a whole may give a different perspective and an incorrect portrayal in other areas and people could be thinking that it's an accurate depiction all in all. i know he doesn't say he's analysing the whole film, but people might take it as that.

  • pussyslayerswagmoney69vbucks - 〽-

    Where can I contact this psychologist..and can I be like ur bestfriend

  • Jewelia Bowden
    Jewelia Bowden 4 days ago +3

    My coworker will talk to customers THAT AREN'T REAL! I feel bad for him but he only does this he doesn't take his medicine.

  • Anna Miller
    Anna Miller 4 days ago

    Why didn’t I know Sherlock is a sociopath

  • Audrey Arroyo
    Audrey Arroyo 4 days ago +13

    You need him to react to •we need to talk about Kevin•

  • Molly Fox
    Molly Fox 4 days ago

    I’m so confused with the complexion of the speaker. Sorry if this is unrelated. . . Not trying to say there’s anything wrong with it too. 🤔🤔

  • Number Five
    Number Five 4 days ago

    Finding out I’m a half sociopath half psychopath and bipolar

  • nomnom
    nomnom 4 days ago

    Why Rick Sanchez isn't here? Wubba lubba dub dub!

  • Cookie Alpaca
    Cookie Alpaca 4 days ago

    If anyone is looking to know more about disassociative identity disorder there's this channel called DissosciaDID where the person has DID and talks about their personal experiences and debunks myths

  • Fairy Princess
    Fairy Princess 4 days ago

    For the Bipolar disorder could it be BPD/EUPD instead? It's very similar to Bipolar disorder just faster so moods do change very quickly.

    • Jude Cieffe
      Jude Cieffe 4 days ago +1

      BPD/EUPD doesn't have the goal orientation that was specifically mentioned. plus BPD/EUPD has many more diagnostic criteria, so it's not as simple as a fast cycling version of bipolar disorder. there are also fast cycling forms of bipolar disorder that are distinct from BPD/EUPD. they do get confused and misdiagnosed often. plus a person can have both to add confusion. a good way to differentiate the two if only looking at the range of emotions that both conditions share is that bipolar disorder is not contingent on events. so someone with bipolar disorder will not have a change of mood if something good or bad happens while either manic or depressed respectively. BPD/EUPD on the other hand is dependent on stimuli, so someone might be elated because someone said something nice to them, but the next minute feel that they are worthless because of a look or tone of voice that other people wouldn't even have noticed.

  • Michelle Lopez
    Michelle Lopez 5 days ago

    I got scared at the title cuz I thought it said “Real Psychopaths Review Mental Illness in Movies”😂

  • alan griffin
    alan griffin 5 days ago

    We need a movie representing BPD (Borderline Personality Disorder)

  • Leah Logsdon
    Leah Logsdon 5 days ago

    they shoulda done girl interrupted

  • Susan S
    Susan S 5 days ago +1

    In Split, the direct communication between the alters would be explained by indirect communication through the vlogging rather than an internal exchange.

  • Alexis Taylor
    Alexis Taylor 5 days ago

    Oh hell no you did not say spilt is good DID representation. Wtf it’s nothing like split

    • Allee Gordon
      Allee Gordon 5 days ago

      If I recall correctly isn't it kind of like any other mental illness where the symptoms vary person to person

  • Zack Arthur
    Zack Arthur 5 days ago

    He needs to follow the Goldwater rule

  • Maya
    Maya 5 days ago +2

    "Split" is such a masterpiece i am always impressed by the talent of the main actor but the ending was disappointing somehow

  • Lays Potato
    Lays Potato 5 days ago

    I remembered a girl in my friend's group on WhatsApp says she's a sociopath. Until I said sociopath is a mental illness and she flipped at me and got angry, stating that sociopath is not a mental illness.

  • Crapet
    Crapet 5 days ago +24

    I'm sorry this has almost nothing to do with the video but


    Ever since I've watched mission impossible I've been seeing Tom Cruise everywhere and it's genuinely terrifying lmao

  • RockBottom
    RockBottom 5 days ago +8

    Wait i just realized i am watching a BuzzFeed video instead of WIRED...

  • Liam
    Liam 5 days ago

    Man really said Iron man 3 is one of his favorite Marvel movies

  • Gabs L
    Gabs L 5 days ago

    Woah thank you so much for sharing this video! Ive always wanted to understand how psychopaths and sociopath like. I was so confused with both. I thought they’re same. Im still a bit unclear. Hope i could find more video like this. Reading article is hard for me to understand...

  • Nicole Steigerwald
    Nicole Steigerwald 5 days ago +21

    I would love to see him react to Elliott Alderson from Mr. Robot

    • tittysucker69 - àłthęå
      tittysucker69 - àłthęå 3 days ago +1

      Nicole Steigerwald yessss it’s one of my favorite shows!

    • Nicole Steigerwald
      Nicole Steigerwald 4 days ago +1

      tittysucker69 - àłthęå yesss I love that show and the character and I’d love to know his opinion on it!!

    • tittysucker69 - àłthęå
      tittysucker69 - àłthęå 4 days ago

      Nicole Steigerwald oh my god that’s exactly what I was thinking! 😳

  • Jocelyn K
    Jocelyn K 5 days ago +4

    It always got me upset how they glorified psychopaths in Doctor Who and claimed River Song was one. She was not.

    • Regulate Sun
      Regulate Sun 4 days ago

      Jocelyn K she was most definitely not one and I have no clue how they labeled her as one

  • Alexa Estrella
    Alexa Estrella 5 days ago +40

    im a simple girl, i see benedict cumberbatch’s sherlock, i click.

  • TheOptimusprime246
    TheOptimusprime246 5 days ago

    my professors reccommend rain man a lot,

  • Olive Seraphim
    Olive Seraphim 5 days ago

    What a breath of fresh air he is

  • Leo Kliesen
    Leo Kliesen 5 days ago +1

    So the director of Thor Ragnarok is a psychologist?

  • Abby Marie
    Abby Marie 5 days ago

    being bipolar myself, the escalations can happen that quickly. in mania I get irritable, I don't sleep, I get very anxious and ADHD, I have severe mood swings and can be very indecisive. when I am in a depression I get very dark, I often get suicidal, I sleep for days, I don't eat, and I overall don't care. if in in either phase I can be very risk taking. if I have and episode (as shown in the movie) I get extremely impulsive. and things do escalate extremely quick. I can get loud or seem violent, and sometimes need assistance in calming down. they way bipolar is portrayed in many movies is often shown as having mood swings every few minutes and that is 100 % not what it is. if you look at it, a "normal" person's moods fluctuate, but aren't drastic (think waves) whereas someone with bipolar, their moods are extreme up and downs, and can last days, weeks, or months, (think mountains and valleys).

  • Ember Flight
    Ember Flight 5 days ago +59

    I saw Sherlock, and I clicked

  • Jenna Tolls
    Jenna Tolls 5 days ago +1

    This is my first time coming across any of your content and i'm impressed!! I have Borderline personality disorder but unfortunately it is always overshadowed by Bipolar :/
    Off to watch Silver Lining 👌🏼

  • MultiplicityAndMe
    MultiplicityAndMe 5 days ago

    The moment a Dr pronounces it “DissAsociative Identity Disorder”, you know they’re definitely not an expert on the topic 🙈 sorry Doc. But great for pointing out that Shamalamydingdong’s extremely stigmatising film is harmful to conditions like mine! Also: vlogging can happen 😉

  • Natasha
    Natasha 6 days ago +134

    "Most people who have mental illnesses are not violent. They're more likely to be victims of violence"

  • Hannah Louise
    Hannah Louise 6 days ago +3

    Gotta love Buzzfeed ripping off WIRED

  • Kimberly Jones
    Kimberly Jones 6 days ago +9

    Any other college psych majors here✋

  • Can GG
    Can GG 6 days ago

    (bruh)
    ↗️

  • Julia Cleary
    Julia Cleary 6 days ago +5

    THIS TOPIC IS SO SO IMPORTANT CONCERNING THE NEED TO RAISE AWARENESS AND PROPER REPRESENTATION OF MENTAL HEALTH ISSUES ESPECIALLY IN THE MEDIA. GIVE THIS MAN A SERIES

  • Galina Kristensen
    Galina Kristensen 6 days ago

    I thought psychology dropped the terms sociopath and psychopath

    • Jay jackson
      Jay jackson 3 days ago

      They have, he said so. Its Antisocial personality disorder but that people colloquially use the two

  • Mr. Caligos
    Mr. Caligos 6 days ago

    Everything is just an insult for geniuses by labile social slaves. Psychology is fake science based on one angle of view and on the fake social norms which don't exist. There are no facts in this field, just presumptions and prejudices.

  • deepz513
    deepz513 6 days ago

    Not sure if removing rating ..is good thing but I see in comments it working well for u

  • deepz513
    deepz513 6 days ago +1

    Gave u like just cuz u liked iron man. .RDJ:)

  • prince well
    prince well 7 days ago +6

    Disappointed he didn’t do Heath ledger Joker, Jared Leto Joker, or Harlequin.

  • Ebony Love
    Ebony Love 7 days ago +21

    He talks like he's asking himself alot of questions about everything he's saying.

    • Maya Ringer
      Maya Ringer 5 days ago +2

      I think he's just trying to form the correct words and be accurate on the spot and doesn't want to say the wrong things especially in front of a camera. My voice goes up sometimes when i'm being casuous as I speak. But I get what you mean.

  • Marta
    Marta 7 days ago

    BASTA SBATTERMI IN FACCIA IRON MAAAAN IO PIANGO CAZZOOO

  • Meaghan OGrady
    Meaghan OGrady 7 days ago

    HI BEFORE YOU SHOW ME A DROWNING BABY COULD YOU MAYBE PUT A WARNING SO I DONT GET ALL FUCKED UP AND HAVE A BAD EVENING?
    NEXT TIME I GUESS.

  • dontmessupmykokobop
    dontmessupmykokobop 7 days ago +8

    This guy obviously knows his stuff! But... Rain Man isn't just autistic, he's based on a real guy called Kim Peek who is a savant (or an autistic savant).

  • gerardo perez
    gerardo perez 7 days ago

    The first time i hear someone say iron man 3 is my favorite movie

  • Sarah-Anne Carney
    Sarah-Anne Carney 7 days ago

    I didnt know thats what was happening. I would BEG my ex to stop saying specific horrible things as just recovering from an attempt. But i couldn't word why the dark things he was saying were beyond distressing. I would be filled with real gripping panic.

  • Ria Fajdetic
    Ria Fajdetic 7 days ago

    When talking about Dissociative identity disorder please PLEASE have a look at DissociaDID USclip channel. Especially about the movie Split and how very very damaging it is for people who actually live with DID. They also talk about the disorder in a very scientific way and show different perspectives in a educational and calm manner.

  • NO ONE
    NO ONE 7 days ago +1

    Now 3 days ago i had an essay in pshycology about personality/mental disorders
    And youtube decided to recommend me this after i finished it.

    • NO ONE
      NO ONE 7 days ago

      @xMissEerie postponed till the last 2 hours like 😂😂😂

    • xMissEerie
      xMissEerie 7 days ago

      Well if there is a next time, maybe you could search some videos on here before starting your essay. I used to watch a lot of videos on here to get perspective when I did my papers.

  • Veronique Clemesha
    Veronique Clemesha 8 days ago +3

    It actually escalates like that for me during manic episodes. Very quick and can happen within minutes.

  • JustGuess :P
    JustGuess :P 8 days ago

    I think the real John Nash (the guy A Beautiful Mind is based on) had auditory hallucinations. This being a movie, though, not showing a visual aspect likely would have made it way too obvious to the audience what was and was not a hallucination.

  • Rick Relly
    Rick Relly 8 days ago

    Where is Shutter Island

  • frigiggle
    frigiggle 8 days ago +67

    I really want to see this guys opinion of Killing Eve and the sociopaths and psychopathic characters in it.

  • Diego Leitão
    Diego Leitão 8 days ago

    Superficial comments with a high pitch at the end of everything he says: I'm a Psychologist myself and I can affirm this: the Real Psychologist dude here doesn't really have that much to say. Typical BuzzFeed material.

  • akita sOuNd
    akita sOuNd 8 days ago +5

    teacher gave me an exam paper and I blinked
    he : *_"see? panic attack just started"_*