Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies

Share
Embed

Comments • 6 393

  • psyknerver
    psyknerver Hour ago

    Dustin Hoffman based his character of the autistic savant Kim Peak.

  • Josh fedora Moore
    Josh fedora Moore 8 hours ago

    When he was going over silver linings playbook and said “this shows how hard it can be for the family” I really felt that, having a family member with extremely severe manic-bipolar disorder is an extremely difficult thing to deal with

  • Julie B
    Julie B 15 hours ago

    A delight to watch, thank you.

  • Nflames REAL
    Nflames REAL 22 hours ago +1

    *I'm a mixture between a sociopath and a psychopath.*

  • Vadalia
    Vadalia Day ago

    Some tricks I've seen some people with schizophrenia describe are- For audio hallucinations, put on headphones and listen to music. If you hear the voice(s) just as well with the headphones on/music playing as you did without them, it's a hallucination. For visual hallucinations, either take off your glasses or, if you don't wear glasses, unfocus your eyes so everything you see goes fuzzy. Just like the audio trick, if you can see the questionable person/object just as well as with your glasses on/eyes focused, that means it's a visual hallucination.

  • Lioness Mummy
    Lioness Mummy Day ago

    My daughter is autistic. The rigidity is accurate and so is the fixation.

  • mia goard
    mia goard Day ago

    FBI agent reacts to criminal minds

  • Andrea Grisell
    Andrea Grisell Day ago

    Someone get that man a hug.

  • Josh Baldridge
    Josh Baldridge 3 days ago

    It's unfortunate that antisocial personality disorder (as I was diagnosed with in high school) as well as most other common mental illnesses are constantly portrayed as a prop or setpiece in the life of those affected. It's typically portrayed in media as a stereotypical "heros story" sort of Arc, or a villians story aimed solely at relating an audience to the absolute worst and most extreme cases of said conditions. It creates a stigma around it, even when symptoms are barely noticeable to those outside of practice, people tend to take the worst qualities and generalizations and judge you for them even when you don't express said qualities most of the time, if at all. The label is all it takes. I refrain from mentioning it in social interactions because the last thing someone wants to hear at a party is "sorry that I'm not quite as in tune to people as I should be due to a very narrow and often ignorant mindset I possess, caused by something I have little control over, that I struggle to improve on constantly, which is why I'm even bothering to have the interactions in the first place. By the way I'm technically a sociopath, but I'm trying to improve though." Not exactly something you'd be willing to share right?

  • Sakina Fletcher
    Sakina Fletcher 3 days ago

    Omg the ending I hope he got his hug

  • Charlotte Kwong
    Charlotte Kwong 3 days ago

    I love these kinds of videos! The lawyer was one of my favorite

  • Ian Butler
    Ian Butler 3 days ago

    rainman is based on a real person....

  • Lukson
    Lukson 4 days ago

    Mental illness is temporary disability of human intelligence, or even permanetly.

  • raks
    raks 4 days ago

    You guys should've put typhoid Mary from iron fist up there

  • Nasrullah wani
    Nasrullah wani 6 days ago +1

    the doctor is a kashmiri i think

  • Eduardo S
    Eduardo S 6 days ago

    Can a sociopath also be a psychopath?

  • Makenzie White
    Makenzie White 6 days ago

    Camera work was shoddy, not gonna lie...

  • Who Knows
    Who Knows 6 days ago

    My favorite part of this whole thing was how he actually properly used the word "Trigger".

  • leayks idk
    leayks idk 7 days ago

    Was i the only one who kept reading the titel as "real sociopath"

  • Emmi & Elyssa
    Emmi & Elyssa 7 days ago +1

    Where’s Shane Dawson?!

  • TRIGGERED LIL CROOKED FURRIES

    A blind man reviews bird box

  • DeadbeatBadger
    DeadbeatBadger 8 days ago

    For Split, it should've been the scene where he transitions from Barry to Dennis

  • Tiffany Fichtenbaum
    Tiffany Fichtenbaum 8 days ago

    In rainman they actually based his character on an actual man who was autistic with savant tendencies. So they got the manurisims right

  • Nolan Friedline
    Nolan Friedline 8 days ago

    Uptalk.
    So... much... uptalk!!!

  • blueline
    blueline 9 days ago

    Gone Girl to me was a modern take on Psycho.

  • Sudev S. Nair
    Sudev S. Nair 9 days ago

    Memento?

  • Han
    Han 9 days ago

    I'd love to see a psychologist watch "Girl, Interrupted"

  • Lars Frisk
    Lars Frisk 10 days ago

    He should respond to Shane Dawson's jake paul series.

  • thebunofdoom 190
    thebunofdoom 190 10 days ago

    SEE SHANE!

  • Khanamirie Valizadeh
    Khanamirie Valizadeh 10 days ago

    why isn't THE DARK KNIGHT SCENE HERE

  • Zev
    Zev 11 days ago

    Such a great video! I personally aspire to study psychology in the future.
    I have some questions about Sociopaths in form of "myths". I would love you tell me if they're right or wrong.
    1. They’re nervous and easily agitated
    2. They have no impulse control
    3. They don’t learn from their mistakes
    4. They don’t plan things
    5. They’re unreliable
    6. They tell lies
    7. They’re manipulative
    8. They don’t understand emotions
    9. They have difficulty forming attachments
    10. Their personality may well be from environmental factors

  • Frieza Frieza
    Frieza Frieza 12 days ago

    What About The Shinning

  • Alan Garner
    Alan Garner 12 days ago

    Is psychosis similar to schizophrenia?....... im wondering because im diagnosed with psychosis, im also diagnosed with ASPD.

  • naw28878787
    naw28878787 12 days ago

    That was great. BuzzFeed Can you please bring back Dr Ali Mattu or another clinical psychologist and get him to review videos of the President of the USA. Now that, ladies and gentlemen should be fun.

  • pan icon
    pan icon 12 days ago

    Shane Dawson who

  • Shadow Clan
    Shadow Clan 13 days ago +1

    I’d love to see him, or another specialist, react to the new series ‘You’ on Netflix and see what he thinks

  • Kuiyonna Thompson
    Kuiyonna Thompson 13 days ago

    Split kinda pisses me off as someone with D.I.D.

  • T May P
    T May P 13 days ago

    I am surprised how he doesn't talk like Appu

  • smartPuff 73
    smartPuff 73 14 days ago

    Thank you for saying sociopaths and psychopaths are different. Thank you.

  • Blighted Ashes
    Blighted Ashes 15 days ago

    no sensui???

  • Defod Vaan Ddjit
    Defod Vaan Ddjit 15 days ago +2

    Dang, missed the opportunity to analyze Joker there

  • Роман Мавроян

    so judjing by these reactions, people know about mental illnesses more than they do about the physics of the world that we're living in. Which probably means, that people are/were more interested in mental illnesses than in physics, which, in turn, means that the majority of people understands mental illnesses better than physics.
    Is it just me imagining, or are we living in a world of mentally ill people?

  • AK- Metal
    AK- Metal 15 days ago

    Split!!! I’m glad you review that movie. Superb acting skills!

  • Jelly Zombies
    Jelly Zombies 15 days ago

    No girl interrupted ??

  • unknown
    unknown 16 days ago +1

    shane entered the chat

  • Geoff Roach
    Geoff Roach 16 days ago

    The issue with split, mpd is a very hard disorder to determine if it's actually real or not. If it does exist, it's less than 0.01% of the entire human population, which is another problem with this supposed illness.

  • Joyful Sorrow
    Joyful Sorrow 17 days ago

    I have to say, that was a very interesting video.

  • CherryGryffon
    CherryGryffon 18 days ago

    My stepson is autistic, and my brother is on the spectrum formerly called an Aspie; We're all very fond of Rainman, every time I see it it makes me homesick.

  • Crimson Prose
    Crimson Prose 18 days ago

    - People mistaking DiD for schizophrenia really annoys me.
    - That scene where you're talking about confusion seems really spot on for how the paranoia part feels.
    - You're right that the realization that it's not real doesn't equate to not having an issue. Knowing my paranoia was about something 'not real' didn't change my body's reaction to it and it was still debilitating sometimes. It's a strange experience to be terrified of something you know isn't real.

  • Alice Willoughby
    Alice Willoughby 19 days ago +5

    "If my dog is not reacting to something then I know it's my illness." I like that! More and more I'm learning to love the idea of service dogs!

  • Anarchy Squad
    Anarchy Squad 19 days ago

    I got a tik tok ad

  • McPuffs
    McPuffs 20 days ago +1

    So anyone that is anti-social is either a psychopath or sociopath? Avoid going to this doctor.

  • Martinez안드레아
    Martinez안드레아 20 days ago

    9:52 why dose he sound like Ned from the try guys 😂

  • NJP695
    NJP695 20 days ago

    He’s so right about the Schizophrenia bit; when I first got my cat I named him Horatio, Prince Hamlet’s close friend and the one who distinguished the ghost of King Hamlet to be, well, a ghost. He helps me when I hear things tremendously, as whenever there’s something REAL to react to, I can watch his eyes perk up, or even look in the direction of the noise.
    Good kitty. Best friend.

  • Noctis
    Noctis 20 days ago

    So the video the dark side of the jake paul is wrong?

  • laura martinez
    laura martinez 20 days ago +1

    I love how he said ppl with mental illness are often the victim of violence bc in psychopaths there’s a lack of activity in the orbital cortex and a the aggressive MAOA gene or the warrior gene and that basically determines wether or not ur gonna be a murder which is extremely vague and there’s definitely other factors but the main reason is basically if ur abused as a child that gene is basically triggered and ur ethics/morals are controlled by impulsivity but if ur loved and raised right as a child u understand ethics and morals and it won’t be controlled by ur impulsivity so someone could score really high on psychopathic tendencies but not be a murderer. everyone has psychopathic tendencies but they aren’t harmful in any way. So basically ppl who are hurt will hurt others.

  • _Ali_
    _Ali_ 21 day ago

    Finally, a video which actually has pretty much the correct subtitles AND with punctuation. Thanks so much! :)

  • Ana Wieder
    Ana Wieder 21 day ago +1

    I’d like him to review tv shows, particularly Crazy Ex Girlfriend, Untypical and Empire.

  • El Mundo de Hades
    El Mundo de Hades 21 day ago

    Rainman is a GREAT movie!!

  • Katinka Ridde-Coffey

    I have been told that a high percentage of surgeons are psychopaths . Is that true?

    • The Crimson fucker
      The Crimson fucker 15 days ago

      Katinka Ridde-Coffey
      No. They’re sociopaths. They kind of have to be.

  • Hilary Benoit
    Hilary Benoit 21 day ago

    A beautiful mind is Paranoid Schizophrenia..played by Russell Crowe.

  • DH_Artist
    DH_Artist 21 day ago

    What about “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape”, “Forrest Gump”, or “The Good Doctor”????

  • Jummbie
    Jummbie 22 days ago

    damn, just gonna take wired's idea

  • Shalone Alexander
    Shalone Alexander 22 days ago

    Did anyone identify all the movies because now I’m curious to watch them 😭

  • Joshua Hale
    Joshua Hale 22 days ago

    Split was a horrible example. I’m glad he knew what the idea Shyamalan was having was. But Split was a super villain origin story.

  • Aubrie Visor
    Aubrie Visor 22 days ago

    You should do an episode where a barista/bartender reviews movie drink orders

  • jamellah
    jamellah 23 days ago

    thought the title said “psychopath”

  • jlo803
    jlo803 23 days ago

    A "Real" psychologist unlike those fake psychologists out there...

  • AlchemistOfNirnroot
    AlchemistOfNirnroot 24 days ago

    Sherlock's a drug user, but he's not impulsive?

  • Unidentified floating item

    Split kind of sucked

  • Abu Faqih
    Abu Faqih 24 days ago

    No Forrest Gump? Really?

  • Alyssa Jusuf
    Alyssa Jusuf 25 days ago

    Thanks 😀😀 i watched this video before my quiz tommorow.

  • Hope Zaragoza
    Hope Zaragoza 25 days ago

    ATTENTION: Production

  • Hope Zaragoza
    Hope Zaragoza 25 days ago

    BuzzFeedVideo, i would like to inform you that THIS CONCEPT OF THE VIDEO is an original work. The Copyright and Patent Location, is the Superior Courthouses. Judges and Attorneys. Please delete this Video because it does not have legal approval. Thank You..

  • Red Riding Hood Mystery
    Red Riding Hood Mystery 25 days ago +2

    How is that baby alive

  • Adam Yun
    Adam Yun 26 days ago

    I'm worried about my mental health now

  • GGG
    GGG 26 days ago

    Y does watching this give me anxiety

  • Maddie O'Dwyer
    Maddie O'Dwyer 27 days ago

    Would love you to do Angelina Jolie as Lisa in Girl Interrupted

  • Winona Depp
    Winona Depp 28 days ago

    Dr. Ali, is it possible for someone to become a psychologist while showing disorders? Thank you for your response.

  • Bleach Martini
    Bleach Martini 28 days ago +4

    I'm not much of a buzzfeed fan, but Dr. Ali is the man!

  • CRocketSlim
    CRocketSlim 29 days ago

    I've always enjoyed Iron Man 3 despite its issues, just because of RDJ's performance. Dude is a fantastic actor and deserves all the success he's had since he cleaned himself up.

  • K52 Biethel
    K52 Biethel 29 days ago

    Best video buzzfeed ever released

  • Sage Chan
    Sage Chan 29 days ago

    FINALLY someone agrees that Iron Man 3 is not only great but great because of it addressing Mental Health.

  • Paint Smudge
    Paint Smudge 29 days ago

    He looks like Derrick Gerard

  • stewiegriffin3000
    stewiegriffin3000 29 days ago

    Talking about the bipolar. “It wouldn’t happen that quickly” boy you ain’t met me when I have a manic episode it happens THAT quickly or it will skip straight to that for me. Doesn’t happen often for me I keep it under control most of the time maybe once a month I’ll have a huge outburst.

  • dont mind
    dont mind 29 days ago

    I think my Manager is either a psychopath or sociopath. he's cold, calculated, manipulative and unemotional. I've just resigned because I don't want to be a part of that anymore.

  • CraZe
    CraZe Month ago

    i wanna see this guy review serial killers like dexter or in the show criminal minds

  • Tzach Gefen
    Tzach Gefen Month ago

    I'm trying not to be mean. That upward inflection at the end of every sentence makes you sound super monotonous. And the bad part of it, is that you seem to know what you're talking about. Plus, you have great timbre. So, just think about that friend. Great video. Always been fascinated with mental illness. Grew up with mild OCD and a bit of ADHD. In Lebanon 2006, I feel like I came back with some mild form of PTSD.... Much love to all. be well

  • Silver Xiclus
    Silver Xiclus Month ago

    It's kinda weird when most people talk with a curious kind of tone, like if they are making a question in every sentence they speak.

  • Wolfy
    Wolfy Month ago

    I just saw Benedict Cumberbitch and boom. Here I am.

  • Brandon
    Brandon Month ago

    its not a movie, but Shameless has a pretty incredible representation of bipolar disorder

  • Walter Calle
    Walter Calle Month ago

    visual hallucination it´s never gonna be in
    schizophrenia, it´s cause by organic like a tumor or drugs

  • Azraelle
    Azraelle Month ago

    One thing I really wish movies and TV shows would stop misrepresenting is Tourrette's Syndrome. It's not just about uncontrollable swearing.

  • Jacky Banuelos
    Jacky Banuelos Month ago

    His reactions haha

  • Seth
    Seth Month ago

    The only thing I have to say is that you called them “personalities”! They are actually called “alters”. :-)

  • sh hazirah
    sh hazirah Month ago

    I want him to watch bodyguard

  • Jack Knight
    Jack Knight Month ago

    Thank you for saying Sherlock seems autistic. That was something discussed as a possibility in 221B Con's 2018 Pannel "Queering Sherlock". And I've been saying he's autistic for years. (Specifically BBC Sherlock)

  • Cyrex
    Cyrex Month ago

    Where is Saga Noren?

  • azsli2
    azsli2 Month ago

    My son has multiple personalities but he is NOT scito

  • jillhbaudhaan
    jillhbaudhaan Month ago +16

    This guy should turn this into a USclip series