18-core iMac Pro Review: Not a Trap!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 2, 2018
  • iMac Pro. Turns out it's not a trap. It's pretty damn good.
    That time I thought it was a trap: usclip.net/video/RvXmktAurSQ/video.html
    That wallpaper: i.imgur.com/YO1xfwJ.jpg
    Satechi hub: amzn.to/2oE4VtP
    Twelvesouth stand: twelvesouth.com/product/hirise-pro-for-imac
    MKBHD Merch: shop.MKBHD.com
    Video Gear I use: kit.com/MKBHD/video-gear#recommendation17959
    Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/influencer-0bfe542e
    Intro Track: More Better by Alltta
    ~
    twitter.com/MKBHD
    snapchat.com/add/MKBHD
    google.com/+MarquesBrownlee
    instagram.com/MKBHD
    facebook.com/MKBHD
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 6 540

  • Brat Vasea
    Brat Vasea 2 days ago

    I see 90% of videos on this channel are pure commercials... man, can you do a video about my aunt's cunt? I PAY!!!

  • Rohan Ankalkote
    Rohan Ankalkote 4 days ago +1

    can i play 144p video on that....

  • Trail Centric
    Trail Centric 4 days ago

    Could've built a AMD Threadripper and had 32 Cores and 64GB of RAM for way less than what you paid. Apple is trash.

  • applemarkwantsvids
    applemarkwantsvids 8 days ago

    Very nice presentation. Thank you for the insight. BADASS setup!

  • Blank oish
    Blank oish 11 days ago

    i could get thin bezzel desktop in much cheaper price using microsoft.....so fuck off

  • Blank oish
    Blank oish 11 days ago

    how much you earn mr mkb....mtrfkr

  • Elwin van Wees
    Elwin van Wees 11 days ago

    What do you mean "this is worth it"? Is it worth it because it's fun to work with or are your projects actually going to get significantly faster so the machine pays for itself over time? To me, only the second option is actually worth it, since it is supposed to be used professionally.
    In other words, do a Ben Sullins "True Cost Of Ownership" !!
    Also in NZD the fully upgraded version (with 256GB RAM) the things is only $27k NZD... yeah that better pay for itself fast because I can see the market of people actually buying that for there business being pretty limited.

  • The Fishkeeper
    The Fishkeeper 13 days ago

    While I personally don't like all in ones, I think the iMac Pro is probably the best machine Apple makes in terms of value for money (actually compares favourably to most windows machines of similar specs) and I/O. It's the first machine they've made in a while with "Pro" in the name that is actually worthy of the title.

  • James Holbrook
    James Holbrook 16 days ago

    I feel like that decimal is in the wrong place

  • Vikram Singh
    Vikram Singh 17 days ago

    10 grands.. Are you crazy?

  • FluffyBara
    FluffyBara 17 days ago

    No computer should cost thirteen grand that's fucking ridiculous. That is not even close to worth that much Jesus Christ.

  • DanM101
    DanM101 18 days ago

    I think if it was $26k this dude would like it even more

  • Daniel Bartakei
    Daniel Bartakei 21 day ago

    i love how this video starts

  • Minecraft Fan376
    Minecraft Fan376 21 day ago

    That’s Like $21k AUS

  • frustated student
    frustated student 23 days ago +3

    Here i cant afford 150$ smartphone and he is buying 13k mac
    *cried in corner😢😢

    • Jeewantha Bandara
      Jeewantha Bandara 3 days ago

      Hugs from another broke student. It's going to be OK bro

  • Dorin MosuD
    Dorin MosuD 23 days ago

    Apple black stickers ?

  • Gazooo29
    Gazooo29 23 days ago

    Fuck, with the “Boom Boom” now my speakers don’t sound right

  • Salehin Khan
    Salehin Khan 24 days ago

    What's the name of that keyboard?

  • Saif Chowdhury
    Saif Chowdhury 24 days ago

    but can you game on it???

  • Frischeparadies
    Frischeparadies 24 days ago

    buy it, wait for the first even minor failure, understand there is zero repairsbility, trash the overpriced device. apple is dead, period.

  • Kittykat927
    Kittykat927 25 days ago

    It's not the maxed out one any more so. ha ha!

  • Ashir Ashraf
    Ashir Ashraf 28 days ago +3

    This is my favourite mkbhd video. It's so crisp.

  • Chicken Nugget
    Chicken Nugget 28 days ago

    13000 bucks? what a ripoff! just build your own! building your own Hackintosh or windows pc with the same spec would probably be half price.

    • Chicken Nugget
      Chicken Nugget 25 days ago

      +Wifi-X-masher oh really? because i can probably build one on pcpartpicker for less.

    • Wifi-X-masher
      Wifi-X-masher 26 days ago

      Chicken Nugget a similar speced pc cost about $200 more. Yeah......

  • Blaster Gaming121
    Blaster Gaming121 29 days ago +9

    I paid 2500$ for a car and it is pretty good

  • MegaVideohost
    MegaVideohost Month ago +2

    That intro tho

  • Joseph Barnett
    Joseph Barnett Month ago +2

    The only thing not pro about this machine is the fact that you can’t repair it yourself.

  • Peter Parker
    Peter Parker Month ago +15

    Finally enough ram to run chrome.

  • Alpha Redeye
    Alpha Redeye Month ago

    £13000 is more than my ford fiesta 2018 registration wow we finally do live in a world where computers and desktops cost more than a car 🚘

  • SAM GAMING AND TUTORIALS

    I NEED ONLY 14 kidneys

  • Omar
    Omar Month ago

    the fact that this piece of shit costs 5k is absurd imagine what kind of pc you could build with that money :DDD

  • Alex potap
    Alex potap Month ago

    Thanks God it has external keyboard, right?

  • ROBLOX BOY
    ROBLOX BOY Month ago

    Я тут русский ясно

  • Wankie Legends
    Wankie Legends Month ago

    This shit is not worth it lol my gtx 980 ti has graphics than this

  • thesimulacre
    thesimulacre Month ago

    Want.

  • wileyk209zback
    wileyk209zback Month ago

    A real video editor's dream machine! I think Apple came out with the iMac Pro because they saw a lot of professionals were using the 27" Retina display iMac, which was a REALLY powerful Mac desktop then (and still is today, though not as much as the iMac Pro.)

  • KillerHax
    KillerHax Month ago

    13K? I can build a pc thats 20x faster with that money

  • Kilroy was Here
    Kilroy was Here Month ago

    You murdered my headphones with that intro music

  • Bilal Siddiqui
    Bilal Siddiqui Month ago

    3:16 is that a headphone jack? On an Apple device?

  • Idrisa Jaffary
    Idrisa Jaffary Month ago +2

    This guy is super Rich i guess how else does he get these super expensive gear

  • JustYourAverageStemGeek

    I just realized Marques likes black and red while Dave lee likes blue and white. Lmao

  • Achilles Peralta
    Achilles Peralta Month ago

    Measures in Rocket League games, mad respects

  • Crazy Crafty
    Crazy Crafty Month ago

    Where can i find that wallpaper at 1:47

  • Dessilu Niño Guevarra

    your video makes me feel very very very very very very poooor

  • Siddhesh Banjan
    Siddhesh Banjan Month ago

    buy apple from authorised reseller at best price..
    contact me

  • Nathan king
    Nathan king Month ago +1

    yeah it's only around 13k .... to most ppl that's their F'ing Car!

  • Josh12342
    Josh12342 Month ago +1

    U never even mentioned the Vega 56 or 64, ya know, the thing that's the next most important after the Intel Xeon processor u never mentioned either

  • Kai Gray
    Kai Gray Month ago

    what a fucking beast.

  • guru vyas
    guru vyas Month ago

    Ywaaaah

  • 1CBRDUDE
    1CBRDUDE Month ago

    Anybody buying one is in need of some kinda slap upside your head 13,000 is too much for a fucking computer .

  • BearsFanSinceBirth
    BearsFanSinceBirth Month ago

    *sits here with 2009 21.5 iMac with a dual core*

  • Prateek
    Prateek Month ago

    The best part is that if these youtubers pay their taxes, and I hope they do, all these insanely expensive purchases can basically be written off from your taxable income.

  • Tom Leeman
    Tom Leeman Month ago

    Thanks my next purchase

  • Mamta Patel
    Mamta Patel Month ago

    Wow

  • NethercraftMC5608
    NethercraftMC5608 Month ago

    144p squad!!

  • Mikey / BlueTitan145
    Mikey / BlueTitan145 2 months ago

    awesome desk setup

  • my account i use for commenting don't judge

    actually it kinda is

  • Eric Almonte
    Eric Almonte 2 months ago

    Must be nice to have bands

  • Olivia Qi
    Olivia Qi 2 months ago

    2:31 i died

  • Lynn Sutton
    Lynn Sutton 2 months ago

    Get a hair cut bro

  • FwelStars
    FwelStars 2 months ago +6

    rip headphones users at the into.

    • Δ わるよ歩み
      Δ わるよ歩み 22 days ago

      Love Marquees videos, but absolutely hate his intros, always too loud

  • Rooftop Rebel
    Rooftop Rebel 2 months ago

    Hey, can someone explain what he means at 6:30 when he talks about the 12:1 compression? He's obviously not gonna see this so I was curious if that means some kind of codec or bitrate or something? Thanks in advance.

  • Marian Cruțu
    Marian Cruțu 2 months ago

    0:00 Don't play bass drops on cheap TVs
    - Linus Tech Tips 2019

  • Vince Mendonça
    Vince Mendonça 2 months ago

    Dear Mr. Brownlee may I ask what the name of the motorized desk in the intro is?
    Sincerely.

  • Monsterrr19
    Monsterrr19 2 months ago

    Hi I am deaf I have a question, I am still confused, should I get iMac 21.5 or Mac Pro or iMac 27 inch. I want to edit adobe programs like after effects, photoshop and premiere, etc. I want to edit 4k videos too. HELP! I was told iMac 21.5 is very slow and is not worth the peace in the long run. I wish you have accurate subtitles on your videos...

  • elwingy
    elwingy 2 months ago

    its laughable really to see a bunch of people looking at the 13K price tag and acting as if someone would be an idiot investing this kind of money. This computer is not meant for people who want to play games. Its meant for professionals who make tens of thousands of dollars per week... let that sink in for a moment before commenting like idiots... those 13K are literally peanuts for most people that this machine is meant for...

    • Monsterrr19
      Monsterrr19 2 months ago

      I am aware that 18- CORE Mac Pro meant for professionals. I'm deaf so I can't hear what he said in the video but I have a question, I am still confused, should I get iMac 21.5 or Mac Pro or iMac 27 inch. I want to edit adobe programs like Maya, After Effects, Photoshop, Lightroom and Premiere, etc. I want to practise a lot and improve my skills before I can go into the media industry later. I heard iMac Pro is not upgradable. HELP! I was told iMac 21.5 is very slow and is not worth the price in the long run.

  • 24oz pinesolcan
    24oz pinesolcan 2 months ago

    bezels like that on a $5,000 machine is absolutely unacceptable. way too big. If the imac had thin bezels, I would be probably buy it

  • Phoenix Alpha
    Phoenix Alpha 2 months ago

    8:33, Can you explain yourself, please.

  • Jose Doe
    Jose Doe 2 months ago

    Shiiiiit you can by a car for $13000

  • Art Svanberg
    Art Svanberg 2 months ago

    Marques mention that his editing workflow benefits of the GPU. Isn't it CPU that is the doing most of the work while working with editing ?

  • Pasi Sallinen
    Pasi Sallinen 2 months ago

    You gotta do some SERIOUS work if 64gb of RAM is not enough

  • dhamSTR T
    dhamSTR T 2 months ago

    Buy a fucking pc. You can get something better for half the price

  • Ted Johnson
    Ted Johnson 2 months ago +1

    2:14 Aaaaah that’s hot

  • Rub3n
    Rub3n 2 months ago +1

    Waaaaaaaaiiiiit wait wait wait wait. The maxed out iMac Pro costs 13.000 $ in the US?! In Italy it's 16.000 €! And that's 18.000 $! I feel triggered right now.

  • Cayenne Pepper
    Cayenne Pepper 2 months ago

    This iMac Pro is just too damn expensive. I am building my own Hackintosh Pro.

  • Shark Map
    Shark Map 2 months ago +5

    He sounds like ASS hahaaha i can't stop laughing no offense btw

  • Clayton Landolt
    Clayton Landolt 2 months ago

    Where did you get that sick background?

  • Richard Zhang
    Richard Zhang 2 months ago

    Maybe we will consider it if it is equipped with Titan RTX or at LEAST TITAN VOLTA

  • keeto
    keeto 2 months ago

    been editing videos on a 2009 mac book pro for the longest time now

  • JustCarp
    JustCarp 3 months ago

    It’s not like I need a kidney anyway

  • Brandon
    Brandon 3 months ago

    A rocket league update is a long time for us common folk with 20/down

  • Ashley Lahm
    Ashley Lahm 3 months ago

    Really great video mate! Subscribed ;)

  • Ryan Dela Cruz
    Ryan Dela Cruz 3 months ago +1

    Hey great video... what specs would you recommend for video editing 4k maybe 8k footage , 30min documentary films or 5 min videos. base model imac pro... or what configuration for imac 27inch non pro

  • VaultBoy97
    VaultBoy97 3 months ago

    lol apple.. $13k. are you serious?? Its like for millionaires only. And here I was thinking the cream of the crop for computers was a $3k i9 2080Ti 64gb PC. Performance probably wouldn't be that much different either for the massive $10k difference in price.

  • Divine Zeal
    Divine Zeal 3 months ago

    If youre a professional 10-13k for equipment is fair at the least...

  • Dimitris Theo
    Dimitris Theo 3 months ago

    Ram (base model) is 32GB

  • Got Game
    Got Game 3 months ago

    5,000 dollars lol

  • Ian 64
    Ian 64 3 months ago

    Any1 have any ideas as to when the next MacBook Pro comes out with the iMac Pro’s specs?

  • Jayakumar H
    Jayakumar H 3 months ago

    Gimme the link of your wall paper

  • Dimitris
    Dimitris 3 months ago

    I bought a used Hp Z600 workstation at 2016 for 550euros. It's 9 years old (2010 release date) but it has 2 Xeons (X5650) runs at 2.66GHz (3.22GHz on boost) with 24 physical cores and 48Gb RAM. I bought also a GTX 1070 and there you have it. A freaking beast with 1050euros!!! I'm pretty sure that my machine beats this apple crap...

  • Repulse theMonkey
    Repulse theMonkey 3 months ago

    You paid $13,000 for this! Jesus H. You must have a really good job, and no hobbies. Or a rich dad. (-:

  • Md. Muhidur Rahaman
    Md. Muhidur Rahaman 3 months ago

    Can it game??

  • DEXXO
    DEXXO 3 months ago

    I dont know what a mentality apple has, but realy on iphone no headphone jack 3,5 they say old tech haha , on new ibooks No SD reader, but on the new I mack pro has head phone and SD finaly they listen to the customers ? so then bring out all products with non removing sutch important and UNIVERSAL! Ports in any new products ohterwise for me iz totaly stupid nonsense a lmao whenn i see apple laptop users running arround with bunches of dongles hahaha

  • Hussein Mazhar
    Hussein Mazhar 3 months ago

    Forget about 128 GB ram.. I dont have 128 storage

  • ricky v
    ricky v 3 months ago +3

    Marques, this is a great video. I have a few buddies looking to change over their offices to newer computers. I've suggested iMac Pro with an external GPU. This video may help them with their decisions.
    Also, I am glad you're showing us how you are using the computer in real world workloads. Thank you.

    • rawdez
      rawdez 2 months ago +1

      what are they selling in their offices? cocaine?

  • Anderson Whittle
    Anderson Whittle 3 months ago +3

    “Not a big deal.”
    *Pays ~$13,000 for a desktop
    Boi

  • sf nooner
    sf nooner 3 months ago

    You really can't tell that you spent many thousands at all because your videos all look the same. Shakespeare just used a quill pen and changed the world, Einstein didn't even have a computer and Mozart wrote out each note by hand.

  • Liam Brem
    Liam Brem 3 months ago

    That’s the price of a small car!!!!!!!! You could build a pc and buy an ultra wide for half the price and still have better specs.

  • Owy Awakend
    Owy Awakend 3 months ago

    You know you can LITERALLY buy a car and can get a international flight ticket to a country with 13000 dollars and so many other things.

  • Gordon Andersen
    Gordon Andersen 3 months ago

    I saw the iMac Pro space gray keyboard, trackpad, and mouse at my apple store. They cost just as much as the white accesories

  • Shashwat Gupta
    Shashwat Gupta 3 months ago

    Aaah that’s hot