THE PREDATOR - Part One - The Funniest Comedy of 2018 (Cynical Reviews)

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 14, 2019
  • The Predator (2018) might well be the funniest comedy of that year. But for all the wrong reasons.
    The latest instalment in the Predator franchise, The Predator (2018) is both a complete mess and an insult to its intellectual property. After being hastily reshot and re-edited in response to awful test screenings, it was left as a pile of barely comprehensible garbage that writer/director Shane Black will never live down. It fails at being either a sci-fi horror or a comedy, being neither scary nor funny.
    But throw in some terrible writing, over-the-top slapstick violence, bad CGI, unconvincing autism, and a little bit of controversy, and you have unintentional hilarity gold.
    If you like my videos and want to support me more directly, consider becoming a supporter on Patreon: www.patreon.com/CynicalReviews
    -----LINKS-----
    DISCORD SERVER: discord.gg/QcqwFV
    SECOND CHANNEL: usclip.net/channel/UCn3MSpJHCiEETin9AdLJHWA
    OFFICIAL SUBREDDIT: www.reddit.com/r/Cynical_Reviews
    TWITCH: www.twitch.tv/cynicalreviewsofficial
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Cynical_CJ
    INSTAGRAM: instagram.com/cynicalcj/
    FACEBOOK: facebook.com/CynicalCJ/
    -----MUSIC CREDITS-----
    Kevin MacLeod - “Shaving Mirror” and "Deuces" (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License.
    #CynicalReviews #ThePredator
  • Film & AnimationFilm & Animation

Comments • 1 189

  • Cynical Reviews
    Cynical Reviews  Month ago +377

    "GET TO THE CHOPPAS!"
    I'd like to say a big thank you to all my Patrons. If you'd like to support my channel more directly, consider becoming a Patron yourself: www.patreon.com/CynicalReviews
    $20 - Definitely Not A Furry
    Takumi Hijirihara

    $10 - Probably Not A Furry
    Boring AF
    ebbejean
    Martha W
    Scottish Twolves Fan
    TheMaskedMagpie
    Timo Grünenfelder

    $5 - Active Homosexuloid
    Emily Davis
    Fona AL-mansour
    Konnor Johnson
    Mr Gently Benevolent

    $2 - Homosexuloid
    Antoine Suffys
    Colby Vasques
    DaLoveDocta69AllDay
    Joakim Myhre
    Lee Stewart
    Lucas dezuani
    Matthew McKenzie
    Michael Barnes
    Matt Gibson
    T.J. Moore
    Winters

    $1 - Honorary Homosexuloid
    Jonathan Malmaud
    Kimberley Lea
    Pan Manis
    Tallon
    Much love to you all, you beautiful legends.

    • Kendon L. Taylor
      Kendon L. Taylor 7 days ago

      @Cynical Reviews @10:15 You revealed yourself.

    • Nicolas Pratt
      Nicolas Pratt 17 days ago +1

      WHERE is the 2nd part sir?

    • Triton 23
      Triton 23 22 days ago

      I thought the last one said ‘Horny Homosexuloid’ Same thing I guess

    • Sadique Yakubu
      Sadique Yakubu 24 days ago

      Its COMEDY JUST LIKE PACIFIC RIM 2, I WAS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED, the whole movie was like a children play ground

    • Timmering
      Timmering Month ago

      Cynical Reviews great video as usual

  • Ledor Bloodraven
    Ledor Bloodraven 4 hours ago

    Not want to insult anyone but how did someone with tourette syndrom get into the army?
    Wouldn’t tourette syndrome be a medical condition that would make you unfit for service?

  • MrAndrewrock
    MrAndrewrock 14 hours ago

    I didn't know Phil Collins did movie reviews

  • Hangfried
    Hangfried 4 days ago

    Ultimate method actor?

  • Blackball
    Blackball 4 days ago

    9:37..." Stranger Danger. "

  • RozuRules
    RozuRules 6 days ago

    This movie is so "unintentionally" offensive.

  • RozuRules
    RozuRules 6 days ago

    8:06 very true.

  • A Choking Fish
    A Choking Fish 6 days ago +1

    The sex offender should’ve played the predator

  • Renald Music
    Renald Music 6 days ago

    10:25 WHAT'SS

  • MisschiefLolz
    MisschiefLolz 6 days ago

    Glad I'm not the only one that thought this was hilarious.. A bit of a rift between a friend and I (I prefer the Alien franchise, she prefers Predator) however we both got the sinking feeling that this was going to be a big miss.
    And boy was it. Plus the Autism thing is kind of personal, and of course hollywood screwed it up for plot convenience.

    But at least we had a laugh.

  • kainblood1000
    kainblood1000 7 days ago

    J k Rawlings is a sad excuse for a human

  • zognarreg
    zognarreg 7 days ago

    Here's my exposition: I think they aren't Predators as much as they are "space archaeologists". Odd creatures' bones (like humans, for example) are fascinating, but they don't like digging because that's slow and boring and they only make weapons, ya know?

  • Rebel Rouser 76
    Rebel Rouser 76 9 days ago

    This one and the original don't seem like they're in the same universe. The AVP movies were pure trash this seems more on par with them

  • Бабек
    Бабек 10 days ago

    Insulting fans and original movie.

  • Love The Beast Within
    Love The Beast Within 10 days ago

    the only good thing about this movie and the predators from 2010 is that the old predator model/costume looks badass in most cases and the guys who played them for a short time should have atleast a silver medal for putting up with these bullshit movies.

  • Enrique Ortiz
    Enrique Ortiz 10 days ago

    I don't get it.. one minute you're condemning sexual harassment and the next one you're sad because the actress is no longer naked. WTF? Pick a side!!

    By the way.. great review.. pretty funny.

  • Hey McFly
    Hey McFly 11 days ago

    Thank Jesus the little autistic lad didn't intercept his old man's other package as it contained a fleshlight :-) question? Why's there a female characters in this? Oh diversity and " strong female characters and all" meh

  • Josh Derak
    Josh Derak 11 days ago

    I thought it was funny as hell. I was entertained.

  • Jack Mills
    Jack Mills 11 days ago

    Isn’t it strange that the predator has an actual predator in it, if you know what I mean 🤣

  • WeeItsNookies
    WeeItsNookies 11 days ago +6

    Let's keep in mind Olivia Munn was an actual fake gamer/geek girl that pretended to care about that type of stuff just to get the lonely, socially awkward guy crowd. Then she couldn't answer basic questions regarding something she was a supposed fan of. Now if you look at her twitter she's basically a hardcore SJW now with zero mention of games, comics, sci-fy,etc. She's faker than her silicon filled face.

  • Jiggajig Jones
    Jiggajig Jones 11 days ago

    The cringe was epic. Especially Thomas Jane’s character. I mean how sad that he has to now stoop to that. I thought my life was bad.

  • tieck
    tieck 11 days ago +1

    "I heard you wrote the book on X."
    What a weird line, makes a great double edged compliment.

  • GamePlayMetal
    GamePlayMetal 11 days ago

    10:14 AHHHHHHHH WHAT IS THIS WHY ARE YOU NOT A DOG

  • DocC atFace
    DocC atFace 11 days ago

    generic with an F

    the movie sucks too

  • cooldbz12
    cooldbz12 11 days ago

    Am i the only one that likes Predator 2 more than the first?

  • Ray Jackson
    Ray Jackson 11 days ago +1

    Seems like Olivia Munn didn't care anymore about the movie. Plus it was the right thing to do to out a convicted child rapist and get his role cut. I think in the long run it would have hurt the movie more keeping that character in. So she put her own acting career on the line, instead of Shane Black's(as he knew about it and cast him) and the movie. I salute her for that.

    That some of her co-stars even thought that she should have waited to out the guy to the press... ouch. Fame, money and their careers above everything else i guess.

  • Alpha games
    Alpha games 12 days ago

    Thst cast made me sick... literally.. they better not give this a sequel

  • joseph roszell
    joseph roszell 12 days ago

    Predator=thing that fuvking kills things, a hunter is still a predator their correction doesn't make sense

  • SomeOneOnline
    SomeOneOnline 12 days ago

    The movie was good to laugh at.
    Its bad and disappointing.
    Also pretty stupid.

  • SeriousPain
    SeriousPain 12 days ago

    Predator isn't supposed to be a horror franchise, it's mainly action. The existence of the comedy isn't really a problem either, there's a lot more of it here but my only issue with it was that a lot of it just wasn't good.

  • Bokrug the Water Serpent
    Bokrug the Water Serpent 12 days ago +1

    Who tf is that weird guy who shows up and lip syncs along with you halfway through? It’d be easier to just show us your real, doggo face

  • Miles Trombley
    Miles Trombley 12 days ago

    That kid blowing up the house was hilarious.

  • Dallas Segno
    Dallas Segno 12 days ago

    game of thrones ended great!

  • Szkarłatny Pumpernikiel

    Yeah, bring back cigars!

  • jim mc
    jim mc 12 days ago

    'words fail me'. Hmm 20 min video suggests otherwise

  • David Cook
    David Cook 12 days ago

    THE (SEXUAL) PREDATOR

  • Micah Mcgaffin
    Micah Mcgaffin 12 days ago

    Munns career is doing just fine ya cunt.

  • Monitors of Decorum & Decency

    It's now official. Shane Black can't write. Maybe he's always been a bit of an overrated hack... at least Predator still holds up, and Predator 2 isn't terrible. The rest of these films blow. Even Predators.

    • Monitors of Decorum & Decency
      Monitors of Decorum & Decency 7 days ago

      @Imaad Shahrukh
      Whether it is because of luck, talent, or whatever else, I am perplexed by this... Films like Leathal Weapon 1 and 2, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, The Nice Guys, and even Predator... They are all great partly due to him. But these recent stinkers have been REALLY bad... The next Predator movie could be great, so long as Black is relegated to a casual observer, not a director/writer/producer... (I don't mean the possible sequel to the 2018 film. Please God, let that film die...)

    • Imaad Shahrukh
      Imaad Shahrukh 7 days ago

      He is overrated. The fact that Shane Black directed Iron Man 3 and added that dumb plot twist was a sign that Predator would suck. It's weird how people defend this hack for controversial decisions while other directors such as Zack Snyder are equated with Hitler.

  • Pixel Support
    Pixel Support 12 days ago +1

    "The Predator ignores Olivia Munn because he didn't want to get cut out of the film". Top joke. Just cut to black man, that can't be topped.

  • Wes Antilles
    Wes Antilles 12 days ago

    As a veteran, we mostly act like terrible teenagers... Telling really bad terrible jokes.

  • sharksandsheep
    sharksandsheep 12 days ago

    I kinda wish your reviews included fewer gross comments ogling women.

  • Cole Christensen
    Cole Christensen 12 days ago

    12:20 the movie had 3 people giving lines at once for no apparent reason and it admit look like a version edited by a college class.
    I almost need to see it now.
    I need to know how bad.

  • MegaLaidback
    MegaLaidback 13 days ago

    That movie sucked so bad!

  • Matthew Madden
    Matthew Madden 13 days ago

    The kid trick or treats at house number 420.. bait trolling haha

  • Zion Benjamin
    Zion Benjamin 13 days ago +1

    They thought we couldnt weaponize autism..........They Were Wrong.

  • Squandered Turtle
    Squandered Turtle 13 days ago

    14:55
    😂😂😂😂

  • Akatsukileader9
    Akatsukileader9 13 days ago

    I'm okay with this Predator being a comedy, actually.

  • Commander Vex
    Commander Vex 13 days ago

    You look like Daniel Radcliff...GET YER GUN

  • Cali Braxus
    Cali Braxus 13 days ago

    Where did the bad man touch you? Rember, he is pradoter, u are vicstim in all this badrongz fuckytime. A pradoter is just a rongkok fuckboi u swete wess cuntry chiled. *Hugz 4 mugz*

  • Rolling Stone
    Rolling Stone 13 days ago

    Am I the only one who thought the protagonist and the sidekicks were interesting?
    The only problem I had with this film was the writing.

  • Darth Cameron
    Darth Cameron 13 days ago

    No offense but you kinda look like Rian Johnson

  • Darth Cameron
    Darth Cameron 13 days ago

    This film really expanded the lore by adding a sexual Predator.

  • Joe Z
    Joe Z 13 days ago

    Predators only take trophy skulls from worthy opponents; the skinning thing is more of a scare tactic

  • Erick Gaudreault
    Erick Gaudreault 13 days ago

    This shitty movie is in the same category as Ghostbusters 2016 for one of the worst movie ever made! Both Ghostbusters 2016 and The Predator are insults to their respective franchises, to the fans and to anyone with a brain. Period.

  • Geemonster
    Geemonster 13 days ago

    Being 18 when the original came out i was thoroughly disappointed with this film. The part in the lab when she says "you beautiful motherfucker" made me cringe, also i thought predators ran very fast yet the woman kept pace with predator as he escaped from the lab. What a fucking farce this was thanks Shane Black

  • Baron papa
    Baron papa 13 days ago

    This reminds me of Sharknado level of awesomness 😅

  • Bakalakalajihad
    Bakalakalajihad 13 days ago

    "...the Predator ignored her, probably didn't want to get cut out of the movie" that was a beautiful line and editing.

  • Gorvar The Dinoman
    Gorvar The Dinoman 13 days ago

    I'm currently listening to the Audio novel version of it and the author does his best so hard to try and make it a good story with the shit script he was given. At one moment he does an awesome prose about the ship crashing and the sad majesty of a beautiful ship like that being damaged, giving background characters a whole backstory and quite likeable...and then we get to the scientist lady make that comment. Hell he tries to explain the stupid dog alien bringing shit to the main cast.
    To say it's mildly Schizophrenic is an understatement.

  • Raptor Primal
    Raptor Primal 13 days ago

    Being autistic myself I thought exact same thing about the kid being left in the school during a fire alarm. Nowadays if you were to leave some autistic kid alone during a supposed fire your school would be under deep shit. So stupid and unrealistic

  • bruce wayne
    bruce wayne 13 days ago

    I'm sorry... I will CUT YOU? What... the actual... fuq? Seriously, they are taking an tired old bit from Mad TV and adding it to a move in 2019 for laughs at the expense of a mentally deficient child... Ohhhhkay. And can we stop being pussy's about the word retarded when talking about mentally disabled people. They are retarded, the word is accurate, not an insult.

  • Bee Well
    Bee Well 13 days ago

    Key was the best part in this movie... he said he wanted to act in action movies, so he should have more action scenes

  • Bane Basara
    Bane Basara 13 days ago

    This is a very well made funny video! bravo man

  • NoPants
    NoPants 13 days ago

    I used to go to the cinema everyweek during the late 70's 80's and 90's. I go about twice a year now. Its a total shit-show . I bet theres a load of absolute mongs who luv this and give it 5 stars.

  • TheWatchernator
    TheWatchernator 13 days ago

    I thought that was Anissa Kate.

  • Flightness Snowbirb
    Flightness Snowbirb 13 days ago

    The nicest thing I can say about this movie is that it makes the original look like Mozart in comparison and then I imagine the Predator in a powered wig and that makes me smile as I slowly die inside.

  • KissMyAspergers
    KissMyAspergers 14 days ago

    Well. Seeing your face was not something I was expecting today, but, neat!

    Also, thanks for the rant about autism. I really appreciate it. I wish people would stop treating mental illness and neurological disorders as cheap plot points. Especially since most of them seem to have ZERO actual understanding of the various ones they use (practically parodying them, more like).

  • Mhairi Ferguson Burns
    Mhairi Ferguson Burns 14 days ago

    i hated that they explained the tourettes to the guy as soon as he gets on the bus, but she has to go through that cringe-inducing joke and they don't explain it to her so that joke can happen. It makes me so mad.

  • LucianCorrvinous Son of Hekaté

    Skulls, and occasionally sounds, not ' body parts' and laughing at supposed seriousness, is the benchmark of potential cult status....

  • Mark Basnight
    Mark Basnight 14 days ago

    So the director's friend with the sex conviction pays his dues but you, like every "starlet" who hasn't won an Academy Award yet, demands that the man - who has paid his dues to society as far as society is concerned - be denied employment? I assume that includes housing and food, and if not, why not - do you LIKE sexual harassers?! Let's just execute him. You get to be judge and jury. Apparently.

  • Steven Gordon
    Steven Gordon 14 days ago

    It *is* a comedy and it is fine. If you want to watch the original Predator go watch the original Predator.
    I went into this expecting a goofy, maybe 10% serious movie from the guy who wrote Monster Squad. It’s no Monster Squad, but it’s fine.

  • Justice Dunn
    Justice Dunn 14 days ago

    This was actually my first Predator movie and I really enjoyed it. Maybe going in without any expectations or franchise knowledge really helped me out.

  • Charles Norris
    Charles Norris 14 days ago

    "I can't keep doing this to myself..." Priceless.

  • Mammoth Supremacy 55
    Mammoth Supremacy 55 14 days ago +1

    I only saw the first Predator movie, which is a good thing!

  • Eroth Amur
    Eroth Amur 14 days ago

    But it is comedy! D= Awesome movie btw.

  • Gavin Williams
    Gavin Williams 14 days ago

    I watched it at the cinema when it first come out, liked it throughout. I'm buying it today for £7

  • Schazmen Rassir
    Schazmen Rassir 14 days ago

    The best part about this movie is the potential it COULD'VE had.

  • Raoul J.
    Raoul J. 14 days ago

    no one seems to have mentioned how BAD in general the original/fugitive/smaller predator looks in this film...it walks like it's wading through a swamp,it runs like one of the most unstealthy,leadfooted creations ever.the face is ridiculous looking...and who decided it should shoot a machine gun in such a 'unique' way,seriously?!?!
    add that to the list.

  • Joeyfridays
    Joeyfridays 14 days ago

    only way your comfortable hiring a child predator is if you're a child predator yourself.

  • Peter Pohan
    Peter Pohan 14 days ago

    I am from Slovakia. When you order something from the US it goes through customs, they usually open the packet or at least Xray it. They need to knoiw whats inside and whats the value so they can tax it. The same applies to packets being sent to US where you have to fill out a custom declaration stating whats in the packet.
    This packet would never made it trought customs!!! Just a quick note.

  • Patrick Kelmer
    Patrick Kelmer 14 days ago

    9:14 I wonder if all this shit with her ex is what made Serena Joy want to burn society down and replace it with Gilead.

  • Marc Tradler
    Marc Tradler 14 days ago +1

    And i thought Polytoxicomania was the next step in human evolution :(

    • sai sameer
      sai sameer 11 days ago

      You sure it wasn't down syndrome?

  • Mister Hypes
    Mister Hypes 14 days ago

    The scene with the kid and the mask is the funniest scene I think I've ever watched in a film.

  • JoshieMike
    JoshieMike 14 days ago

    In my school they had ear protecters for kids with autism for when the fire alarm goes off

  • elvampir0
    elvampir0 14 days ago

    "The R word".... Bring back *Retarded* you pussies! xD

  • Bruce Achterberg
    Bruce Achterberg 14 days ago

    If you're a fan of the previous (non-AVP) movies, it's not as bad as what he makes it out to be. I loved it, and thought the humour was great. Is it as great as the 1st one? No. Some mystery is lost, and the writing is not as good as you hope it to be, but damn if it doesn't feel like one of the great movies of the predator era... just maybe not as great.

  • TheBloodyBlackJackal
    TheBloodyBlackJackal 14 days ago

    Considering they went out to look for the guy’s son, him grabbing the picture kinda makes sense...

  • Eqvil
    Eqvil 14 days ago

    It definitely IS a geat comedy. That's how I describe it to my friends. Great lines.

  • Sarma vlada
    Sarma vlada 14 days ago

    So your gripe with the movie is that you didn't expect comedy so you wanna present movie as bad comedy underlying bad jokes. Well movie made me laugh, your review ..is just petty. How about when "hero" tells tranquilized doctor to jump and splits just before she does, that's some grade A slapstick.

  • SocialAnxietyDora
    SocialAnxietyDora 14 days ago

    What’s messed up was that Olivia Munn was made fun of and ignored on set by the other actors. She was on a interview and it was supposed to be a ensemble interview but the actors never came it was just her.

  • D V
    D V 14 days ago

    You mesn to tell me a race that has mastered space flight and invisibility is jealous of an autidtic kid

  • Shelby Hotz
    Shelby Hotz 14 days ago

    Even though I really loved this movie--except for the autism bullshit--I equally love your takedown of it.

  • MtnD0 2.0
    MtnD0 2.0 14 days ago

    I think the whole "it's evidence" thing was about having something as proof that he saw a spaceship.
    I mean hell.
    I'd do the same thing, especially if I didn't want people calling me crazy just for saying that I saw a spaceship crash land in the forest.
    The explanation probably just got rewritten terribly and didn't get fixed like the rest of the film...
    Kinda like how basic science chick somehow became a Special Forces Alien hunter for no apparent reason.
    Seriously... she was scared of guys in suits when she was first shown, how the hell did she drum up the nerve to chase the predator down after he just massacred the entire lab without struggle???
    I think Nicotine Gum Guy was the worst character.
    His attitude seemed so forced and laughable, by which I mean the director was trying so hard to show that he was the "take no shit, I'm a badass that doesn't care" kind of character.
    It just made him come off as edgy and terribly cheesy.

  • CHRISPLAYER95
    CHRISPLAYER95 14 days ago

    2:13 cod mw2 lobby be like

  • Bram Aho
    Bram Aho 14 days ago

    was that fucking mcnabb from psych

  • Malcolm Washington
    Malcolm Washington 15 days ago

    The explanation of why it's called a Predator was like the one good joke. "Predator is cooler" was like okay, fine you get one

  • Gareth Martin
    Gareth Martin 15 days ago +2

    I prefer not seeing your face. Also, don't keep telling us that you have depression. You do that way too much man.

  • SallinKari
    SallinKari 15 days ago

    9:10 That's extra horrifying considering people, especially kids with autism tend to take things very very literally... So... Jesus Fucking Christ...

  • Jason Glebe
    Jason Glebe 15 days ago

    Why is Rian Johnson reviewing movies on USclip?

  • Radishman
    Radishman 15 days ago

    I liked it

  • Montana Bobinski
    Montana Bobinski 15 days ago

    While Kim Peek is an autistic savant with the exceptional ability to remember between 95-98% of what he has read, his severe autism presents huge obstacles for the formation of an independent lifestyle. You'll notice in most, if not all, interviews with Kim Peek that his father is present. Kim Peek, being roughly 54 years of age, still requires his father to help him maintain his hygiene, get to the library he frequents, and dress himself on a daily basis.
    So Rory possessing exceptional abilities as an autistic person is nothing unheard of (I've read 1/10 autistic people present savant-like abilities). But autism can still present mild to massive barriers for the neuronormative independent lifestyle of the average individual.
    The movie glosses over a lot of this thanks to "Hollywood autism".