Shazam! - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 25, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Shazam!, starring Zachary Levi, Mark Strong, Jack Dylan Grazer, Asher Angel, Grace Fulton, Faithe Herman, Ian Chen, Jovan Armand, Cooper Andrews, Marta Milans. Directed by David F. Sandberg.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 939

  • Jeffrey Fudge
    Jeffrey Fudge 2 days ago

    Dude a B this movie was horrible fell asleep the first 30 minutes

  • Kristofer Ramirez
    Kristofer Ramirez 2 days ago

    This movie deserved so much more. But then again people still prefered that captain marvel crap. It seems like nowadays marvel and disney movies are the only movies that matters now to critics and people.

  • Nathan Crawshaw
    Nathan Crawshaw 7 days ago

    Its not really hard to believe he held that grudge all his life when you consider his father and brother would ridicule him everyday for costing his fathers legs and being in a wheelchair would constantly remind him of the wizard and how he told him that day he will never be worth anything so tries to tell people and convince them it's not his fault but the wizards but they don't believe him so he spends his life looking for proof and also to prove his worth.

  • Matt Sano - The Sword 'N The Rose

    Where do you get all of these awesome t-shirts man? Hell yea Star Fox

  • - Swayze -
    - Swayze - 7 days ago +1

    Gotta disagree strongly. This movie was absolutely horrible... cookie-cutter generic bullshit. And the CGI... omg !! The CGI is on Scorpion King level. Its laughable. I honestly dont understand how anyone above the age of 15 could actually like this trash. Terrible movie with a lame story.

  • EmperorTerran
    EmperorTerran 8 days ago +1

    Bad movie.
    Lead actor shazam while acting decently was not a good cast or the costume and overall look was bad. Look "Zachary Levi" on google images. He can be so handsome, yet in the movie he looks terrible, too old, too fat in the face, bad hair, no one wants to look like that. A forgettable 40 year old face... and superhero movies do want to make us "be" the protagonist.
    Dialogues were nothing special and jokes too far apart.
    The villain part was rather violent and rather sad too, it felt almost R-rated which is so stupid for light hearted comedy it was suppose to be.
    Really, parents hating their children for no apparent reason? It felt stupidly out of place.

    • The badass terminator The badass terminator
      The badass terminator The badass terminator 7 days ago

      @- Swayze - how about focusing on making a good movie instead of setting up other movie just focus on the movie you're making instead of building up this movie wasn't a mindless action also it was overall good

    • - Swayze -
      - Swayze - 7 days ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator Filler is mindless storytelling/action which is just made to take kill time. This movie was something you can play in the background while you clean your house.

    • The badass terminator The badass terminator
      The badass terminator The badass terminator 7 days ago

      @- Swayze - what do you mean by filler

    • - Swayze -
      - Swayze - 7 days ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator That's no secret as I just admitted to this. I'm just curious as to why people actually like it. Its nothing but filler.

    • The badass terminator The badass terminator
      The badass terminator The badass terminator 7 days ago

      @- Swayze - maybe you just didn't like it

  • IGNACIO MALDONADO
    IGNACIO MALDONADO 8 days ago

    I hope a Dr Fate Film! along with The New Gods and if is possible, an Obsidian, or a Star Girl Movie.

  • remynisce33
    remynisce33 9 days ago

    Shazam rangers!

  • TyreeJackson2⃣6⃣

    Taco Bell is nasty

  • adamFIVE88
    adamFIVE88 10 days ago

    I took away that he didn't really hold just a grudge, it was he almost had that power and he lost it, and his family made fun him for believing that his whole life, hence the board room scene.
    Edit; also no malice meant in this comment :)

  • Underrated Guy
    Underrated Guy 14 days ago

    Expected more from the movie

  • Kyle Love
    Kyle Love 15 days ago +4

    The very end scene of the movie at lunch is the best one. Unexpected cameo blew my mind

  • Buzz Kill
    Buzz Kill 15 days ago +1

    shazam is meh and captain marvel is yuck

  • Paul Furey
    Paul Furey 16 days ago

    Love the last "word"....Freddie :)

  • Eduardo B. R.
    Eduardo B. R. 18 days ago +2

    Didn't like this very much i would prob give it a C- but that's because i am not into comedy movies, it gets boring so fast for me and i get eye's rolling almost all the time and it is just frustrating and i keep waiting for the movie to end :(

  • Kaio_Ken_X9000
    Kaio_Ken_X9000 18 days ago

    You loved Wonder Woman? That movie was terrible

    • Jinil George
      Jinil George 16 days ago

      Ya someone finally..movie wasn't great..all the bad movies made the movie not so bad

  • ham wil
    ham wil 19 days ago +4

    Man I hated this movie. It frustrated and annoyed me. Shazam did nothing cool and the super villain was meant to be a world ender but only killed a room full of board members. The evil entities were these half finished grey monsters. The villain grabbed that evil eye thing and the wizard just waited for it to happen. Shazam's suit sucked (just compare to the comic). The dialog between the kids was very annoying, they argued what felt like most of the movie. Shazam is meant to be all powerful but "shared" his powers for the final boss fight which was anti climactic to say the least. The kid is nothing like the boy in the comic. Bad writing overall.

  • Abe Matt
    Abe Matt 20 days ago +1

    Dunno, I felt like this movie sucked so hard, just shitload of cliches mashed together, I think its fine for people who hasn’t seen any movies in their live, Shazam is so forgettable as a character, he looked like an adult trying to play teenager, not teenager in an adult body. Totally derivate movie with nothing new to offer neither in superhero movie genre nor as a movie overall

  • abhinav kumar
    abhinav kumar 22 days ago +1

    Just adding comedy to superhero movies doesn't make them good and not all dark superhero movies are bad. It's all about story, which this move lacked, big time.l

    • abhinav kumar
      abhinav kumar 8 days ago

      @The badass terminator The badass terminator there was nothing in the movie that was done to devlope character, the wizard couldn't find someone worthy so he just selected the first person, billy was sad and serious but shazam was all fun and goofy.

    • The badass terminator The badass terminator
      The badass terminator The badass terminator 8 days ago

      This movie was good and the character was well developed

  • bill nguyen
    bill nguyen 23 days ago

    how come this villain dude looks more like Lex Luthor than the actual DCEU Lex Luthor?

  • Just A ShitPoster
    Just A ShitPoster 24 days ago

    I thought DC was all dark and serious guess I was wrong

  • Golden Boy
    Golden Boy 25 days ago +1

    It's weird that ppl like this movie, i feel like watching a kids movie. Like goosebumps or any Disney film.

  • Joe Northstar
    Joe Northstar 25 days ago

    Shazam is a kid which is nice market for kids.

  • Shadow The Human
    Shadow The Human 27 days ago

    No no no. Pure of heart where, just because it's funny(not really) doesn't make it great. Any real Shazam fan would know better.

  • Alex
    Alex 27 days ago

    I dont know, that's a pretty dense assessment of that paranormal scene. It was obvious what was happening there, they found people who experienced the same phenomena and were examining it much like how people who say theyve seen the same UFO or alien probe get interviewed for studies. I sometimes think your imagination needs a reset

  • hamid tajik
    hamid tajik 27 days ago +1

    the movie was honestly trash

  • Best Bout Gaming
    Best Bout Gaming 28 days ago

    Shazam: Best DCEU movie that doesn't feel like a DCEU movie.

  • Mikołaj500
    Mikołaj500 28 days ago

    Wtf why the are so many haters in the comments, the movie is fun lol

  • The The
    The The 28 days ago

    So let’s get things straight! This is the universe where Superman, wonder-woman and batman exist and the Wizard is looking for candidates with pure of heart, to pass on his power too? Ummm so why aren’t they his first choice?
    Also Zachary Levi is what you get if you cross, Tim Robins with Paul Rudd 👍

  • Jason Que
    Jason Que 29 days ago

    2 flawed scenes: if the eye is that important why not have it covered or protected with something hard so it cant be gouged out and when shazam was trying to grab the eye so closely he can just point his finger and fire a bolt. Since the bolt fires out of his hand so easily

  • jo wilson
    jo wilson Month ago

    best bit is when the dumb teen-age actor changes into shazam otherwise too much dumb teen-age lame jokes

  • Rich Davis
    Rich Davis Month ago +1

    Did it bother anyone else that he uses lightning hands entire beginning. And doesn’t use them once during a single fight scene.

    • Edmond Guan
      Edmond Guan Month ago

      He did use them. During the fight with the kid playing with the batman and superman figures

  • BDD
    BDD Month ago +1

    What was absolutely garbage about this movie was the villain. At no point do you feel like there was a threat to the people or his family.

  • TheGus K
    TheGus K Month ago +1

    I must have seen a different movie, slow boring start, loaded with unlikable and annoying actors. And certainly not funny. Oh well.

    • Mikołaj500
      Mikołaj500 28 days ago

      The movie is really fun, especially the Montage with the Don't Stop Me Now in the background.

  • abobjenkins
    abobjenkins Month ago

    B = Bad

  • Percival Hans
    Percival Hans Month ago

    This movie has way too much "diversity." I feel like I'm watching a film made in Brazil.

    • Jinil George
      Jinil George 16 days ago +1

      They managed to get every race lol

  • Taylor Lawson
    Taylor Lawson Month ago

    I was more than pleasantly surprised with the movie considering the crap that the DC universe has been putting out. In my honest opinion I thought this movie deserved an A+ and sincerely enjoyed the quirky scenes in the movie i.e. when Freddy and Billy (as shazam) are arguing in front of the destroyed bus 😂 had me cracking up!

  • Aman Sahota
    Aman Sahota Month ago

    Average movie, not amazing. I found it too childish - good for a family Sunday.

  • dangermouseBETA
    dangermouseBETA Month ago

    Only good thing about this movie was the villain. The hero is extremely punchable.

  • indigo child
    indigo child Month ago

    Wut is a shazam? Bootleg flash ⚡🤦‍♂️

  • Anigauge DM
    Anigauge DM Month ago

    Endgame wasn't serious Lol, and the comedy in this was so much worse

  • rob lo
    rob lo Month ago

    This movie was to cheesy for me

  • Lil Crispy Tenders
    Lil Crispy Tenders Month ago

    Best movie I’ve watched in a while

  • Liz Liz
    Liz Liz Month ago

    Big disappointment! I am so glad that I didn’t go to see the movie in the cinema!

  • EMIL WILLIAM TAMAYO

    2 guys shouting far= copied Kung fu panda.. villain like lex in small ville whats new on this movie?

  • Muse Axe
    Muse Axe Month ago

    Marvel has Deadpool, oh we need to make a comedy here is Shazam! what a shit movie!

  • Karim Harvey
    Karim Harvey Month ago

    Let’s see if DC can keep it up. Shazam looks like a great beginning to something awesome.

  • manbolo2
    manbolo2 Month ago

    the moment this billy became the superhero, he became super retarded, is it dc or is this superhero just retarded?

  • WE LISTEN and LEARN

    I am still laughing 😂😂😂😂😂

  • Captain Marvel Wilson

    I will give it an A-. I had a lot of fun with this movie, but I feel like the movie picks up better towards it's second and third acts. In the first act, it is pretty dull and forgettable and the villain falls into the category of generic and I couldn't get into his character.

  • freddy and foxy
    freddy and foxy Month ago

    I saw this movie twice cause I love this movie

  • A N
    A N Month ago

    Before 1M views

  • Good Putin
    Good Putin Month ago

    SAY MY NAME!

  • Dregio Ramos
    Dregio Ramos Month ago

    movie was garbage

  • 81artmonk
    81artmonk Month ago

    This movie was exactly what I predicted it would be. A Nickelodeon made-for-tv movie. Too many stupid things happened and the suit was clearly padded and horrid.

  • H Rubs
    H Rubs Month ago

    So pissed henry cavil did not reprised his role as superman for a cameo.

  • Lotto
    Lotto Month ago

    Easily the best dceu movie

  • Guy Reshef
    Guy Reshef Month ago

    Is every one here on drugs?
    This movie was shit. He also liked Aquaman. What a poor taste.

  • Enchanter Tim87
    Enchanter Tim87 Month ago

    Also really like how DC is coming along. Doesn't always need to have the comedic undertone but definitely doesn't always need to be dark. Maybe they will continue to improve and bring out the wonderful stories they are able to tell with their characters.

  • Jacy Viho
    Jacy Viho Month ago

    I felt the parents were the real superheroes in this movie

  • just me bethany
    just me bethany Month ago

    I'm trying to decide whether or not to see this movie cause I don't really like this type of humor but everyone's saying it's really good

    • Nathan Hamill
      Nathan Hamill Month ago

      just me bethany send me a video of u brushing ur teeth

    • Tricko
      Tricko Month ago

      I thought the same but I enjoyed it a lot! It has that awesome 80s adventure movie vibe, it’s extremely entertaining and very heartfelt.

  • A random Butterfly Cat

    This movie was awesome, and all, but... -I saw this movie for the plot.. u-uh, yeah, totally the plot.-

  • Chase Neff
    Chase Neff Month ago

    Dog this movie was bad

  • Karl Mlt Galea
    Karl Mlt Galea Month ago +2

    I have watched yesterday
    Hillarious movie 😂😂

  • Doin
    Doin Month ago +1

    I saw it today and absolutely loved it. I thought it was a lot of fun and there's a lot of comedy in it. I found that it was more in the style of Marvel than the other darker, more serious DC films. I haven't seen that many but I found Wonder Woman extremely boring and fell asleep during Justice League.

    • Doin
      Doin Month ago

      @Tricko The script of Aquaman or Shazam? I haven't seen Aquaman but from the trailer it didn't really interest me.

    • Tricko
      Tricko Month ago

      What about Aquaman? The script was very simple but the movie was extremely fun from beginning to end

  • TheNotSoAvid
    TheNotSoAvid Month ago +1

    This movie really had some horror vibes at times with the monsters. Actually spooked me out. Wasn't surprised to find that the director did horror movies before?

  • mohd fahmi
    mohd fahmi Month ago

    all your review is bias to dceu. most dc movie are boring compare to mcu, but you review it like it badass.

  • Jose Saenz
    Jose Saenz Month ago +1

    I hated this movie it sucked IN MY OPINION

  • Sebastian Zellah
    Sebastian Zellah Month ago

    man, no, have you not noticed that he didn't know her name? I can't find ppl that I know in real life if I don't have mutual friends with them, and some of them don't really use social media. It's way, way harder to find somebody online with no point of reference. Also, approaching ppl IRL gives you ability to talk to them, to communicate. If you're a nosy kid on social media with the same name as me, I won't ad you to friends. Especially If I don't know you, and the worst part is that I wouldn't respond. So that kid would still be in dark about who is his mother. Only If he contacted his mother, then he might get a response, but even If, she didn't want him in her life she might just ignore him. Therefore him using a police database is extremely smart and you're wrong, Thank you very much.

  • Adris Ghafar
    Adris Ghafar Month ago

    Didn't enjoy the movie but good review

  • Johnny Calvino
    Johnny Calvino Month ago

    Shazam is basically a remake of Big starring Tom Hanks, and not a very good one either.

  • TheBubbster123
    TheBubbster123 Month ago

    I absolutely loved this film! Going into it I was expected to have a good time, but was really surprised at how much the film genuinely moved me.

  • bartolomeu malfeitor

    what's camp?

  • Peter Smith
    Peter Smith Month ago

    Are you kidding me. Savannah hasn't gotten over missing his chance at godly power, then being blamed for his father being hurt and shunned by his family his entire life because nobody believed his crazy story he knew was true? And when he had the opportunity to reclaim that power he should have just gotten over it and moved on? It's not like he didn't run off to train to be a fighter so he could dress up as a bat because his parent were killed when he was a child.

  • Cratemoving Sale
    Cratemoving Sale Month ago

    Great shirt Chris

  • Pro Jey96
    Pro Jey96 Month ago

    Denvers over Billy

  • godzilla fangirl
    godzilla fangirl Month ago

    I had a shaman and before I watched this

  • Ozma X
    Ozma X Month ago +2

    So, we should have the same issue with Syndrome (or whatever his name is) from the Incredibles first movie, but I never hear you complain about his motivation on how he became villainous.
    I think this time your point is pretty weak.

    • Fried Frog
      Fried Frog Month ago

      @Ozma X Then my point is already proven.

    • Ozma X
      Ozma X Month ago

      I’m not here to debate if Sivanna is or is not a “crappy” villain, and if that’s your premise on which you wanna base your rebuttal, well that’s weak too.
      My point is about how the analysis of the villain is generalized and yes, the motivation of Sivanna is quite frankly bland, but so many other motivations behind other villains; hence the parallelism with Syndrome.
      I’m not here saying that Sivanna is a great character, I’m just pointing out that his motivations are quite the same as another villain on which Chris seemed to have nothing wrong to say about it.
      Nothing more, nothing less.

    • Fried Frog
      Fried Frog Month ago

      His point is not weak. Dr. Sivanna was a crappy villain.

  • Zack O
    Zack O Month ago

    How come it took the whole beginning for the main character to learn all the powers and took time to learn to fly but the other kids just somehow knew how to use them right away?

    • Pro Jey96
      Pro Jey96 Month ago

      Cause they actually used the champions habilities... And cause Shazam sucked...

  • Adam Hill
    Adam Hill Month ago +2

    Hey Chris did you like starfox adventures on the gamecube

  • Herhsey Ford
    Herhsey Ford Month ago +1

    Shazam is the best DCEU movie. Fight me

    • Pro Jey96
      Pro Jey96 Month ago

      Salomons Knowledge for nothing

  • Abraham Isaak
    Abraham Isaak Month ago

    zachary levi looks like jimmy falon quit drinking for good, but turned into skinny bert kreischer all of sudden

  • Abraham Isaak
    Abraham Isaak Month ago +1

    glad they stopped killing villains at the end of the movie
    so much wasted potential that way

  • jesse williams
    jesse williams Month ago +1

    I’m not saying this because I’m a marvel fan or anything (because I’m not) and I genuinely wanted to enjoy this film, and I’m annoyed I didn’t. I really didn’t think it was good at all. The 1st and 3rd acts were awful in my opinion. However in the 2nd act in which they uncover Shazam’s parents etc was brilliant. Sure some of the acting was great but I felt left down. Also I really didn’t like the villain at all. He had little to no motive at all. I feel like they tried to make it ‘too cheesy’ and it just ended up being cheesy in general. Also there was way too much slow mo lol.

    • Pro Jey96
      Pro Jey96 Month ago +1

      Im with you
      Like in the middle of this movie i checked on my girlfriend to know if she was licking it, cause i so wanted to make stupid comments about it
      And she went
      "oh thanks god, i thought you were into it, i dont like this and this and this"

  • Thantea Fanai
    Thantea Fanai Month ago +1

    I don't see any display of Solomon's wisdom

    • Pro Jey96
      Pro Jey96 Month ago

      Thats what i have been saying

  • CDN Adrian
    CDN Adrian Month ago

    I had zero expectations going into this movie and other then the fact they mess up with the MC character with him being a minor thief (the polar opposite of what Billy would act like and breaks the purpose of what makes him special) that said, it was cute and funny as @%*# and actually really worked well. If it had been less funny and more serious then there would be problems and no where near as good.

  • BottleofDreams
    BottleofDreams Month ago

    6:00
    I almost fell off of my seat at that point of the movie, goddammit it was a good joke!

  • Little Media
    Little Media Month ago

    Loved your review. I recently started my youtube channel and I did a review on Shazam. Would love if you all supported me.

  • G- Man
    G- Man Month ago

    Hello Chris. I like your review so much and of some movies I do accept your rating but this movie My I’ll go for A.. it’s hilarious and great movie to watch. Also like to add that youngsters of some scenes are not appropriate for them, please cover their eyes or distract them somehow, that advice goes to all those parents out there. :) I like it!! Well done DC, keep up the spirit, :)

  • Thomas Moncrief
    Thomas Moncrief Month ago

    I pretty much agreed with your review. Very weak villain .

  • Freddy Perez Neris
    Freddy Perez Neris Month ago +1

    The biggest mistake the DCEU made was placing Shazam at a competition level with Captain Marvel while Endgame was just around the corner, it really hurt Shazam´s Box Office Results.

    • Pro Jey96
      Pro Jey96 Month ago

      I thought Cap Marvel was better

  • Timothy Williams
    Timothy Williams Month ago

    B!??!?!?!?!?!?! B + or A- at least

  • Timothy Williams
    Timothy Williams Month ago

    cant use hoaky as a criticism in this movie, its supposed to be cheesy, derrrrrrrrp

  • Ilikereddead2 Ya
    Ilikereddead2 Ya Month ago

    u gonna do spoler rbvew

  • HelaS
    HelaS Month ago

    Great review, Chris! You are undoubtedly one of the smartest reviewers out there!

  • Jeremiah Dau
    Jeremiah Dau Month ago +2

    Gives Shazam a B and gives X-men Apocalypse an A-
    😑

  • Emad Amoo
    Emad Amoo Month ago

    For me it was A plus .

  • Yalova EVİM Emlak 05363804511

    Terrible movie do not spend time and money, scenario sucks

  • Trevor McCormick
    Trevor McCormick 2 months ago

    My favorite DC movie was Man of Steel but now I'm leaning towards this movie a little bit more now...

  • Trevor McCormick
    Trevor McCormick 2 months ago

    Absolutely loved this movie, I think it's just phenomenal and awesome and hilarious. My parents have not seen it and they don't want to because they say it looks like a comedy and not a superhero movie...but I say that it's Big combined with Superman and Thor and that's epic.