Shazam! - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 25, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Shazam!, starring Zachary Levi, Mark Strong, Jack Dylan Grazer, Asher Angel, Grace Fulton, Faithe Herman, Ian Chen, Jovan Armand, Cooper Andrews, Marta Milans. Directed by David F. Sandberg.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 4 057

  • CDN Adrian
    CDN Adrian Day ago

    I had zero expectations going into this movie and other then the fact they mess up with the MC character with him being a minor thief (the polar opposite of what Billy would act like and breaks the purpose of what makes him special) that said, it was cute and funny as @%*# and actually really worked well. If it had been less funny and more serious then there would be problems and no where near as good.

  • Liam's Lenz
    Liam's Lenz Day ago +1

    Man Of Steel 10/10
    Batman V Superman 8/10
    Wonder Woman 5/10
    Aquaman 9/10
    Shazam! 8/10

  • BottleofDreams
    BottleofDreams Day ago

    6:00
    I almost fell off of my seat at that point of the movie, goddammit it was a good joke!

  • Little Media
    Little Media Day ago

    Loved your review. I recently started my youtube channel and I did a review on Shazam. Would love if you all supported me.

  • G- Man
    G- Man Day ago

    Hello Chris. I like your review so much and of some movies I do accept your rating but this movie My I’ll go for A.. it’s hilarious and great movie to watch. Also like to add that youngsters of some scenes are not appropriate for them, please cover their eyes or distract them somehow, that advice goes to all those parents out there. :) I like it!! Well done DC, keep up the spirit, :)

  • Thomas Moncrief
    Thomas Moncrief Day ago

    I pretty much agreed with your review. Very weak villain .

  • Freddy Perez Neris
    Freddy Perez Neris 2 days ago

    The biggest mistake the DCEU made was placing Shazam at a competition level with Captain Marvel while Endgame was just around the corner, it really hurt Shazam´s Box Office Results.

  • Timothy Williams
    Timothy Williams 2 days ago

    B!??!?!?!?!?!?! B + or A- at least

  • Timothy Williams
    Timothy Williams 2 days ago

    cant use hoaky as a criticism in this movie, its supposed to be cheesy, derrrrrrrrp

  • Ilikereddead2 Ya
    Ilikereddead2 Ya 2 days ago

    u gonna do spoler rbvew

  • HelaS
    HelaS 2 days ago

    Great review, Chris! You are undoubtedly one of the smartest reviewers out there!

  • Jeremiah Dau
    Jeremiah Dau 3 days ago

    Gives Shazam a B and gives X-men Apocalypse an A-
    😑

  • Emad Amoo
    Emad Amoo 3 days ago

    For me it was A plus .

  • Yalova EVİM Emlak 05363804511

    Terrible movie do not spend time and money, scenario sucks

  • Trevor McCormick
    Trevor McCormick 4 days ago

    My favorite DC movie was Man of Steel but now I'm leaning towards this movie a little bit more now...

  • Trevor McCormick
    Trevor McCormick 4 days ago

    Absolutely loved this movie, I think it's just phenomenal and awesome and hilarious. My parents have not seen it and they don't want to because they say it looks like a comedy and not a superhero movie...but I say that it's Big combined with Superman and Thor and that's epic.

  • big kahuna burger
    big kahuna burger 4 days ago

    Love this movie but the negatives so Sivana's were very unjustified. He had clear motives and I felt they were better than Ares

  • Peter
    Peter 4 days ago

    DCU will never top MCU.

  • Darth Vestius
    Darth Vestius 4 days ago

    So many people loved this film, as well as I. So how come it is not pulling in big dollars?
    I knew this would happen.
    A great film that the fan boys love but are not going to see.
    It will be lucky to pull in 300 million dollars during its run.
    Go see it...again...
    Now!
    A great A+ movie...
    I give your review, due to your misunderstanding of the film, a C-.

  • Marco Schaub
    Marco Schaub 5 days ago

    I watched it about a week ago and I expected a better movie after your review. I loved Zachary Levi and he made every scene better. But the kid that's his sidekick is pretty annoying. And there are too many things that don't make sense in the movie intrinsically. It just felt very constructed, which took me out of the movie constantly. It's an okay movie all in all, closer to C than to B.

  • SCREENPLAYHOUSE LLC
    SCREENPLAYHOUSE LLC 5 days ago

    I wasn't expecting too much from this film but the laughs and (as you say) buoyancy. For me it was SHAZAM! meets THE GREATEST AMERICAN HERO, and it was a good time. The real test of any movie is, "Yeah, but would you sit through it again a week later?" Yes.
    I wasn't troubled by the villain sciency research sequence. It was more whatever than troubling. What bothered me is staring everyone right in the face -- and I came here to see if bothered someone like you. It's is Billy Batson and Freedie Freeman.
    BILLY BATSON
    I have nothing wrong with the actor. Or his betrayal of this boy with a sad past. My problem is that when he becomes Shazam his personality completely changes. Zazhery Levi is terrific but he has a completely different personality. Yes, I know what you're going to say -- that as an adult with super-powers of course he's going to be different. But if you think more about this you realize his playfulness comes out of nowhere and goes back into nowhere whenever that magic name is said. The giveaway here is that when Billy goes back to being Billy he should be like a kid that just got off the world's best rollercoaster. He should be completely juiced and still a little playful. That he can't WAIT to get back on! Instead we get mellow depressed kid with the occasional smirk. Shazam blowing bubbles with his bubblegum? Billy Batson would never do that. This is a director's error, and if you ask me, a rather massive mistake. I think upon repeated viewings people will start to see this.
    FREDDIE FREEMAN
    frickin machine gun mumbled half his lines. I know kids actually do this these days but my wife and I spent half the movie asking what Freedie just said. If we can let that go there's a secondary problem. Freddie is the comic relief for Billy, but Shazam is Freddie's comic relief. I'm not sure that's actually a problem but it could be, in that my gut wonders what Freddie would have been like as a straightman to Shazam's comedy. Something seems off there.
    Otherwise a great time. I was surprised how much the villain scared me. Usually I just roll my eyes at the villains. I will say that the Boardroom scene was too intense/violent for kids.

  • Shnickers123
    Shnickers123 5 days ago

    Only Stuckham would give a B to Shazam and an A to The Last Jedi....the actors who played the foster Family In Shazam...are better actors then half of the cast of TLJ...and their story alone in Shazam, even though it was short In The movie...had better writing and depth...then the entire script of TLJ...those perks and free stuff from the Disney film division, must be contingent on providing positive reviews on even the most decrepit of Disney creations...Hail Kathleen Kennedy and Rian Johnson...for keeping this channel on life support! Wooooooooo hooooooo!!!

  • trey davis
    trey davis 6 days ago

    Shazam was lame boring and cringey

    • Grant Mcroberts
      Grant Mcroberts 5 days ago

      well you are a mongo because it wasn't boring and it was funny

  • Brad Ng
    Brad Ng 6 days ago

    I'm glad the cgi isn't good awful like in bvs and justice league

  • Brad Ng
    Brad Ng 6 days ago +1

    The only thing that bothered me was that adult Billy is much happier and more friendly to the other kid, but when he's normal Billy he just sulk around like a depressed old man

  • Laura Berg
    Laura Berg 6 days ago

    We were SO surprised walking into this movie that it was as dark as it was, but also self-aware and funny. Very jarring for a audience member to be in a PG film thinking "is this a higher rating? Why are there like 5 year olds in this when this is almost nightmare fuel for adults?" Our entire group of over 10 people said "wow, I did NOT expect it to be that dark."

  • TheFierceNinja
    TheFierceNinja 6 days ago

    The multiple Shazam’s was kinda dumb but it was aight

  • Hello Goodbye
    Hello Goodbye 6 days ago

    Shazam was not that great, some parts were funny, but over all it sucked.. It felt like Billy and Shazam were 2 different personalities. Also at the end was f#$king retarded.. How the hell do you introduce 5 other new super heros when still trying to focus on Shazam. So are they all called Shazam now? lol. Lastly, was Billy actually of pure heart? he did one act of kindness helping Freddy from those bullies, but it wasn't until he her a trigger word, not having a mom. Sounded more of a selfish act than an act oh heroism.

  • Harnawaz Boparai
    Harnawaz Boparai 6 days ago

    I think 90% of this review I couldn't take my eyes off that awesome Star Fox shirt you were wearing Chris Stuckmann!

  • Mr Me
    Mr Me 6 days ago

    Hit the gym Chris. Your arms look like they belong to a 13 year old girl.

  • Big Ben
    Big Ben 7 days ago

    It is my favourite DCEU film as of now! Very good

  • XtentacionX
    XtentacionX 7 days ago

    My only critic is it was too long

  • D K
    D K 7 days ago

    Beyond shitty movie. So corny and Billy is such a douche.

  • Jason Davidson
    Jason Davidson 7 days ago

    It seems people enjoy cheap laughs over good original story telling

    • Grant Mcroberts
      Grant Mcroberts 5 days ago

      the story was good momgo it just seems you want every fucking movie dark like a boring fuck story was good and it was funny

  • Two Minute Review
    Two Minute Review 7 days ago

    Good review. I enjoyed it as well. Saw it on friday in a double feature with Hellboy (ugh). I have reviews for both up on my channel. Cheers.

  • Cesar Battistini Maziero

    Don’t watch it. It’s actually very bad.

    • Ryder Barton
      Ryder Barton 6 days ago

      Cesar Battistini Maziero you been watch movies too much.

  • SoundIsImportant
    SoundIsImportant 7 days ago

    Its the same as infinity war in that it is a 7/10

  • FollowerOfJesus 101
    FollowerOfJesus 101 7 days ago +1

    I honestly thought the villain was one of the best parts about the movie

  • Hgg Fhh
    Hgg Fhh 7 days ago

    I think you didnt even talk about the dark parts of the move. What about those?

  • the critic's critique

    Number one stop spoiling the movie lol! I did not know about nothing about the mom until you blattered it out😁 and I do like watching your reviews after I've seen the movie. And stop comparing, it's not "Big"! Just take it how it is ! I was lost too in the movie with characters and such, but, and forgive me I don't know actors like that I'm always busy lol to learn how they turn out, but don't nick pick! And the villain is not weak but more memorable than what we want him to be! He did his part! we cant accept the Rock at this time! I have problems with this movie myself😏 I want to know why a B? Explain to me?

  • BluffinMuffin
    BluffinMuffin 7 days ago

    Spoilers: In my opinion I found one character really annoying. That character was Eugene. I didn’t like the pop culture references serving no purpose and having no joke attached to them. For example, there is this time when he hacks to find where Billys mom is and makes a pointless reference to watch dogs. Over all, good movie.

  • Amiga Wolf
    Amiga Wolf 7 days ago

    Me and my friend not really like the movie, did not like the demons for a kid movie, and all the people who are killed in brutal ways, and that it had childish moments in this movie, the end i REALLY did not like, even my friend who likes computer animated movies, find the movie childish, i gave it a 6.
    **SPOILERS** And what was the point of searching for his mother, when he found her he walks away, because she does not want anything to do with him, and that was all at the end, only a few minutes with his mother, would be MUCH better if she was death already or that he just not found her at the end.

  • JF STUDIOS
    JF STUDIOS 7 days ago +1

    I saw a Shazam add before the review

  • Dorijan Polic
    Dorijan Polic 7 days ago

    Am I the only one who found this movie very cringeworthy and overall bad?

  • Spencer Martin
    Spencer Martin 7 days ago

    you should rank the DCEU movies from worst to best

  • Carla de Souza
    Carla de Souza 7 days ago

    Is a very light good movie

  • Maria Perdomo Arvizu

    Unplanned review :)

  • trumpeter93
    trumpeter93 7 days ago

    I liked it but it had way too many physics errors that aren't very excusable in today's movies. Like catching a bus on the glass? And catching people to a dead stop doesn't hurt them especially when Shazam is harder than the ground? Like come on, if you want to know what should have happened ask Gwen Stacy...

  • Nuclear Atoms
    Nuclear Atoms 7 days ago

    I was it today has it was really a fun movie to watch, the DCEU took a totally different approach!!!!👏

  • Kelley
    Kelley 7 days ago

    Dang I love your videos. I usually wait to watch your reviews until after I’ve seen the movies. I just saw Shazam and I really liked it but there were some things that kept it from being great in my mind that I couldn’t put my finger on and you express these reasons so eloquently and I was like YES that’s what it was!!

  • 24 45 jim
    24 45 jim 8 days ago +2

    i don't dislike but i'll be the 1000th person to dislike so i dislike,i can't help it. i love you man.sorry

  • Lets Go
    Lets Go 8 days ago

    the movie was great

  • Leo Stephan
    Leo Stephan 8 days ago +5

    Just arrived from watching it. It was super good and fun and I say this as a Marvel fan. DC is really picking up with their live action movies.

  • Rev Andrei Marcial
    Rev Andrei Marcial 8 days ago

    For me it’s an A+ heart warming , funny , lovable and very impressive movie

  • EBK Wave
    EBK Wave 8 days ago +1

    This movie is waaaaaay better than what the reviews made it out to be.. The villain was perfect for this movie.. everything made sense, you have to remember the villain had extreme traumatic experiences in his childhood.. that's all he focused on was that quote _"not pure of heart.."_
    This movie was awesome, in every wholesome way, it's very much worth buying too. I loved the nod to Tom Hanks "Big", as well.. this felt like a comic book in movie format, a old Saturday morning cartoon feel.

  • Julio Santiago
    Julio Santiago 8 days ago

    I would give it a 7/10

  • D Jay
    D Jay 8 days ago

    Shazam was hilarious. Loved it.

  • Steve Kastner
    Steve Kastner 9 days ago

    Aquaman was shit are you serious. You didn’t think Aquaman was hokey and juvenile and power rangers slash where in the world is Carman San Diego slash where’s Waldo

  • trevor linvell
    trevor linvell 9 days ago +1

    The most enjoyable superhero movie I've seen in years

  • Diddleh
    Diddleh 9 days ago

    He saw a magical wizard and demons followed by an eight ball telling him to “find us” of course he is still stuck on it

  • Brenda Griffith
    Brenda Griffith 9 days ago

    The villian's father and brother hated him and blamed him for something that wasn't his fault, Yeahhh I don't blame him for having a grudge all his life

  • modiyil oppari
    modiyil oppari 9 days ago

    what a movie ...? very slow story telling ....where is action ? were is fun ...Hancok is much better than this

    • Grant Mcroberts
      Grant Mcroberts 5 days ago

      Hancock was pish. You clearly didn't watch the movie there was action spastic. The film is about a fucking kid who is bloody learning what so you want a kid who is new at the superhero stuff you just be a good fighter automatic the story was fucking great and the film was funny as fuck and if you don't find that funny then you have a shit humour. Hancock wasn't even fucking funny it was retarded fact.

  • Hybrid Phanatik 212
    Hybrid Phanatik 212 9 days ago

    When u say "camp" what do u mean

  • Cecilia Romero
    Cecilia Romero 9 days ago

    Yesss yess thank you for such a good review! Because they wanted to do it like the actual cartoon! So yeah I loved shazam since my brother showed me him in the justice league story. And nobody believed me it was going to be good but yeah so thanks

  • Arslan Malik
    Arslan Malik 9 days ago +1

    i saw it today was good movie 7.5 /10

  • silly goose
    silly goose 9 days ago +3

    The Thing I’ve noticed is that that DCEU is way better at telling solo stories rather than team stories. WW, Aquaman, and Shazam are the best movies in the DCEU where as BvS, Justice League, and Suicide Squad are the worst.

  • Number Five
    Number Five 9 days ago +109

    The villain turned from Harry Potter to Voldemort really quickly

    • Danjal Waziri
      Danjal Waziri 4 days ago +1

      Well, those are the perfect descriptions of childhood and adulthood.

  • Leonardo De Vinci
    Leonardo De Vinci 9 days ago +1

    I actually like it. In a lot of ways it was better then Captain Marvel

  • Random Guy
    Random Guy 9 days ago

    Am I the only one who doesnt watch the video, and just skips to the end to see the grade he gave?

  • emil engen
    emil engen 9 days ago

    Horror directors rock!

  • Reluctant_Fundamentalist

    I really liked Shazam. After mediocre movies like Aquaman, Justice League this is like a breath of fresh air. This is my current favorite DCEU movie followed by Man of Steel and Wonder Woman.

  • Matthew Mattiocco
    Matthew Mattiocco 9 days ago

    I say A+

  • Mindful
    Mindful 9 days ago

    The fact this movie was supposed to be campy went over my head. I knew it would be a comedy, but there comes a point where stuff just got TOO stupid. Granted I’ve never read the comic. And I’m able to suspend disbelief, I just saw a movie about a boy who becomes a 30ish year old superhero with one word. However that mid-credit scene lost me. There was also another thing I’d rather not talk about cause spoilers, but it had to do with all the foster kids during the last battle. Those who saw might get it. That part was so poorly introduced for me. I just couldn’t help but think I was watching Captain Planet.
    However, I think I blame it more on the fact that the tone was just poorly executed. I thought it would be a light comedy but it turned out to be an intentional cheese fest. Which I still respect, seeing as we have a lot of “dark” superhero films now.

  • freddy and foxy
    freddy and foxy 10 days ago

    I going to rewatch this 8n 3d

  • Kentwone D. Townsend
    Kentwone D. Townsend 10 days ago +2

    You shouldn’t be a critic ever again 🤷🏾‍♂️ to each is own though..

  • roxasora225
    roxasora225 10 days ago +2

    I give it an A. I had such a blast watching it! So far (to me) its been the best DC film to date! Totally recommend!!

  • Aidan Ling
    Aidan Ling 10 days ago

    Pretty much agree with everything, when it's being funny or Billy is with his foster family it was all great, but then whenever the villain was on screen, I was just thinking 'oh just get this over with'

  • Jackson Mares
    Jackson Mares 10 days ago +5

    Shazam! > Captain Marvel

  • Md Waqaruddin
    Md Waqaruddin 10 days ago

    Plzz review on anime more??

  • Reagan DeFriece
    Reagan DeFriece 10 days ago

    If you give Endgame a B+......

  • Balta Bueno
    Balta Bueno 10 days ago +3

    I went in expecting it to be a fun movie but ended up loving it :D

  • Zack Reynolds
    Zack Reynolds 11 days ago

    Group of kids fighting demons....can’t wait for the Shazam! and It crossover-“SHIT

  • *So What You Saying Is*

    Finally, a the closest thing to a real review of this movie.

  • Stevie V
    Stevie V 11 days ago

    ooo u thiccccct

  • Trevor Miller
    Trevor Miller 11 days ago

    This movie is garbage. the film pretty much is every cliche you could think of mixed together.

    • Ryder Barton
      Ryder Barton 8 days ago

      Trevor Miller you been watch movies too much.

    • Trevor Miller
      Trevor Miller 9 days ago

      +Ryder Barton BvS is better. This shit was at the level of Suicide Squad. So bad.

    • Ryder Barton
      Ryder Barton 10 days ago

      Trevor Miller Your Expectations went too high. Batman V. Superman took a cake.

  • apolo apolon
    apolo apolon 11 days ago

    you're not a DC fan

  • Kimjongtrump
    Kimjongtrump 11 days ago +1

    Darla! Adorable

  • ken shin
    ken shin 11 days ago

    I enjoyed the movie. But my only issue is Shazam acts like more of a kid than billy batson so there’s a bit of a disconnect. Billy is all serious and grouchy for most of the movie but Shazam is bubbly and funny

  • jetscreamer1
    jetscreamer1 11 days ago

    People will call him Captain Marvel again when Disney buys Warner next year.

  • Taylor Green
    Taylor Green 11 days ago

    K but the scene he’s talking about where the two characters are far away was admittedly funny, but stolen straight from Kung Fu panda 2

  • Tavi22
    Tavi22 11 days ago

    Nope, it was waaaay too cheesy for me. It's a Disney movie with cursing lol

    • Grant Mcroberts
      Grant Mcroberts 5 days ago

      that is fucking shazham mongo it's meant to be fucmimf cheesie spastic go read the comics and you would know it's meant to be cheesie mongo

  • Dr. Jh Irons
    Dr. Jh Irons 11 days ago

    Shazam sucked!

  • Alex Headley
    Alex Headley 11 days ago

    I wasn't too much a fan of this movie. The humor was way too childish for my taste and I thought the overall story was pretty underwhelming. But the more dramatic bits with the family were really good imo

  • X-Men 1996
    X-Men 1996 11 days ago

    Way too long of a final battle scene. It became laughable.

  • Andromeda Vieira
    Andromeda Vieira 11 days ago

    The first truly good DC movie (besides Dark Knight).

    • Brenda Griffith
      Brenda Griffith 9 days ago

      Your profile picture is cute! is that your character or just fan art?

  • Sophie Morin
    Sophie Morin 11 days ago

    This movie was an enjoyable popcorn film.

  • LL S
    LL S 11 days ago +1

    Great movie! I give it an A-.

  • Quique Leal
    Quique Leal 11 days ago

    loved the movie but over important matters...now where did you get that awesome shirt??

  • fa de
    fa de 11 days ago

    Best thing you can say about Shazam ..... too bad he does not belong to Marvel

  • Tech World Ex
    Tech World Ex 11 days ago

    I love Big