RED Hydrogen One Review: I Wanted this to be Great!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 2, 2018
  • RED Hydrogen One. The RED Media Machine. Is it worth the hype?
    RED Hydrogen One: www.h4v.com/overview
    Full Joe Rogan podcast: usclip.net/video/QSGaMUBC4Mc/video.html
    MKBHD Merch: shop.MKBHD.com
    Video Gear I use: kit.com/MKBHD/video-gear#recommendation17959
    Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD
    ~
    twitter.com/MKBHD
    snapchat.com/add/MKBHD
    google.com/+MarquesBrownlee
    instagram.com/MKBHD
    facebook.com/MKBHD
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 7 893

  • TheToxizX
    TheToxizX 2 days ago

    6:30 I guess they never miss huh

  • Da One
    Da One 2 days ago

    5:05 oh I'm in the shot

  • Thomas Hansen
    Thomas Hansen 4 days ago

    Remember the LG p920?

  • Deyvson Moutinho Caliman

    Truth is that phones now reach far beyond we need in every aspect, except cameras. They need to stop producing phones with cameras and start producing cameras with phones.

  • Sharu Tamonud
    Sharu Tamonud 5 days ago

    reminds me of the 3ds

  • Simon Ambrister
    Simon Ambrister 5 days ago

    Waste of money ...the battery take hrs to charge...only charge fast with it's special charger

  • andrea bernardini
    andrea bernardini 5 days ago

    The Terminator phone

  • mishoboy mishoboy
    mishoboy mishoboy 6 days ago

    Htc made this 20 thousand years ago

  • Stroller Boy
    Stroller Boy 7 days ago +1

    Do something with that hair bruh!

  • Stroller Boy
    Stroller Boy 7 days ago

    Get that crop cut.

  • systdow666
    systdow666 7 days ago

    so if its not “holographic” why are they advertising shit floating over the display? thats not marketing thats false advertisement not even borderline deceptive it is deceptive

  • DaIeDenton
    DaIeDenton 7 days ago

    Marques, as much as I like Red and respect the company. You need to stop promoting their shit. This phone was a circus act and a flop.

  • Tuomas Leone
    Tuomas Leone 8 days ago

    looking forward to the follow-up to this video now that the promised modules are not coming.

  • Mr.Wobbles
    Mr.Wobbles 9 days ago +1

    the famous camera maker company does not make the camera part of the phone. No sale. Shame on you RED for getting our collective hopes up.

  • ephraimperez1111
    ephraimperez1111 11 days ago

    who makes it?

  • jeremiah mendez
    jeremiah mendez 12 days ago

    3d screen? is like the amazon fire using they 4 cameras in front for the games. The differences here is that Red is using this tech on their photos... This tech have to evolve

  • Areatrance
    Areatrance 14 days ago

    I really loved everything about this phone the first time I held it in a store, but I have quickly changed my mind after realizing it is not water resistant, nor is the CPU any newer than 2017.
    Red almost had it, they only needed a new CPU to justify the price, and Water Resistance is a must for users like me!

  • Devon
    Devon 15 days ago +1

    3ds phone

  • Pazelloxu
    Pazelloxu 20 days ago +1

    New Brand

  • williams milton
    williams milton 21 day ago

    Phones like thèse cant keep up with the market. So i will never by one. They lack so much and they take to long to get there. And when they get there phones like tge s10 will be doing something new. So its a no for me.😞😞😞

  • Sean Jayson
    Sean Jayson 22 days ago +2

    A carbon fiber
    WATCH JERRYRIG

  • Harry Kane
    Harry Kane 22 days ago

    Hal 9000?

  • Jew Dyke
    Jew Dyke 23 days ago +1

    Just get a 3DS lmao

  • Angel Snowflakes
    Angel Snowflakes 24 days ago

    I wouldn't waste a 100 bucks to get it. Lol.

  • Nikole Powell
    Nikole Powell 25 days ago

    it's a 3DS screen on steroids basically

  • D D
    D D 27 days ago

    Is it like the 3ds?

  • Ronin Sanati
    Ronin Sanati 28 days ago

    Sounds like my Nintendo 3ds

  • Arturo Marroquin
    Arturo Marroquin 29 days ago

    Good And Honest Review, Thank you 👍

  • Petr Turek
    Petr Turek Month ago

    I guess they -never- sometimes miss, huh

  • Daniel Shaw
    Daniel Shaw Month ago

    yeh wont be buying this

  • Eine kleine Nachtmusik

    Dude... it's straight up butt ugly. Any other description of it's art style is wrong.

  • Networte
    Networte Month ago

    Cool video but.. what's the damn intro song called?!

  • PkwyDrive13
    PkwyDrive13 Month ago +2

    I honestly love the look, I like the look more than my s9+ and others

  • Clarence So
    Clarence So Month ago

    Oh i see 3D

  • Clarence So
    Clarence So Month ago

    Built for the military
    Soldier:oh shit my phone got shot
    Other soldier:don't forget that phones a tank
    Soldier:oh thank god

  • Begone instagram normie

    Ummm... excuse me, you just knocked off the nintendo 3ds it can take 3d photo and video, and literally play 100s of games in 3d
    If only the 3ds dual cameras weren’t 0.3 (not a typo) megapixels...

  • Mark Pedzinski
    Mark Pedzinski Month ago

    OMG you all paying these dudes toys

  • FamousNATE187
    FamousNATE187 Month ago

    I Had this on my HTC EVO 3D 4G......🧓

  • SKILD SKREAM
    SKILD SKREAM Month ago

    i love you so much for making your videos the ratio you do they work perfect on my s9+ your fuckin awesome bro, n have the best advice on tech

  • Abel Salaz
    Abel Salaz Month ago

    I had it for a month , the 3d gets old really quick , i hardly used this. Sold it bougth me a s9+

    • Rodney McFadden
      Rodney McFadden 28 days ago

      Are there any movies, shows you can watch with it in 3d?

  • David Baker
    David Baker Month ago

    You make a great video in general, I appreciate watching them.
    Smart, straight forward, unbiased, and my source of frustration with other video makers...no excessive cuts and edits.

  • Muhammad Ayyad
    Muhammad Ayyad Month ago

    Just got the phone today without any knowledge of it, bought it impulsively lol. But I checked out the camera and speakers and I think they're great tbh. There are some let downs, mainly software related. Compared to my old s8 it just feels very very basic. But it seems to me like this phone can have some really good potential, or just utterly fail. I'm not yet ready to accept that I wasted my money lol.

  • Alonzo Filho
    Alonzo Filho Month ago +4

    12:04 i guess they never miss huh

  • Joe Russo
    Joe Russo Month ago

    They probably just took an off the shelf phone and tried to pass it off as a red camera in a phone.

  • SVTStrikesback
    SVTStrikesback Month ago

    I can see the 3d effect from the phone on my phone. I’m sure it’s much more dramatic in real life, but I can definitely see a little of it from what’s in the foreground vs the background.

  • Creepy Gaming
    Creepy Gaming Month ago

    11:55 ouuuuh... yikes!

  • Beast
    Beast Month ago +5

    6:31 Hit or miss I guess they never miss.. HUH?

  • Sami askari
    Sami askari Month ago

    Anybody remember HTC 3D from 7/8 years ago?

  • shinra358
    shinra358 Month ago

    but is the battery removable???

  • starsunderer
    starsunderer Month ago

    they want to appear to be high end and charge high end prices and use low end parts. So why is it any better red? Make us a great platform to attach lenses to ( which no one has done well btw) that also happens to be a smartphone / computer. I feel like they have to fix this with modules or they'll loose their red reputation.

  • Arkadi Danielyan
    Arkadi Danielyan Month ago

    When i read red hydro chydro shit and that it is 1300 dollars i thought they finally made a camera that can show clothed girls naked.

  • Krish Hiranandani
    Krish Hiranandani Month ago

    You watch monsters vs aliens

  • TheBlinkerdelux
    TheBlinkerdelux Month ago

    what is the name of song at start the video???

  • Jjust_bring_it
    Jjust_bring_it Month ago

    it's like the old htc and lg 3d phones

  • M1HX1L 1400
    M1HX1L 1400 Month ago

    Ясно, на моей 3дс круче

  • constantinos schinas

    guys in red are hugely retarded morrons. instead of making no phone or at least the absolute high tech raw video enabled smartphone with exchangeable mini lens system, a phone-red camera monitor with 5G streaming or other phography related stuff, they focus on whatever design and whatever trendy trash stereoscopic viewing that makes up for a horrdndous experience. but it is the same guys promising 18K cinemascope modular video sensor back in 2007, remember? ;)

  • constantinos schinas

    really. did you ever expect by the red team idiots to be any good? it smelled like a sea rat from second one.

  • Jordan Thistle
    Jordan Thistle Month ago

    I would say buy it, even if it's just for the investment. If red nails it with the modular systems and it becomes the next generation of phones and you have the very first production phone. You will have something like what the original iPhone in original box. Then you just made a solid investment.

  • Saloni Desai
    Saloni Desai Month ago

    from where did u get that mkbhd light made ? i really need for my brand..

  • HOLAR 474
    HOLAR 474 Month ago

    Yo

  • zack phy
    zack phy 2 months ago

    Why the hell would one of the most respected and best high end camera makers make a phone where ppl are gonna expect GREAT picture quality and change an extreme amount and then stick an off the shelf sensor in it? Doesnt make any since.

  • zack phy
    zack phy 2 months ago

    Ohhhh its like me beloved Evo 3d that I got like 8 years ago and still dig out from time to time to take 3d pics cause of the novelty of it, I want it lol, but as a backup-toy. FYI the evo 3d also had to use a separate app store for its 3d content also, but they even got gameloft to partner and make 3d ports of their other big mobile games specifically for the phone. This was when gameloft made the best mobile games(though they were knockoffs of popular AAA console games at the time) with no microtransactions or timers or anything. I have Modern Combat on mine and its baiscally like a 3ds, an old 3ds without the fact tracking though.

  • JMJL28
    JMJL28 2 months ago

    Stay woke people lol

  • Yodaba 710
    Yodaba 710 2 months ago

    Remember the htc evo 3D

  • Neiman Skywalka
    Neiman Skywalka 2 months ago

    Waste of money.

  • Tracy Thompson
    Tracy Thompson 2 months ago

    Marques, Since this review has your thoughts on this phone changed? I read another review that said these negative reviews were before the updates fixed a lot of the problems.

  • ShamsulPlayz
    ShamsulPlayz 2 months ago

    people say the red hydrogen is the 2nd phone that can display 3D photo but its not.the 2nd phone that can display 3D photo is a chinese phone called DingDing.i use to own that phone but i forgot the name but its really.....nice....

  • Dan
    Dan 2 months ago

    12:04 I guess they never miss huh?

  • Faddn
    Faddn 2 months ago

    This phone is the ultimate click bate, it's not a hydrogen phone..

  • No thankyou
    No thankyou 2 months ago

    Really impressed with this review. Hit all my questions and MB convey's an open honesty which i find appealing af. 10/10

  • Michael Schoener
    Michael Schoener 2 months ago

    So it's a better version of a three ds that can make calls lol

  • CruddyGraze
    CruddyGraze 2 months ago

    Is this what you wanted

  • RASDKB
    RASDKB 2 months ago

    Hey Jim, do not jump without putting your jump shoes on beforehand. Even though it is kinda important Marketing isn't just hot air.

  • Lucas Whitfield
    Lucas Whitfield 2 months ago

    6:31

  • terrozer Legend
    terrozer Legend 2 months ago

    I guess they never miss, huh?

  • Beat the Filibuster
    Beat the Filibuster 2 months ago

    The holographic thing looks like the one from the Nintendo 3DS

  • Beat the Filibuster
    Beat the Filibuster 2 months ago +1

    OMFG, THE HUGE AF BEZELS

  • Smooth Hippo
    Smooth Hippo 2 months ago

    Is this what you wanted?

  • Swapnil Das
    Swapnil Das 2 months ago

    That's an ugly-ass phone.

  • Jack Morris
    Jack Morris 2 months ago

    Would if red partnered with red to make a product red hydrogen one phone wouldn’t that be funny but it would never happen

  • Thomas Gulf City Jefferson

    Mark-ASS Brown Lee.
    (You can thank Will Smiff)

  • CR1992
    CR1992 2 months ago

    Everything it has can be found in a $250 Chinese phone, even better in many of those phones today.

  • S K
    S K 2 months ago

    the worst phone I bought in my life.

  • shootingpandas75
    shootingpandas75 2 months ago

    I can't find the JJ interview you mentioned. Did you post it?

  • Pup
    Pup 2 months ago

    who’s watching on a red hydrogen one?


    *yeah... no*

  • MrLoueylou424
    MrLoueylou424 2 months ago +1

    This phone is so innovative. The lenticular sample photos you shared are exciting. They've certainly created an atmosphere. I'm buying this tomorrow!!!

  • Lancy
    Lancy 2 months ago

    There's a weird thing. "Holographic technology" in RED Hydrogen just a realization of Nintendo's 3D on display in 3DS. Actually, this can't cost so many as hydrogen. And camera from ,maybe, sony? Maybe it's the WORST smartphone of the year(

  • Tupic
    Tupic 2 months ago

    12:04 I guess they never miss huh?

  • Nicholas K Girard
    Nicholas K Girard 2 months ago

    Red had the chance to go for the best camera on the mobile market and went for dudes who keep phones on a belt strap and just by the latest technology regardless of quality.

  • Александр Александрович

    Что этот нигер себе позволяет?(с) :)

  • The Barbiter
    The Barbiter 2 months ago

    3DS, the *phone*.

  • YoBoiJohn
    YoBoiJohn 2 months ago

    so its hit or miss in this way?

  • ErrorCode
    ErrorCode 2 months ago

    So the 3D thing is similar to the 3DS

  • renee p
    renee p 2 months ago

    That is the most ugliest phone I’ve ever seen... ewwh.

  • heinicraft LP
    heinicraft LP 2 months ago

    is this 3d effect like on the nintendo 3ds ?

  • Browning Bros
    Browning Bros 2 months ago

    MKBHD and Unbox Therapy are the best tech channels. Period.

  • Chintan Dalal
    Chintan Dalal 2 months ago

    whats the intro music?

  • Paul
    Paul 2 months ago

    So its like the Ninetndo 3DS, which is tbh, really old by now. In my opinion a nice feature, but kinda useless

  • Mike Jaques
    Mike Jaques 2 months ago

    MKBHD, PLEASE find Sharp sh007 and make a comparison of both of those phones!!!

  • Mike Jaques
    Mike Jaques 2 months ago

    Sharp sh 007 allows you to watch 3D on it's screeen without glasses and runs full android as wel. Red phone- poop bubble!