SHAZAM Review! - Why It Works #Debrief

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 6, 2019
  • Shazam came out this week, that's the newest DCEU movie featuring Zachary Levi as the titular character and directed by David Sandberg. Critics and audiences are both loving it, giving it a great rotten tomatoes score and word of mouth. We'll also cover the first trailer for the new Joker origin movie, the fate of Dr. Erik Selvig in MCU's Avengers: Endgame, a new Terminator sequel featuring the return of Linda Hamilton as Sarah Connor and rumors about Kumail Nanjiani joining the MCU! Watch as Erik Voss, Sam Bashor and Filup Molina plus special guest Samm Levine (DC Daily) all dive in!
    CONNECT WITH US!
    Facebook: newmediarockstars
    Twitter: newrockstars
    CONNECT WITH ERIK:
    eavoss
    SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR PATREON SUPPORTERS (www.patreon.com/newrockstars), including these beautiful people:
    Kelly Hopper
    Kenny Smith
    Wilhemina Ebbesen
    Matthew Salvas
    Pony Stark
    CaroleBDCDiva
    Matthew Ahrens
    Dory Zein
    Executive Creative Director: Filup Molina fimo
    Post Production Supervisor: Devin Cleary
    Editors: Joshua Hurd, Devin Cleary, Aaron Carrión
    Music: "Sci Fi" from Bensound.com

Comments • 362

  • BlaZe Storm
    BlaZe Storm 18 days ago

    I like this movie it was good

  • Leigh Buchanan
    Leigh Buchanan 3 months ago

    How do I adopt Freddy Freeman?

  • Always Sunny
    Always Sunny 4 months ago

    Why is 2 million better than 1,999,999? Like even numbers much?

  • magister343
    magister343 4 months ago

    I'm not a big fan of any Terminator movies, but I loved the Sarah Connor Chronicles.

  • sarosh ENCORE
    sarosh ENCORE 4 months ago

    I wanted to watch Shazam!. But I had only money for one movie this month. So, as a superhero movie lover, I had to choose Endgame over Shazam!. I'm sorry Zach and David. I'll be the 1st ones to watch it on Digital.❤❤❤

  • dflowers30
    dflowers30 4 months ago

    32:08

  • Vanessa
    Vanessa 5 months ago

    About The Joker I think the purpose is not to empathise with a killer but to ask ourselves as society what kind of people are we creating or how far can we take someone.

  • TW33N13
    TW33N13 5 months ago

    Jervis Tetch would be cool in Joker

  • TW33N13
    TW33N13 5 months ago

    Ben Schwartz as Plasticman :o

  • EricGG
    EricGG 5 months ago

    SHAZAM EASTER EGGS

  • JAM1E
    JAM1E 5 months ago

    This channel is fucking great

  • dustbunnieboo
    dustbunnieboo 5 months ago

    Shazam! was such a fun film. And wow, Billy looks like Arya Stark's big brother.

  • Anthony Gonzalez
    Anthony Gonzalez 5 months ago

    Was the setting always in Christmas? NR? And do think the child protagonist would be a good “Percy Jackson “

  • Eddie G.
    Eddie G. 5 months ago

    I feel like this joker movie will be more of what inspired some one to become the joker we all have known from the comics.

  • Eddie G.
    Eddie G. 5 months ago

    I'm glad you guys comments on the non aging dad-small mess up of the movie...that and the phrase "bullet immunity"

  • Eddie G.
    Eddie G. 5 months ago

    Adam brody perfect ? Nooe!
    Great movie overall

  • madcowford
    madcowford 5 months ago

    For future GIF of shame: have loser start to get angrier and angrier until they start to transform into their version of the Hulk!

  • Cooper H
    Cooper H 5 months ago

    I loved it until the end of the movie when all the foster kids got powers. that totally ruined it for me

  • Ryder Fletcher
    Ryder Fletcher 5 months ago +2

    Alright I try not to brag about this to much but with 2 mil I just have to write this out. This is my favourite channel ever. (Here’s the brag part) I have been subbed since like 200k, I remember watching #news with Phillip and like three other hosts (who went on vacation and never came back if I remember right?) and I have watch all hosts come and go (besides Phillip, we don’t count that break he had). This channel deserves 80 million subs because it has made me knowledgeable of comics without spending time and money and has allowed me to embrace my nerd and impress everyone with my knowledge and theory’s THAT I DEFINITELY ONE HUNDRED PERCENT CAME UP WITH. So yeah humble brag keep doing what doing❤️

  • Chris Harris
    Chris Harris 5 months ago

    Great film.😀😀😀

  • Steve Bahn
    Steve Bahn 5 months ago

    Sam why are you wearing that shirt?

  • TheGamingMonkey128
    TheGamingMonkey128 5 months ago

    I personally don't like most if not all the dc films the tv shows are great but fail in the films but Shazam was really good. Enjoyed it hopefully this is the start for DC to make better films

  • Michael Pash
    Michael Pash 5 months ago

    Samm Levine!!!!

  • Ami Berg
    Ami Berg 5 months ago

    Mag is not a villain😒😒😒😒

  • 8-Bit Motorcycles
    8-Bit Motorcycles 5 months ago

    I really enjoyed the first half of the movie, but from the first contact between the villain and hero, I felt the pacing was just off. The rest of the movie was basically a kid running away with an anti climatic ending. I just didn't enjoy the end.

  • jonny14o Gaming
    jonny14o Gaming 5 months ago

    It was so good

  • Svetlana Transka-Lea
    Svetlana Transka-Lea 5 months ago

    Congrats Eric Voss

  • A Person
    A Person 5 months ago

    Erik Selvig is alive, he’s probably somewhere off the grid, doing science things

  • redfishradical
    redfishradical 5 months ago

    As far as the Joker promos... I'm definitely NOT down with this idea of exploring his back story. A large part of what made him the most serious and dangerous character was that he was an ENIGMA! NOT knowing who or what he was, what he came from...

  • Max.Mead_04
    Max.Mead_04 5 months ago

    Yeah, screw my friends. I get to hang out with Erik Voss!

  • Paul26 Vasquez
    Paul26 Vasquez 5 months ago

    Reply LOL if you want free avengers tickets

  • Paul26 Vasquez
    Paul26 Vasquez 5 months ago

    16:56

  • Paul26 Vasquez
    Paul26 Vasquez 5 months ago

    16.2
    T

  • RAININGxCHAOS
    RAININGxCHAOS 5 months ago

    Congratulations on 2mil you guys are awesome!

  • Michał Racisz
    Michał Racisz 5 months ago

    What if this 'Joker' is really just a person that inspires the real Joker to emerge and this movie actually ends a positive love story? :(

  • A. Ts
    A. Ts 5 months ago

    I enjoyed it. Good movie.

  • Drew Cherry
    Drew Cherry 5 months ago

    I live in a small town with only one theatre and you can only buy tickets 30 minutes before the movie 😂

  • Gabe Swad
    Gabe Swad 5 months ago

    SAMM! The episode of ENTOURAGE you are in is one of my favorite episodes. probably seen it 50 times. Just blew my mind seeing you on here

  • Ali Safar
    Ali Safar 5 months ago

    Very unpopular opinion, I thought it wasn’t great

  • snoger50
    snoger50 5 months ago

    shout out to cheddar blowout

  • snoger50
    snoger50 5 months ago

    the REAL CAPTAIN MARVEL with Zach Levi was better.

  • ankit chheda
    ankit chheda 5 months ago

    I keep thinking Mark Strong would make the perfect Superman TAS / Young Justice style Lex Luthor. Make him Lex Luthor at some point!

  • Joe Wyatt
    Joe Wyatt 5 months ago

    I think Filup describes the Joker's journey exactly the way Heath Ledger's Joker talks about Harvey Dent in The Dark Knight. Taking someone and pushing them far enough to make them as bad as anybody.

  • Nicole Mispagel
    Nicole Mispagel 5 months ago

    Was Sam Levine a child actor or does he really look like one? If the latter, who am I thinking of?

  • Draw It, Too!
    Draw It, Too! 5 months ago

    What probably won't be explored in the DCEU is what happened in issue #4 of Superman/Shazam: First Thunder -- when Superman found out that Shazam was just a boy, he went to confront the wizard and told him off for giving such a heavy burden of responsibility on a kid. I mean, Supes was LIVID. Then as Clark Kent, he goes off to find Billy Batson in his dilapidated bedroom to introduce himself and reveal that he is Superman. It was a touching moment in the comics.

  • Jesus Nazario
    Jesus Nazario 5 months ago

    Yes

  • Talamasca Dan
    Talamasca Dan 5 months ago

    I am the furthest possible from being a DC movie fan ! i despise all the Nolan movies and the Synder movies, WW was just OK, not bad. However, I really enjoyed Shazam, some seriously dark moments (maybe way to dark compared to the rest of the movie, so tonally it was shaky) yet very likable characters and a lot of fun to watch.

  • Kanashi Atisuto
    Kanashi Atisuto 5 months ago

    Huge congratulations on over 2 mil subscribers 🎉😱❤ I've been following this channel for so long now, it's stunning how much you've grown, so inspiring & I am so so happy for you all 😄❤ I love your work, you always make me laugh, think & learn & you're one of my favourite channels 👏🏻 Your way to celebrate is awesome & a fantastic idea 😳😄
    I've only watched this episode today because I went to see Shazam yesterday & wanted to hear your review afterwards. I love it, you sum it up so perfectly why I enjoyed this movie so very much & actually survived having to go to the loo for nearly the whole movie, I didn't want to miss a second- gosh I ran so quickly after the mid credit scene 🤣⚡
    Thanks again for your great news coverage & for answering one of my questions again, I didn't expect that 😁 Congrats on pronouncing my name more elegantly than Maude (looking forward to her return) 😂❤ Also I love that Samm thought of Poison Ivy with the Joker movie question too 😄

  • Joshua Yang
    Joshua Yang 5 months ago

    Love listening to your podcasts on the Himalaya app, very convenient when I’m on the bus or just at home. Thanks for the great content y’all 🙌🏼

  • Eli Clark
    Eli Clark 5 months ago

    Have you guys seen umbrella academy on netflix? If you have i would love to hear your thoughts on it. If you havent then you should watch it because it's really good and is right up your guys's lane.

  • Carlos L Ray
    Carlos L Ray 5 months ago

    For someone who suppose to have the wisdom of Solomon.. He's an idiot

  • Marianne
    Marianne 5 months ago

    I think the reason why Billy was chosen (besides being desperate) is that Billy was probably the first honest kid. When the wizard mentions being pure of heart he says that he doesn't think he is. Maybe that's something that made him stand out.

  • maria teresa perez
    maria teresa perez 5 months ago

    Settle an argument with my husband ..... Are you guys in front of a green screen? He says you are not, I think you are.

  • Aunt Edna
    Aunt Edna 5 months ago

    I am trying to find out what this video is about, but there's nothing circled and no arrows. So confused.

  • Conor McMullen
    Conor McMullen 5 months ago

    Should have done a proper Shazam review

  • pritesh attal
    pritesh attal 5 months ago +5

    At 48:33 thanks for answering my question you guys are awesome.
    Plus Happy birthday erik voss.

  • Courtany Alexis
    Courtany Alexis 5 months ago

    I may or may not have squealed when I saw Sam Levine.

  • MythicX JC
    MythicX JC 5 months ago +1

    #NR should be number 1

  • David Zilber
    David Zilber 5 months ago +2

    Re Joker: Just realized there are two Dark Phoenix movies out this year

  • Vikram B
    Vikram B 5 months ago

    That trailer was so sad and terrifying