SHAZAM Review! - Why It Works #Debrief

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 6, 2019
  • Shazam came out this week, that's the newest DCEU movie featuring Zachary Levi as the titular character and directed by David Sandberg. Critics and audiences are both loving it, giving it a great rotten tomatoes score and word of mouth. We'll also cover the first trailer for the new Joker origin movie, the fate of Dr. Erik Selvig in MCU's Avengers: Endgame, a new Terminator sequel featuring the return of Linda Hamilton as Sarah Connor and rumors about Kumail Nanjiani joining the MCU! Watch as Erik Voss, Sam Bashor and Filup Molina plus special guest Samm Levine (DC Daily) all dive in!
    CONNECT WITH US!
    Facebook: facebook.com/newmediarockstars
    Twitter: twitter.com/newrockstars
    CONNECT WITH ERIK:
    twitter.com/eavoss
    SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR PATREON SUPPORTERS (www.patreon.com/newrockstars), including these beautiful people:
    Kelly Hopper
    Kenny Smith
    Wilhemina Ebbesen
    Matthew Salvas
    Pony Stark
    CaroleBDCDiva
    Matthew Ahrens
    Dory Zein
    Executive Creative Director: Filup Molina twitter.com/fimo
    Post Production Supervisor: Devin Cleary
    Editors: Joshua Hurd, Devin Cleary, Aaron Carrión
    Music: "Sci Fi" from Bensound.com

Comments • 363

  • Leigh Buchanan
    Leigh Buchanan 10 days ago

    How do I adopt Freddy Freeman?

  • Always Sunny
    Always Sunny Month ago

    Why is 2 million better than 1,999,999? Like even numbers much?

  • magister343
    magister343 Month ago

    I'm not a big fan of any Terminator movies, but I loved the Sarah Connor Chronicles.

  • sarosh ENCORE
    sarosh ENCORE 2 months ago

    I wanted to watch Shazam!. But I had only money for one movie this month. So, as a superhero movie lover, I had to choose Endgame over Shazam!. I'm sorry Zach and David. I'll be the 1st ones to watch it on Digital.❤❤❤

  • dflowers30
    dflowers30 2 months ago

    32:08

  • Vanessa
    Vanessa 2 months ago

    About The Joker I think the purpose is not to empathise with a killer but to ask ourselves as society what kind of people are we creating or how far can we take someone.

  • Tweenie
    Tweenie 2 months ago

    Jervis Tetch would be cool in Joker

  • Tweenie
    Tweenie 2 months ago

    Ben Schwartz as Plasticman :o

  • EricGG
    EricGG 2 months ago

    SHAZAM EASTER EGGS

  • JAM1E
    JAM1E 2 months ago

    This channel is fucking great

  • dustbunnieboo
    dustbunnieboo 2 months ago

    Shazam! was such a fun film. And wow, Billy looks like Arya Stark's big brother.

  • Anthony Gonzalez
    Anthony Gonzalez 2 months ago

    Was the setting always in Christmas? NR? And do think the child protagonist would be a good “Percy Jackson “

  • Eddie G.
    Eddie G. 2 months ago

    I feel like this joker movie will be more of what inspired some one to become the joker we all have known from the comics.

  • Eddie G.
    Eddie G. 2 months ago

    I'm glad you guys comments on the non aging dad-small mess up of the movie...that and the phrase "bullet immunity"

  • Eddie G.
    Eddie G. 2 months ago

    Adam brody perfect ? Nooe!
    Great movie overall

  • madcowford
    madcowford 2 months ago

    For future GIF of shame: have loser start to get angrier and angrier until they start to transform into their version of the Hulk!

  • Cooper H
    Cooper H 2 months ago

    I loved it until the end of the movie when all the foster kids got powers. that totally ruined it for me

  • Ryder Fletcher
    Ryder Fletcher 2 months ago +2

    Alright I try not to brag about this to much but with 2 mil I just have to write this out. This is my favourite channel ever. (Here’s the brag part) I have been subbed since like 200k, I remember watching #news with Phillip and like three other hosts (who went on vacation and never came back if I remember right?) and I have watch all hosts come and go (besides Phillip, we don’t count that break he had). This channel deserves 80 million subs because it has made me knowledgeable of comics without spending time and money and has allowed me to embrace my nerd and impress everyone with my knowledge and theory’s THAT I DEFINITELY ONE HUNDRED PERCENT CAME UP WITH. So yeah humble brag keep doing what doing❤️

  • Chris Harris
    Chris Harris 2 months ago

    Great film.😀😀😀

  • Steve Bahn
    Steve Bahn 2 months ago

    Sam why are you wearing that shirt?

  • TheGamingMonkey128
    TheGamingMonkey128 2 months ago

    I personally don't like most if not all the dc films the tv shows are great but fail in the films but Shazam was really good. Enjoyed it hopefully this is the start for DC to make better films

  • Michael Pash
    Michael Pash 2 months ago

    Samm Levine!!!!

  • Ami Berg
    Ami Berg 2 months ago

    Mag is not a villain😒😒😒😒

  • 8-Bit Motorcycles
    8-Bit Motorcycles 2 months ago

    I really enjoyed the first half of the movie, but from the first contact between the villain and hero, I felt the pacing was just off. The rest of the movie was basically a kid running away with an anti climatic ending. I just didn't enjoy the end.

  • jonny14o Gaming
    jonny14o Gaming 2 months ago

    It was so good

  • Svetlana Transka-Lea
    Svetlana Transka-Lea 2 months ago

    Congrats Eric Voss

  • A Person
    A Person 2 months ago

    Erik Selvig is alive, he’s probably somewhere off the grid, doing science things

  • redfishradical
    redfishradical 2 months ago

    As far as the Joker promos... I'm definitely NOT down with this idea of exploring his back story. A large part of what made him the most serious and dangerous character was that he was an ENIGMA! NOT knowing who or what he was, what he came from...

  • Max.Mead_04
    Max.Mead_04 2 months ago

    Yeah, screw my friends. I get to hang out with Erik Voss!

  • BlackWave54
    BlackWave54 2 months ago +1

    Take me home country road
    West Virginia Mountain Momma
    Take me home country roaddd.........

  • Paul26 Vasquez
    Paul26 Vasquez 2 months ago

    Reply LOL if you want free avengers tickets

  • Paul26 Vasquez
    Paul26 Vasquez 2 months ago

    16:56

  • Paul26 Vasquez
    Paul26 Vasquez 2 months ago

    16.2
    T

  • RAININGxCHAOS
    RAININGxCHAOS 2 months ago

    Congratulations on 2mil you guys are awesome!

  • Michał Racisz
    Michał Racisz 2 months ago

    What if this 'Joker' is really just a person that inspires the real Joker to emerge and this movie actually ends a positive love story? :(

  • A. Ts
    A. Ts 2 months ago

    I enjoyed it. Good movie.

  • Drew Cherry
    Drew Cherry 2 months ago

    I live in a small town with only one theatre and you can only buy tickets 30 minutes before the movie 😂

  • Gabe Swad
    Gabe Swad 2 months ago

    SAMM! The episode of ENTOURAGE you are in is one of my favorite episodes. probably seen it 50 times. Just blew my mind seeing you on here

  • Ali Safar
    Ali Safar 2 months ago

    Very unpopular opinion, I thought it wasn’t great

  • snoger50
    snoger50 2 months ago

    shout out to cheddar blowout

  • snoger50
    snoger50 2 months ago

    the REAL CAPTAIN MARVEL with Zach Levi was better.

  • ankit chheda
    ankit chheda 2 months ago

    I keep thinking Mark Strong would make the perfect Superman TAS / Young Justice style Lex Luthor. Make him Lex Luthor at some point!

  • Joe Wyatt
    Joe Wyatt 2 months ago

    I think Filup describes the Joker's journey exactly the way Heath Ledger's Joker talks about Harvey Dent in The Dark Knight. Taking someone and pushing them far enough to make them as bad as anybody.

  • Nicole Mispagel
    Nicole Mispagel 2 months ago

    Was Sam Levine a child actor or does he really look like one? If the latter, who am I thinking of?

  • Draw It, Too!
    Draw It, Too! 2 months ago

    What probably won't be explored in the DCEU is what happened in issue #4 of Superman/Shazam: First Thunder -- when Superman found out that Shazam was just a boy, he went to confront the wizard and told him off for giving such a heavy burden of responsibility on a kid. I mean, Supes was LIVID. Then as Clark Kent, he goes off to find Billy Batson in his dilapidated bedroom to introduce himself and reveal that he is Superman. It was a touching moment in the comics.

  • Jesus Nazario
    Jesus Nazario 2 months ago

    Yes

  • Talamasca Dan
    Talamasca Dan 2 months ago

    I am the furthest possible from being a DC movie fan ! i despise all the Nolan movies and the Synder movies, WW was just OK, not bad. However, I really enjoyed Shazam, some seriously dark moments (maybe way to dark compared to the rest of the movie, so tonally it was shaky) yet very likable characters and a lot of fun to watch.

  • Kanashi Atisuto
    Kanashi Atisuto 2 months ago

    Huge congratulations on over 2 mil subscribers 🎉😱❤ I've been following this channel for so long now, it's stunning how much you've grown, so inspiring & I am so so happy for you all 😄❤ I love your work, you always make me laugh, think & learn & you're one of my favourite channels 👏🏻 Your way to celebrate is awesome & a fantastic idea 😳😄
    I've only watched this episode today because I went to see Shazam yesterday & wanted to hear your review afterwards. I love it, you sum it up so perfectly why I enjoyed this movie so very much & actually survived having to go to the loo for nearly the whole movie, I didn't want to miss a second- gosh I ran so quickly after the mid credit scene 🤣⚡
    Thanks again for your great news coverage & for answering one of my questions again, I didn't expect that 😁 Congrats on pronouncing my name more elegantly than Maude (looking forward to her return) 😂❤ Also I love that Samm thought of Poison Ivy with the Joker movie question too 😄

  • Joshua Yang
    Joshua Yang 2 months ago

    Love listening to your podcasts on the Himalaya app, very convenient when I’m on the bus or just at home. Thanks for the great content y’all 🙌🏼

  • Eli Clark
    Eli Clark 2 months ago

    Have you guys seen umbrella academy on netflix? If you have i would love to hear your thoughts on it. If you havent then you should watch it because it's really good and is right up your guys's lane.

  • Carlos L Ray
    Carlos L Ray 2 months ago

    For someone who suppose to have the wisdom of Solomon.. He's an idiot

  • Marianne
    Marianne 2 months ago

    I think the reason why Billy was chosen (besides being desperate) is that Billy was probably the first honest kid. When the wizard mentions being pure of heart he says that he doesn't think he is. Maybe that's something that made him stand out.

  • maria teresa perez
    maria teresa perez 2 months ago

    Settle an argument with my husband ..... Are you guys in front of a green screen? He says you are not, I think you are.

  • Aunt Edna
    Aunt Edna 2 months ago

    I am trying to find out what this video is about, but there's nothing circled and no arrows. So confused.

  • Conor McMullen
    Conor McMullen 2 months ago

    Should have done a proper Shazam review

  • pritesh attal
    pritesh attal 2 months ago +5

    At 48:33 thanks for answering my question you guys are awesome.
    Plus Happy birthday erik voss.

  • Courtany Alexis
    Courtany Alexis 2 months ago

    I may or may not have squealed when I saw Sam Levine.

  • MythicX JC
    MythicX JC 2 months ago +1

    #NR should be number 1

  • David Zilber
    David Zilber 2 months ago +2

    Re Joker: Just realized there are two Dark Phoenix movies out this year

  • Vikram B
    Vikram B 2 months ago

    That trailer was so sad and terrifying

  • Joseph Thompson
    Joseph Thompson 2 months ago

    Wooooooowwww I’m a Talladega College graduate!

  • Cinemas Triton
    Cinemas Triton 2 months ago

    Samm L looks like that kid from freaks and geeks?????

  • NAGARAJAN GUNASEKARAN
    NAGARAJAN GUNASEKARAN 2 months ago

    Congrats on 2 mil you guys, couldn’t be more happy. But on the contrary, why hasn’t the channel cross 10 mil yet. Like, Newtockstars is the home for us nerds who would love to spend the rest of their lives reading graphic novels and tear our brains apart when to new superhero movie drops in to find those easter eggs and references 😂

  • Mathaithai Productions
    Mathaithai Productions 2 months ago

    peter parker getting dusted would be pretty good for podcast

  • Mathaithai Productions
    Mathaithai Productions 2 months ago

    47:04
    condiment king pls

  • Andres J Alonso
    Andres J Alonso 2 months ago +1

    ....ik I'm suppperrrr late but Sam where did you get that shirt😭

  • Makchu Cook
    Makchu Cook 2 months ago

    Unpopular opinion. The movie was lame

  • big baby josh
    big baby josh 2 months ago

    Hey google ! What's Eric Love?
    Google: Sorry couldn't find any results.

  • Angel Arch
    Angel Arch 2 months ago

    There are ONLY 2 aliens movies, 1 and 2. No others exist, and are just figments of a deranged imagination.

  • Ryan McRoberts
    Ryan McRoberts 2 months ago

    Doom Patrol is criminally good. I should get paid for how much I've been advertising DCUniverse.

  • Helena Vermeer
    Helena Vermeer 2 months ago

    I love that Filup his mind goes to " the devil wears Prada" and not to Abraham Erskine....

  • Alejandro J Ortega
    Alejandro J Ortega 2 months ago

    Make animal sounds in random and weird situations for the Gif of shame

  • T Hays
    T Hays 2 months ago

    Samm Levine!

  • Madeline Bigelow
    Madeline Bigelow 2 months ago

    the motive of the villain was terrible

  • domiciliphile
    domiciliphile 2 months ago

    always thought gif of *shame* was a little too WASP-y! looking forward to a tradition thats a little less 16th century England. winner reading credits still makes sense, though (a nice nod to WLIIA). What if there's just a winner and no loser? (minds blown, i know)

  • DanielHG PLAYZZ
    DanielHG PLAYZZ 2 months ago +2

    Did anyone realise that Shazam never put on his hoody?

    • TheRandopro
      TheRandopro 2 months ago

      He did in scene at window with freddy doing dishes and tells him not to scream.

  • Antonio Monroy
    Antonio Monroy 2 months ago

    Let's everyone pretend the 2016 Ghostbusters didn't happen!

  • Antonio Monroy
    Antonio Monroy 2 months ago

    I loved Terminator Salvation!, I loved that we finally saw deep look into the world post-skynet and it would have been a great way to give closure to the franchise, they should've continued down that line!

  • Antonio Monroy
    Antonio Monroy 2 months ago

    The new Joker movie works as a dark knight origin spin-off if Heath Ledger hadn't passed away, meaning we would have seen it sooner and directed and produced by Nolan

  • Cherry Uy Ramos
    Cherry Uy Ramos 2 months ago

    1:27 lazarbeam deserves it more. #Lazarbeam

  • Agent SuperArgo
    Agent SuperArgo 2 months ago

    I saw Shazam and liked it...I gave it a 7/10 but I have no idea why there was approximately 7 people in the entire 4pm screening...why?

  • sutt11
    sutt11 2 months ago +2

    Eriks shirt is classic haha

  • ploddodd
    ploddodd 2 months ago

    and Sam, hook me up, Doom Patrol is brilliant. Lets converse.

  • ploddodd
    ploddodd 2 months ago

    I genuinely would have bought a ticket for the screening/live show, but my private plane fund isn't up to scratch yet,, so, I will watch on from GB.

  • Man That Games
    Man That Games 2 months ago

    Did anyone else notice that the person (Djimon Hounsou)who plays Shazam (the Wizard, not Captain Marvel) also plays Drago Bludvist (who is who I figured out first) AND Korath the Pursuer?

  • Daniel Wise Sr.
    Daniel Wise Sr. 2 months ago

    Just saw Shazam a hour ago......Garbage movie😵.......1st 25 mins was good after that it was Bad... People were walking out after watching only 40 mins.... The story became overly childish... There was no adversity... The villain was no threat...And having the Foster home kids harness Shazam's power, and becoming the same super hero was Cheezy as it gets.... I didn't like this movie...

  • ThatGuyVado
    ThatGuyVado 2 months ago +1

    Is Erik one of those reviewers who will be like
    This is great this is great this was awesome etc
    Then he'll just point out one tiny thing wrong and then not say any other issues?

  • Man That Games
    Man That Games 2 months ago

    Congrats on the two mil!

  • Male Man -2
    Male Man -2 2 months ago

    Here’s an audio idea:
    The loser has to speak a complete sentence but after every word they must say “Arrrgg” (like a pirate).

  • Mr. Fahrenheit
    Mr. Fahrenheit 2 months ago

    I guess the darkest part of the movie was the building scene with Dr Sivana that shit was dark

  • Rae Lynn
    Rae Lynn 2 months ago

    Instead Gif of shame, for the podcast, do memory of shame. Something you (or friend, or family, or classmate, etc.) did as a kid.

  • TheCrazycrazy123
    TheCrazycrazy123 2 months ago

    I love you all so much.

  • John Castiel
    John Castiel 2 months ago

    Shazam 7.8/10 for me.

  • John Castiel
    John Castiel 2 months ago +1

    Enjoyed both Shazam and Captain Marvel.

  • internetmaster1
    internetmaster1 2 months ago

    #RELEASETHESNYDERCUT

  • Reece Martin
    Reece Martin 2 months ago

    'Shoot him in the face!'

  • Kenya B
    Kenya B 2 months ago +32

    I think Shazam was a fun feel good movie but definitely not the best superhero film or a 10/10. My biggest critique is the villain. He's an easily forgettable slice of bread, and they really should have put more spotlight on the 7 deadly sins. The sins are such a creative villain, but they were reduced to monsters who barely displayed their power. We should have seen lusts persuasion, greeds corruption, etc. Instead they were standard movie monsters with a nice design. I loved when Shazam coaxed envy out of the villian (who's name I cant remember). I think if we saw more of that, this movie would have been even better.
    Instead of a regular fight scene, imagine the sins tempting the shazamily!
    The movie is still awesome, but for me it's more of a 7/10.

    • Kenya B
      Kenya B Month ago

      @Always Sunny don't read the comments

    • Always Sunny
      Always Sunny Month ago

      Leave shorter comments

    • tunzlunz
      tunzlunz 2 months ago +1

      Wow I can’t believe I found someone who felt the same way I did. Yes I completely agree. I would’ve like to see why these monsters were so bad they “shouldn’t be released on humanity” to quote Shazam.

    • Debo Datta
      Debo Datta 2 months ago +2

      Sins were really creative wish they focused on them

    • sæd twix stan
      sæd twix stan 2 months ago +4

      Kenya B yea definitely instead of being the “ seven deadly sins “ they were seven monsters outwitted by children

  • Juan Ortiz
    Juan Ortiz 2 months ago

    Sock you in the stomach three more times

  • Jadon Williams
    Jadon Williams 2 months ago

    The loser should have to read a pre written apology where the loser is apologizing for funny/stupid things

  • keon
    keon 2 months ago

    I'm cool im hot I'm sexy your not