Real Doctor reacts to DOCTOR STRANGE | Hospital Movie Scenes Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 8, 2019
  • As a huge geek I thought it time I break down the medical scenes from the Marvel movie Doctor Strange from a real doctor's perspective! I'll explain how accurate it is, a bit more about what's happening on screen and share some of my experiences too!
    I try and bring something different to each video, so if you enjoyed this please check out my other reviews of Medical TV dramas; House MD, Scrubs, The Good Doctor, Grey’s Anatomy, The Resident and ER!
    Here is my latest review of the TV show House that you may enjoy:
    usclip.net/video/DjBQddVExh0/video.html
    You can connect with me via the following:
    Instagram: instagram.com/drhopesicknotes
    Twitter: twitter.com/drhopesicknotes
    FB: facebook.com/drhopesicknotes
    Clips used under fair use (education and review):
    THANK YOU FOR NOT COPY STRIKING THIS VIDEO SO I CAN CONTINUE TO USE THESE GREAT SHOWS FOR EDUCATION AND REVIEW.
    DOCTOR STRANGE Clips © 2016 - Marvel
    Surgical scrub video:
    usclip.net/video/MpwMnjQR41Y/video.html
    Thank you to all the artists that make their music available for these videos:
    Song 'Escapists' by The AutoDisko
    Song ‘Finding Me’ by Eveningland
    Music: Cubic Z - Diamond Ortiz
    Support by RFM - NCM: usclip.net/video/DOSNT7VA2XA/video.html
    #doctorreacts #doctorwatches #doctorstrange
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 9 393

  • Dr Hope's Sick Notes
    Dr Hope's Sick Notes  2 months ago +3799

    So here is my first medical movie reaction! There are some cracking medical scenes in Doctor Strange, and a had loads of requests to give them a look, I do get a bit nerdy explaining things, but hey! that's what I'm here for. Timestamps:
    00:43: Intro scene with Doctor Strange in theatre
    03:06: First case of bullet in brainstem
    08:07: Medical cases talked about in car scene
    10:54: Doctor Strange rehab
    12:20: Doctor Strange cardiac arrest in theatre after being stabbed
    18:47: Ancient One in theatre after head injury

    • carlos Rivas
      carlos Rivas 16 days ago

      again the ancient one diher stuff to keep him alive. she did what is necessary as an old keltic woman to help someone of obvious english ancestry as her, Benedict cumber- i mean Dr strange.

    • carlos Rivas
      carlos Rivas 16 days ago

      Strange response: i asked your help once, you denied me.,

    • carlos Rivas
      carlos Rivas 16 days ago

      Again this the american doctor with years past his surgical residency into his attending and beyond. he is a bit a jackass in his fast sports car.

    • carlos Rivas
      carlos Rivas 16 days ago

      the ring light is too close to you maybe? i know you might have one? slightly father away and it will show off your beautiful blue eyes.

  • Youssef EL Nashar
    Youssef EL Nashar 9 hours ago +1

    Real Cat Reacts To Captain Marvel

  • Gera Terra
    Gera Terra 15 hours ago

    original comment reacts to fake comments

  • TheTage Show
    TheTage Show 17 hours ago

    Ant reacts to Ant man

  • Jerome Robinson
    Jerome Robinson 17 hours ago +1

    I don’t care much for biology normally but this video was really impressive my friend... it caught my attention really quickly and your knowledge on the subject seems extensive 👍

  • Ben Cleaver
    Ben Cleaver 18 hours ago

    The "burst fracture" is a reference to Hammer techs incident in Iron Man 2's court scene. If that helps better understand the time line.

  • Aidan.Pelton
    Aidan.Pelton 21 hour ago

    Is it just me or does that guy kinda look like doctor strange

  • NerualYam
    NerualYam 21 hour ago

    I dunno why you’ve got so many haters, I love hearing where movies have inaccuracies. So many people as they grow up are inspired by the media we absorb to pick their future careers. The more accurate the representation the better!

  • Steven Conklin
    Steven Conklin 23 hours ago

    I can also tell you that it is very odd he goes from NYC to the Hawks Nest, the road with all the turns that he crashes on (about 2.5 - 3 hours away from NYC) in moments. Also if you drive off the Hawks Nest you have a 60+ foot fall into the Delaware river the only good news is this water is VERY slow

  • Chigu gg
    Chigu gg Day ago

    imagine when you watch doctor strange/anykind of madical drama with a real doctor whos like to explain everything. i might be really pout my mouth and say "i bought you popcorn. shut up and enjoy that!"
    😅😅

  • Richard Hazzard
    Richard Hazzard Day ago

    I find it kind of funny you kind of look like Benedict Cumberbatch.

  • ccddle
    ccddle Day ago

    DID YOU LEARN NOTHING FROM COLONEL SANDERS?! It is the MED-YOU-LLA OBLONG-AH-TAH.

  • K K
    K K 2 days ago

    That 12:40s scene would also be interesting to have someone spiritual explain what happened. Nice explanation with the medical stuff. 😊

  • Jim Humphries
    Jim Humphries 2 days ago

    Fun fact: Racheal's mom Sandy is a nurse. And is a nice lady.

  • KnotChampion
    KnotChampion 2 days ago

    I may have failed a+p but I’m glad I can follow at least a little bit with this video lol

  • David Spears
    David Spears 2 days ago

    real plane reacts to 9/11

  • Ariana Vergara
    Ariana Vergara 2 days ago

    We actually have neural stem cells which can help regenerate new cells in patients that have experienced brain damage.

  • ace kevin hopps
    ace kevin hopps 2 days ago

    Okay got a new vid...iron reacts to iron man

  • daniel saelens
    daniel saelens 2 days ago

    Anyone notice the Rhode reference during the lambo scene lol

  • Mark Jacob Valdomar
    Mark Jacob Valdomar 2 days ago

    Now i want elon musk to react about tony stark.

  • ッLuis
    ッLuis 2 days ago

    Real iron bar reacts to iron man

  • Xian Baldelovar
    Xian Baldelovar 3 days ago

    GSW? GUNSHOT WOUND? WOW. I THOUGHT GOLDEN STATE WARRIORS WAS THE ONLY GSW I KNOW. THANKS.

  • expireeggplant
    expireeggplant 3 days ago

    Real Rat reacts to Ratatouille

  • Milk Man
    Milk Man 4 days ago

    Real Douchebags react to Tony Stark (Iron Man)

  • Milk Man
    Milk Man 4 days ago

    Real soilders react to captain America 🤔🤔

  • Neonnova 30
    Neonnova 30 4 days ago

    I never noticed the iron patriot reference

  • Ur mom Gay
    Ur mom Gay 4 days ago

    Real car reacts to cars 3

  • J0W3x
    J0W3x 4 days ago

    Thanks for all the medical words explained and broken down to make it easier to understand. I like this trend going on with all those experts reacting to movies and series ! :)

  • Omi Modz
    Omi Modz 4 days ago +2

    Thanks for helping me with my bio test
    Edit : I got 09/10 in Mayocardial Infraction

  • Unmatched
    Unmatched 5 days ago

    I feel like I could learn more from this channel (and this video alone) than in my entire span of high school.
    Edit: also, did anyone notice the Iron Man 2 reference in this movie?

  • Brett Hagey
    Brett Hagey 5 days ago

    A little closer look reveal he didn't have his gloves on yet when he put on the mask. maybe they showed that our of sequence? ;-)

  • Fiat Craft
    Fiat Craft 5 days ago

    I get to watch doctor strange and get new knowledge! Good job!

  • Anthony Bert
    Anthony Bert 6 days ago

    Real Indians react to Indian in the Cupboard

  • L C
    L C 6 days ago

    I have a question.
    Now after Dr. Strange leaves to become a wizard, and after his accident I would assume he is no longer employed or have a license to work at that hospital. So when the Ancient One is brought to the hospital, is it that simple for Dr. Strange to just walk in and prep for surgery?

  • Not Actually A Black Guy

    When you react to the scene starting at about 19:34 it's hard for me to not hope you'll also acknowledge and comment on the significance of him allowing the other surgeon to do the job instead of himself. Showing the overall progress of Dr. Strange through his arc as a hero and changed man. Going from totally selfish and narcissistic to selfless and humble. Willing to let go of his ego and let someone he sees as kind the inferior surgeon mentally perform because he physically cannot do it himself. Plus you can tell he just doesn't like that guy much generally. Lol. But I understand you're probably just wanting to remain objective and true to the main purpose of your videos.

    • Not Actually A Black Guy
      Not Actually A Black Guy 7 days ago

      I guess it just leaves me asking myself "did the doctor man understand the emotional side this part as well?" Those things can be less apparent. And it would provide a kind of objective/subjective balance that could be cool to see you walk through.

  • Not Actually A Black Guy

    The patient with the electric implant struck by lightning is interesting to see a real doctor react to because a lot of people think that may be an Easter egg/reference for a new Marvel hero. I've heard it usually be explained as a possible reference to Captain Marvel I think.

  • Luis Fonseca
    Luis Fonseca 7 days ago

    Real doctor watches movie CRANK.

  • benson tran
    benson tran 7 days ago

    Could you react to tf2 Meet The Medic?

  • Sage2000
    Sage2000 7 days ago

    Good review without being a jerk. Thank you!!!

  • Josh Staver
    Josh Staver 7 days ago

    Christine!!!

  • Alexandria Patricio
    Alexandria Patricio 7 days ago

    This video reminded me of someone (Doctor Mike?) I dunno even the "good hand washing technique" was the same check doctor Mike's vid and judge for yourself it's "Real doctor reacts to The Good Doctor". No hate btw...

  • Viktor Jangsell
    Viktor Jangsell 8 days ago

    you look hella stoned

  • the1tigglet
    the1tigglet 8 days ago

    The mid thorazic fracture is actually a reference to Warmachine armor flyer in the Avengers. ;)

  • Onexshotx Blackwing
    Onexshotx Blackwing 9 days ago

    Chest compression's Chest compression's Chest compression's!

  • Prince Silvermane
    Prince Silvermane 10 days ago

    Would you actually need so much surgery and pins on your hands? That part always struck me as a little odd. There was some line from Strange about the way that they did it was more damaging than it should have been. But that could always be his arrogance.

  • Austin Smith
    Austin Smith 10 days ago

    Holy fuck did I just learn so much

  • Roy Mustang Ackerman
    Roy Mustang Ackerman 10 days ago

    Arnold reacts to Hulk

  • Roy Mustang Ackerman
    Roy Mustang Ackerman 10 days ago

    Real robot reacts to Iron Man

  • ba de ya say that you remember

    real widow react to black widow

    or


    terminator react to winter soldier

  • shabrina z
    shabrina z 10 days ago

    Wow 4.4 million.
    hopefully Strange would still be practicing meds in the second movie

  • Frankie T
    Frankie T 10 days ago

    Real toys react to Toy Story

  • A'laigne MacGregor
    A'laigne MacGregor 11 days ago

    He looks like Benedict :O

  • Elijah Rodriguez
    Elijah Rodriguez 11 days ago

    The spine ingery was rodie A.K.A war machine in the events of civil war

  • Doggo Boi
    Doggo Boi 12 days ago

    Real Iron reacts to Iron Man

  • Higher Vibez
    Higher Vibez 12 days ago

    So what is doctors talk about nba, gsw are the Golden State Warriors

  • Rance Kidder
    Rance Kidder 12 days ago

    Universal healthcare in the UK must not cover braces.

  • superduperjoi
    superduperjoi 12 days ago +1

    Real Mermaid Reacts to Aquaman

  • ALAN THAMPI
    ALAN THAMPI 12 days ago

    I want this guy to operate me 😂 He Knows his stuff👌😂

  • Sameer Sharma
    Sameer Sharma 12 days ago

    people try to make money in mysterious ways.

  • Nour Wanace
    Nour Wanace 12 days ago +1

    He looks like Bilbo Baggins

  • SupDawg444
    SupDawg444 13 days ago

    Crazy how the human skull has a hinge on it for easy opening

  • Jacob Davidson
    Jacob Davidson 13 days ago +1

    For some reason it just now dawned on me that when he said colonel crushed his spine they’re talking about Rhodes

  • bmxriderforlife1234
    bmxriderforlife1234 14 days ago

    there was a guy in the states who got shot in the head and the bullet passed almost right through without causing damage but some pressure caused issued till it was removed. pretty uncommon id suspect but might be where they got the idea.

    • bmxriderforlife1234
      bmxriderforlife1234 14 days ago

      if im not mistaken its when the sac surrounding the heart gets punctured and fills with blood and causes pressure on the heart preventing it from beating.

  • bmxriderforlife1234
    bmxriderforlife1234 14 days ago +2

    itd be cool to get your imput on surgeries done in history. theres an indian legend about a guy doing surgeries like 2000 years ago. as well as some actual crazy accounts of pretty complex surgeries done back in the day. pretty sure one of the medieval kings of europe had a pretty crazy one and lived.
    always found it kinda strange they managed to oull stuff like this off back in those days yet we are always told how bad medical technology and practices were in those days. like the aztecs fixing hematoma's with obsidian knives and cutting out bits of the skull.

  • Rolomir Fenrir
    Rolomir Fenrir 14 days ago

    Don't oil the springs, hearing it creak was rather funny.

  • Kapitan Gövienov
    Kapitan Gövienov 14 days ago +2

    Real Black Widow reacts to Black widow

  • Аня Ильдейкина

    Ничо не поняла, но интересно

  • FXRGXTTEN HERXES
    FXRGXTTEN HERXES 14 days ago

    real Tree react to groot would be awesome

  • hehe
    hehe 14 days ago +1

    Real widow reacts to black widow

  • Jaylee Gale
    Jaylee Gale 14 days ago

    This dude is actually rly smart tho like

  • L Jay
    L Jay 14 days ago

    Speaking of heart rhythms, does he have any leads on?

  • Sarah Kruse Abrahams Paulin

    Hey, great video! Could you please review the episode "His last vow" from Sherlock? It has a few medical scenes that I'd like to see you talk about. Thank you for your videos, they are jusy awesome! Keep up the good work!

  • Ninja Y.
    Ninja Y. 15 days ago

    This vids title should be "*Watching myself during surgery*"

  • D-VIII A-IX
    D-VIII A-IX 15 days ago

    Dr hope looks like Benedict Cumbeerbatch from the side

  • Andrew Grabowski
    Andrew Grabowski 15 days ago

    Since you're a big Marvel fan, can you examine the Tony Stark injury from the first Iron Man movie? I don't know if you're a surgeon or any background of being an engineer but I'd love to know how realistic the injury is and the technique to fix the injury is, especially since it was in the middle of the Afghan desert in 2008 of all times. Just has my curiosity hightened to get your take on what happened vs what should've happened.

  • Azzedination
    Azzedination 15 days ago

    Real jew react to boy in the white pajamas

  • S Butcher
    S Butcher 15 days ago +1

    A red skull reacts to a specific scene in infinity war

  • Yvonne Palarion
    Yvonne Palarion 15 days ago +1

    Please react to Yong Pal please , Hospital Ship and Doctor Stranger a korean drama please thank you

  • Evianna Faye
    Evianna Faye 15 days ago

    I agree with your assessment on the cardiac tamponade scene, I would be pressing the call bell for assistance....and have a whole med team there.

  • Doodle Boy
    Doodle Boy 15 days ago

    I am here for 8:13
    Sound of the Lamborghini V10

  • Skit Less
    Skit Less 15 days ago

    You look like him...

  • Gio Productions
    Gio Productions 16 days ago

    Loved it, thank you!

  • Gio Productions
    Gio Productions 16 days ago

    Real dick leaves a stupid comment

    Idk how this works..

  • carlos Rivas
    carlos Rivas 16 days ago

    So tony stark, a genius engineer who shown he can do just about anything, all he had to do was offer Dr Strange perfect hands, and the doc would have defeated Thanos the first time?

  • ALexpWTFISTHAT
    ALexpWTFISTHAT 16 days ago

    Nice to see that little nod to previous Marvel movies in Dr. Strange. The Air Force captain with a mid-thoracic burst fracture (or whatever that was) was probably a reference to the failed Hammer Industries armoured suit that was trying to emulate Tony Stark's Iron Man suit hahaha

  • unknown
    unknown 16 days ago

    If you like cells at work and surgery shows you should try doing a review of black jack (anime) it is based on a 1973 manga by osamu tazuka (creator of astro boy) the godfather of anime. It follows a underground surgeon who is very talented and perform operations for the poor who cant afford it (something like a medical robin hood).

  • J Town
    J Town 16 days ago

    Real Actors react to Real Doctor's reaction of them Acting like Doctors

  • J Town
    J Town 16 days ago +1

    How did a surgeon of his caliber not have his hands insured for some massive amount through Lloyds of London?

  • Grace Faith
    Grace Faith 16 days ago

    fantastic. loved seeing the science behind the movie.

  • Knockoff Transformers
    Knockoff Transformers 16 days ago +1

    But is his handwriting ok?

  • Rashdan1994
    Rashdan1994 16 days ago

    One of the best USclip recommendation with great comments 😂

  • Stephen Beaton
    Stephen Beaton 16 days ago

    I like how you explain things I am not looking into the medical profession but, I am still interested in these kinds of things. Though I am more interested in the musculoskeletal system,

  • Keshler Sanon
    Keshler Sanon 17 days ago

    I just realized the billy guy was talking about Rhodes who became paralyzed🤯

  • Loltol1234
    Loltol1234 17 days ago

    Is it just me or does he kinda look like dr strange

  • Mazuko Uzumaki
    Mazuko Uzumaki 17 days ago +3

    8:18 i just now realized the guy on the phone was talking about war machine😱

  • Juliana Karasawa
    Juliana Karasawa 17 days ago

    Nice commentary! Put in very simple terms for the laymen without taking the fun from the movie

  • Liron Koren
    Liron Koren 17 days ago

    React to code black

  • Magnus Schwerdtfeger
    Magnus Schwerdtfeger 17 days ago

    What would you do when the two other types of cardiac arrest occur?

  • Macy B
    Macy B 17 days ago

    Super interesting! I actually learned a lot watching!

  • 『SNZV』
    『SNZV』 17 days ago

    Anger Man reacts to The Hulk