Real Doctor reacts to DOCTOR STRANGE | Hospital Movie Scenes Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 8, 2019
  • As a huge geek I thought it time I break down the medical scenes from the Marvel movie Doctor Strange from a real doctor's perspective! I'll explain how accurate it is, a bit more about what's happening on screen and share some of my experiences too!
    I try and bring something different to each video, so if you enjoyed this please check out my other reviews of Medical TV dramas; House MD, Scrubs, The Good Doctor, Grey’s Anatomy, The Resident and ER!
    Here is my latest review of the TV show House that you may enjoy:
    usclip.net/video/DjBQddVExh0/video.html
    You can connect with me via the following:
    Instagram: instagram.com/drhopesicknotes
    Twitter: twitter.com/drhopesicknotes
    FB: facebook.com/drhopesicknotes
    Clips used under fair use (education and review):
    THANK YOU FOR NOT COPY STRIKING THIS VIDEO SO I CAN CONTINUE TO USE THESE GREAT SHOWS FOR EDUCATION AND REVIEW.
    DOCTOR STRANGE Clips © 2016 - Marvel
    Surgical scrub video:
    usclip.net/video/MpwMnjQR41Y/video.html
    Thank you to all the artists that make their music available for these videos:
    Song 'Escapists' by The AutoDisko
    Song ‘Finding Me’ by Eveningland
    Music: Cubic Z - Diamond Ortiz
    Support by RFM - NCM: usclip.net/video/DOSNT7VA2XA/video.html
    #doctorreacts #doctorwatches #doctorstrange
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 12 044

  • Dr Hope's Sick Notes
    Dr Hope's Sick Notes  5 months ago +6130

    So here is my first medical movie reaction! There are some cracking medical scenes in Doctor Strange, and a had loads of requests to give them a look, I do get a bit nerdy explaining things, but hey! that's what I'm here for. Timestamps:
    00:43: Intro scene with Doctor Strange in theatre
    03:06: First case of bullet in brainstem
    08:07: Medical cases talked about in car scene
    10:54: Doctor Strange rehab
    12:20: Doctor Strange cardiac arrest in theatre after being stabbed
    18:47: Ancient One in theatre after head injury

    • uhavemooface
      uhavemooface 2 days ago

      You calling it a Theater is so confusing.

    • Jonathan All the best
      Jonathan All the best 6 days ago

      I want to ask you is it hard to study medical terms and are there an easy to do so ??

    • glampixie
      glampixie 7 days ago

      Dr Hope's Sick Notes love that you explained the suboccipital craniotomy bit... I personally enjoyed that being included as I had a similar surgery about 12yrs prior to this movie’s release. A Suboccipital craniectomy, C1 and C2 laminectomy, and dural patch.

    • Jakob Messingham
      Jakob Messingham 19 days ago

      Dr Hope's Sick Notes the doctor scenes in doctor strange are set in the past because it’s before he learns magic, so the movie is more accurate than you’d think

    • Zach Johnson
      Zach Johnson 19 days ago

      Since you claim you are a Marvel Universe nerd you will appreciate this fun fact: 8:16 - I'm 99% certain that they are talking about Col. Rhodes since this takes place right after Civil War.

  • Rat Spit
    Rat Spit 4 hours ago

    Real Captain reacts to Captain America
    Captain: ok.....so....Where's the boat??

  • Rat Spit
    Rat Spit 4 hours ago

    Up next: Real spider reacts to the Spiderman trilogy and Homecoming

  • SHEEP GAMER T
    SHEEP GAMER T 4 hours ago

    Subscribe pewdiepie
    Unsubscribe. Tseries
    Hotel. Trivago

  • JayLeo
    JayLeo 5 hours ago

    Like the Colonel Rhodes/War Machine reference

  • Scott Lowell
    Scott Lowell 5 hours ago

    The crushed vertebra is a reference to the injuries sustained by Colonel Rhoads (war machine) in Capt. America/Civil war.

  • randomstuff101rmd
    randomstuff101rmd 10 hours ago

    Can’t believe I missed the fact that the first patient mentioned on the phone was Rhodes after Civil War

  • Spyflugan123
    Spyflugan123 14 hours ago

    Speaking of nitpicking, "-otomy" does not mean make a hole, it's just "-tomy". The o is just an infix to connect the two words ;)

  • Jason Pie
    Jason Pie Day ago

    6:02 "wizards" the preferred term is master of the mystic arts

  • Kids Jones
    Kids Jones Day ago

    00:01(hi my name is get with the video!!)

  • FunnyCatVideos2118

    that handwashing explanation blew my mind

  • Its JGod
    Its JGod Day ago

    Do a video of the Deadpool movie

  • Brendan Foran
    Brendan Foran 2 days ago

    real youtuber reacts to youtube videos is essentially what this video is

  • Its JGod
    Its JGod 2 days ago

    A 5 minute part of the movie turned into a 22 minute video

  • Jcknight7996
    Jcknight7996 2 days ago

    4:37 *Domie bits, most scientific*

  • Galane Rose
    Galane Rose 2 days ago

    This was amazing! I learned something from this video. Thank you😊

  • Battle Beast
    Battle Beast 2 days ago

    Hi can you explain what happend to miguel in cobra Kai season 2 finale

  • Henry Hong
    Henry Hong 2 days ago

    U actually look like doctor strange

  • I DON'T HAVE A NAME
    I DON'T HAVE A NAME 3 days ago

    Real Iron reacts to Iron Man

  • Peter jr
    Peter jr 3 days ago

    I whould really consider reacting to the show Good Doctor.

  • Mutombo Says
    Mutombo Says 3 days ago

    *Cumberbatch Benedict reacts to Benedict Cumberbatch*

  • Roel Taga
    Roel Taga 3 days ago

    You know you look like Doctor Strange, right?

  • barmyb
    barmyb 4 days ago

    Doctor Strange Fan and NHS worker here. You just earned yourself a new subscriber 😁

  • B
    B 4 days ago

    Real Elon Musk reacts to iron man

  • Eric Sawtelle
    Eric Sawtelle 4 days ago

    8:15 are they talking about war machine

  • Death Llamaa
    Death Llamaa 4 days ago

    This guy looks like dr strange himself lmao

  • Amalgathor Deibos Neman Menace

    Personally, I'd be listening to death metal the whole procedure. Is that good practice? Or would it just make it seem like Saw and freak everyone out?

  • Rikus Engelbrecht
    Rikus Engelbrecht 4 days ago

    What I find interesting about doctor's, especially surgeons is their calm and chilled way of explaining extremely complicated terms and make it sound sooo easy. But just try and re explain it to someone and you can't even remember what the term is called.

  • Han  Nguyen
    Han Nguyen 4 days ago

    13:23 - 13:50.
    No one:
    Me: The more you know~~

  • Doctor Stephen Strange
    Doctor Stephen Strange 5 days ago +1

    How come you didnt put "Dormmamu ive come to bargain"

  • Mit suki
    Mit suki 5 days ago

    Someone speak english? - Cap -

  • Ki Muhammad Naufal Fawwaz

    Dr. Hope = Real Doctor Strange in our reality earth 101

  • Stella Threadgold
    Stella Threadgold 5 days ago

    1:45
    It's tricky? Boi ive been doing that since I had to protect my wrists from the snow in 1st grade.

  • L FBR
    L FBR 5 days ago

    I've found my new favorite USclip channel

  • The Entire State of Missouri

    In 2007 my grandmother passed of a cardiac arrest because they tried to use the defibrillator, so I really appreciate the speaking.

  • Sasha Blouse
    Sasha Blouse 5 days ago

    Real Strange reacts to Doctor Strange

  • Etienne Bider
    Etienne Bider 5 days ago

    5:07 I'd like to point out to people that are interested in understanding medical terms that "otomy" isn't a word. Rather "-tomy" comes from a greek word that means to cut. The "o" in front of that is just here to make the connection with "cran-".
    Thanks for your explanations though, definitely was interesting to see how medicine is depicted on screen :)

  • Vignesh Raman
    Vignesh Raman 5 days ago +4

    For the record, the airforce colonel mentioned at 8:18 is War Machine 👍😄

  • Shahad Alkithiri
    Shahad Alkithiri 5 days ago

    WOW you are amazing 😅👏🏻😭

  • reaper gundran
    reaper gundran 5 days ago

    Sir im sorry but its marvel movie and we love how the movie made

  • reaper gundran
    reaper gundran 5 days ago

    Its just a movie

  • bmwilso brayden
    bmwilso brayden 5 days ago

    i remember when i fell of a a diving board i nearly broke my spine but luckily i’m a kid and my bones aren’t strong enough yet

  • Edwin josue Juarez Utrilla

    Doctor vic eres tú?

  • Nice Gangster
    Nice Gangster 6 days ago

    Your talkn about cardiac arrest made me uncomfortable as if Ohh my heart, Ohh I don't feel good😓..No
    I'm all okkk..! Cool🙄

  • Ian Lee
    Ian Lee 6 days ago

    Why are the three Palmer's I know all doctors (or at least referred to as)? There is Doctor Ray Palmer, aka. The Atom, whom is not a medical doctor, but is referred to as due to his PhD in physics and physical engineering (technical/mechanical engineering by CW). There is Doctor Jimmy Palmer from NCIS who is a pathologist in training. Then there is Doctor Christine Palmer.

  • kaydian lobos
    kaydian lobos 6 days ago

    man. this sucks. you just made me realize im going to die and its the end.

  • qwerty poiuyt
    qwerty poiuyt 6 days ago

    Real spider reacts to spider-man

  • Disney Mom
    Disney Mom 6 days ago

    I only requested a particular song be played just as they'd actually reached my daughter and she was about to be pulled out into the world:
    "Isn't She Lovely" - perfect song for the birth of a baby girl!
    Unfortunately my epidural didn't work and I felt the entire freaking cesarean, from seconds after the first incision (as there was a slight pain response delay) right up until her cord had been clamped and then I was put under. I barely got to see her before the next thing I know I'm waking up in recovery and not even my LDR room. 2½ weeks in the hospital, 2½ years of PT. Freaking waiver. Fortunately my student loans were forgiven, but I certainly can't handle being a doctor now unless I went for pathology and I'm not entirely interested in reading paps all day. 🤨 20½ years later, I spend my days taking care of my father-in-law with Parkinson's Dementia, Stage 7 Alzheimer's and he lost his vision about 16 months ago. Not complaining, he's the only DAD I've had. I love him and I will continue to give him the best care that I'm capable of! Sorry for the long comment!

  • Wilson Sitkiewicz
    Wilson Sitkiewicz 6 days ago

    Really cool video

  • Bey R
    Bey R 6 days ago

    Suddenly I need to see a doctor. U must be the doctor

  • Stephanie Louise
    Stephanie Louise 6 days ago +1

    They’ve gotten the order and filming wrong at the beginning. If you watch, he scrubs and puts his gloves on, then loses his gloves to put his mask on, then he’s putting his gloves on again. Mistake in editing, not his technique. 🤷‍♀️

  • Haikal Jendol
    Haikal Jendol 7 days ago

    Doctor.. pls do it spine surgery..😎

  • not a channel it really is not

    You look like doctor strange 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

  • Apples Bananas
    Apples Bananas 7 days ago +1

    GSW O that’s what it means Gunshot wound I thot that meant Golden State Warriors

  • Call out The Dylan
    Call out The Dylan 7 days ago

    So when will you bargain with Dormammu

  • Random Stuff
    Random Stuff 7 days ago

    As a fellow doc I don't see this man being a doctor because of his natural looks and hatred toward doctard stanger personaly I fell that doctor stagest is the best and worst cook/doctarios. - Aden

  • Tim Vu
    Tim Vu 7 days ago

    Real life Dr Strange reacts to Avenger's Dr Strange.

  • 🤪😜The MORON ADJUSTMENT DIVISION😜🤪

    Yeeeeaaaa.... family member that was incredibly stupid decided to do cocaine, pot, and drink to the pint he was more than twice the legal limit ran his motorcycle into concrete barrier and ended up more than 50 feet from his motorcycle not wearing a helmet at what was gauged at 95mph.
    His head filled with so much blood from the swelling they had to remove half of the top of his skull to avoid brain death from the pressure pushing his brain down and out towards the medulla direction.
    After surviving the initial emergency surgeries to stabilize his bodies other organs from apparent crush syndrome and after a 5 month coma, he’s deaf, and only has 50% of his vision remaining. Crush syndrome ruined his lungs, and he has a life expectancy of 55-60 years old. His jaw atrophied shut. And tendons required lancing due to severe atrophy to return some of his mobility during his decade of physical therapy. That was interesting.
    Don’t drink and drive.
    Wear a helmet.
    And don’t do drugs.
    It’s all on you and nobody else people.

  • Simon Long
    Simon Long 7 days ago

    Anyone else think it was David Platt on the thumbnail?

  • Lauren Cottey
    Lauren Cottey 7 days ago +1

    I don’t even care I’m just gonna say it, the scenes at the start of dr strange aren’t just to introduce the audience into the medical environment they’re also to show how much he respected and relied on his hands as they are soon taken away from him. So yah looking from a medical perspective okay fine but there’s a reason the film industry decided to start by looking at his hands at the beginning of the film. 😉

  • Anbu Black Ops
    Anbu Black Ops 7 days ago

    Phase 4 Doctor Strange
    Doctor Hope Vs Doctor Strange
    This is a movie I want to see for phase 4. Doctor Hope WANTS to be like Doctor Strange and thinks he's the good guy. But he ain't ...

  • Bruhnbyge RR
    Bruhnbyge RR 8 days ago

    Real Doctor reacts to Clarke/Abby from The 100

  • Rose
    Rose 8 days ago

    In case you didnt know, at 8:21 they mention a spinal injury in experimental armor. That's the same person who's upper torso got twisted backwards in one of Hammer Industries experimental attempts at trying to recreate the Iron Man suit in one of the Iron Man movies. You can see the injury happening in the court scene

  • Jada Taylor
    Jada Taylor 8 days ago

    I just realized Nick is like fucking Anderson

  • DEMON's Kingdom
    DEMON's Kingdom 8 days ago

    Has anyone told you that you kinda look Doctor Strange

  • Jada Taylor
    Jada Taylor 8 days ago

    I'm 12 (my age probably doesn't matter but.. hey why not?) And made me understand literally everything that was going on.

  • isyoboisos
    isyoboisos 8 days ago

    John Cena reacts to Drax

  • Zemotz
    Zemotz 8 days ago

    Now he is a good doctor😘

  • G A Pratt
    G A Pratt 8 days ago

    One of the first things you learn, dirty clean and sterile! Keep it aseptic now!

  • Kc Batman
    Kc Batman 8 days ago

    Imagine having the time stone but not using it

  • RoséAndChaeyoung Are My UB

    If teachers would teach like this i would actually pay attention in class. lol

  • Tony Tippmann
    Tony Tippmann 8 days ago

    Strange is not a Jr doctor so your opinion holds no concrete

  • CheesecakeMan10 0
    CheesecakeMan10 0 8 days ago +1

    Who else skipped him talking

  • SSJ_ Jasonchev
    SSJ_ Jasonchev 8 days ago

    Imagine if digestion wasnt involuntary

  • Lagoz
    Lagoz 8 days ago +7

    Now make an alien react to guardian of the galaxy.

  • Sabrina Lim
    Sabrina Lim 8 days ago

    this is alot more insightful than dr mike HAHA 😬
    dr mike is more entertainment, i do enjoy both your channels :)

  • CrystalCritter
    CrystalCritter 9 days ago

    Isn't 200 joules too low anyway though?

  • Priority 1: Kindness
    Priority 1: Kindness 9 days ago +9

    Dr. Strange:
    Strengths: incredible surgeon and badass superhero
    Weakness: driving

  • Prerit Rathi
    Prerit Rathi 10 days ago +1

    People say we cant see the future ...but this guy is even reacting to it !! 😂😂🤣🤣🤣

  • Rohail Abbas
    Rohail Abbas 10 days ago

    You sound like Mark Ruffalo, Bruce Banner

  • One Piece
    One Piece 10 days ago

    Who else think that Doctor Strange is the best movie in Marvel world.

  • Josiah Shvartsakh
    Josiah Shvartsakh 10 days ago

    Real bat reacts to Batman
    (Ik its dc but still)

  • Eden Sanden
    Eden Sanden 10 days ago +1

    I have my a-level biology exam soon and in my essay I'm gonna see if I can sneak in some info about cardiac tamponade :)

  • The Icelandic bts fan
    The Icelandic bts fan 10 days ago

    I loved watching your reaction because I’m learning to become a nurse and I know how important it is to have everything clean and bacteria free. And it was fun listening to you explaining everything about the bones because I recently learned about that. (I’m sorry if I write something wrong I’m from Iceland so English is not my first language)

  • Emi Hecate
    Emi Hecate 10 days ago

    Being Greek rocks! It helps so much to understand and to be super cool with all the tecnical and scientific/medical terms XD

  • Happy Le
    Happy Le 11 days ago

    I love you omg

  • Enzo Dapan
    Enzo Dapan 11 days ago

    *Real Genocidal Maniac reacts to Thanos*

  • Gray wolf Gaming
    Gray wolf Gaming 11 days ago

    Real American flag reacts to captain America

  • Geo Boy
    Geo Boy 11 days ago

    i really want to be a neurosurgeon!

  • Llouvakates Mantua
    Llouvakates Mantua 11 days ago

    Cheers! ❤

  • Danielle Spencer
    Danielle Spencer 11 days ago

    I actually have an extra lumbar vertebra. Instead 5 I have 6!

  • Clappzzz
    Clappzzz 11 days ago

    Can someone translate the whole video

  • Ian Taurus Toa
    Ian Taurus Toa 11 days ago

    Thank u for making this video.. Very informative 💪

  • Sarkario
    Sarkario 11 days ago

    CHEST COMPRESSIONS
    CHEST CONPRESSIONS
    CHEST COMPR...
    🤔 Wait.. something is off..

  • Jesus Maximoff
    Jesus Maximoff 11 days ago +1

    Jdka

  • AMGwtfBBQsauce
    AMGwtfBBQsauce 11 days ago

    Wait so was the spinal fracture Dr. Strange got called in for Rhody?

  • Deborah Ryder
    Deborah Ryder 11 days ago

    Just found your channel a couple of days ago. Really enjoying them. My whole family are in the medical profession and i am the only one who went a different route into media. Love how in depth your videos are, love learning about medical stuff and your explanations remind me of what it was like watching casualty growing up as a kid with my parents. Sometimes i think i should have gone into medicine as i know so much about it but watching my family work in the NHS and the stress of it makes me always think again. So much respect for anyone in medicine.

  • nonia
    nonia 11 days ago +1

    craniotomy --> you say in the video that otomy means to create a hole. That's a mistake. It is a Greek word comprised from the word cranio = κρανίο = skull and tomy = τομή = incision.

  • Mrs. S
    Mrs. S 11 days ago

    i didnt know JD from scrubs was a real doctor lol

  • Fidan Bytyqi
    Fidan Bytyqi 11 days ago

    We Muslims do that thing at the beginning where he washes his hands like 5 times a day