X-Men Franchise Review with X-Writers

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 22, 2019
  • Hal Rudnick sits down with our x-pert panel to review the Fox X-Men franchise after Dark Phoenix and before the team joins Disney’s MCU - It’s The ScreenJunkies Show!
    Thanks to our awesome panel!
    Eric & Julia Lewald - Buy their book ‘Previously on X-Men’ from their publisher and get a signed copy! - www.jacobsbrownmediagroup.com/previously-on-x-men
    Zack Stentz - Check out Rim of the World on Netflix!
    Hector Navarro - El Rey Nation Thursday’s 10:30 PM on The El Rey Network!
    X-Men Franchise Review with X-Writers
    Hosted by Hal Rudnick
    Senior Producer: Billy Patterson
    Supervising Producer: Max Dionne
    Editor-In-Chief: Roth Cornet
    Tech Director: Josh “JTE” Panel
    Production Coordinator: Ryan O’Toole
    Edited by Erik Hogan
    Assistant Editor: Emin Bassavand
  • Film & AnimationFilm & Animation

Comments • 471

  • Grappler Gray
    Grappler Gray Day ago

    Please let the animated series directors do the MCU movie of the X-men!

  • Grappler Gray
    Grappler Gray Day ago

    The red head Japanese woman should have been Psylocke!

  • drjwww
    drjwww 2 days ago

    A much better discussion than I expected, frankly, even if the Dewalds do kinda get pushed to one side for a large portion in the middle. Also, it was very sweet to see how genuinely emotional Julia is throughout the discussion, nearly tearing up sometimes, making gestures of spontaneous agreement and excitement and thanks and such. Lovely to see.

  • One on One with Lp
    One on One with Lp 12 days ago

    Sad how the films were ruined and great characters wasted..

  • Heidi Wills
    Heidi Wills 13 days ago

    The explanation of the number one thing wrong with X3 is so spot on. I hadn't realized what bugged me THAT much. Magneto was completely out of character. He does love his people. He is the Malcolm X to Xavier's MLK.

  • Heidi Wills
    Heidi Wills 14 days ago

    I agree that the X:Men animated series is what paved the way to today's superhero movie success. I used to watch it faithfully.

  • Sean Kwualski Cuerdo
    Sean Kwualski Cuerdo 14 days ago

    Amazong people.

  • Gilbert Ortiz
    Gilbert Ortiz 17 days ago

    Do Rick and Morty

  • elchamber
    elchamber Month ago

    The Xmen animated Fox show was so good that it didn't have to be cannon.

  • Jugal kishor Sahu
    Jugal kishor Sahu Month ago +1

    The best screen junkies is Honest trailers!

  • Blackton Obvious
    Blackton Obvious Month ago

    While I was already reading the X-men comics before TAS debuted, my kid self still wants to give a heartfelt "thank you" to the Lewalds for creating a series that made the X-men so mainstream. I hope the MCU hires them as consultants. The "FoX-men" movies didn't have a script written until the last minute? 🤔 Now I know why all the movies seemed rushed. I'm sure Feige already has everything planned out for the next decade for them. His advanced planning, attention to detail, & characterization is why the MCU is so successful.

  • Stewart Howell
    Stewart Howell 2 months ago +1

    Great conversation. The X Men cartoon had such a profound effect on my childhood. It's so great to hear from the Lewalds on the legacy of the franchise.

  • hoochiemoochie
    hoochiemoochie 2 months ago

    For some reason I was never a big fan of the first X-Men movie. I find it boring and stale but at least it jumpstarted the genre. I definitely loved X2. X3 is really dumb, but it’s fun, silly, and allows Magneto to shine in a lot of scenes.
    First Class is impeccably excellent and DoFP was a grand follow-up. Apocalypse felt like an afterthought. Haven’t seen Dark Phoenix yet.

  • Emlyn Davis
    Emlyn Davis 2 months ago

    I remember being so disappointed when the first X-men movie came out and Cyclops was so weak compared to the cartoon. He was my favourite character.

  • etheangel2220
    etheangel2220 2 months ago

    Im going to be frank with the Screen Junkies...Do NOT put the creators/writers of the X-Men animated on a panel with two other guys who wont let them talk!! I came to hear what they have to say about the experience of creating that show, not just to see you cutting to them as they nod about whatever the hell those other guys are talking about! Big thumbs down on this one.

  • Robert Xavier
    Robert Xavier 2 months ago

    Great Show! :)

  • solfeggietto
    solfeggietto 2 months ago

    This is almost 44 minutes and it flew by! Thanks for this! For the future, would like to see an all characters of colour X-Men cast.

  • Zachary McDonough
    Zachary McDonough 2 months ago

    X2 and Logan, especially Logan!

  • Lost In The Woods
    Lost In The Woods 2 months ago

    Zack's point at around 34:48 is spot on about where the movie industry is in today's entertainment culture. If a film isn't a "must see" I'll wait and stream it. If I don't have a burning desire to see it now, I'll wait and see it later. Part of that is the raw cost of movie tickets and concessions now. If I take my boys to go see a film, it costs us around $70 just for tickets. If we each get a soda and candy, it's another $60+. However, I can stream the film for $6 or less and pay Walmart prices for concessions if I'm willing to wait a little while. I don't know how theaters correct this trend other than prices coming down. Anymore, I'd rather they just release films to streaming and let me watch it at home from the start ... but I know the industry doesn't want that to happen.

  • Gerin X
    Gerin X 2 months ago

    This video actually makes me sad, because the animated series has stood the test of time - so many people today know about it and love it. People will still talk about it in years to come, decades, even.
    In contrast to this, the fox movies ruined the aesthetic of the X-Men with their refusal to make them dress like their comic book counterparts, and it didn’t want to acknowledge the resource material.
    And this was in an era before social justice and diversity/woke narratives consuming today’s comic books. I yearn for this era again.
    No one will look back on the movies fondly, I can promise you that.
    Most of these comments are all about how awesome and memorable the animated series is. The movies - especially dark Phoenix - will never such lasting praise.

  • Gerin X
    Gerin X 2 months ago

    Why is hector there? He’s done nothing. He doesn’t belong there.

  • Christopher Orta
    Christopher Orta 2 months ago

    Loved this!

  • PcerdaJR
    PcerdaJR 2 months ago

    Can anyone tell me why the 90s theme song hasn't been used in any of the movies?

  • Benjamin Lee-Roche
    Benjamin Lee-Roche 2 months ago

    Loved the animated xmen

  • Speedy Quick
    Speedy Quick 2 months ago

    First Class was trash tho

  • Francesco Carnovale
    Francesco Carnovale 2 months ago

    What Zach says in the beginning is like he was inside my mind..I didn't have money to buy comics every week, the cartoons were my comics and the biggest reason I love this movies today..really cool content guys!

  • bahmat
    bahmat 2 months ago +1

    The animated series introduced me to the X-Men and made me a huge fan.
    The live action movies almost made me stop being one.

  • EastBay MauiBoy
    EastBay MauiBoy 2 months ago

    I WANT THAT BOOK!!

  • Shin Gouki
    Shin Gouki 2 months ago

    The biggest question is, wtf is FOX doing retreading the same damn story?!

  • James Dixon
    James Dixon 2 months ago

    Rogue, Captain Marvel and Mystique would make an EXCELLENT story in itself.

  • Spike 92.3FM
    Spike 92.3FM 2 months ago

    Wolverine game was way better then the movie

  • Sam Nelson
    Sam Nelson 2 months ago

    Yet no main character is black! So how can you base it on black coulture and no leader isn't a black man.

  • Melvin Banks
    Melvin Banks 2 months ago

    Wait so y'all think it paved the way ???? It helped sure ,but No BLADE No super hero genre period end of story !! Lol Blade took that risk to show gritty , supernatural, powers and special abilities can make a really good action packed movie !!

  • MrSilvertrance
    MrSilvertrance 2 months ago

    I'm glad it will become part of MCU eventually but I still want New Mutants so bad. I think Magik and Wolfsbane can give Fox it's last hoorah from X-Men.

  • Anton A.
    Anton A. 2 months ago

    I hate this Zack dude so much. He's so full of s&^%, He sits there, talking s#$% about other people's work, but did he forget that he wrote the first Thor movie? The worst parts about that movie, which are all scenes on earth involving Natalie Portman and her nerd commandos, were his ideas. Also, I can just as easily pick First Class apart. Mainly, the obvious inconsistenceies with the previous X-Men films. And are you serious about talking how some of those movies are inaccurate to the comics? You are the same guy that took one of the weirdest X-Men villains, Sebastian Shaw and the Hellfire Club, and turned them into generic Bond villains. Shut up, pal.

  • Roberto Sanchez
    Roberto Sanchez 2 months ago

    X-men and Spider-Man animated series is my childhood. Just because I remember as a kid thinking DC heroes sucked. I mean I didn’t get into DC until I was atleast 14. But my childhood was all marvel.

  • Mukund Srinivas
    Mukund Srinivas 2 months ago

    I DON WANNA BE A PIRATE (Seinfeld)

  • Danibles 1
    Danibles 1 2 months ago

    origins wolverine recast sabertooth, first major fixing of a flaw.

  • Too Many Lies
    Too Many Lies 2 months ago

    Glad I watched this. I actually wish it was longer, but maybe it would have felt too bloated. Great stuff. Thanks!

  • Rembrandt BS
    Rembrandt BS 2 months ago

    I love how they are not afraid to admit some of the movies weren't that good

  • fireflame62
    fireflame62 2 months ago

    The X-Men are going to already exist on another earth and its going to bring them in with a avengers

  • CMSixSeven
    CMSixSeven 2 months ago

    I just want to see the same epic battles vs sentinels that the animated series gaves us. Less time travel plots. A well written Gambit character would be a plus too.

  • Jeff Ehren
    Jeff Ehren 2 months ago

    This was awesome! I loved the animated series which played during my college years. As a lover of film, I enjoy hearing frank discussions about behind the scenes. As an aspiring writer, I learn a lot from those who have been there and done it. Thank you!

  • Ace Diamonds
    Ace Diamonds 2 months ago

    magneto kills nazis? obviously he is the bad guy.

  • mark
    mark 2 months ago

    holy hell what a flush peace. yikes.. it hurt... like. Ok I get it. I would love to meet all these people. truly. very talented. Yet as a person who reviews movies... not a single hard hitting question.
    I hope you get more interviews... seems like that is all you are working for. Look, it hurts to say it, but damn. This was horrible.

  • Ailieorz
    Ailieorz 2 months ago

    Loved Deadpool mostly because of Gina Carano. Finally there was a thick woman who actually looked like she could punch the shit out of things. I really wish Gina was cast as Wonder Woman
    Also Marvel, hire Julia Lewald to oversee all the female character development. Someone who gets what a strong woman is without them being man haters

  • MethodRockSynth
    MethodRockSynth 2 months ago

    I think that intro should actually have humans holding pitchforks and torchs against mutants

  • 87MrBEAR
    87MrBEAR 2 months ago

    What a great video, Well done to everyone involved.

  • NERDSTALGIA
    NERDSTALGIA 2 months ago +4

    The '90s animated series is still the best on-screen version of the X-MEN, to this very day. Hands down. Without question.
    I hope we get to see a Blu-Ray box-set of the complete animated series released, in the not to distant future.

    P.S. Here's to hoping that the MCU version of the X-MEN borrows heavily from this iconic animated television series.

  • siamesebb
    siamesebb 2 months ago +1

    After over 20 years Gambit/Rogue is still one of my all time favorite superhero couple.

  • 09mrmarshall
    09mrmarshall 2 months ago

    Thank you to the animated series for introducing me to the X-men!

  • Dusty Bragg
    Dusty Bragg 2 months ago

    My favorite incarnation has to be the 90s TV show. My favorite movie, X2 of course. But with Logan, running a very close second.

  • leoric21
    leoric21 2 months ago

    At 39:30 THEY DID THAT ALREADY!
    THE ANIMATED SERIES THEME WAS SOMEBODY'S RING TONE!!

    (I miss ring tones. now it all games and social and camera apps.)

  • MaXwell Powers
    MaXwell Powers 2 months ago

    Can we get the TAS writers to write a script for an X-Men movie? Please?

  • JakeFusion
    JakeFusion 2 months ago

    The point being made at the end shouldn't be lost. You shouldn't make the X-Men in the MCU be about racism like the 60s comic. In the MCU, super-powered beings, aliens, and Thanos exist. If anything, the early 2000s comics showed what a modern X-Men would be like where they have their own legitimate subculture where mutants exist and are accepted (even if begrudgingly). In the MCU, mutants would just be the next phase of superhumans that can either protect or destroy the world. I don't think they'd be a good analog for racism or anti-LGBT given the events of the Infinity Saga. But instead, mutants would provide good commentary for how you move past those social issues to the questions of how exactly you integrate these kinds of beings into the world at large with their own subculture. And the Avengers is a small team--X-Men and mutants could be a much larger group of people. Where some people may want to worship them and others may want to destroy them given the snap.
    Further, with the events of Infinity War and Endgame, the MCU is now setup to ask what happens to regular people when these super beings conflict--it's like the Greek gods or angels vs. demons. Is another snap possible? How do we stop it? How do we rebuild society where 5 years passed where people may have moved on with their lives only to have half of the universe come back with no time lost. The X-Men then could provide the best lens for this as they could be the next evolution of humanity in the wake of the snap and force these questions to be answered, maturing the MCU to consider the consequences and stakes for the past movie decisions in a way they haven't yet done. In fact, one might consider that the Sokovia Accords might have been the right approach after all.

  • Marcos Arias
    Marcos Arias 2 months ago

    This discussion would fit in nicely as a supplement on an X-Men: The Animated Series blu-ray release, make it happen Hollywood!

  • Marcos Arias
    Marcos Arias 2 months ago

    My favourite X-men still is the animated series; First Class, DOFP and Logan were the movies that came closest to fulfilling the potential of some but not all of these brilliant characters.
    Excited for the future and hoping that Feige brings to the fold writers like Eric, Julia & Zack that have a passion for X-Men as it delves into different themes and stories than the rest of the MCU.

  • Rough Douglas
    Rough Douglas 2 months ago

    Apocalypse was definitely a missed oppourtunity. If they want to do the dark phoenix saga so bad, they could have started there. She could have easily been a horseman and her potential could have been drawn out through apocalypse.

  • Kyle Bennett
    Kyle Bennett 2 months ago

    Wish you would have mentioned X-Men: Evolution.

  • Jimmy Bonez
    Jimmy Bonez 2 months ago

    Boy, those poor actors have to act in those STUPID, CORPORATE TIE IN COMMERCIALS. I hope they get a car for their trouble.