New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 5, 2018
  • Apple’s new iPad Pro is a beast of a tablet, and Nilay Patel reviews it -- everything from its new design and screen to plugging in several devices to the new USB-C port. Dami Lee and William Joel, professional creatives at The Verge, also give their insight into the new iPad and Apple Pencil.
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Here's a link to buy the iPad Pro: amzn.to/2E8BDeV
    Note: we sometimes place affiliate links directly to the best deals in our video descriptions, so we may earn a commission if you buy something.
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Subscribe to Verge Science on USclip, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 779

  • Derek Xue
    Derek Xue Day ago

    reallay nice juicy bear

  • Dexter Daniel
    Dexter Daniel 2 days ago

    Great review. Influenced my decision NOT to get the iPad Pro. Thanks

  • Jon Bee
    Jon Bee 4 days ago

    I don't think Apple will ever make their iPads as 'true' laptop replacements any time soon. Could be in the future, but if they do that, then they might as well discard their entire MacBook lineup which they probably won't do since they're making money on both their laptop division and tablet division separately. They're getting fairly close but who knows if that will ever happen.

  • Savannah nike
    Savannah nike 5 days ago

    Am getting a iPad pro on my birthday April 30 and my sister is getting a ipod it's like a small phone on her birthday may 26

  • Dom
    Dom 7 days ago

    It’d be cool if the iPad Pro was just an experiment to see if the tablet’s CPU can beat current MBPs. Hence we’d see MBP mounting the same specs or faster in Late 2019 or 2020-given the fact that macOS needs to be adapted to run on a different CPU. Hell, they could also go with macOS on iPad Pro

  • CASMANWHAT
    CASMANWHAT 7 days ago +1

    I have it and it definitely makes my heart flutter. Love it.

  • Lizzie D
    Lizzie D 7 days ago +3

    I love to draw, and i was always dragging around hundreds of pencils, erasers, inks, watercolors, etc for years. I received this with the keyboard and pencil for Christmas, and I now can just sit down on the couch, bed, table, anywhere, and draw

  • Mario Georgiou
    Mario Georgiou 9 days ago

    Excellent Review, you echo my sentiments and it's one of the main reasons I am angry with Apple. They lack a real OS on iPad for computer users ... it is still just a second class media device with some great capabilities. They have deliberately hamstrung this tech because they knw it will replace their computers in a minute if they were more robust OS wise.

  • khayias hamilton
    khayias hamilton 9 days ago

    Ya “the verge” I really don’t enjoy the same reporter reporting all of apples main flagships, change it up give us some other opinions from a range of reporters not just the same reporter covering the same topic every year...

  • Ariana Zuniga
    Ariana Zuniga 12 days ago

    I not understanding your language please talk Spanish

  • Jim Beam
    Jim Beam 12 days ago

    What about an OLED display? Think the fall models will have it?

  • Diego Vides
    Diego Vides 12 days ago

    I love your reviews! You always knock it out of the park! The verge production team is simply unparalleled

  • Xanh
    Xanh 12 days ago

    Does mouse work with this?

  • Yellow Slipper
    Yellow Slipper 13 days ago

    It seems like this review is about iOS 12, not iPad Pro 3rd gen.

  • Amber L
    Amber L 16 days ago

    So I’m deciding between the iPad Pro and the cheapest Mac. I’m a blogger and don’t need anything too fancy, but I need to be able to save and edit photos and work on my website. Suggestions? Max I want to spend is $1200. I’m open to Windows based option but I’m a fan of my iPhone and how it operates. Portability is great but not a deciding factor so that’s why I’m considering a desktop.

  • Ying Dong
    Ying Dong 17 days ago +10

    Imagine a nuclear reactor powers a fishing boat; this is that.

  • Nazhif Jamil
    Nazhif Jamil 18 days ago +7

    I wish Apple releases MacOS update for the iPad Pro

  • Paul Loader
    Paul Loader 18 days ago

    Great review

  • RetroGhost
    RetroGhost 21 day ago

    its a tablet why do people think it will replace a laptop or desk top computer.sorry the power might be there but it just wont replace them

  • Jacob Keys
    Jacob Keys 21 day ago

    If you want to do operations which you simply cant do on iOs, just use MacOS ... They will never make changes like you mentioned just because they dont want to and then the Macbook would be a nonscense to buy.. Just learn more about Apple before any other review

  • Malo RK
    Malo RK 22 days ago

    Great review, man! I'm watching this on a Samsung tablet that I love.

  • Silver Soul
    Silver Soul 22 days ago

    First time to see dami lee in person like in person video person

  • Silent 1969
    Silent 1969 23 days ago

    I really want it instead of getting a laptop but they made it just such a hard choice with the software

  • mrcasavechia
    mrcasavechia 24 days ago

    This is a really good review. As a professional photographer I want to have the iPad do more so I can use it for travel assignments that are one to two days. It would be great to tether to it without needing a laptop. Plus editing one photo that client needs while you're on the road, it can't been done on an iPad like you can do it on a laptop. You're 100% right, you have to adjust to the computer, the iPad is fun and I have an older iPad Pro but I really only use it for email and looking over documents.

  • OMGz1122
    OMGz1122 24 days ago

    Apple is like the company who loves to sell you accessories

  • Nikko
    Nikko 24 days ago +8

    If they put MacOS on an ipad, then it’s game over

    • Rrwery
      Rrwery 9 days ago

      +Likecomment Coolness bootcamp is for macs, not iPads.

    • Likecomment Coolness
      Likecomment Coolness 9 days ago

      Then use boot camp and download windows😏

    • Rrwery
      Rrwery 23 days ago

      They won't though. I think they will put their processors in the Macbooks, so all apps can run on all devices.

  • Todd Dominey
    Todd Dominey 24 days ago

    The point about websites kicking you out to iOS apps is enough of a reason to keep me switching to an iPad from a Macbook. Makes sense why it happens, but that would drive me crazy.

  • James Burns
    James Burns 26 days ago

    if u want to overpay and not have access to any apps besides the most popular ones sure

  • Yuvraj Chauhan
    Yuvraj Chauhan 26 days ago +2

    Apple why do you restrict us.

    • Diego Regalado
      Diego Regalado 24 days ago

      Yuvraj Chauhan They want to conform us to their ecosystem. All apple or nothing.

  • Nemesio Artaiz
    Nemesio Artaiz 27 days ago +1

    I have the same sentiment. Yes Its a fast and expensive device, but it can't even handle usb c flash drive files. Im sticking to my old ipad 12.9

    • GM 3
      GM 3 22 days ago

      Nemesio Artaiz the old ones Support at sternal storage

  • Mike Jones
    Mike Jones 27 days ago

    why does apple still use intel chips in the macbooks ?

  • Holger Laufenberg
    Holger Laufenberg 27 days ago

    He primary reason why is no real computer is the lack of a real file system and the shortcomings of mobile software. Even Apple’s own FileMaker Pro mobile version can’t perform primary functions like importing data on the iPad.

  • zen 2017
    zen 2017 28 days ago

    If you buy that, then you have to stick with mobile apps and their limitations..(most of the great apps are not free as well)
    u better buy a laptop with that price.. and you can even play AAA Games and Office and Photoshop and Web Browsing and Hacking and Torrenting and Entertainment (TV, Movies and Music..) it probably wont have touch scren but what tha heck.. using wireless keyboard and mouse is way better and more precise for anything

  • Alpha Delta
    Alpha Delta 29 days ago

    No mouse support, no files system for God's sake, has USB-C but doesn't recognize SSD/ Flash drives/ External Hard disk, no desktop app support. This is a joke. Surface Go/ Pro are the real laptop replacements.

  • Steve Buddy
    Steve Buddy 29 days ago

    $2200?!?! I'll just either wait for Apple to come out with something actually worth $2200 or I'll just buy a Surface Pro and a Samsung Tablet! Thank You Apple!!!

  • Dinho Lima
    Dinho Lima 29 days ago

    Ya. I think the same... this is sooooooo stupid. Even an Apple fan as I am can think about why those idiots keep stealing our money, making useless iPads, just to sell more macbooks.

  • Akhil krishna Chowdary
    Akhil krishna Chowdary 29 days ago +4

    Truly Honest review.. thumbs up

  • Marty Ericson
    Marty Ericson Month ago

    Best. Review. Ever.

  • silverwess
    silverwess Month ago +2

    I have the previous version and this one. my review is I like it more than the last one. My review is done.

  • Hector Coronel
    Hector Coronel Month ago

    just buy a freaking laptop

  • randomaccount
    randomaccount Month ago +2

    What's the deal with Apple and External Storage???

    • FireWall
      FireWall 29 days ago

      Probably to get people to spend money on iCloud and internal storage.

  • EKSPLOUZEN
    EKSPLOUZEN Month ago

    From who did Apple get the inspiration from
    *HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM*

  • Jabulani Harvey
    Jabulani Harvey Month ago

    true innovation vanguard right here....give it time and you will see the computing revolution that Apple has started......

  • Michael Reif
    Michael Reif Month ago +1

    Pencil is great. Seriously missing file management as with OSX.

  • Desmond Gomes
    Desmond Gomes Month ago

    is it bad that i want one to mainly read comics?

  • David Luna
    David Luna Month ago

    Snapchat on the iPad might be nice

  • MrDomestosWC
    MrDomestosWC Month ago +4

    This review is an eye opener. I was thinking about replacing my mbp late 2013 with the new iPad pro. This is the only review that told me the reality, which is don't. Thank you.

  • Oxi Clean
    Oxi Clean Month ago +1

    I think I'll wait for iPad pro to come out with a oled screen. Not worth paying all that for a LCD screen.

    • AwesomeBreakfast
      AwesomeBreakfast Month ago

      It's still an amazing screen with 120Hz ProMotion, has amazing colours and gets really bright at 600 nits of brightness

  • David Vishnu Kumar
    David Vishnu Kumar Month ago +2

    Excellent thorough review.

  • Nilabh Umredkar
    Nilabh Umredkar Month ago

    Best review I have seen so far!

  • Knight 11692
    Knight 11692 Month ago

    A lot of this is BS everything that I connected to my iPad pro through the USB type C worked just fine. The only thing that he's saying that's half way true is you need iTunes to upload files to the iPad pro other than that the rest of this video is a waste of time.

  • Syed Jawad Shah
    Syed Jawad Shah Month ago

    GREAT REVIEW AND GREATLY TO THE POINT.

  • co0kii
    co0kii Month ago

    Wait, THE dami lee?!

  • Omer Alam
    Omer Alam Month ago

    iPad pro needs mac os

  • Gilby R
    Gilby R Month ago

    Thank You! Great review.

  • JJ gang
    JJ gang Month ago

    I want it but my mom won't even give me a tablet

  • Aluel Mayen
    Aluel Mayen Month ago

    Ummm maybe you can give it away to the subscribers 👀

  • Anty855
    Anty855 Month ago

    You, can it replace a macbook?

  • 网相声
    网相声 Month ago

    My main questions for this to replace laptop is, whether it can run ox system and HDMI possible for this.

  • Cuomo257
    Cuomo257 Month ago +1

    How about ipad pro running macOS... ? Well done

  • Leti Bonnin
    Leti Bonnin Month ago

    were you able to plug in a mouse?

  • Makai.
    Makai. Month ago +1

    A laptop is better for work and literally everything but drawing and if you draw then buy the iPad 6th gen for $330 or last years iPad Pro. They work really well and unless your rich there’s no point of buying this iPad.

  • UTHSCSA School of Medicine - CIRCLE Curriculum

    THANK YOU for giving an authentic review acknowledging that this is a supplement to a MacBook, not a replacement for one.

  • Tracy Krznar
    Tracy Krznar Month ago

    ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR COMMENTARY! I FEEL THE SAME WAY ABOUT THE iPad Pro. I bought one but, really wish it was all you wish for.

  • clevername333
    clevername333 Month ago

    spoiler alert, NO.... NOOOOO..... the ipad cannot replace your laptop if you do any actual work on your laptop. If you just use your laptop to watch netflix and youtube and you read emails.. then you can use an ipad..

  • Alex Thurner
    Alex Thurner Month ago

    4366 emails... ouch

  • Paul Dotz
    Paul Dotz Month ago

    you cant (and wont be able to use it as a laptop sub -- i think). endowing ipad pro with laptop-like features would cannibalize their macbook lineup.

  • TJ Wilkins
    TJ Wilkins Month ago

    Awesome review - seriously informative and helped me make the right decision for me...

  • 张朔
    张朔 2 months ago

    Am I the only one noticing the 4000+ unread email???

  • Jason
    Jason 2 months ago

    Solution to the problem: Microsoft Surface. I have the iPad Pro 11 and several of the other iPads for the kiddies. It’s a great consumption device with some productivity, but it can’t replace a laptop like the Surface. Microsoft is expected to reveal the new Surface 7 this year. I’m hopeful.

  • Kurt Wallander
    Kurt Wallander 2 months ago

    haters gonna hate. dont try to shape apple products to you. you have to shape to apple, then everything works out.

  • Gabriel Leung
    Gabriel Leung 2 months ago

    Basically, I'll say that this iPad Pro and all the other iPads by Apple is just like a mad cow. They're really powerful, but they never get the job done.

  • ScreamingLlamas
    ScreamingLlamas 2 months ago

    Apple should make this good enough to be a laptop replacement for people who need a laptop AND a desktop

  • Nitin Sawant
    Nitin Sawant 2 months ago

    Can we use wireless mouse in iPad Pro 11..

  • Zrinko Maloseja
    Zrinko Maloseja 2 months ago

    So incredible yet so stupid. Great review.

  • elvyra yap
    elvyra yap 2 months ago

    Thank youuuu for the review!!! Im going to mbp 2018!!!

  • Rafael Storch
    Rafael Storch 2 months ago

    Excellent ending

  • Martyn Gasson
    Martyn Gasson 2 months ago

    I couldn’t give an arse if it replaces a laptop. It compliments my desktop nicely. iOS is perfectly fine for me. I save my files (Clip/Affinity) to “Files” or Dropbox, reopen on my Mac, and no probs. The Files system is only a problem if you make it a problem.

  • Daniel B.
    Daniel B. 2 months ago

    Yep not replacement... cause if it is then imac wont sells anymore... will be a doom for the company income!!!!

  • Gavin Playz
    Gavin Playz 2 months ago

    Plays Roblox at 15fps. Garbage

  • Morgan Walden
    Morgan Walden 2 months ago

    The first unbiased Apple review I've ever seen.

  • Morgan Walden
    Morgan Walden 2 months ago

    The first unbiased Apple review I've ever seen.

  • Tutankhamun KING
    Tutankhamun KING 2 months ago

    It’s a tablet just go out and buy a laptop stop complaining

  • Ashlyvett Figueroa
    Ashlyvett Figueroa 2 months ago

    Im a full time student and have my own brand so I need to do everything online, school work, shipping labels, print... I don’t know which one should I get!

  • Geek Jawaid
    Geek Jawaid 2 months ago

    I don't want to adopt to my computer. I want my computer to adopt me. Golden words sir. 👍🤗

  • Arun Iyer
    Arun Iyer 2 months ago

    Great video! Apple keeps saying it wants the iPad to become user's laptop replacement, but they always seem to conveniently forget those key aspects that bring people back to their laptops. Hope they learn. This tablet isn't cheap.

  • Davie Chen
    Davie Chen 2 months ago

    You're absolutely correct! It has been really painful to see a buddy who's an Android fanatic to tell me not to buy this because of "reasons" and I've experienced the same with every Android user that's in my circles. Bought it and loving it. Have never been so happy using an iPad!

  • Praneeth Reddy
    Praneeth Reddy 2 months ago

    Can we use this for Adobe CC, editing of videos and photos...?

    • David Rapant
      David Rapant Month ago

      You can use the CC mobile app versions, not the full desktop apps. You can upload your photos using a lightning USB card reader then do edits in lightroom CC mobile and then sync to all your other devices like your desktop. At least that's my understanding.

  • ishootgopro
    ishootgopro 2 months ago

    I have iPad Pro 12.9 2017. and I love it. it's really nice and fast and very productive using it, and mine has 4G lte. I always use Apple products, I prolly owned every product they have, but I'm no artist, I don't draw or designs stuffs, I do photography and I use it to edit some photos to lightroom cc. but honestly I enjoyed using my Samsung Chromebook Plus v2. it has 4glte as well so I can take it anywhere. And I love using keyboard and the mouse. but I love my iPad so much. But I am not thinking about upgrading to a new one.

  • M 310
    M 310 2 months ago

    I’m using it right now! Love it

  • Doodle Daily
    Doodle Daily 2 months ago

    Can’t we all just wait till iOS 13 god danit

  • Ghost Davis
    Ghost Davis 2 months ago

    So I have a question. I have the10.5 version is it worth the 165 to upgrade to the 11?

  • Sasori
    Sasori 2 months ago

    I’m gunna take a guess no that doesn’t come in a bundle u gotta pay for the iPad Pro, keyboard and Apple Pencil 😭😭

  • Why Not
    Why Not 2 months ago

    oh yeah yeah

  • NAND KISHORE
    NAND KISHORE 2 months ago

    Honest Review.. 👏👏

  • Will T
    Will T 2 months ago

    You greedy bastard why would you want external storage on something with a freaking terabyte inside it

  • M1ke_07
    M1ke_07 2 months ago

    GREAT!

  • TechTale-3T4
    TechTale-3T4 2 months ago

    Nice video

  • GameFailures
    GameFailures 2 months ago

    So they just gonna keep copying features off the surface aren't they

  • johny wijaya
    johny wijaya 2 months ago

    Can you install mac os on ipad pro 2018?