The Nun - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 8, 2018
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Nun, starring Demian Bichir, Taissa Farmiga, Jonas Bloquet, Charlotte Hope, Ingrid Bisu, Bonnie Aarons. Directed by Corin Hardy.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 640

  • gamer girl
    gamer girl 22 hours ago

    it was bad, but not as bad as i thought it was gonna be.

  • Danielle Phillips
    Danielle Phillips 3 days ago

    This was the most disappointing movie ever the entire movie legit only had 3 boring annoying characters = /

  • Stephon Taylor
    Stephon Taylor 4 days ago

    The deman pulling pranks lmfao!!! You hit that on the head.

  • Bell Justbell
    Bell Justbell 6 days ago

    The only thing that scared me is that they think Mary points the way . Jesus is King he makes it very clear we are to cast out demons in his name only .

    • gamer girl
      gamer girl 22 hours ago

      umm they are catholic in the film though.

  • mikepeeeee1000
    mikepeeeee1000 13 days ago

    i liked The Nun. not great, but pretty good.

  • cyberjack-CJ
    cyberjack-CJ 18 days ago

    OMG this movie sucked ass

  • ERUS TV
    ERUS TV 20 days ago

    intelligence 4

  • Gabriel Rader
    Gabriel Rader 21 day ago

    eh, jumpscares only last about half a second. where physiological ones are the good ones that kinda fuck you up. (the ones with the suspense and developing plot)

  • Jordy R
    Jordy R 22 days ago

    The whole Jesus blood made me roll my rolls... If there was Jesus blood saved away religious people would definitely use that as proof of God. So sick of loud music lame jump scares... Modern horror is trash lately.

  • Ronald Manabat
    Ronald Manabat 24 days ago

    "oh my gahd boys its the NUN!!
    -CorderyFX

  • Joey Syron
    Joey Syron 24 days ago

    stream hereditary and suspiria 😌

  • Edward Ramkissoon
    Edward Ramkissoon 25 days ago

    I totally agree with you Chris, I'm a fan of the Conjuring movies, but this one fell way short for me

  • Mathias Kanuck
    Mathias Kanuck 27 days ago

    Chris...
    You like the babadook.... We all know deep down you loved The Nun

  • Charmedsas1
    Charmedsas1 Month ago

    I literally thought that i was going to get to see the real actress being a nun from back in the day, i thought the whole point of the nun was a nun gone bad but oh well. i was disappointed, but still love me some Wan.

  • Randitha Philip
    Randitha Philip Month ago +1

    they should've give The Nun to Jordan Peele lol

  • Barry Burton
    Barry Burton Month ago

    Loved this movie. It was so campy and had a 1970s Italian vibe to it. They should have scrapped the exorcism side plot though, had they done that it would've been 10/10 for me in terms of entertainment. Definitely not a scary movie, just fun and super atmospheric.

  • TheLonelyGoomba
    TheLonelyGoomba Month ago

    This has got to be one of the most disappointing films I've seen. I think even the worst horror films have some redeeming features. But this was just such a huge let down.
    The only really redeemable aspect of the film was the setting, but it wasn't really used well either. Hated this film man

  • Angels of the Oblivion

    Oh my god bois! It's the NUN!

  • Anti Petrolhead
    Anti Petrolhead Month ago

    So is 'The Nun' worse or better than 'Apostle?' Apostle told a sketchy story that led to something much bigger which was surprising in the end.

  • moviebuff1275
    moviebuff1275 Month ago

    4:04 for the grade

  • De Svenster
    De Svenster Month ago

    Crucifixes.....crucifixes...everywhere....scary shit....

  • Melisa Cornejo
    Melisa Cornejo Month ago

    This MOVIE SUCKEDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD and i was so excited for it so disappointing, i feel you.

  • goodguynow
    goodguynow 2 months ago

    Hater

  • Oh Yeah yeah
    Oh Yeah yeah 2 months ago

    I watched this on a flight to Miami

  • Coolissim0 Unl1mited
    Coolissim0 Unl1mited 2 months ago

    Maybe they wanted to do a low budge movie to get more money, perhaps to support for a better movie????

  • Corey Kelley
    Corey Kelley 2 months ago

    Just finished it, what a boring sack of shit.

  • Aradhya Sharma
    Aradhya Sharma 3 months ago

    So many nun puns...

  • Archismaa sivaganesh
    Archismaa sivaganesh 3 months ago

    I'm waiting for Chris to write and direct a horror movie!!!

  • John Prentice
    John Prentice 3 months ago

    Hey Chris thanks for the review of the Nun I'm not buying it now. Keep up the great work 👍🤔

  • Deepa Lall
    Deepa Lall 3 months ago

    This is the movie you can watch when nothing good is coming on the TV and then doze off within 20 minutes.

  • Jesus Chavez
    Jesus Chavez 3 months ago

    Not scary but a good triller if you see it that way 🤷🏻‍♂️ might be a guilty pleasure in the future

  • Nelson
    Nelson 3 months ago

    Like for the shelves... I'm definitely copying

  • DCMJ
    DCMJ 3 months ago

    Demon who likes to play prank, lol.

  • Sid
    Sid 3 months ago

    I fucking yawned five times watching this.
    But when the second half started I was wide awake., couldn't stop laughing.

  • Saad Imtiaz
    Saad Imtiaz 3 months ago

    This deserves a hilacity review

  • MrBuc128
    MrBuc128 3 months ago

    I was surprised at how much I liked it. Is it a great movie? No but I didn’t expect it to be. I found it entertaining

  • oldschool1987
    oldschool1987 3 months ago +1

    This film was so so bad.
    They hired Vera's younger sister, who's character is a medium, but she's not a young Elizabeth Warren??? It makes no sense

  • The Skrilltrap
    The Skrilltrap 4 months ago

    This had so much goddamn potential and they bombed their own careers. Say goodbye to Conjuring 3.

  • Jimmidiggincats
    Jimmidiggincats 4 months ago

    It was so bad it was actually funny

  • Charles Woogie
    Charles Woogie 4 months ago

    I am willing to bet....that there will be a prequel to The Nun, and that the prequel to the prequel will be better.

  • Alezey574
    Alezey574 4 months ago

    The worst horror movie in the world. Waste of my time

  • Jesse 1981
    Jesse 1981 4 months ago

    My brother brought this movie over tonight and it sucked ass. Super blashpemous, retarded, and the nun was like a fucking alien from star wars on pcp and was stupid af. They pirated a scene from Star Trek 2 when a tenticle chokes a guy out and pirated the holy hand grenade from Monty Pyton and the Holy Grail, only made it supposedly filled with the blood of Christ, and the girl drinks
    it and spits it in the nuns face. Seriously, how godless can society become to mock Jesus in such a filthy way. Sickening. Hated this movie with a passion. I give this movie an F, as in Fucking Trash. The creator should be flogged with a 2x4.

  • vai walker
    vai walker 4 months ago

    i wonder what happened. all the previous movies were good. this movie just played with the camera angles like when anyone turns around and they turn back, BOOM as expected a spirit will be there. if you guys want to good horror movie to do with a religious cult, watch Apostle. if you want a really good scary movie, watch "A Quiet Place" excellent movies

  • PMT Slot Hits n' Stuff
    PMT Slot Hits n' Stuff 4 months ago

    The pan away and pan back is mastered by james wan. He does it in a way that you dont know what's gonna happen and when. Insidious chapter 3 with the guy who jumped out the window then was crawling up the wall. That was perfect! (If only the trailer didnt spoil it😒)

  • melted clown
    melted clown 4 months ago

    i fell asleep after the first 20 minutes

  • Spìrít gïrl
    Spìrít gïrl 4 months ago

    This is exactly what I thought when I watched the movie trailer, I had a feeling it would fall flat
    and so I came here to good old Chris Stuckmann to tell me more✌

  • Blue Sky
    Blue Sky 4 months ago

    Even the first two sucked.

  • Matthew Savoy
    Matthew Savoy 4 months ago

    i wanna see the movie because the lead girl is HOTT

  • Nawaid Ali
    Nawaid Ali 4 months ago

    Highly dissapointing

  • Peace Maker
    Peace Maker 4 months ago

    I've watched this movie heard lot of criticism before but this movie is actually pretty good. The location, the camera movement vfx. This movie is not as bad as these review. Out of 5stars I would give it 4

  • Commodore Rook
    Commodore Rook 4 months ago

    Ok, just finally got around to watching this movie: and it was great!!!!
    Both me and my girlfriend loved it! Ultra scary. A few goofy moments, but much better than I was led to believe! Screw reviews, like what you like!

  • Cryoid GamingTW07
    Cryoid GamingTW07 4 months ago

    2/10 shittie movie, boring as hell, I disapprove it

  • some guy
    some guy 4 months ago

    Rated at a 8 out of 10 worth watching I would buy it on DVD

  • Mexican Monkey
    Mexican Monkey 4 months ago

    Movie was ass

  • Ayesha Zulfqar
    Ayesha Zulfqar 4 months ago

    I agree with you soo much.... It was not the best movie I wish i would haven't wasted my time on this movies.... So much hype was around this movie it didn't lead to my expectations.... I was just wast of time

  • Horror fan 4 Life
    Horror fan 4 Life 4 months ago

    I really enjoyed this movie.the special effects and look of the possessed nuns were great. The locations and score are really good as well. The characters did a great job and I knew what I was getting from this movie which is why it was enjoyable and a nice fit for this franchise. B+.

  • Nobita Nobi
    Nobita Nobi 4 months ago

    the nun is one of the worst film i hv ever seen

  • ASAFYY
    ASAFYY 4 months ago

    this movie sucked!!!! thank god i saw it on popcorn and didnt pay a dollar for that shit!

  • Alpha Kitty
    Alpha Kitty 4 months ago

    I felt like this movie didn't fully delve into why this entity chose to present itself as a nun and haunt this particular church. I know in the conjuring 2 it touched on the entity presenting itself as nun to test your faith, but is that all? It wasn't entertaining at all and was a a great disappointment. I was looking forward to this film as well and just ended up falling asleep and having to rewind some parts.

  • GoldenBear 173
    GoldenBear 173 4 months ago

    I didn’t find it scary even when I watched it in 1:40 am

  • ChimChim Noodles
    ChimChim Noodles 4 months ago +1

    I respectfully disagree with the people that say the nun is a bad movie cause I enjoyed the movie 🍿

    • Nawaid Ali
      Nawaid Ali 4 months ago

      It's boring and highly dissapointing

  • Reesey Me
    Reesey Me 4 months ago

    all the hype down the drain, pretty much like insidious 4

  • mirror
    mirror 4 months ago

    to fool people and support Christianity.....

  • Roger Aune
    Roger Aune 4 months ago

    The plot twist in the nun was kind of quite scary, but I think I've seen a similar plot twist in another movie, but I can't seem to remember the movie....

  • johnny iron lung
    johnny iron lung 4 months ago

    It was the shittiest movie i have seen in a long time. Was dissapointed. One horror cliche after the other for no reason. Just a mess of a movie. Expected so much more. I am kinda sad that this movie can be the reason that the conjuring franchise won't be able to expand with another movie. It would disheart every single director and producer to even attempt creating something that has to do with the conjuring franchise. Shit movie don't even watch it. It is a cashgrab and i would love if i could get the 10 euro refund for the cinema that i payed. This movie did not even deserve 4 euros nevertheless 10.

  • Soumyadip Bairagi
    Soumyadip Bairagi 4 months ago

    At 1:19 isn't that BATIM jump scare sound effect?

  • Show me Footsies
    Show me Footsies 4 months ago

    If you're really a massive horror fan you gotta understand that the rationality of horror stories is not that important to the genre. Horror come from the imagination. Its the domain of irrationality and mystery, and its correct that some things or events doesnt make sense and are not explained. The visuals and the atmosphere should and do come first for most of the time. Most of Dario Argento, Lucio Fulci, Sam Raimi, all those great directors works, are renowed for the visuals and atmosphere building; their stories are often messy and incoherent, actors do stupid things, etc ...
    I really liked the gothic aesthetic of the movie. When they use practical effects its well done too. The parts of cgi was kind of meh. Yeah they used that cliché of old tomes to explain the entity backstory, but since it take place in a old monastery, i think its well justified.

  • TP12 SHML
    TP12 SHML 4 months ago +1

    I liked it...

  • Ryu Lee
    Ryu Lee 4 months ago

    Well, what do you expect? Valek doesn't appear in The Conjuring 2 that much either and no one didn't complain about that, well maybe little bit.

  • No Name
    No Name 4 months ago

    Thank you for saving my time. Ill be watching another movie then :D

  • Miguel Lavariel
    Miguel Lavariel 4 months ago

    A person wearing a Cowboy Bebop T-shirt can't be a bad reviewer. Liked!

  • JesusSavedJoshua
    JesusSavedJoshua 4 months ago

    Chris you are more horrific than most movies in your immoral sinful use of God's name in vain. Wise up please. You can do better easily. Use your words more effectively and with righteousness.

  • tristan raymundo
    tristan raymundo 4 months ago

    boring as hell

  • ZiyadMMA
    ZiyadMMA 4 months ago

    Movies in 2018 sucked! this shit didn't scare me at all

  • demonpride1975
    demonpride1975 5 months ago

    lets make a new conjuring movie, ok that sounds good.
    1. lets make it so dark that the jump scares are as shitty as possible, BRILLIANT.
    2. let's put crosses in this movie, and then make them pointless, BRILLIANT.
    3. oh we could make the nuns pray because that always works, BRILLIANT.
    i have gotten to the point that i believe 2 things.
    1. god has zero power cause his religious icons mean fucking nothing.
    2. you can put 2000 year old blood in your mouth and it not be contaminated.

  • Violeticious
    Violeticious 5 months ago

    Maybe the demon is messing with people, because it feeds on fear? Just a suggestion, I watched the first half of this movie last night and fell asleep. So scary lol :P

  • Eric Riley
    Eric Riley 5 months ago

    the movie scary movie was scarier than this movie

  • Eric Riley
    Eric Riley 5 months ago

    your as pissed as I am it was fucking horrible they fucked it up so bad so so bad they destroyed it

  • lilly ?
    lilly ? 5 months ago

    My grandma went to see this thinking it was about an actual nun and not a horror movie... I’m here to see what she went through lol

  • fvfgx
    fvfgx 5 months ago

    I saw the move it was good your lame review was for the 2018 Halloween that suck so so bad. I hate it when ppl gos to a supper man move and say stuff like he can fly that's fake

  • Rabbit
    Rabbit 5 months ago

    I didn't mind the movie, but it certainly wasn't scary.
    The priest was pretty useless the entire time, he even finds the name of the demon in a book and he never seems compelled to use it, or at least try to use it to fend the demon off.

  • Tiki80
    Tiki80 5 months ago

    This movie sucked ass!! The CGI was laughable. . I actually laughed when random ghost face attacked that farmer.. speaking abt the farmer he was annoying with his bad timing pun jokes..

  • kevin simpson
    kevin simpson 5 months ago +1

    what i don't understand is if at the end the nun/valak was sealed away how did she later re-appeared in "the conjuring" . can anyone explain ?

    • Bia and Fey
      Bia and Fey 8 days ago

      SPOILERS

      at the end of the movie we see an upside down cross show up in frenchie's nape and we then see that frenchie was actually the guy who was possessed in that tape that the warrens show in their class during the first conjuring, so my guess would be that the nun somehow managed to get inside him before being sealed away??? I'm not sure??? and then attached itself to lorraine during frenchie's exorcism.

  • L P
    L P 5 months ago

    3/10

  • gold dust
    gold dust 5 months ago +2

    Movie totally disappointing to us massive horror lovers. They could have taken there just like stated by reviewer. Right. What was the goal here? Pranks all the way.

  • Akli Mi
    Akli Mi 5 months ago

    The reason i searched for the nun review AFTER watching the movie is becoz i was SO ANGRY at how GOD AWFUL the movie was, I wanted to hear it from someone else!!! It was like a music to ears when I heard the criticism. I would rate this movie 0/100.

  • Leo Deltoro
    Leo Deltoro 5 months ago

    1:12 - 134. Couldn't have said it better. This is all the movie consisted of.. It literally made me feel like it was a movie equivalent to scoobydoo or goosebumps.

  • Michaella
    Michaella 5 months ago

    The storyline was interesting at least.but it wasn’t scary at all

  • Tom Valentino
    Tom Valentino 5 months ago

    I actually really liked this flick. I was really enamored with the sets the atmosphere and the ambiguity around Irene s back story.

  • David Lilburn
    David Lilburn 5 months ago

    There was a fucking recap...

  • Samuel Billman
    Samuel Billman 5 months ago

    I completely expected the movie to be like this and had no hope for it

  • jeff bosnyak
    jeff bosnyak 5 months ago

    This could have been something like "Prince of darkness" or a serious study of evil but it wasn't. Whoever the company was that supplied the fog in this movie made some serious coin.

  • vats anand
    vats anand 5 months ago

    NUN of us was scared.

  • Timbacto Bros.
    Timbacto Bros. 5 months ago

    Couldn’t of said it better man. I was really disappointed in this movie the potential was there. The conjuring 1 & 2 were soo good and I was hoping this movie would add to that, but oh well.

  • Joe Viruet
    Joe Viruet 5 months ago

    Tales from the crypt Demon knight + Lazy Bullshit = The Nun.

  • Tahir Javed
    Tahir Javed 5 months ago

    I actually liked this movie

  • Kelvottomat Pelaajat
    Kelvottomat Pelaajat 5 months ago

    Conjuring?
    More like conjobbing, the Warrens were cheating people out of their money, as is the christian tradition.
    🤨

  • Emily S
    Emily S 5 months ago

    I finally saw this and you’re right, I usually like even shitty horror films but this just had NO story at all. So disappointing.

  • ferdinand gonzalez
    ferdinand gonzalez 5 months ago

    I walked out of it after an hour. It's terrible.

  • Denver 96
    Denver 96 5 months ago

    Wow...I'm amazed at how much I disagree with this review. Now I'm aware that that's his opinion and he's definitely entitled to one. So here's what I feel....
    I love this movie coz for every jumpscare that happens a very eerie atmosphere is created first that leaves u feeling very uneasy even before the actual jumpscare. So when the jumpscare actually happens it's kinda diffusing, satisfying and scary all at the same time. The atmosphere is even bone chilling at times. I don't mind jumpscares but I absolutely hate cheap ones. The ones that come out of nowhere without any buildup whatsoever and are just fake. So when he says that this movie has predictable ones....I ask myself that would he enjoy fake ones ??
    Apart from that this movie has a beautiful visual aesthetic. Blood was used in the right amounts and at the right times to create that uneasy and creepy atmosphere. The performances....all of them were terrific. To top it all off it ties in perfectly with Conjuring 1.