The Nun - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 3 553

  • Rabbit
    Rabbit 5 days ago

    I didn't mind the movie, but it certainly wasn't scary.
    The priest was pretty useless the entire time, he even finds the name of the demon in a book and he never seems compelled to use it, or at least try to use it to fend the demon off.

  • Tiki80
    Tiki80 5 days ago

    This movie sucked ass!! The CGI was laughable. . I actually laughed when random ghost face attacked that farmer.. speaking abt the farmer he was annoying with his bad timing pun jokes..

  • kevin simpson
    kevin simpson 6 days ago

    what i don't understand is if at the end the nun/valak was sealed away how did she later re-appeared in "the conjuring" . can anyone explain ?

  • L P
    L P 6 days ago

    3/10

  • gold dust
    gold dust 8 days ago +1

    Movie totally disappointing to us massive horror lovers. They could have taken there just like stated by reviewer. Right. What was the goal here? Pranks all the way.

  • Akli Mi
    Akli Mi 9 days ago

    The reason i searched for the nun review AFTER watching the movie is becoz i was SO ANGRY at how GOD AWFUL the movie was, I wanted to hear it from someone else!!! It was like a music to ears when I heard the criticism. I would rate this movie 0/100.

  • Leo Deltoro
    Leo Deltoro 9 days ago

    1:12 - 134. Couldn't have said it better. This is all the movie consisted of.. It literally made me feel like it was a movie equivalent to scoobydoo or goosebumps.

  • Michaella
    Michaella 9 days ago

    The storyline was interesting at least.but it wasn’t scary at all

  • Tom Valentino
    Tom Valentino 10 days ago

    I actually really liked this flick. I was really enamored with the sets the atmosphere and the ambiguity around Irene s back story.

  • David Lilburn
    David Lilburn 10 days ago

    There was a fucking recap...

  • Samuel Billman
    Samuel Billman 10 days ago

    I completely expected the movie to be like this and had no hope for it

  • jeff bosnyak
    jeff bosnyak 10 days ago

    This could have been something like "Prince of darkness" or a serious study of evil but it wasn't. Whoever the company was that supplied the fog in this movie made some serious coin.

  • vats anand
    vats anand 11 days ago

    NUN of us was scared.

  • Timbacto Bros.
    Timbacto Bros. 11 days ago

    Couldn’t of said it better man. I was really disappointed in this movie the potential was there. The conjuring 1 & 2 were soo good and I was hoping this movie would add to that, but oh well.

  • Joe Viruet
    Joe Viruet 11 days ago

    Tales from the crypt Demon knight + Lazy Bullshit = The Nun.

  • Tahir Javed
    Tahir Javed 12 days ago

    I actually liked this movie

  • Kelvottomat Pelaajat
    Kelvottomat Pelaajat 12 days ago

    Conjuring?
    More like conjobbing, the Warrens were cheating people out of their money, as is the christian tradition.
    🤨

  • Emily S
    Emily S 13 days ago

    I finally saw this and you’re right, I usually like even shitty horror films but this just had NO story at all. So disappointing.

  • ferdinand gonzalez
    ferdinand gonzalez 13 days ago

    I walked out of it after an hour. It's terrible.

  • Denver 96
    Denver 96 14 days ago

    Wow...I'm amazed at how much I disagree with this review. Now I'm aware that that's his opinion and he's definitely entitled to one. So here's what I feel....
    I love this movie coz for every jumpscare that happens a very eerie atmosphere is created first that leaves u feeling very uneasy even before the actual jumpscare. So when the jumpscare actually happens it's kinda diffusing, satisfying and scary all at the same time. The atmosphere is even bone chilling at times. I don't mind jumpscares but I absolutely hate cheap ones. The ones that come out of nowhere without any buildup whatsoever and are just fake. So when he says that this movie has predictable ones....I ask myself that would he enjoy fake ones ??
    Apart from that this movie has a beautiful visual aesthetic. Blood was used in the right amounts and at the right times to create that uneasy and creepy atmosphere. The performances....all of them were terrific. To top it all off it ties in perfectly with Conjuring 1.

  • Cowol Jar Woff
    Cowol Jar Woff 15 days ago

    ".....I'm French Canadian."

  • shawna williams
    shawna williams 17 days ago

    What would you say is the scariest movie/ or best to see in theater now

  • Rio Harper
    Rio Harper 19 days ago

    I could see the jump scares from a mile away......they still made me jump 😂

  • freetrader
    freetrader 21 day ago

    My least favorite scene is one of the faceless nuns shaking someone's shoulder... as if that's going to hurt anyone.

  • Build a Wall Vote Trump Again

    It's terrible how un entertaining films have become, I have to watch reviews just to avoid the garbage that is out out nowadays

  • Schweise
    Schweise 22 days ago

    Chris! You should review Mandy. It's a fucking hell of a ride and it stars Nicholas Cage in his very own John Wick-esque Redemption Movie acid trip!

  • Felix Ray
    Felix Ray 23 days ago

    This movie absolutely worked for me. For me, knowing that the jump scare is coming, and dreading it, is the most compelling kind of suspense, and I loved the way that the jump scares kept coming faster and faster, and by the end it was just pop pop pop pop pop,and I couldn't get up to get my free drink refill. By some happy co-incidence, I had Lucio Fulci's City of the Living Dead, and The Nun is clearly laced with homages to this Italian horror classic, which begins when a priest hangs himself, which opens the gates of Hell. The Nun cleverly turns that premise on its head.

  • Cody Schlenker
    Cody Schlenker 24 days ago

    You explained 99% of scary movies. They're boring as shit.

  • Vasileios
    Vasileios 26 days ago

    Is really ridiculous that Rome send a Priest Catholic. When the religious there is Orthodox

  • Atem
    Atem 26 days ago

    this movie is the no James wan effect

  • Desire Day by Day
    Desire Day by Day 27 days ago

    I agree completely: there was zero plot, zero story.

  • Larsen Springer
    Larsen Springer 27 days ago

    How many ways can they squeeze a prequel into a series?

  • Zeles
    Zeles 27 days ago

    You liked Annabelle 2? That movie was seriously bad.

  • Ashley Singh
    Ashley Singh 29 days ago

    Honestly this movie would have been way better if James Charles popped out of nowhere with all the sister sister bs going on. This movie was so random I mean why not just add him in there.

  • piotr montowski
    piotr montowski Month ago

    You are wrong. That was preetty good horror movie. I would give it B+.

  • kensredemption
    kensredemption Month ago

    Here’s hoping James Wan’s talents go to good use with Aquaman. There’s gotta be a semblance of quality cinema somewhere in the latter half of the year.

  • OhhSoThatsHowLong TheNameCanGet

    ive always thought comedy and horror shouldnt mix, like i should be shitting bricks throughout not pissing myself with some cringey jokes, the movie was also too predictable i remember betting my friend that the bells for the dead would come in later and all start ringing at once and it did

  • Ryan Meurer
    Ryan Meurer Month ago

    Thanks man. Cuz of u i just saved 26 dollars

  • OrangeGraffiti
    OrangeGraffiti Month ago

    NUNDERWHELMING

  • Sam Koehler
    Sam Koehler Month ago

    You gotta give this movie credit, have you ever seen a movie where the monster gets the actual blood of Jesus spat onto it? I think not! Best Movie 10/10

  • Angelus
    Angelus Month ago

    I could not believe how shitty trash this movie was!

  • Jan Joannes
    Jan Joannes Month ago

    I know this is a weird place to request this but can you review A Star Is Born?

  • Mike
    Mike Month ago

    I actually really liked this movie even though it wasn't that good, had a lot of potential.

  • Ethan P
    Ethan P Month ago

    The nun wasn’t scary at all. I’m usually terrified by the imagery of the anti christ, or the devil... but this time it didn’t do it for me.

  • Cloudyatm
    Cloudyatm Month ago

    *3 Things I didn't like that Chris didn't mention* -
    *1.* - why the heck did the father have a flashlight in that burrying scene and everyone else in the entire movie had lanterns or torches?
    *2.*- What language would they have been speaking? Irene said she had never been to "that side of the world" (where was Irene from?) So did they learn Romanian to go over there? Were they speaking Italian? French? What?? I need to know
    *3.*-They have this kind of classic view of what is scary - wrinkles - white or grey skin - pointy yellow teeth - no brows - dried up - shriveled - just generally inhuman but not very far off, I just feel like they should shake it up a little ya know
    (I just finished the movie an hour ago so this is my fresh perspective)

  • Scott Heigl-Yates
    Scott Heigl-Yates Month ago

    Me and a friend saw the movie in a empty movie theatre, we literally had to talk through the movie because it was that boring.

  • Chad Miller
    Chad Miller Month ago

    You like no movies...like none...I keep coming back to give channel chance put it just seems your views just don't match but obviously you have tons who agree with you but the nun causing scary things to happen to the cast is exactly what I'm looking for. That's what the nun does! Jump out and scare! I followed the story just fine and it shows how it connects with franchise and cool ending. The atmosphere was scary,amazing visuals, creative scenes and actually jump scares done differently at times from the usual. It seems everyone is in to just hating and being dissapointed with everything they see. I'm old school and in the 80s we had all kinds of horror that was just popcorn fun schlocky horror flicks and if this had been one to come out of 80s I think it would be a classic by now. Those are the expectations I go in having. A haunted house experience on film and you get that vibe from this. Each to their own.

  • Paris Ross
    Paris Ross Month ago

    Glad I’m not the only one who felt like this movie was not up to par whatsoever

  • Κωσταντίνος Δημητρίου

    Me and my gf both agreed the story line sucked in this film, the only thing going for it were the visuals.

  • The Bradler
    The Bradler Month ago

    You can immediately tell what you think about the movie from the thumbnail

  • WARLOKLIGHTNIN
    WARLOKLIGHTNIN Month ago

    this movie was fucking terrible, i had the theatre to myself and wasnt scared or impressed by it once.

  • Redline Reggie
    Redline Reggie Month ago

    I lost power during lightning storm and went out side to trip the breaker when a huge spider jump out from behind the door landing on my neck. I Slipped and fell, bumped my head which knocked me out. I woke up in bed in a dark hospital room. I called for the nurse but no one came. From the window I could see nothing so I go to the hall no light and no staff. I get on the elevator and the door closes but nothing happens when I push the lobby button. I could hear noise but I could not make them out. Out of no where the elevator starts moving but it’s go up. It goes to the top floor and opens. Its a dark hall I can see a dark figure in the distance. I yell out excuse me! It quickly turns. It’s a nurse but here face was covered in blood. She starts running to me with two Needles in here hand. I panic and start pushing buttons. The doors took forever to close. I could hear screams out side the evelvator door. The dim lights flicker and the elevator buckles. Then something snaps and the elevator falls 30 floors. The elevator slows at the sixth floor and continues as normal to the basement level and opens. stops with a

  • LarryIsReal-ChangeMyMind

    It sucked ass. If anyone finds this scary then they clearly aren’t true fans of horror movies. The plot was all over the place.

  • Dr Phot
    Dr Phot Month ago

    Who likes this movie... Nun of us!

  • Axel Smith
    Axel Smith Month ago

    The opening scene was actually really promising.

  • Something Clever
    Something Clever Month ago +1

    Yeah, I knew this was gonna be disappointing as soon as the trailers were shoved in my face countless times...

  • friendsvlogs diversion y entretenimiento

    WORST HORROR MOVIE EVER i fell asleep

  • David Grixti
    David Grixti Month ago +2

    The most disappointing part is they didn't push the envelope far enough. Not just with the horror and violence, but even with the mythology, they could have gone further with it.

    • Halal Quinn
      Halal Quinn Month ago +1

      David Grixti ikr, I still don’t understand what her/he/its purpose was. Beside trying to kill and posses people which kinda contradicts how it is in Conjuring 2

  • PY
    PY Month ago

    *The most typical ghost/demon/spirit whatever* .. based in real experiences from everywhere: You hear them running in an other room or above you, you barerly see them, they turn off and on things like lights, TV's, you see their shadows, or you see them really clear but not for a long time by your bed, they make faint noises, faint distant screams, they knock on your walls and doors, they push you, leave scratches, they might throw an object, rare cases might be an object youve never seen before, you see them in mirrors, demons portraying children or others to lure you and so on.. and that is what makes a good ghost-story more realistic, because its happend before and that is most likely what you would hear anybody say when they supposedly come in contact with the paranormal.
    *What you dont see* : A DEMON BECOMING 20 FEET TALL WHILE STANDING UP FROM THE WATER, ALSO COMING FROM A HOLE IN THE GROUND WHICH IS EQUAL TO ABSOLUTE REAL HELL. A SNAKE COMES OUT OF A RANDOM KIDS MOUTH AND BITE YOU.
    Fuck the fucking fuck off, worst fucking movie i've ever seen. You create a story which is based on nothing else than your stupid ignorant imagination, sure, if its a fucking fantasy-movie.

  • Tudo Bem
    Tudo Bem Month ago

    So was the French guy backpacking in Romania,?

  • Tudo Bem
    Tudo Bem Month ago

    I will watch the movie nun the less

  • visicircle
    visicircle Month ago

    It's all good tho, cause Taissa Farmiga is the greatest!

  • Sir Jelly Sugar
    Sir Jelly Sugar Month ago

    I actually enjoyed it. Apart from how it ended and linked. Trying not to spoil it

  • Daz D
    Daz D Month ago

    Hello Chris, could you do a review of Mandy ? 2018 with Nicolas Cage.
    I don't like that actor myself, but he's actually really good in this weird horror revenge movie.

  • UbetYou2
    UbetYou2 Month ago +1

    Facts that Nun is Not a Demon, it’s Marilyn Manson . Young Nun Drunk Christ blood must have an everlasting life .

  • Cynthia Aguilar
    Cynthia Aguilar Month ago

    My personal review of watching this film is well thought out of course the nun wasnt about the sister victoria (scary one) but more about the sister irene the (main female) when i was watching this i figured out during the movie that its was sister irene they were capturing , of course they're not going to tell you they're going to make you think and alot of people didnt understand...sister Victoria was a demon and they already explained her backstory of her being summoned by satan worshippers so thats that but the movie is about the irene figuring out her gift that later became who she is in the conjuring.. that my personal thought

  • 4Za :]
    4Za :] Month ago +1

    The only good scene was in the beginning when the two nuns were attacked, rest of the movie was a huge let down, waste of time and money -_-

  • Robo Kip
    Robo Kip Month ago +22

    I hate it when horror movies prioritize jump scares over actual plot and suspense. I’d much rather watch A Quiet Place, even if it isn’t very scary, it has suspense, and an enjoyable plot.

  • Nadia Wackerle
    Nadia Wackerle Month ago

    "And uh, it's a movie with-- ...nnnoises... *sighs* God damn it..."

  • Second Tier Josuke
    Second Tier Josuke Month ago

    Review white boy Rick please

  • StrikerxWorm
    StrikerxWorm Month ago +2

    I thought the movie was great BUT, it kinda lacked a good intriguing plot and the ending of the movie had a few cringy lines? The very end in scene which linked back to The Conjuring was honestly amazing. Great movie! B-

  • Wrestling Titan
    Wrestling Titan Month ago

    I thought it was good but not great. Spooky well acted and visually creepy. Just lacked a sense of dread. The addition of two genuinely scary scenes would have catapulted it towards Conjuring territory. The opening scene was fantastic I thought.

  • J Williams
    J Williams Month ago +1

    I didn’t like the movie. It was boring and not too scary.

    • First Name Last Name
      First Name Last Name Month ago

      J Williams You could even say that NUN of it was scary. Yeah, that's definitely not a joke used before (sarcasm in case you didn't catch it).

  • Aj Jawahir
    Aj Jawahir Month ago +1

    It sucked!!

  • luis gonzalez
    luis gonzalez Month ago +1

    Chris was nice I gave this movie an F

  • Darby Reviews
    Darby Reviews Month ago

    check out my review

  • Rob Bassett
    Rob Bassett Month ago

    Who made this dude THE voice of reason for movie reviews? He's just some whiny pale skin prick that hates every single movie. It's a horror film you douche, stop expecting something fuckin otherworldly and magical. The movie was really good and this guy sucks ass.

    • First Name Last Name
      First Name Last Name Month ago

      So many things wrong with this comment
      1. He's not the voice of reason for movie reviews. It's just a random guy giving out criticisms. Nobody made him that. Who told you that anyway?
      2. "Hates every single movie" He has an entire playlist where he talks about the movies he loves, some of which are horror.
      3. He knows it's a horror movie. The problems is that it wasn't scary, it focuses too much on jump scares rather than actual plot, those jump scares weren't even good, they were predictable as fuck, and it has plot holes. He isn't expecting something that is very crucial to the development of human society, he's just expecting a movie with good plot, good scares, etc. Nothing more, nothing less.
      4. You can't say a movie is really good without backing it up with criticisms. Same thing goes if you say a movie is bad. You can't say that without backing it up, and that's what this guy does.
      5. "Pale skin prick" Insulting someone for their appearance is bullshit. Seriously, who are you? A high school bully?

  • 55batmanandjoker
    55batmanandjoker Month ago

    I saw it yesterday, and i have to say at first i was kinda looking forward to this movie, but never expected it to be great, but after seeing jjahns and stuckmans reviews i wasnt so sure if i should see it in cinema, cause most of the Time i feel the same about movies as they do, but i was still curious enough to give it a try and after watching it yesterday i have to say, hm im pleasantly surprised ,it was good actually, the atmosphere was so creepy, the location uuhggg, the directing was very good, very creepy imageriy, acting good enough and some of the jump scares kinda clever the way they played around with the camera, the reviews dont do it Justice imo, i mean chris is mostly right about story weaknes and i know what he means by ,it could have been great and so much potential cause it really could've been aaawesome, but the movie was bether and more enjoiable than maaaaaaany Horror films in the last years, but for some reason i was never really afraid ,even if there really was some creepy stuff, i think i had some chills two or three times, but i guess its becsuse cinema, knowing that there is a crowd with you takes alot away from the scareeffect ,i guess Horror movies are most effectiv at home alone, but all in all im glad i saw it. WOW! That was a long comment .

  • Louis Pierrel
    Louis Pierrel Month ago +1

    This film was nunsense

  • Jason Ruka
    Jason Ruka Month ago +1

    Very good review. Very bad movie.... just bad.

  • punkfruit
    punkfruit Month ago

    hey chris, what are your thoughts on grave encounters?

  • Edgar Lindo
    Edgar Lindo Month ago

    This is not fuking scary they did not show the full face of valak only a few second

  • Raff Vitale
    Raff Vitale Month ago

    review Mandy, its never too late!!!

  • Vincent Krynski
    Vincent Krynski Month ago

    All my friends says that it's shit

  • MDKAI
    MDKAI Month ago

    This movie has barely any buildup and tension. It relies more on jumpscares and surprises than atmosphere or any real sense of danger or tension... Such a waste.

  • Laughs 4 Life
    Laughs 4 Life Month ago

    The trailers in my opinion made it look like it would be the "darkest chapter" and truly frighten me like the Conjuring movies did. But I guess it just was to predictable. It was like a lot of other movies that had high potential but just couldn't make it interesting. A good example is Slender, it looked like a pretty terrifying and unsettling film but couldn't put off true horror. But I will admit, Valak is fucking terrifying despite the how she was presented.

  • arronplanet
    arronplanet Month ago +1

    They should have set The Nun in space on an abandoned ship...on rollerskates.

  • Dex
    Dex Month ago

    Damn, was looking forward to this. Good review Chris.

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald Month ago

    This movie was frustrating because it was such a departure from what The Conjuring was, and not at all in a good way, because this was just a generic, run of the mill, jumpscare-fest

  • Tipperdiss
    Tipperdiss Month ago

    First Annabelle was probably the second scariest one in the conjuring universe honestly

  • CHO/ WDER
    CHO/ WDER Month ago

    Bruh everyone at my school is talking about “oh this is the scariest movie of all time” “oh this was so scary they couldn’t show trailers” I immediately ask if they’ve seen the movie and most of the time they say no,I saw it and honestly I thought it was trash😂 go watch predator my nigga shit brazy...

  • Hamzah Abugosh
    Hamzah Abugosh Month ago

    Pleaseeeeee pleaseee review roger dodger Its amazing I need to hear your thoughts
    Its very under appreciated youll love it
    Sorry for the spam

  • Abbas Momin
    Abbas Momin Month ago

    where do you get these scenes from??

  • Birdie Man
    Birdie Man Month ago

    I just saw this, I did not mind it. Sounds like you hated it.

  • szewei85
    szewei85 Month ago

    Nice. Thanks for saving my money. Hahahaha.

  • CannedAbyss
    CannedAbyss Month ago

    this movie just made me want an amnesia the dark descent movie even more

  • Robert Andrew Ferrer

    Where can I get that Cowboy Bebop shirt??? 😳

  • Toni Burandt
    Toni Burandt Month ago

    Luckily my friend and I were the only ones in the theater when we watched this because we will laughing a lot during the movie xD

  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Month ago

    All the movie was were jumpscares, and of them were all predictable af

  • Cam White
    Cam White Month ago

    I really liked this movie. went in with low expectations after all the reviews and it was awesome.