People Living With Disabilities Review Characters With Disabilities

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 10, 2018
  • "...when they cast someone who actually has a disability, almost always we get a more dynamic story."
    Credits: www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/54118
    Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo!
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet
    GET MORE BUZZFEED:
    www.buzzfeed.com
    www.buzzfeed.com/videos
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedvideo
    usclip.net/user/asis
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedblue
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedviolet
    usclip.net/user/perolike
    usclip.net/user/ladylike
    BuzzFeedVideo
    BuzzFeed Motion Picture’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily!
    Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: goo.gl/gQKF8m
    MUSIC
    SFX Provided By AudioBlocks
    (www.audioblocks.com)
    Wandering at Night_Full
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Coming Home_Full
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Leaving Home_Full (1)
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Weird Neighbour_Full (1)
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Preschool Play_Full (1)
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Day Trip_Full
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    My Family_Full
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Clarity_60Sec
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    VIDEO
    People walking in city night background with lights. Out of focus background blur
    JadeThaiCatwalk/Getty Images
    EXTERNAL CREDITS
    Special Thanks:
    Pamela Rae Schuller
    @PamelaComedy
    +
    Eman Rimawi
    @Eman_Rimawi
    +
    Courtesy:
    Glee / Fox Wonder / Lionsgate Breaking Bad / AMC What's Eating Gilbert Grape / Paramount Pictures Game Of Thrones / HBO

Comments • 1 317

  • And it's a cruel world

    you could've just said retarted

  • Penswordking
    Penswordking 3 hours ago

    Wtf. Who goes to a movie to see themselves? I go to the movies specifically to escape my life.

  • Vanna Del Rey
    Vanna Del Rey 4 hours ago

    Jamie Brewer in American Horror Story? She was one of my favorite characters in Coven

  • Sam
    Sam 9 hours ago

    I don't know if it was intentional, but I liked the paraphrase of the "hard to kill" line from the Hound in Game of Throwns.

  • Sam
    Sam 9 hours ago

    George R. R. Martin included that Tyrion had been trained to perform. He later regretted that, but in the books it was too late and he ended up using it for the plot. Peter Dinkledge refused to include that aspect of the character though. I respect him even more for it.

  • Sam
    Sam 9 hours ago

    The actor from Breaking Bad has Cerebral Palsy, but not as severe as the character. He worked with experts to exaggerate his own real symptoms in an accurate way. He did an amazing job, not just at portraying the disability, but at every aspect of his job.

  • mia mackenzie
    mia mackenzie 12 hours ago

    the movie is based off a book... the award was given to him in the book... the book's pretty good

  • Hades
    Hades 13 hours ago

    oh please i have disabilities and i dont' cry like this girls for such pety things like "he dream he could dance"...i also dream sometimes that i surf like i used too

  • Gabe Coker
    Gabe Coker 15 hours ago

    So much butthurt in one video

  • Silent Slayer
    Silent Slayer 17 hours ago

    uuuuhm!? forest gump? maybe?

  • Michael Mullen
    Michael Mullen 20 hours ago

    Godammit I ended up on a buzzfeed video

  • backtodafuture1987
    backtodafuture1987 22 hours ago

    It seems like it’s hard for the people on the video to accept the fact that most able people, like it or not, do feel sorry for a lot of people with severe disabilities and the families who also live with it. Not everything can be about empowerment, equality, rainbows and sunshine. The Artie character is a great example of this.

  • Rua Greenwood
    Rua Greenwood Day ago

    Dwarf guys are so hot! 🔥 😍

  • Story Cox
    Story Cox Day ago

    I did not enjoy the Wonder movie, the book was way better

  • The-Panda Panda
    The-Panda Panda Day ago

    If you disliked wonder as a movie, you'd probably like it more as a book, because being in pov of auggie makes it 10x better. For example, in the scene where auggie gets the metal in the book he does mention that this doesn't even really mean much to him, as he sees it as an award for just being him, which mirrors the sentiment in this video.

  • Jared DeMarzo
    Jared DeMarzo Day ago

    Buzzfeed: Always offended.

  • CreeperBandito
    CreeperBandito Day ago

    I personally think theyre just looking for things to complain about

  • Heather1 A.
    Heather1 A. Day ago

    I hate seeing hearing people play deaf. The signing is terrible and there's always misconceptions.

  • Shelby Hill
    Shelby Hill Day ago

    Totally off topic but I love the girl with glasses' blush

  • It's shrimp in a bag!

    Matt Murdock from Daredevil, Shaun Murphy from the Good Doctor? I wish you'd do a video with people reacting to them too!!
    Thanks for this!

  • James Dankenheimer

    The biggest part of dancing is having legs. You can’t dance in a wheelchair.

  • Cole Murphy
    Cole Murphy Day ago

    The dude with the disabled arms was the best one out of all of them

  • Ramon Gonzalez
    Ramon Gonzalez Day ago

    Tirion is no doubt my favorite character on GoT.
    P.S - Not gonna lie. The girl with the glasses is super cute.

  • Erin Conyers
    Erin Conyers Day ago

    "It's lazy writing," AMEN!!!

  • syd wachs
    syd wachs Day ago

    This is exactly why I became a writer and story coach. Because storytellers have a responsibility to create safe spaces for ALL people to explore themselves and the world without feeling excluded or judged. Because everyone should be able to see characters similar to them represented. That's the gorgeous thing about the world, right? That every single person is different and adds something wonderful and unique? xx

  • IMaximusDMI
    IMaximusDMI Day ago

    Simon Birch.

  • kornilios js
    kornilios js Day ago

    You can definitely portray that in a dance sequence in a musical

  • Leslie Willis
    Leslie Willis Day ago

    The worst disabled character ever was Felicity on Arrow

  • Paul W
    Paul W 2 days ago

    Is Peter disabled? Shorter then average granted but he has accomplished more then most ever will! I'm six feet three inches and yes I can reach higher physically but Peter has a reach that spans the world and without wanting to seem flippant I'm sure if we were to test this out we would find a lot of things Peter is more able to do physically then I. What I'm trying (and probably failing miserably) to say is that we should stop viewing each of us on our differences and more on what each of us can bring to the table as it were!

  • Griffin H
    Griffin H 2 days ago

    It is not at all offending to show a scene about someone wanting to walk... Not every disabled person has went through the exact same experience

  • Ino Parthenopaeus
    Ino Parthenopaeus 2 days ago

    Come thruu Tyrion

  • ChelsRen
    ChelsRen 2 days ago

    Don’t act so high and mighty, some of these things were made because they’re relatable for disabled people and non-disabled people or the actor was legitimately talented or the story actually actually centered around the disability. Seriously, stop looking for ways to be unsatisfied. It’s not all mocking or pandering, don’t act like a lot of disabled people don’t struggle with being disabled.

  • Naomi Chu
    Naomi Chu 2 days ago

    6:45 I didn't feel bad for them... I was just viewing the story. Honestly they seem really biased... But I guess people would be mad if any char is played by someone that's not their race/disability/etc... I dunno... I thought Leo was good and respected the part...

  • Jennifer Gates
    Jennifer Gates 2 days ago

    As a person with a disability, I also agree that we don't have to date others who also have a disability. We can be with whomever we choose as long as the two of you can build a stable relationship.
    Yea Tyrion! 😁👍

  • Jennifer Gates
    Jennifer Gates 2 days ago

    I love how the director and producers made "Wonder"! Not only did you get to see Auggie's side of the story & the others involved in his life, but you also got a chance to take a look at what their motives were for choosing how to act the way they did! 😊👍

  • Jennifer Gates
    Jennifer Gates 2 days ago

    I think if they balanced Artie's desire to be like others with accepting who he is and follow it up with a dance sequence celebrating while In the wheelchair, then it could work. Also, maybe instead of dancing in the mall, he could be imagine a world of disabled people being the norm and "normal people" being treated like a disabled person is on a day to day basis.

  • V Smith
    V Smith 2 days ago

    They should have discussed American Horror Story/ freak show for their portrayal of disabilities. I was excited about Mat Frasier since he was amazing in his depth of character having phocomelia of the arms. My daughter has that diagnosis but more limitating to where she is a foot user as well to using her pseudo arms. Looks like the dude could have related to that character the most as well.

  • Johann Webb
    Johann Webb 2 days ago

    "down syndrome in real life, too"...of course she does...

  • Eli Golden
    Eli Golden 2 days ago

    I am just saying I dont care about his disabilities I care about his strength and ability to over come no matter what I was not born disabled it came later in life the disability does not define any one.

  • Tony Marshall
    Tony Marshall 2 days ago

    I like what ps eating Gilbert grape and dicario’s performance because it’s the most accurate movie to my life. My brother acted exactly like Arny and although it would have been grate if he was portrayed by someone with a mental disability I can understand why that could be unreliable for these kind of shoots. One thing I do hate about this movie is the same reason I hate rainman which is that whenever I tell someone my brothers autistic they recommend those movies to me. Or worse just go “oh.....so he’s good at math”

  • kaylyn koone
    kaylyn koone 2 days ago

    i feel like this is saying that if you have one type of disability of any type, you know the struggle of all kinds of disabilities. like. i have a disability but i think we should let people talk about their own disability experiences not just group it as all who have a disability

  • Joe Schmo
    Joe Schmo 2 days ago

    Ha retards

  • erin
    erin 2 days ago

    You should have done Raven from the 100

  • Valentina Munoz
    Valentina Munoz 2 days ago

    Also well, this is buzzfeed

  • Valentina Munoz
    Valentina Munoz 2 days ago

    What’s eating Gilbert grape is such a beautiful well done movie, I have a sister who is mentally disabled and I take no offence to Leo’s character what so ever. I truly believe Leo deserves an oscar for it, he really researched he spent time with people with disabilities, he made sure he got it right. If you’re offended by his role then you might as well me offended by Forrest Gump.

  • Robyn Wilson
    Robyn Wilson 2 days ago +1

    So glad they didn't bring up casting an actor with a disability for Wonder. Had they actually cast a child with Auggies condition it would risk the child's well-being, they kind of had to use make up and I HATE when people act like casting someone with a disability ALWAYS has to be the case, sometimes it's too dangerous to Do, y'know?

  • Michal Yaari
    Michal Yaari 2 days ago

    Why is someone with one type of disability talking about other types of disabilities?

  • RJ Robertson-DeGraaff

    I feel like they should've included "Fundamentals of caring"
    Good characters but the story is built around his disability.

  • Krystal Raymond
    Krystal Raymond 3 days ago

    I wish someone would analyze Bubbles from Trailer Part boys. Like I refuse to watch it, cause I feel like that is just terrible. But my husband keeps insisting the Bubbles Actor is the smartest person on the show. The actor ruined his eye sight to wear glasses and portray an individual with visions issues and its not clear if the character has other disabilities. I can't decided if it's disrespectful or trashy but inspiring. Idk what do you think?

  • Nikki Nixon
    Nikki Nixon 3 days ago +1

    I thought the same thing about Auggie getting the award! I thought it should have been Jack Will or someone, and it sounds awful but I feel like Auggie was supported not a supporter.

  • kendraklopfenstein
    kendraklopfenstein 3 days ago

    Where’s speechless? That’s such a good show with a disabled actor

  • TotalNoobasaur
    TotalNoobasaur 3 days ago

    6:38 There are several disabilities that indicate a dramatically shorter lifespan. I've never seen this movie and I don't know what disability the character has, but I do know that some disabilities are like that. I knew a boy once with a disability that made his brain stop developing at the age of three so he was twelve and still acted like a toddler. He wasn't supposed to live past four or five (his father told me that)
    I understand that as a person who is not disabled in any way except mentally (and even then it's very minor) I'm not in a great position to argue, but I know for a fact that she was spreading misconceptions about misconceptions

  • Doka Roberts
    Doka Roberts 3 days ago

    the glee clip is so out of context

  • ImaginaryMdA
    ImaginaryMdA 3 days ago

    "...but a dance sequence?" ...you do know the concept of glee right?
    Literally everything in glee is a dance sequence.

  • Thaddeus J
    Thaddeus J 3 days ago

    Love to see another video reviewing Mask, Radio, and Rainman.

  • Mermaliade
    Mermaliade 3 days ago +1

    As a below-the-knee amputee I found this to be really well put together and relatable. Thank you for putting this together!

  • kai lee
    kai lee 3 days ago

    Hannah looks so much like Emilia Clarke.

  • greendayfecer
    greendayfecer 3 days ago

    I have a lot of issues with glee. I will always love Becky to pieces especially in the earlier seasons, but then in later seasons like the school shooting? It made me mad because it felt like such a disservice. Firstly it seemed like because she has Down syndrome no one noticed her struggling with change, especially with graduation, etc. and secondly sue giving Becky a job instead of help made it seem like she was given special treatment.
    I just..glee got a lot of stuff wrong. I don’t know what their aim was with that episode, especially with zero trigger warnings including that episode.

  • dienazday81
    dienazday81 3 days ago

    You forgot bran from game of thrones!!!

  • Annie Tsering
    Annie Tsering 3 days ago

    Somehow the girl in the black t-shirt reminds me of Rory Gilmore :O

  • Annie Tsering
    Annie Tsering 3 days ago

    Peter Dinklage is the coolest. I am abled but I myself was tired of always seeing little people in ridiculous roles and hey, he slapped Joffrey 😂😂😂

  • Annie Tsering
    Annie Tsering 3 days ago

    Arthie's character is problematic in the way that he is portrayed as only having the opportunity to be happy as an abled person.

  • dontay15 -
    dontay15 - 3 days ago +1

    Verne Troyer would be a great example but too soon rip Verne

  • Meme Iselfaneye
    Meme Iselfaneye 3 days ago

    Arnie was great in What's Eating Giblert Grape? Very honest depiction, he didn't do it in a mocking or condescending fashion. And it's entirely possible to be given a short window for living...My mom was told I wouldn't see 2, and even suggested she say her goodbyes...I'll be 33 in July.

  • Alex McLean
    Alex McLean 3 days ago

    www.theguardian.com/film/2018/feb/01/three-billboards-portrayal-of-dwarfism-is-reductive-and-ableist-and-i-would-know?CMP=twt_gu

  • marisdc
    marisdc 3 days ago

    I'm disabled and I loved Wonder, I don't think that the community is so clearly against it like this video suggests. I fully agree with them though that Walter Jr. on Breaking Bad was an amazing character and one of the best representations of disability on film/TV!

  • Grace Tarpey
    Grace Tarpey 4 days ago

    wonder is such a brilliant book, haven't seen the film tho

  • Mimi Frogbutt
    Mimi Frogbutt 4 days ago

    I like how they're all like "Oh make the Glee character love himself" and that's literally what happens. That just makes all the point you bring up seem moot, since it's clear they didn't research this at all. Try to not make yourselves look ignorant when you do something like this, as it only hurts your cause. It turns you into whining babies who could even watch what you're complaining about

  • sekar arum sukarna
    sekar arum sukarna 4 days ago

    .. artie did accept his situation .. you need to watch the entire series ..

  • мαrιαн
    мαrιαн 4 days ago

    ARTIE DOES FIND SELF ACCEPTANCE. jeez
    the way I saw it, we awarded and made people with disabilities feel special and loved, because kids who were different got bullied and probably felt left out a lot. but whatever, ok, i wont opent he door next time i see one of yall if you want to complain so bad

  • Walrus Platypus
    Walrus Platypus 4 days ago

    Eileen Leahy, anyone?
    (if you get what that’s from then kudos to you)

  • Hannah Maxwell
    Hannah Maxwell 4 days ago

    These people have clearly not seen these shoes. Especially Artie from glee. Like Jesus Christ

  • Sophia sabatoge
    Sophia sabatoge 4 days ago

    Auggy doesn't have a disability tho

  • Maggie Power
    Maggie Power 4 days ago

    If anyone is looking for a tv series that both accurately represents the daily life of a family with a disabled son while also being absolutely hilarious, check out the show Speechless.

  • Bruce Wayne
    Bruce Wayne 4 days ago

    These people wanna go through life not as victims or receiving any special treatment. Respect.

  • Delaney Aydel
    Delaney Aydel 4 days ago

    “I’m here and I’m hard to kill.”
    We would get along very well, I think.

  • VerticalVoid
    VerticalVoid 4 days ago

    3:57 Oh hey Lafayette!

  • John Smith
    John Smith 4 days ago

    Dwarfism isnt really a disability. The worlf is just built for taller people. Thats all.

  • Red de Turismo Accesible - Ecuador

    Cinema it's ok about living disability, but #Redtaec loves to show real experiences on our next extreme and accessible adventures. More? ➡www.turismoaccesibleec.org Accessible Tourism Network Ecuador

  • Txler Fx
    Txler Fx 4 days ago

    My problem with this video is that you can tell all these people were told to like the characters that were actually disabled irl and have a problem with able actors that try and play disabled characters

  • Connection Points
    Connection Points 4 days ago

    Peter Dinklage doesn't care about being cast as a comedic character in the past because he doesn't care what people think.

  • Eden-louise Maye
    Eden-louise Maye 4 days ago

    I JUST HAVE SO MUCH LOVE FOR EVERYONE 💗💕💓

  • aldale
    aldale 4 days ago

    Wonder is meant for kids, of course adults already 'get' the message

  • Juel Ortiz
    Juel Ortiz 4 days ago

    Yo that was my substitute teacher

  • jetnight 88
    jetnight 88 4 days ago

    Hate you buzzfeed

  • Mo
    Mo 4 days ago +1

    I can understand not hiring a little boy with face disfigurement because there aren't that many who would even want to act. But why couldn't they find an actor who needs a wheelchair? There must be hundreds of thousands in the US alone

  • britt stiffter
    britt stiffter 4 days ago

    Where is american horror story with the amazing matt freiser??

  • Lois Plone
    Lois Plone 5 days ago

    What about Micah Fowler who plays JJ on Speechless? I think he is an amazing actor. I would have loved to see what these people thought of him.

  • Nadine Doyle
    Nadine Doyle 5 days ago

    hello buzzfeed! if you actually followed the plot line of wonder/watched the whole movie, you would understand that he didn't just get the award for being disabled, he got it for being extremely smart, being a true fighter and being a great person in general. Being a person who studied the novel that inspired this movie, I believe it should be looked at with greater care next time. But then again, this is buzzfeed so when isn't it a bit wrong.

  • D Valentine Bernabé

    Well one they're portraying things that aren't even relatable to anyone regarding if they're able body or disable. And another thing they're critiquing movies that just are made to be better than real life!

  • Marko Helm
    Marko Helm 5 days ago

    Why were there no animated characters like Toph or Timmy im this list. Are they not worth mentioning?

  • StrayZ_ YT
    StrayZ_ YT 5 days ago

    Ayee Deadass Christopher was a Substitute in my School and its Awesome how he got on Buzzfeed!

  • Kruto
    Kruto 5 days ago +1

    You gathered the most easily offended disabled people. I'm not surprised, buzzfeed

  • astralvenus
    astralvenus 5 days ago

    The commentators are so fuken bitter, just vinegar running through their veins. The movies show the power of imagination and the struggle to overcome day to day. The good and accepting way you are because of disabilities is not even real just by the way the trash the characters is the proof. Even ppl without disabilities have dreams that they can't achieve

  • cancer sucks
    cancer sucks 5 days ago

    Don't be fooled guys! I have more than one friend with Treacher Collins Syndrome who loved Wonder.

  • Adri Willes
    Adri Willes 5 days ago

    With my uncle being autistic among other disablitities,and with my mom working with people with disabilities,arnie is actually a pretty good representation... my grandmother was told my uncle may have a shorter lifespan and that he would likely be in the hospital a lot more than average.

  • CrazyD0glady
    CrazyD0glady 5 days ago

    Is it just me or do they only approve of the character when the actor is disabled?

  • Niamh Costello
    Niamh Costello 5 days ago

    I was born with 8 fingers and that is the 'normal' to me. I can't even comprehend what it's like to have 10 fingers, it's a crazy thought to me! I hope that there's more diversity for disabled people in the media without focusing too much on their differences

  • derp mcderp
    derp mcderp 5 days ago

    oooooohhhh im soooo sowwwyyyyy but they went for reality in the shows. which one of you f$$$s doesnt want to not be disabled

  • TheLittle Clips
    TheLittle Clips 5 days ago

    Alright then