People Living With Disabilities Review Characters With Disabilities

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 10, 2018
  • "...when they cast someone who actually has a disability, almost always we get a more dynamic story."
    Credits: www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/54118
    Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo!
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1
    bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet
    GET MORE BUZZFEED:
    www.buzzfeed.com
    www.buzzfeed.com/videos
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedvideo
    usclip.net/user/asis
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedblue
    usclip.net/user/buzzfeedviolet
    usclip.net/user/perolike
    usclip.net/user/ladylike
    BuzzFeedVideo
    BuzzFeed Motion Picture’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily!
    Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: goo.gl/gQKF8m
    MUSIC
    SFX Provided By AudioBlocks
    (www.audioblocks.com)
    Wandering at Night_Full
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Coming Home_Full
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Leaving Home_Full (1)
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Weird Neighbour_Full (1)
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Preschool Play_Full (1)
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Day Trip_Full
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    My Family_Full
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    Clarity_60Sec
    Licensed via Warner Chappell Production Music Inc.
    VIDEO
    People walking in city night background with lights. Out of focus background blur
    JadeThaiCatwalk/Getty Images
    EXTERNAL CREDITS
    Special Thanks:
    Pamela Rae Schuller
    @PamelaComedy
    +
    Eman Rimawi
    @Eman_Rimawi
    +
    Courtesy:
    Glee / Fox Wonder / Lionsgate Breaking Bad / AMC What's Eating Gilbert Grape / Paramount Pictures Game Of Thrones / HBO

Comments • 1 760

  • Starry Night
    Starry Night Day ago

    The way Glee handled Artie, bisexuality and Asian characters sucked sooo bad. I'm glad that show is over

  • See My Way Elin Williams

    Why isn’t Dare Devil in this? Or any blind/deaf reviewers???

  • Asl Cuber
    Asl Cuber 3 days ago

    I like wonder but my main gripe with it that the character wasn’t deaf like they said in the movie overall the person who played him did really well

  • TeaandFiona
    TeaandFiona 5 days ago

    I always thought Dinklage was hot even in Elf

  • Morgan MacRae
    Morgan MacRae 5 days ago

    peter, goddamn why does he do it to us

  • MnMPryoBanana
    MnMPryoBanana 11 days ago

    Good stuff.

  • Pretty Little Liar
    Pretty Little Liar 11 days ago

    What an inspiration. "We want to be inspired too".. What a slap in the face. Wake up humanity!

  • Jolie Mwah
    Jolie Mwah 12 days ago

    I loveeeeee this! Its refreshing to hear such insight, thank God for the internet because this can definitely be addressed all over the world! We want to see more of this!

  • Karissa Santana
    Karissa Santana 13 days ago

    Could y'all make a similar video of:
    Deaf people Review Characters that are "Deaf" In TV and Movies?

  • Ed Lothia
    Ed Lothia 15 days ago

    They didn't bring up Jamie Brewers AHS roles which I think are so great! especially from "coven"

  • LUCIA CURRAN LANE
    LUCIA CURRAN LANE 18 days ago

    I didn’t see that part in glee

  • Jennifer .S
    Jennifer .S 19 days ago +1

    What about Reggie in Call The Midwife? Those episodes get me in tears every time. He's such a great character!

  • Nicola Locke
    Nicola Locke 20 days ago

    The crush is real!

  • Hannah G
    Hannah G 20 days ago

    As a person with many disabilities, I feel like the majority of what they say in this video is petty and purposefully negative. Nothing annoys me more than people nit picking the hell out of things.
    By the time it got to the discussion of Arnie in What’s Eating Gilbert Grape, I was just plain annoyed.

  • Esme.Equine
    Esme.Equine 22 days ago

    Look. Just because you are disabled, doesn’t mean you can be the police on “properly portrayed disabled people.” It’s sad, that you have to go through what you go through, but please, don’t get mad at directors and actors for trying. It’s like saying just because I’m white I can criticize the movies with white females and say “well this isn’t how I live, I’m offended by the character.” That isn’t right.

  • CrappyOneshots
    CrappyOneshots 23 days ago

    No bran?

  • Phoebe Congloebe
    Phoebe Congloebe 24 days ago

    Where's Sean Murphy from The Good Doctor?

  • SlothSlow
    SlothSlow 24 days ago

    Wish they added Ivar the Boneless from Vikings probably one of the more badass characters on the show (After Ragnar and Bjorn)

  • Gianna Faith
    Gianna Faith 24 days ago

    Wow that guy is a savage 😂

  • Andrianna Lu
    Andrianna Lu 25 days ago

    what about Dustin from Stranger Things?

  • Mike Danek
    Mike Danek 25 days ago

    "I'm here, and I'm hard to kill." That is hands down one of the most badass things anyone has ever said.

  • jennifer yvette reyna
    jennifer yvette reyna 27 days ago

    I can see why people would find Leonardo DiCaprio's acting offensive but I don't agree that the movie is supposed to make the audience feel sorry for the family because of Arnie's disability. The story is about Gilbert and his struggle to take care of his family while trying to live his own life. The relationship between Arnie and Gilbert is a big part of the story but it isn't all there is to the movie. Also, you can't forget that the Arnie wasn't the only character in the movie with a disability. The mother is morbidly obese and is a shut in.

  • Darmath
    Darmath 27 days ago

    QQ

  • Cait P.
    Cait P. 27 days ago

    It's also worthwhile noting that using "name actors" can be a really good in for people who otherwise aren't exposed to media featuring disabled people, and the choice of actor very rarely impacts a character's narrative (the writer and director do) .

  • Cait P.
    Cait P. 28 days ago

    Would have been great for you guys to touch on what successful movies featuring disabilities exist from the 90s onward so your audience have some inspiration about what they can look up and watch.

  • Dino Saurus
    Dino Saurus 28 days ago

    If you don't have people on the panel with cognitive diabilities, don't review those characters. In Particular, don't review characters with cognitive disabilities that severely affect them. How do you know that your panel doesn't also have misconceptions about cognitive and intellectual disabilities?

    • TheIrishninjas
      TheIrishninjas 26 days ago

      Disability is such a broad spectrum that even if they were to add people with cognitive disabilities to the panel, people would still complain. I think the point of this is to say that as a whole, the disabled community is represented poorly in society.

  • Alex Martinez
    Alex Martinez 28 days ago

    I can't believe no one thought to bring up Simon Birch, who tf??

  • Super
    Super 28 days ago +1

    That guy has really gross hands

  • Jessica Bushell-Hale
    Jessica Bushell-Hale 28 days ago

    I am curious what people with disabilities think of the woman from Kingsman. She was an amputee with leg blades and about as over the top as any other character in the movie.

  • AD Queen
    AD Queen 28 days ago

    Super cool! It is super interesting of hearing their poin of view since I have a compleatly different one

  • Lauren M
    Lauren M 28 days ago

    I love the disability content please keep it coming, most aren’t talking about disability.

  • Kayla Packer
    Kayla Packer 28 days ago

    If anyone wants a story of a disabled person doing amazing things, there's a movie called an Uphill Climb. It won a mid America Emmy award. It's about a man with cerebral palsy. It goes through the steps of his day to day life while also documenting the insane things he's accomplished including climbing to base camp of Mt. Everest.

    • Kayla Packer
      Kayla Packer 28 days ago

      The man's name is Kyle Packer and he's my dad.

  • torinju
    torinju 28 days ago

    Am I am the only one that is relieved they liked Tyrion? He is one of my favorite all time characters and I would have been really disappointed if I found out I was missing something horrible about his portrayal.

  • Joseph Cabral
    Joseph Cabral 29 days ago

    I can’t believe they didn’t do my left foot!

  • 천재짱짱맨뿡뿡

    I mean yeah but leo did a fantastic job at that role. I dont think any abled human could portray a condition like that so consistently and naturally. offensive or not, that took serious talent on his part.

  • Heavy Object
    Heavy Object Month ago

    With biomechanics everything is possible

  • Makemehappy
    Makemehappy Month ago

    Is it bad to say i think these guys are biased

    • TheIrishninjas
      TheIrishninjas 26 days ago

      Well, able-bodied people tend to be biased as well, so it balances out.

  • Tsukuri Takeshiro
    Tsukuri Takeshiro Month ago

    This video was so wonderful. Could you guys please do a similar one for Trans people and for Autistics, or people with mental disorders, please? I would love to see more people like me weighing in on the perceptions that Hollywood and such seem to have on persons like me and how people like me react to it.

  • Marco Barragan
    Marco Barragan Month ago

    the girl in black is amazing

  • Anne van Lierop
    Anne van Lierop Month ago

    I expected to see American Horror Story on here! There's a lot of disabled characters there that I really loved, especially Nan in Coven and the disabled characters in Freak Show (the ones played by disabled actors). It would have been easy (and lazy writing) to make their disabilities the 'horror' part of the show but it didn't seem that way to me. I can only watch it as an able-bodied person though so it would've been nice to get a different perspective.

  • Joelx27
    Joelx27 Month ago

    Yo that guy Christopher was my substitute teacher he is an amazing guy man love that guy

  • Scrappy Coco
    Scrappy Coco Month ago

    Judging by title this is the most pointless video..

    • TheIrishninjas
      TheIrishninjas 26 days ago

      What makes it 'pointless', in your opinion?

  • HaichaoTeaLover
    HaichaoTeaLover Month ago

    I think this was a bit unfair, especially in the case of Glee. I think the best actor should play a role, regardless of if the actor himself is disabled or not. That's like saying you can't have a war drama without real soldiers as actors, or a gay character without the actor having to be gay too, and so on. It feels weird to me to say "I don't want people to pity us, I don't want to get a prize just for being what I am" but then also expecting every disabled role to only be given to disabled actors?
    Specifically in case of Archie, the actor portrayed him really well, and his character arc was much more than "his disability". Glee was a positive show - everyone had some problems they had to grow from and overcome. Archie not only learnt to love himself with his wheelchair, he encountered many other typical teen problems too that he eventually got over, just like any other character in the show.

  • R L
    R L Month ago

    it is easy to justify casting non-disabled actors in disabled roles when there are no famous actors who have the disability the filmmakers are portraying
    but it sucks because people like me - autistic psychotic people - never get to see ourselves on screen in a realistic light. we project onto caricature characters like harley quinn or deadpool because there are /so few/ neurodivergent characters who are portrayed well that we have to settle with literal cartoons for solidarity until we make friends online who share experiences.
    and that's just my own experience as someone whose disabilities are easy to hide and pretend dont exist.
    stop using us as inspiration porn. at least Peter Dinklage can demand it, but i want every disabled actor to have that power.

  • Creighton Harris-Dorsey

    This is nice...but they all seem so bitter. I guess no one remembers Corky from Life Goes On either. But yeah this all seemed a little like lets give angry people a platform. I have worked in special education, and worked with people who are physically and developmentally challenged, and none of them seem this jaded/angered by television shows. I have a 14 year old who loves the Good Doctor and says its not real but the doctor is incredible (and cute)

  • The Redcoat
    The Redcoat Month ago +1

    Stop pushing diversity, you don't need to see someone like yourself in media to be happy about your disability. Just be yourself.

  • JoinMeInDeathBaby
    JoinMeInDeathBaby Month ago

    Where is Matt Murdoch/Daredevil?

  • Lucas A
    Lucas A Month ago

    do a mental health one!!!!
    review stuff like mental illness portrayed in american horror story (violet and tate), to the bone, 13rw, etc

  • Yung Mayonaise
    Yung Mayonaise Month ago

    The dude with fucked up arms is the best thing ever

  • Sustainable Dallas
    Sustainable Dallas Month ago

    This is a video worth watching! Not something I often see from Buzzfeed. Well done this time & thanks participants for bringing wisdom and light to a topic I didn't have a lot of information on

  • bexnmoo
    bexnmoo Month ago

    I have asperger's, tourette's, and gender identity disorder. (Those are just the prominent ones)

  • Erm !
    Erm ! Month ago

    Have we done invisible disabilities?
    Like Crohns.... Cept watching a character run to the bathroom every 30 minutes prolly isn't all that interesting lol.

  • Hazel Nut
    Hazel Nut Month ago

    Wonder? The book was better.

  • Fantastic Elastic
    Fantastic Elastic Month ago

    Fake and gay

  • Douch Mush
    Douch Mush Month ago

    Where is nemo

  • Douch Mush
    Douch Mush Month ago

    You can dance in a wheelchair when you get drunk

  • Teddi
    Teddi Month ago

    I don't see the problem with Leo's acting. He was portraying a character with a mental disability, not a physical one.

  • Padraig Pearse
    Padraig Pearse Month ago

    Joseph Merrick?

  • Courtney Dowell
    Courtney Dowell Month ago

    I like that you guys included good and bad examples

  • VaellieTheAngel
    VaellieTheAngel Month ago

    they really should have given more clips for Artie. He does reach the point of loving himself for him, but it takes a realistically long time to reach that. The fact is, he loved dancing when he was able to walk, and when that was taken away, yea, he could still dance with his upper half, but he couldn't be as expressive. it took a large part of the series for him to get to the point where he could accept his own reality. He was a beautiful, complex character, and the way Glee handled his and other character's disabilities was awesome.

    • VaellieTheAngel
      VaellieTheAngel Month ago

      and with Becky, I enjoyed her so much. She was spunky, she was expressive. She played off of Sue so well and she was this incredible way of expressing confidence despite disability. IN particular (i mean, spoilers if you haven't already watched Glee) when Sue's sister, who also suffered from down syndrome, died, and becky sort of filled that little gap in Sue's heart, I felt that so much.
      This goes for every other disabled character in glee (and there are quite a few) you get to see them work through that, you see them struggle and try their best.

  • KennedyEbony
    KennedyEbony Month ago

    Walter Jr. is freaking awesome. He doesn't exist as a walking pity party to incite feelings of "Aww, that poor sweetie. Hang in there, little guy!" Nope. He is a regular teenager--rebellion, sass, and all. Hell, even Walter Sr. turned the whole "passive cancer patient" stereotype on it's head! He is not a victim. People have hurt him, but he hurts right back. He IS the danger.

  • Morgan Rackley
    Morgan Rackley Month ago

    but there are kids with Down syndrome who act very similarly to Leonardo DiCaprio's character. It's just on the more extreme end of the spectrum

  • Tangeled Princess
    Tangeled Princess Month ago

    ♥️♥️♥️♥️

  • Lelanick Santiago
    Lelanick Santiago Month ago

    I feel like that episode where Arty dreams of dancing was used to show what he could actually do not the character, the actor.

  • Susan Sharp
    Susan Sharp Month ago

    Is it crazy that I don't see the disability?I see it...I am not blind but I see people and not the disability...maybe the way I was raised...who knows.

  • Leslie Sauceman
    Leslie Sauceman Month ago

    Peter Dinklage is handsome and a great actor.

  • Topidoit
    Topidoit Month ago

    I was waiting for gilbert grape to show up

  • ThePiccoloCat
    ThePiccoloCat Month ago +1

    3:58 Daveed! :O

  • I'M KAYD BABY
    I'M KAYD BABY Month ago

    As a disabled person, the lack of characters that I can relate to, definitely influenced my self-esteem growing up. I forget how isolated I felt, and how much I struggled until I watch things like this, and it hurts, but it needs too. How can you ever heal if you do not acknowledge that you have been wounded?

  • Anopolis
    Anopolis Month ago

    handicapped people with TONS OF MAKEUP.....and scripted as a mother..its not sincerer its gross

  • Nater Tater
    Nater Tater Month ago

    These people sound like they are full of spite.....

  • 7 Luna
    7 Luna Month ago

    I love these people

  • kyle magaro
    kyle magaro Month ago

    When I worked at a day care I experienced the family of two of my favorite kids go from not knowing about there 2 year olds down syndrome, to not knowing what to do, to being embarrassed for him at times, to eventually accepting him and working with him to the point where I was the only person outside of the family that even knew at the day care. Now they were lucky enough to be very wealthy though, he had speaking, walking, education, socialization, basically everything you could think of, tutors.

  • Serai3
    Serai3 Month ago

    It's not about names, it's about talent. They look for the best actor, not the biggest name.

  • thandi garrett
    thandi garrett Month ago

    Hey! What about JJ from Speechless?

  • QuickPlay
    QuickPlay Month ago

    I have a polydactyl thumb. Am I disabled?

  • J B
    J B Month ago

    everyone has a crush on Peter dinklage

  • Pillbo Baggins
    Pillbo Baggins Month ago +2

    Becky was fantastic in Glee, she was hilarious. "get me some chocolate or i'll cut you!"

  • hulas shoupe
    hulas shoupe Month ago

    i have a 90%curve in my spine and nf1 /2

  • hulas shoupe
    hulas shoupe Month ago

    tyren is a pimp

  • Brynn Money
    Brynn Money Month ago

    No Ivar the Boneless!? That’s disappointing. I really wanted to know what they thought of that character.

  • juliamadeline
    juliamadeline Month ago

    does the blonde woman have a youtube channel or blog or anything!? She is so well spoken, i’d love to hear more from her!

  • SpellMagic0
    SpellMagic0 Month ago

    Game of thrones' midget is a hunk omg

  • Cyberkitt
    Cyberkitt Month ago

    Im sorry I SAW DAVEED DIGGS AND IM SOBBING

  • My Sweet Pets!
    My Sweet Pets! Month ago

    Honestly I wasn't going to watch Wonder because I read the book and I new it probably wasn't going to be as good, but Daveed Diggs was in it so...

  • Heaven Atsbeha
    Heaven Atsbeha Month ago

    R.J. Mitte!!!

  • Jim Jong Jung
    Jim Jong Jung Month ago +1

    Didn't want to touch sheldon cooper eh? Or any other adult with a non physical disability? Well, it's cool you tried. I guess I shouldn't have expected more than the topical.

  • Vincenza8907
    Vincenza8907 Month ago

    Oh god buzzfeed what have you done? These people are not an authority on what people with disabilities experience. Only their experience. Also, Leonardo DiCaprio spent extensive time with someone who was mentally disabled, so you should blame that guy.

  • Sarah Jane Schaddelee
    Sarah Jane Schaddelee Month ago +2

    Why is my girl toph not on here?

  • Elda Marker
    Elda Marker Month ago

    🤔 Is dwarfism a disability? It's a genetic condition that obviously affects your growth & body structure, but I don't understand how it would disable a person?

  • DJLuke420
    DJLuke420 Month ago

    "We move the same, omg that amazing" self absorbed

  • Kenny Lassen
    Kenny Lassen Month ago

    wow just when you think buzzfeed couldnt be a worse company - this is the idiotic

  • Sophie Williams
    Sophie Williams Month ago

    If they only showed them clips from the shows, it's not an accurate picture of the whole character.

  • Pastel Kitten
    Pastel Kitten Month ago

    They all are allowed to have there opinions and they're disabled anx I'm not. But I do think theyre taking everything a bit to far. They seem to be oversensitive to everything. Like just because you have a disability doesn't mean you know about them all so don't be oversensitive

  • 브룬도ᄆ
    브룬도ᄆ Month ago

    why only male characters? what about arizona from greys anatomy? what about any other female character? just ONE, maybe?

  • Ennello
    Ennello Month ago

    I still don't think it's representative to have physically disabled people react to mentally disabled people. I can imagine it's a completely different struggle... This video does give a good image of what a disabled person deals with, but I still wonder what it would be like for mentally disabled people.

  • Juliette K.
    Juliette K. Month ago +1

    Christopher is such a cutie.

  • Matilda Björn
    Matilda Björn Month ago

    What about Ivar from Vikings?

  • Cheese Person
    Cheese Person Month ago

    Plot twist! This is an ad for Game of Thrones