Nokia 9 PureView Review: Trust The Process(ing)

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 22, 2019
  • Sponsored by RetailMeNot. Visit my link to download the free RetailMeNot Genie browser extension and start saving the easy way: bit.ly/2CuVraW. Then reply to my pinned comment below to enter to win a $100 VISA gift card!

    [NOKIA 9 PUREVIEW REVIEW]

    Nokia has always reserved the name “PureView” for phones that push the boundaries of photography. When it launched in 2012, the original 808 PureView packed a then-giant 41-megapixel sensor that made digital zoom useful for the first time. And the PureView Lumia phones that followed spent years just slaying everyone else when it came to low light photos, while also introducing Optical Image Stabilization to the mainstream.
    The newest PureView comes from a new Nokia, and it tackles a new angle. This is the Nokia 9 PureView. Its mission: to bring some of the depth and dynamic range of professional still cameras to the smartphone world, without the cost and the bulk. When it succeeds, it produces photographs that ooze character, with an authenticity you won’t get from any other phone. But just like you don’t get money for nothin’... you don’t get these clicks for free. Join me for the Nokia 9 PureView review!

    [SUBSCRIBE TO MRMOBILE]
    usclip.net/channel/UCSOpcUkE-is7u7c4AkLgqTw

    [ABOUT THIS VIDEO]
    MrMobile's Nokia 9 PureView review was produced following 18 days with a Nokia 9 PureView review device provided by HMD Global. The device was running build number 00WW_4_19A and received one software update during the review process. A second update is promised to address the camera sluggishness and crashing issues, but was not delivered by presstime.

    [LINKS]
    Nokia 808 PureView Unboxing [Pocketnow]:
    usclip.net/video/utHkrG5KOL0/video.html
    AT&T Lumia 1020 - Pro Camera [Windows Central]:
    usclip.net/video/p86emCw2biI/video.html
    Lumia 1020 Review [Pocketnow]:
    usclip.net/video/oIE6uBTtE-E/video.html
    Lumia 930 Hands-On [Windows Phone]:
    usclip.net/video/34cq69uBtNU/video.html
    Lumia 920 Low-Light Shootout [Engadget]:
    www.engadget.com/2012/09/26/lumia-920-low-light-shootout/
    Star Trek Generations - Soran Interrogates Geordi [These Are The Voyages]:
    usclip.net/video/Vs_jeYgiDNA/video.html

    [MUSIC]
    “Glowing City” by Cymatix, available at Premium Beat:
    www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/glowing-city
    "Lavish Lifestyle" by Vincent Tone, available at Premium Beat: www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/lavish-lifestyle
    “Much More” by Eternity Bro, available at Premium Beat:
    www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/much-more

    [SOCIALIZE]
    facebook.com/themrmobile
    instagram.com/themrmobile
    twitter.com/themrmobile
    mrmobile.tech

    [DISCLOSURE]
    This post may contain affiliate links. See Mobile Nations' disclosure policy for more details: www.mobilenations.com/external-links
    #nokia #pureview #nokia9 #nokiapureview #photography #smartphone #tech
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 107

  • MrMobile [Michael Fisher]

    Sponsored by RetailMeNot. What deal are you most excited to use? Reply here for your chance to win a $100 VISA gift card!

    • Hansamita Majee
      Hansamita Majee 23 hours ago

      Nokia 9 deal

    • Dan Da Man
      Dan Da Man 7 days ago

      i love the stock andriod on the google pixels, and i already used retailmenot to get a pixel xl for 150 and im planning to get a pixel 2xl in the future


      so thats what ill use retailmenot to buy


      (btw i love your vids, they are very professional and i was very surprised to see you only have 768 k subs. good luck to a million)


      (and also please try to use a song called "hold my hand " by Ricci)

    • Bane Tudajfor
      Bane Tudajfor 17 days ago

      I installed the extension but I think the link you provided doesn't work for you!

    • Craig Beam
      Craig Beam 23 days ago

      I already loved you, and then you threw into the Tolian Soran clip. ::swoon::

    • Antonio Ivars Badía
      Antonio Ivars Badía 23 days ago

      Any good deal that helps me to renew the inners of my desktop PC will be more than wellcome!
      Also my wife is getting tired of he LG G5 and it's lack of battery (Wich is the main reason I came here to peek a look at your Nokia's 9 review). I'll probably keep looking for alternatives :D
      Thanks for your video!

  • incediery
    incediery 9 hours ago

    Hey Michael Nokia just pushed an update for this phone that may fix all the issues you had...can you do a follow up review

  • David Harrison
    David Harrison 13 hours ago

    Thought the Soran quote was gonna be “Nice try”...

  • Mike Stevenson
    Mike Stevenson 4 days ago

    This just makes me miss the Lumia 1020 =[

  • Tech smart best
    Tech smart best 6 days ago

    awesome video
    #techsmartbest

  • Bhushan Doiphode
    Bhushan Doiphode 7 days ago

    Those sunglasses are dope! Can you link them down in the description?

  • Tiza
    Tiza 7 days ago

    I'm so tired of this "don't worry if your phone is a buggy mess, bro. we'll fix it later" mentality that HMD Nokia had ever since their inception.
    Other than Nokiafans, I really don't think people are willing to buy those phones just for headaches on user experience.

    • Sven Kindervater
      Sven Kindervater 6 days ago

      Well, as a day-one-owner of a Lumia 920 and a Lumia 950, I can tell you: The software of the 9 PureView is supreme in comparison. Especially the 950 had a completely unfinished beta-version of Windows 10 M. I'm not a huge fan of android, but pie ist really good. And there is no bloatware what so ever on the 9. Yes, ist has some downpoints, but Nokia Phones had these for years. If you are willing to accept them, you get a really good camera-phone.

  • MikeTheShadowWolf
    MikeTheShadowWolf 10 days ago

    Best camera on a smartphone 2019 hands down.The Pixel ain't gonna beat this one.

  • mena seven
    mena seven 10 days ago

    It doesn't make sense to have a specialize camera phone with no SD card slot and no camera button. Regular camera have SD card slot.

  • Farhan Ahmad Tajuddin
    Farhan Ahmad Tajuddin 11 days ago

    4:21-4:37 6:01-6:06 That explains why I never been a fan of fake bokeh. I'd just leave it as it is.

  • Merker Jerker
    Merker Jerker 12 days ago

    Dislike squad!

  • Ramon Martinez
    Ramon Martinez 16 days ago

    cant wait for Nokia to get its second wind..

  • F.K
    F.K 17 days ago

    Was about to say the same, I'll wait for the next one...

  • Fernando Dinis
    Fernando Dinis 18 days ago

    The 10sec delay for photo processing and the fingerprint scanner issue is a deal breaker for many people.

  • mark bell
    mark bell 18 days ago

    So is it going to be best to wait until the 9.1?

  • RS
    RS 19 days ago

    Your reviews are incredible!

  • Lucian BUJOR
    Lucian BUJOR 20 days ago +1

    P30 PRO just destroyed Nokia 9 Pureview. Too bad it has built in backdoor for the Chinese dictatorship government. Recomend BB Key 2.

  • Verni Jahzreal
    Verni Jahzreal 20 days ago

    Can you please make a comparison video between Nokia 7 Plus and Redmi note 7?

  • arun prasadh
    arun prasadh 20 days ago

    Ok , what about back covers/cases for this phone?

  • R.J Williams
    R.J Williams 20 days ago

    It should be called the Nokia Spyder

  • Идешь Нахуй
    Идешь Нахуй 20 days ago

    Могут даже не начинать продавать эту хуету

  • Cameron Cuff
    Cameron Cuff 21 day ago

    This man has an inimitable way with words. It's a pleasure to just listen to his reviews.

  • Winter Is Coming
    Winter Is Coming 21 day ago

    this is bust

  • Dodo Bird
    Dodo Bird 21 day ago

    Nokia is doing pretty good with the camera and it just needs with the rest! It would be perfect!

  • Tobi Olusola
    Tobi Olusola 21 day ago

    How much photos do you take😂

  • tHeWasTeDYouTh
    tHeWasTeDYouTh 22 days ago

    remember when Microsoft bought Nokia Mobile for 8 billion and then after a few years of total fail they fired like 8,000 and now Nokia is making a comeback with Android!!! get rekted Microsoft

  • Omar Qunsul
    Omar Qunsul 22 days ago

    Thanx for reporting the problem with the Finger Print !

  • Al about Food
    Al about Food 23 days ago

    sorry Michael (and the rest of the world) who insist on nano-instant access to the phone. I use the keyboard password (alphanumerical not just 4-5 numbers). Yes, it takes a second or so but it is super secure and very much less "creepy" big brother recording of fingerprints and retinal scans. Just my thoughts

  • TexasGuitarist
    TexasGuitarist 23 days ago

    0:48 I see what you did there. 👊

  • Nicholai
    Nicholai 23 days ago

    What ring are you wearing? 🤔

  • Mr Salman
    Mr Salman 23 days ago

    Nokia was died due to the software their cameras and build quality was already at the best in the market. and they are doing the same thing again not focusing on software.

  • Prateek Pandey
    Prateek Pandey 24 days ago

    One small update for everyone the fingerprint issue has a fix or say you can make it work...

  • Mutazal Luli
    Mutazal Luli 24 days ago

    You are my number one favorite reviewer on youtube. Some Indonesians are trying to follow you but still you are the best! Hope one day we can have an indonesian reviewer on youtube that is as good as you #fingerscrossed

  • Ali Raza
    Ali Raza 24 days ago +1

    Please make camera comparison of nokia 9 with p30 pro

  • Mimoun Gaid
    Mimoun Gaid 25 days ago

    I don't understand why would anyone nees a phone with four cameras?

  • Lyndon Gray
    Lyndon Gray 25 days ago

    Do you ever think you could swap to 60fps while filming? I know its difficult while dealing with 4k content, but i feel like the benefits outweigh the negatives.

  • martin johnson
    martin johnson 25 days ago

    Such a shame in what could be a fantastic way back for the Nokia brand

  • anotherrob1980
    anotherrob1980 25 days ago

    I found the fingerprint scanner useless to start with as well, but then registered my other thumb and both index fingers and the scanner works pretty well without having to excessively press hard.

  • Alex Nguyen
    Alex Nguyen 26 days ago +1

    Hi MrMobile, what is that ring @1: 08?

  • R3M B1A1
    R3M B1A1 26 days ago

    This review was really fricken good, I expect no less. I can't wait for you to review the Sony Xperia 1 which comes out in may.

  • Curious Explorer
    Curious Explorer 26 days ago

    Great review! as always...

  • Ian-Devon Lewis
    Ian-Devon Lewis 26 days ago

    I kinda had to walk away from this video 44sec into this. Used a cell cam picture of an Fuji X-T3 with I'm guessing a 230ish mm lens attachment. Those 2 items alone are like 1900-2000USD. You're promoting a cellphone camera feature. The fact that you have a high-quality camera available... cant even trust all the pictures you're posting in your montage.

    • Ian-Devon Lewis
      Ian-Devon Lewis 14 days ago

      +Luc David I don't get the context

    • Luc David
      Luc David 14 days ago

      +Ian-Devon Lewis Drugs are bad.

    • Ian-Devon Lewis
      Ian-Devon Lewis 26 days ago

      ​+MrMobile [Michael Fisher] Ok. Lets make this a trip. You make a living via cellphone cameras. Seeing as majority of all your videos are on promoting cellphones and cellphone peripherals. Pretty sure you didn't do half of them with cellphone cameras, to say... a quarter, would be over generous or even a 10th would overstatement. You don't talk about the hardware of the camera. Seeing as Zeiss made the point to put its mark on it would mean you can atleast back track the lens that goes into said product.

      You mentioned the finger print reader... and that the device runs hot when processing. Processing what exactly, PokemonGO? What else is there? Your introducing a new phone. Finger print reader sucks. Why does the finger print reader suck? Why does the device run hot while processing? What is the hardware and software on the device? OS(One btw), ram, ssd size options, storage management... expandable memory? Phone to PC transfer/integration? Why does the phone run hot? That's an actual concern lol

      You mentioned 855. OK! That's worth a mention. Thats all it got. You could have gotten an extra minute or two on that. Snapdragon 855 is very interesting, and more interesting how other devices are utilizing and/or under utilizing it. Just saying... 855 kinda helps with the picture process and the experience.

      You make a living with your cellphone cameras; Got it. What is the experience of getting those pictures and videos from cellphone to your final platform? You mentioned saving your pictures to your SSD; Got it. What's the default file type? (RAW is an umbrella term btw.) Nokia wants you to use Google storage; Got it. Any loss in quality after upload and download(questionable re-upload) from phone to site (to final platform)? Just saying... All that 3rd party processing of a digital image deteriorates the digital product, that is the photo; the money maker.

      This is a cellphone review by title, yet its confusing because you didnt review. You made this into a camera review and yet you barely covered the camera. You don't even mention the name of the cellphones' camera archetype seeing as the emphasis is the camera. If the cellphone is a success that will be its signature.

    • MrMobile [Michael Fisher]
      MrMobile [Michael Fisher]  26 days ago

      This is a fun comment. First you suggest that I'm "promoting" a cellphone camera. I'm not; I'm evaluating it and telling you whether you should buy it. Turns out you probably shouldn't, which you'd have heard if you'd stuck around to the end.
      Then you say that the fact that I (a USclipr who makes his living on his cameras) own high-end camera equipment somehow implies that I must be ... what, substituting Fuji photos for the Nokia 9? Why, so I can make it look better? What possible purpose would that serve unless I was being paid by Nokia to promote their phone?
      And to take it one step further: why would I then give the thing a middling review?
      I'm fascinated by the world you've constructed.

  • GUERRILLA CLAN MODERN COMBAT VERSUS

    Fvxk off NOKIA

  • Syed Q
    Syed Q 27 days ago

    Why not 1 million subscribers yet. The most underrated tech youtuber. Plz run some give aways campaigns and also collaborate with other big tech youtubers.

  • Swapnadip Chakraborty
    Swapnadip Chakraborty 27 days ago

    I instantly subscribed only for the quality and the way he delivers it! I would binge watch all your videos if they were on Netflix

  • James M
    James M 27 days ago

    I'll give an A for effort.

  • Hitlar Mama
    Hitlar Mama 27 days ago

    www.mobihat.net/2019/03/nokia-9-pureview.html

  • Irfan Shaikh
    Irfan Shaikh 27 days ago

    I don't think there is second version coming of this phone... Nokia is known for not following up on such phones like the Lumia 1020 never saw another version. Also the photo processing issues time delays have always been there since the 808... I would rather wait for the P30 then spend any dime on this... Imagine not getting the fingerprint reader right, no expandable storage... No excuses there for Nokia...

  • Telering Dataspesialisten

    Wish the 8.1 had ip68 other than that I prefer the 8.1. :p

  • Angus Maclaurin
    Angus Maclaurin 27 days ago

    Fair review, but a number of technical inaccuracies. (1,200 layers of depth does not come from a ToF sensor).

  • B B
    B B 27 days ago

    Nokia 9 is a flop. Too many deficits. Look to Nokia 10 for improvement.

  • B B
    B B 27 days ago

    Nokia 9 is a flop. Look to Nokia 10 for improvement.

  • Kate Angelo
    Kate Angelo 27 days ago

    Nice Oak Island reference! #toppocketfind

  • James Wylie
    James Wylie 27 days ago

    Love the shot of the Tam, one of my favorite bars around here.

  • maliti emmanuel
    maliti emmanuel 28 days ago

    9.1 waiting!!!

  • Rosa Crux
    Rosa Crux 28 days ago

    Strange, in low-light I oftentimes get blown-out highlights with the photo mode and jpegs 😮 .

  • Capt. John Yossarian
    Capt. John Yossarian 28 days ago

    Quality content, interesting phone rev.

  • Victor Lichtenberg
    Victor Lichtenberg 28 days ago

    Honestly, the one thing I'm most amazed at the pictures is how natural / lifelike they look. Really amazing. But that fingerprint reader is really unacceptable. Should've gone with traditional capacitive fingerprint sensor instead. Great review as usual Mr Fisher!

  • Chintada Polarao
    Chintada Polarao 28 days ago

    Nokia is the best

  • Andrea Andrea
    Andrea Andrea 28 days ago

    5 cameras and not a f***ing dedicated button to use them

  • KYB77
    KYB77 28 days ago

    I have that weird dot phobia...feel uneasy looking at those 5 cameras

  • Evwon
    Evwon 28 days ago

    I really want to see this in other flagships. This is amazing.

  • Rob
    Rob 28 days ago

    The camera is overrated

  • Eshcole.com
    Eshcole.com 28 days ago

    The finger print reader alone breaks the whole user experience of the phone. I'll get so irritated with that I wouldn't care if there were no other issues with the phone at all. It's going back to the store!

  • TheKbnrba
    TheKbnrba 28 days ago

    Michael you and Nokia's, loved your lumia reviews and love these ones! #lumiaforlife

  • Shiina Mashiro
    Shiina Mashiro 28 days ago

    How does it fare against Huawei’s Mate 20 Pro?

  • StivensGameZone
    StivensGameZone 28 days ago +1

    Im watching this from my Lumia 1020...and we laught together.. hello son ..

  • 9
    9 28 days ago

    I'm loving the new Nokia and I find the newest features the best!!!. pick me for the gift card ! ☺️

  • Debra Dukes
    Debra Dukes 28 days ago

    Michael absolutely Awesome review and absolutely enjoyed and I can get into a whole thing about fingerprint sensors and other tech things lately but I really loved the Beautiful review and Videos you share and if that is your Beautiful Dog just too Precious.Thanks so much for sharing this Great Review as Always Deb.😉👍✌

  • Franci2a
    Franci2a 28 days ago

    If it had also a 16:9 screen, a MicroSD slot, a removable battery, a better camera app, a hardware camera button, better button placement, better fingerprint sensor, better face unlock, better software, more megapixels on each camera, no glass back, no side mounted speaker, no Continuum-like feature then I would have ditched my loved, still loved, and not-so-old Lumia 950XL with this Nokia, but this Nokia lacks some key features, and it misses many that it has.Nokia could have made a WAY BETTER phone, by not sticking with stupid trends, and try to go original, but it didn't that, and so the phone is... eh... 7/10 for me

  • Amir Lukmanhisyam
    Amir Lukmanhisyam 28 days ago

    Imagine having five 41MP sensors and dedicated image processing chips... Still HMD has to rush this product before snapdragon 845 got completely obsolete... Waiting for the next gen and upcoming P30 Pro 。。。

  • Rickbearcat
    Rickbearcat 28 days ago

    @9:03...I find this astounding. You have 5 camera lenses that should be able to gather 5 times the light that the Pixel does (one vs. five lenses) and yet you can't get, for some reason, enough light to shoot in a dark scene? Sounds as if only one of the camera's lenses was in operation on the Nokia; which should still work okay as the Pixel can do it. Another software flaw on the Nokia here.

  • Rickbearcat
    Rickbearcat 28 days ago

    You are using and mentioning Adobe's Lightroom a lot. But what you aren't saying is that Lightroom is a program that you have to pay for to use. And is also a subscription service that will cost from 9.99/month to 19.99/per month.

    Are there any good free photo editing softwares out there?

  • Josh Tamargo de Rothschild

    2019, does nokia still make phones?
    2025, does apple still make phones?

  • Tournel Henry
    Tournel Henry 28 days ago

    Nokia has lost its touch. I'm sticking with Huawei.
    No SD card, No image stabilisation or dedicated camera button (on a Camera focused phone!!), . What a crap!

  • Mikael Olsson
    Mikael Olsson 28 days ago

    Another way to export your raw photos is to use your OneDrive or similar cloud storage, piece of cake.
    I bought the N9 last week. Yes, it's slippery, yes, the finger print scanner sucks. But that makes you stay more focused and alert, right? 😉

  • ed10908
    ed10908 28 days ago

    CAN'T WAIT TO BUY IT!!! I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT HUWAWEI P20 BUT THIS VIDEO CHANGED MY MIND!

  • raj kumar
    raj kumar 28 days ago

    I would use it for fossil sport

  • Enmy Myen
    Enmy Myen 28 days ago

    It deserve an 855.

  • Evandro Costa
    Evandro Costa 28 days ago

    All of mobile guys reviewers YOU Sir is the BEST!!!
    Great video.

  • elTopo
    elTopo 28 days ago

    5:50, those are nice shades.

  • Chis Reginaldo
    Chis Reginaldo 28 days ago

    You’re more of an artist than a youtuber or tech reviewer, Michael. You also deserve more subscribers 👍

  • ZR1Terror
    ZR1Terror 28 days ago

    Nokia is dead.

  • Stephen Macomber
    Stephen Macomber 28 days ago

    How is it that Nokia can make an awesome camera phone like the Lumia series and then follow it by this Frankenstein that is going to tarnish the Nokia name. It has to be that those who were behind the Lumia are no longer there and the new ownership is preying on those who would follow blindly to a brand they trust.

  • Abishek Deiveekan
    Abishek Deiveekan 28 days ago

    Don’t trust the company though. They just admitted to sending private user data to China.

  • Sign Kabdwal
    Sign Kabdwal 29 days ago

    Wait for next version

  • Federal Bureau of Money

    Everyone should get RetailMeNot! I love getting the coupon codes at checkout!

  • BOSSYtexasCHICK
    BOSSYtexasCHICK 29 days ago

    Great Vid AS ALWAYS : ) what is that on your finger @ 1:12? Thanks! BTC

  • ron bZoom
    ron bZoom 29 days ago

    Nope!

  • Prateek Pandey
    Prateek Pandey 29 days ago +5

    After the use of Nokia 9 for 2 days I can say this is the most honest review...

    • Prateek Pandey
      Prateek Pandey 24 days ago

      One small update for everyone the fingerprint issue has a fix or say you can make it work...

  • arbie cueto
    arbie cueto 29 days ago

    You lost me at the sponsor. Sorry not sorry.

  • Corado Cotuna
    Corado Cotuna 29 days ago

    I wish it also had wide angle and zoom lens ...

  • Nathan Elcoate
    Nathan Elcoate 29 days ago

    Get your RAWs off the phone then FFS.

  • Bavani Sankar
    Bavani Sankar 29 days ago

    Those pics look amazing, but I'm not ready to spend 700 on any phone.

  • Clark
    Clark 29 days ago

    welp that fingerprint scanner is disappointing

  • Rohan Espada
    Rohan Espada 29 days ago

    For me, a cable connection is far more convenient than having to remove the microSD card with a SIM-tool, fiddling with it with a 40% chance of dropping it, inserting it on my SD card reader, and finally plugging said reader on my desktop. If only phones have a nice weatherproof latch that can be easily opened with a finger...

  • Chris Slavensky
    Chris Slavensky 29 days ago

    Excellent Oak Island reference and another enjoyable video.

  • Avinash Marcel
    Avinash Marcel 29 days ago

    Michael you didn't mention about the OZO audio recording feature in this phone

  • Ronald Cheng
    Ronald Cheng 29 days ago

    This phone is almost perfect. Nokia only needs to include dual speakers, micro SD card, heatsink, Dual A-GPS, 4,000mAh and last but not least, headphone jack to make it perfect.

  • SuperKiko112
    SuperKiko112 29 days ago

    As this is a phone how is the call quality and cell reception ? No many reviewers talk ant this these days.. always abt look camera pixel screen ..