Nokia 9 PureView Review: Trust The Process(ing)

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 22, 2019
  • Sponsored by RetailMeNot. Visit my link to download the free RetailMeNot Genie browser extension and start saving the easy way: bit.ly/2CuVraW. Then reply to my pinned comment below to enter to win a $100 VISA gift card!

    [NOKIA 9 PUREVIEW REVIEW]

    Nokia has always reserved the name “PureView” for phones that push the boundaries of photography. When it launched in 2012, the original 808 PureView packed a then-giant 41-megapixel sensor that made digital zoom useful for the first time. And the PureView Lumia phones that followed spent years just slaying everyone else when it came to low light photos, while also introducing Optical Image Stabilization to the mainstream.
    The newest PureView comes from a new Nokia, and it tackles a new angle. This is the Nokia 9 PureView. Its mission: to bring some of the depth and dynamic range of professional still cameras to the smartphone world, without the cost and the bulk. When it succeeds, it produces photographs that ooze character, with an authenticity you won’t get from any other phone. But just like you don’t get money for nothin’... you don’t get these clicks for free. Join me for the Nokia 9 PureView review!

    [SUBSCRIBE TO MRMOBILE]
    usclip.net/channel/UCSOpcUkE-is7u7c4AkLgqTw

    [ABOUT THIS VIDEO]
    MrMobile's Nokia 9 PureView review was produced following 18 days with a Nokia 9 PureView review device provided by HMD Global. The device was running build number 00WW_4_19A and received one software update during the review process. A second update is promised to address the camera sluggishness and crashing issues, but was not delivered by presstime.

    [LINKS]
    Nokia 808 PureView Unboxing [Pocketnow]:
    usclip.net/video/utHkrG5KOL0/video.html
    AT&T Lumia 1020 - Pro Camera [Windows Central]:
    usclip.net/video/p86emCw2biI/video.html
    Lumia 1020 Review [Pocketnow]:
    usclip.net/video/oIE6uBTtE-E/video.html
    Lumia 930 Hands-On [Windows Phone]:
    usclip.net/video/34cq69uBtNU/video.html
    Lumia 920 Low-Light Shootout [Engadget]:
    www.engadget.com/2012/09/26/lumia-920-low-light-shootout/
    Star Trek Generations - Soran Interrogates Geordi [These Are The Voyages]:
    usclip.net/video/Vs_jeYgiDNA/video.html

    [MUSIC]
    “Glowing City” by Cymatix, available at Premium Beat:
    www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/glowing-city
    "Lavish Lifestyle" by Vincent Tone, available at Premium Beat: www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/lavish-lifestyle
    “Much More” by Eternity Bro, available at Premium Beat:
    www.premiumbeat.com/royalty-free-tracks/much-more

    [SOCIALIZE]
    facebook.com/themrmobile
    instagram.com/themrmobile
    twitter.com/themrmobile
    mrmobile.tech

    [DISCLOSURE]
    This post may contain affiliate links. See Mobile Nations' disclosure policy for more details: www.mobilenations.com/external-links
    #nokia #pureview #nokia9 #nokiapureview #photography #smartphone #tech
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 047

  • MrMobile [Michael Fisher]
    MrMobile [Michael Fisher]  2 months ago +244

    Sponsored by RetailMeNot. What deal are you most excited to use? Reply here for your chance to win a $100 VISA gift card!

    • John Carlo De Juras
      John Carlo De Juras Month ago

      a rtx 2080ti!

    • Hansamita Majee
      Hansamita Majee Month ago

      Nokia 9 deal

    • Dan Da Man
      Dan Da Man 2 months ago

      i love the stock andriod on the google pixels, and i already used retailmenot to get a pixel xl for 150 and im planning to get a pixel 2xl in the future


      so thats what ill use retailmenot to buy


      (btw i love your vids, they are very professional and i was very surprised to see you only have 768 k subs. good luck to a million)


      (and also please try to use a song called "hold my hand " by Ricci)

    • Bane Tudajfor
      Bane Tudajfor 2 months ago

      I installed the extension but I think the link you provided doesn't work for you!

    • Craig Beam
      Craig Beam 2 months ago

      I already loved you, and then you threw into the Tolian Soran clip. ::swoon::

  • Marco Pollo
    Marco Pollo 22 hours ago

    Dam this dude is eloquent af

  • Robert Adams
    Robert Adams 5 days ago

    The processing on the SNAPDRAGGON 845 is irrelevant in 2019.

  • Robert Adams
    Robert Adams 5 days ago

    Lol 😂 😂 😂 😂 😂. Nokia has never led the smartphone camera industry. It has and never will happen. You know better. I can understand that your forced to say this because Nokia gave you the device to create a video review about the device.

  • برامج تلفزيونية من جميع الأوقات تقدمة فراس الزّيبق

    Hello Thanks For Your Hard Work I Appreciate it and Your Reviews are Awesome I Knew You From Pocket Now... Could You Please Make a Review About Samsung A70... Thanks

  • mrmarcellos
    mrmarcellos 10 days ago

    I had this phone but didnt like it

  • Ringo Rinka
    Ringo Rinka 21 day ago

    Poor nokia hanging on competing with god level phones better to stick to 3310

  • Vinny LT
    Vinny LT 23 days ago

    The FISH!

  • Elias Puolakka
    Elias Puolakka 24 days ago +3

    Fingerprint sensor is fixed and the prosessing is faster now.

  • Fernan Aquino
    Fernan Aquino Month ago

    I just remembered. How bout editing night shots in lightroom to makd it brighter

  • Zangeef Fangsteen
    Zangeef Fangsteen Month ago

    The dynamic range looks so incredible, it makes me sad I have to wait for V2 or V3 of this phone. I want to completely get rid of Google Pixel and Samsung Galaxy and never use them again because they have horrible DNR.

  • Syed Rayyan
    Syed Rayyan Month ago

    You can do better Night Camera Still Pictures in Nokia than Google Pixel, by Using Pro Mode. And increase the Shutter Speed.

  • Syed Rayyan
    Syed Rayyan Month ago

    You don't need a dedicated camera button, you can use the Volume Rocker instead by changing the camera settings

  • Kas
    Kas Month ago

    Thanks Michael, was thinking of getting this phone, but too many down falls. I wanna upgrade from my LG v30, but can't make up my mind. Latest flagships are way too expensive and no phone out there is perfect tbh.

  • Himanshu Mishra
    Himanshu Mishra Month ago

    This is purely for photography enthusiasts... Not for lads who just want click-upload..

  • Roy Hsieh
    Roy Hsieh Month ago

    6:54 nokia must've coated it with Teflon, and forget about samsung, they dont even do big cameras right.

  • Sundar Pichai
    Sundar Pichai Month ago

    NOPE

  • My Health Vlog
    My Health Vlog Month ago

    People still loves NOKIA but NOKIA is not updating himself according to market demand and as per people's choice. I have samsung and Nokia 920. Too many times NOKIA fell from my pocket, even from some height but there is no scratch and no problem at all. i can bet no other phone can compare NOKIA's hardware quality but in matter of Software, Design, Performance it needs to improve a lot.

  • Ivan M
    Ivan M Month ago

    5g version late this year with bug fixes fixed

  • Francis M.
    Francis M. Month ago

    Can you unbox and review the nokia X7/nokia 8.1 and the new nokia X71. Thanks! More power and more viewers. 👍👍👍👊✌️

  • chickenazz
    chickenazz Month ago

    Why it doesnt have a dxomark score?????

  • Sundar Pichai
    Sundar Pichai Month ago

    bad review

  • epic gamer
    epic gamer Month ago

    Can't wait for the next pureview and hmd Nokia flagship

  • epic gamer
    epic gamer Month ago

    What do you think of Nokia ozo audio

  • N_ R
    N_ R Month ago

    Sticking with my Huawei P30 Pro but thanks....

  • creativeboy1
    creativeboy1 Month ago

    The LG g5 had bad finger sensor when it came out but was solved so keep the hopes up

  • Cecília Carvalho
    Cecília Carvalho Month ago +1

    Honestly I wouldn't mind a thicker phone if they had the sd card slot and some kind of night mode or better image processing overall, and I don't care at ALL about a fingerprint reader under the screen, just put a physical one, nokia!
    phones with greater durability and performance >>>>>>>>> thin phones

  • Dan Beißwenger
    Dan Beißwenger Month ago

    Money for nothing.
    Clicks for free.
    Subbed. (Pfff who am I kidding. I've been subbed)

  • incediery
    incediery Month ago +1

    Hey Michael Nokia just pushed an update for this phone that may fix all the issues you had...can you do a follow up review

  • David Harrison
    David Harrison Month ago

    Thought the Soran quote was gonna be “Nice try”...

  • Mike Stevenson
    Mike Stevenson 2 months ago

    This just makes me miss the Lumia 1020 =[

  • Tech Smart Best
    Tech Smart Best 2 months ago

    awesome video
    #techsmartbest

  • Bhushan Doiphode
    Bhushan Doiphode 2 months ago

    Those sunglasses are dope! Can you link them down in the description?

  • Tiza
    Tiza 2 months ago

    I'm so tired of this "don't worry if your phone is a buggy mess, bro. we'll fix it later" mentality that HMD Nokia had ever since their inception.
    Other than Nokiafans, I really don't think people are willing to buy those phones just for headaches on user experience.

    • Sven Kindervater
      Sven Kindervater 2 months ago

      Well, as a day-one-owner of a Lumia 920 and a Lumia 950, I can tell you: The software of the 9 PureView is supreme in comparison. Especially the 950 had a completely unfinished beta-version of Windows 10 M. I'm not a huge fan of android, but pie ist really good. And there is no bloatware what so ever on the 9. Yes, ist has some downpoints, but Nokia Phones had these for years. If you are willing to accept them, you get a really good camera-phone.

  • MikeTheShadowWolf
    MikeTheShadowWolf 2 months ago

    Best camera on a smartphone 2019 hands down.The Pixel ain't gonna beat this one.

  • mena seven
    mena seven 2 months ago

    It doesn't make sense to have a specialize camera phone with no SD card slot and no camera button. Regular camera have SD card slot.

  • Farhan Ahmad Tajuddin
    Farhan Ahmad Tajuddin 2 months ago

    4:21-4:37 6:01-6:06 That explains why I never been a fan of fake bokeh. I'd just leave it as it is.

  • Merker Jerker
    Merker Jerker 2 months ago

    Dislike squad!

  • Ramon Martinez
    Ramon Martinez 2 months ago

    cant wait for Nokia to get its second wind..

  • Fahim
    Fahim 2 months ago

    Was about to say the same, I'll wait for the next one...

  • Fernando Dinis
    Fernando Dinis 2 months ago

    The 10sec delay for photo processing and the fingerprint scanner issue is a deal breaker for many people.

  • mark bell
    mark bell 2 months ago

    So is it going to be best to wait until the 9.1?

  • RS
    RS 2 months ago

    Your reviews are incredible!

  • Lucian BUJOR
    Lucian BUJOR 2 months ago +1

    P30 PRO just destroyed Nokia 9 Pureview. Too bad it has built in backdoor for the Chinese dictatorship government. Recomend BB Key 2.

  • Verni Jahzreal
    Verni Jahzreal 2 months ago

    Can you please make a comparison video between Nokia 7 Plus and Redmi note 7?

  • arun prasadh
    arun prasadh 2 months ago

    Ok , what about back covers/cases for this phone?

  • R.J Williams
    R.J Williams 2 months ago

    It should be called the Nokia Spyder

  • Идешь Нахуй
    Идешь Нахуй 2 months ago

    Могут даже не начинать продавать эту хуету

  • Cameron Cuff
    Cameron Cuff 2 months ago

    This man has an inimitable way with words. It's a pleasure to just listen to his reviews.

  • Winter Is Coming
    Winter Is Coming 2 months ago

    this is bust

  • Dodo Bird
    Dodo Bird 2 months ago

    Nokia is doing pretty good with the camera and it just needs with the rest! It would be perfect!

  • Tobi Olusola
    Tobi Olusola 2 months ago

    How much photos do you take😂

  • tHeWasTeDYouTh
    tHeWasTeDYouTh 2 months ago

    remember when Microsoft bought Nokia Mobile for 8 billion and then after a few years of total fail they fired like 8,000 and now Nokia is making a comeback with Android!!! get rekted Microsoft

  • Omar Qunsul
    Omar Qunsul 2 months ago

    Thanx for reporting the problem with the Finger Print !

  • Al about Food
    Al about Food 2 months ago

    sorry Michael (and the rest of the world) who insist on nano-instant access to the phone. I use the keyboard password (alphanumerical not just 4-5 numbers). Yes, it takes a second or so but it is super secure and very much less "creepy" big brother recording of fingerprints and retinal scans. Just my thoughts

  • TexasGuitarist
    TexasGuitarist 2 months ago

    0:48 I see what you did there. 👊

  • Nicholai
    Nicholai 2 months ago

    What ring are you wearing? 🤔

  • Mr Salman
    Mr Salman 2 months ago

    Nokia was died due to the software their cameras and build quality was already at the best in the market. and they are doing the same thing again not focusing on software.

  • Prateek Pandey
    Prateek Pandey 2 months ago

    One small update for everyone the fingerprint issue has a fix or say you can make it work...

  • Mutazal Luli
    Mutazal Luli 2 months ago

    You are my number one favorite reviewer on youtube. Some Indonesians are trying to follow you but still you are the best! Hope one day we can have an indonesian reviewer on youtube that is as good as you #fingerscrossed

  • Ali Raza
    Ali Raza 2 months ago +1

    Please make camera comparison of nokia 9 with p30 pro

  • Mimoun Gaid
    Mimoun Gaid 2 months ago

    I don't understand why would anyone nees a phone with four cameras?

  • Lyndon Gray
    Lyndon Gray 2 months ago

    Do you ever think you could swap to 60fps while filming? I know its difficult while dealing with 4k content, but i feel like the benefits outweigh the negatives.

  • martin johnson
    martin johnson 2 months ago

    Such a shame in what could be a fantastic way back for the Nokia brand

  • anotherrob1980
    anotherrob1980 2 months ago

    I found the fingerprint scanner useless to start with as well, but then registered my other thumb and both index fingers and the scanner works pretty well without having to excessively press hard.

  • Alex Nguyen
    Alex Nguyen 2 months ago +1

    Hi MrMobile, what is that ring @1: 08?

  • R3M B1A1
    R3M B1A1 2 months ago

    This review was really fricken good, I expect no less. I can't wait for you to review the Sony Xperia 1 which comes out in may.

  • Curious Explorer
    Curious Explorer 2 months ago

    Great review! as always...

  • Ian-Devon Lewis
    Ian-Devon Lewis 2 months ago

    I kinda had to walk away from this video 44sec into this. Used a cell cam picture of an Fuji X-T3 with I'm guessing a 230ish mm lens attachment. Those 2 items alone are like 1900-2000USD. You're promoting a cellphone camera feature. The fact that you have a high-quality camera available... cant even trust all the pictures you're posting in your montage.

    • Ian-Devon Lewis
      Ian-Devon Lewis 2 months ago

      @Luc David I don't get the context

    • Luc David
      Luc David 2 months ago

      @Ian-Devon Lewis Drugs are bad.

    • Ian-Devon Lewis
      Ian-Devon Lewis 2 months ago

      ​@MrMobile [Michael Fisher] Ok. Lets make this a trip. You make a living via cellphone cameras. Seeing as majority of all your videos are on promoting cellphones and cellphone peripherals. Pretty sure you didn't do half of them with cellphone cameras, to say... a quarter, would be over generous or even a 10th would overstatement. You don't talk about the hardware of the camera. Seeing as Zeiss made the point to put its mark on it would mean you can atleast back track the lens that goes into said product.

      You mentioned the finger print reader... and that the device runs hot when processing. Processing what exactly, PokemonGO? What else is there? Your introducing a new phone. Finger print reader sucks. Why does the finger print reader suck? Why does the device run hot while processing? What is the hardware and software on the device? OS(One btw), ram, ssd size options, storage management... expandable memory? Phone to PC transfer/integration? Why does the phone run hot? That's an actual concern lol

      You mentioned 855. OK! That's worth a mention. Thats all it got. You could have gotten an extra minute or two on that. Snapdragon 855 is very interesting, and more interesting how other devices are utilizing and/or under utilizing it. Just saying... 855 kinda helps with the picture process and the experience.

      You make a living with your cellphone cameras; Got it. What is the experience of getting those pictures and videos from cellphone to your final platform? You mentioned saving your pictures to your SSD; Got it. What's the default file type? (RAW is an umbrella term btw.) Nokia wants you to use Google storage; Got it. Any loss in quality after upload and download(questionable re-upload) from phone to site (to final platform)? Just saying... All that 3rd party processing of a digital image deteriorates the digital product, that is the photo; the money maker.

      This is a cellphone review by title, yet its confusing because you didnt review. You made this into a camera review and yet you barely covered the camera. You don't even mention the name of the cellphones' camera archetype seeing as the emphasis is the camera. If the cellphone is a success that will be its signature.

    • MrMobile [Michael Fisher]
      MrMobile [Michael Fisher]  2 months ago

      This is a fun comment. First you suggest that I'm "promoting" a cellphone camera. I'm not; I'm evaluating it and telling you whether you should buy it. Turns out you probably shouldn't, which you'd have heard if you'd stuck around to the end.
      Then you say that the fact that I (a USclipr who makes his living on his cameras) own high-end camera equipment somehow implies that I must be ... what, substituting Fuji photos for the Nokia 9? Why, so I can make it look better? What possible purpose would that serve unless I was being paid by Nokia to promote their phone?
      And to take it one step further: why would I then give the thing a middling review?
      I'm fascinated by the world you've constructed.

  • GUERRILLA CLAN MODERN COMBAT VERSUS

    Fvxk off NOKIA

  • Syed Q
    Syed Q 2 months ago

    Why not 1 million subscribers yet. The most underrated tech youtuber. Plz run some give aways campaigns and also collaborate with other big tech youtubers.

  • Swapnadip Chakraborty
    Swapnadip Chakraborty 2 months ago

    I instantly subscribed only for the quality and the way he delivers it! I would binge watch all your videos if they were on Netflix

  • James M
    James M 2 months ago

    I'll give an A for effort.

  • Hitlar Mama
    Hitlar Mama 2 months ago

    www.mobihat.net/2019/03/nokia-9-pureview.html

  • Irfan Shaikh
    Irfan Shaikh 2 months ago

    I don't think there is second version coming of this phone... Nokia is known for not following up on such phones like the Lumia 1020 never saw another version. Also the photo processing issues time delays have always been there since the 808... I would rather wait for the P30 then spend any dime on this... Imagine not getting the fingerprint reader right, no expandable storage... No excuses there for Nokia...

  • Telering Dataspesialisten

    Wish the 8.1 had ip68 other than that I prefer the 8.1. :p

  • Angus Maclaurin
    Angus Maclaurin 2 months ago

    Fair review, but a number of technical inaccuracies. (1,200 layers of depth does not come from a ToF sensor).

  • B B
    B B 2 months ago

    Nokia 9 is a flop. Too many deficits. Look to Nokia 10 for improvement.

  • B B
    B B 2 months ago

    Nokia 9 is a flop. Look to Nokia 10 for improvement.

  • Kate Angelo
    Kate Angelo 2 months ago

    Nice Oak Island reference! #toppocketfind

  • James Wylie
    James Wylie 2 months ago

    Love the shot of the Tam, one of my favorite bars around here.

  • maliti emmanuel
    maliti emmanuel 2 months ago

    9.1 waiting!!!

  • Rosa Crux
    Rosa Crux 2 months ago

    Strange, in low-light I oftentimes get blown-out highlights with the photo mode and jpegs 😮 .

  • Capt. John Yossarian
    Capt. John Yossarian 2 months ago

    Quality content, interesting phone rev.

  • Victor Lichtenberg
    Victor Lichtenberg 2 months ago

    Honestly, the one thing I'm most amazed at the pictures is how natural / lifelike they look. Really amazing. But that fingerprint reader is really unacceptable. Should've gone with traditional capacitive fingerprint sensor instead. Great review as usual Mr Fisher!

  • Chintada Polarao
    Chintada Polarao 2 months ago

    Nokia is the best

  • Andrea Andrea
    Andrea Andrea 2 months ago

    5 cameras and not a f***ing dedicated button to use them

  • KYB77
    KYB77 2 months ago

    I have that weird dot phobia...feel uneasy looking at those 5 cameras

  • Evwon
    Evwon 2 months ago

    I really want to see this in other flagships. This is amazing.

  • Rob
    Rob 2 months ago

    The camera is overrated

  • Eshcole.com
    Eshcole.com 2 months ago

    The finger print reader alone breaks the whole user experience of the phone. I'll get so irritated with that I wouldn't care if there were no other issues with the phone at all. It's going back to the store!

  • TheKbnrba
    TheKbnrba 2 months ago

    Michael you and Nokia's, loved your lumia reviews and love these ones! #lumiaforlife

  • Shiina Mashiro
    Shiina Mashiro 2 months ago

    How does it fare against Huawei’s Mate 20 Pro?

  • StivensGameZone
    StivensGameZone 2 months ago +1

    Im watching this from my Lumia 1020...and we laught together.. hello son ..

  • Debra Dukes
    Debra Dukes 2 months ago

    Michael absolutely Awesome review and absolutely enjoyed and I can get into a whole thing about fingerprint sensors and other tech things lately but I really loved the Beautiful review and Videos you share and if that is your Beautiful Dog just too Precious.Thanks so much for sharing this Great Review as Always Deb.😉👍✌

  • Franci2a
    Franci2a 2 months ago

    If it had also a 16:9 screen, a MicroSD slot, a removable battery, a better camera app, a hardware camera button, better button placement, better fingerprint sensor, better face unlock, better software, more megapixels on each camera, no glass back, no side mounted speaker, no Continuum-like feature then I would have ditched my loved, still loved, and not-so-old Lumia 950XL with this Nokia, but this Nokia lacks some key features, and it misses many that it has.Nokia could have made a WAY BETTER phone, by not sticking with stupid trends, and try to go original, but it didn't that, and so the phone is... eh... 7/10 for me

  • Amir Lukmanhisyam
    Amir Lukmanhisyam 2 months ago

    Imagine having five 41MP sensors and dedicated image processing chips... Still HMD has to rush this product before snapdragon 845 got completely obsolete... Waiting for the next gen and upcoming P30 Pro 。。。

  • Rickbearcat
    Rickbearcat 2 months ago

    @9:03...I find this astounding. You have 5 camera lenses that should be able to gather 5 times the light that the Pixel does (one vs. five lenses) and yet you can't get, for some reason, enough light to shoot in a dark scene? Sounds as if only one of the camera's lenses was in operation on the Nokia; which should still work okay as the Pixel can do it. Another software flaw on the Nokia here.

  • Rickbearcat
    Rickbearcat 2 months ago

    You are using and mentioning Adobe's Lightroom a lot. But what you aren't saying is that Lightroom is a program that you have to pay for to use. And is also a subscription service that will cost from 9.99/month to 19.99/per month.

    Are there any good free photo editing softwares out there?

  • Josh Tamargo de Rothschild

    2019, does nokia still make phones?
    2025, does apple still make phones?